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Check Your Withholding! 

• Recent tax laws have changed the calculation for income taxes withheld 
from your paycheck. Make sure you’re not withholding too little or too much.

• Check your withholding today at tax.idaho.gov/w4

Where’s My Refund?

Track Your Refund Progress 24/7
Visit tax.idaho.gov/refund to get the most up-to-date information 
about your income tax refund. Our online service is the easiest and 
fastest way to track your refund.

Typical Refund Timeframes
• E-filed? Expect your refund about seven to eight weeks after 

you receive an acknowledgment that we have your tax return.
• Filed on paper? Expect your refund about 10 to 11 weeks after we receive your 

return. We must manually enter information from paper returns into our database.

Refund Exceptions
• First time you filed an Idaho income tax return? It takes about three weeks to enter your 

account into our system. Until that time, we’ll report your return as “not entered in system.” 
Add those three weeks to the estimates above to determine your refund timeframe.

• Received a letter from us asking for more information? Your refund will be delayed until 
we get the requested information. It then will take about six weeks to finish the process.

Rapid Response = Faster Refund
All income tax returns go through fraud detection reviews and accuracy checks before we 
issue any refunds. After you file your return, the Tax Commission might send you letters 
asking you to:

• Verify your identity
• Verify that you filed a return
• Provide more information

Pay Online Quickly and Easily 

Use our fast and easy Quick Pay option to make online payments at tax.idaho.gov/quickpay.

Get Idaho Forms 
• Get forms online at tax.idaho.gov/IITforms.
• Pick them up at one of our offices. Find locations at tax.idaho.gov/visit.
• Call us at (208) 334-7660 in the Boise area or toll free at (800) 972-7660.
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What’s New for 2023

Conformity to Internal Revenue Code (IRC)
Idaho conforms to the IRC as of January 1, 2023. 
Idaho doesn’t conform to bonus depreciation for 
assets acquired after 2009.
Tax Rate Reduction
Effective January 1, 2023, the individual income tax 
rate is 5.8%.
Grocery Credit Increased
The grocery tax credit for eligible Idaho residents 
increased from $100 to $120 starting in tax year 
2023. The credit for Idahoans who are 65 and older 
increased from $120 to $140.
Dependent Care Tax Deduction Increased
The maximum individual tax deduction for 
dependent care is now $12,000 per year.

Who Must File
• Every Idaho resident who must file a federal 

income tax return
• Every part-year resident with a total of more than 

$2,500 gross income from:
 � All sources while a resident, and
 � Idaho sources while a nonresident

• Every nonresident with more than $2,500 gross 
income from Idaho sources

To file an Idaho return, first complete your federal 
return. You need the federal return information to 
complete your Idaho return.
Your Idaho filing status must be the same as 
your federal filing status. For example, if you file a 
joint federal return you also must file a joint Idaho 

Idaho Resident Filing Requirements
If your filing status is: And you are: And your gross income is:

Married filing jointly
Under 65 (both spouses)
65 or older (one spouse)
65 or older (both spouses)

$27,700
$29,200
$30,700

Head of household Under 65
65 or older

$20,800
$22,650

Single Under 65
65 or older

$13,850
$15,700

Qualifying surviving spouse with 
dependent child

Under 65
65 or older

$27,700
$29,200

Married filing separately Any age $5

If you’re a resident and are filing a federal income tax return only to pay self-employment tax and 
aren’t otherwise required to file a federal income tax return, you aren’t required to file an Idaho 
income tax return.

return. The tax year and accounting method used on 
your Idaho return must match those used on your 
federal return. 
If a taxpayer dies before filing a current year return, 
the taxpayer’s spouse or personal representative must 
file the return. A personal representative can be an 
executor, administrator, or anyone who’s in charge of 
the deceased taxpayer’s property.
Gross income means all income you received in 
the form of money, property, goods, and services 
that aren’t exempt from tax. It’s measured before 
subtracting allowable deductions. Gross income 
includes, but isn’t limited to:

• Income from wages, salaries, tips, interest, and 
dividends that isn’t exempt from tax

• Self-employment income before expenses
• Farm income before expenses
• Rental income before expenses
• The shareholders’ or partners’ share of gross 

income from S corporations and partnerships
• Unemployment compensation
• Certain scholarship and fellowship grants
• Gains from sales of property
• Pensions and annuities
• Taxable Social Security benefits

Scholarships used for tuition, fees, supplies, books, 
and equipment required for courses leading to a 
degree aren’t included in gross income.
Unearned income includes:

• Taxable interest
• Ordinary dividends
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• Capital gains distributions
• Unemployment compensation
• Taxable Social Security benefits, pensions, 

and annuities
• Distributions of unearned income from a trust

Earned income includes:
• Salaries
• Wages
• Tips
• Professional fees
• Taxable scholarships and fellowship grants

Gross income is the total of your unearned and 
earned income.

Which Form to Use
Use Form 40 if you’re a:

• Resident, or
• Resident in the military

Use Form 39R if you file Form 40 and claim any 
additions, subtractions, or certain credits.
Use Form 43 if you’re a:

• Part-year resident
• Nonresident, or

• Nonresident alien for federal purposes and are 
required to file an Idaho income tax return

Use Form 39NR if you file Form 43 and claim any 
additions, subtractions, or certain credits.

When to File and Pay
File your return and pay any tax due:

• By April 15, 2024, for the 2023 calendar year, or
• By the 15th day of the fourth month following the 

close of the fiscal year if you file on a fiscal year 
basis

Idaho doesn’t require estimated tax payments.
You can prepay at any time at tax.idaho.gov/epay or 
by mailing your payment with Form 51.

Where to File
Mail the return and payment to:

Idaho State Tax Commission
PO Box 83784
Boise ID  83707-3784

If you’re mailing a payment without a return, send 
your payment with Form ID-VP to:

Idaho State Tax Commission
PO Box 83784
Boise ID  83707-3784

If your parent or someone else can claim you as a dependent, use the following information to see if you must file 
a return.

You must file a return if any of the following apply:
Unearned
income

Earned
income Gross income

Single 
Dependents

Under 65 and not blind Over $1,250 Over $13,850 More than the larger of $1,250 or your earned 
income plus $400

Over 65 or blind Over $3,100 Over $15,700 More than the larger of $3,100 or your earned 
income plus $2,250

Over 65 and blind Over $4,950 Over $17,550 More than the larger of $4,950 or your earned 
income plus $4,100

Married
Dependents

Under 65 and not blind Over $1,250 Over $13,850

At least $5 and your spouse files a separate 
return and itemizes
More than the larger of $1,250 or your earned 
income plus $400

Over 65 or blind Over $2,750 Over $15,350

At least $5 and your spouse files a separate 
return and itemizes
More than the larger of $2,750 or your earned 
income plus $1,900

Over 65 and blind Over $4,250 Over $16,850

At least $5 and your spouse files a separate 
return and itemizes
More than the larger of $4,250 or your earned 
income plus $3,400
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If you’re mailing a return only, send to:
Idaho State Tax Commission
PO Box 56
Boise ID 83756-0056

If you’re sending your return using a delivery service 
that requires a physical address, use the following:

Idaho State Tax Commission
11321 W Chinden Blvd  Bldg 2 
Boise ID  83714

What to Include and What to Keep
Include
Include all schedules and other forms in the 
following order:

1. Form 40 or 43
2. Form 39R or 39NR
3. Form 75
4. Form 44
5. Additional schedules in numerical order
6. Additional forms in alphabetical order
7. Form ID K-1
8. W-2s and/or 1099s placed on top of Form 40 or 43
9. Complete copy of federal return

Include legible copies of Form W-2s, 1099s, and 
other information forms that show Idaho withholding 
with your return. If you’re claiming credit for taxes 
paid to another state, you must include Idaho 
Form 39R or 39NR and a copy of the other state’s 
income tax return. If the credit applies to more than 
one state, use a separate Form 39R or 39NR for 
each state.

Keep
Keep copies of any receipts, tax forms, worksheets, 
and other records to support any income, deduction, 
exemption, and credit you’ve reported.

Rounding
Round the amounts on your return to the nearest 
whole dollar. Round down if under 50 cents, round 
up if 50 cents or more.

Extension of Time to File
This isn’t an extension of time to pay your 
taxes—it’s an extension to file your return.
You automatically get an extension of up to six 
months to file your return if you’ve paid at least:

• 100% of what you paid for state income taxes 
the year before, or

• 80% of your current year’s tax liability
You can avoid a penalty for late filing, but will be 
charged interest on the remaining tax until it’s paid. 
Complete the worksheet on Form 51 to see if you 
meet the extension requirements.
To avoid a penalty, pay online at 
tax.idaho.gov/epay or mail your payment with 
Form 51 by April 15, 2024.
If you qualify for an extension to file your 
Idaho return, send the return and pay in full by 
October 15, 2024.

Penalties
Idaho law provides penalties for not filing tax returns 
by the due date, not paying tax due on time, and not 
prepaying enough on extension returns. For more 
information or to calculate a penalty, see our Penalties 
and Interest page at tax.idaho.gov/penalties.

Interest
We charge interest on the amount of tax due from the 
original due date of the return until paid at the rate of 
6% per year (rate effective for 2024).

Residency
Are you a resident, a part-year resident, or a 
nonresident? 
The following will help you decide:

• You’re an Idaho resident, even though you live 
outside of Idaho if all of the following are true:

 � You think of Idaho as your permanent home
 � Idaho is the center of your financial, social, 

and family life
 � Idaho is the place you intend to return to 

when you’re away
• You’re also an Idaho resident if the following are 

true:
• You maintain a home in Idaho the entire 

year, and
 � You spend more than 270 days in Idaho 

during the tax year
• You’re a part-year resident if you moved into or 

out of Idaho during the tax year. You’re still a 
resident if:

 � You temporarily moved outside of Idaho, or
 � You moved back to Idaho after a 

temporary absence
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• You’re a nonresident if your permanent home is 
outside of Idaho all year.

• You’re considered a nonresident if all of the 
following are true:

 � You’re an Idaho resident who lived 
outside of Idaho for at least 445 days in a 
15-month period

 � After satisfying the 15-month period, you 
spent less than 60 days in Idaho during 
the year

 � You didn’t have a personal residence in 
Idaho for yourself or your family during any 
part of 2023

 � You didn’t claim Idaho as your federal 
tax home

 � You weren’t employed on the staff of a U.S. 
senator or representative

 � You didn’t hold an elective or appointive 
office of the U.S. government other than 
the armed forces or a career appointment 
in the U.S. Foreign Service

Note: The above exception to being an Idaho 
resident doesn’t apply to a qualified servicemember.

Community Property
Idaho is a community property state. Idaho’s 
community property laws generally treat property 
and income acquired during marriage differently 
than other property. For more information visit 
tax.idaho.gov/commprop.

Military Personnel
Idaho law generally follows federal law regarding 
which type of military pay (active duty, disability, 
reserve, or retirement) is taxable.

Qualified Servicemember
A qualified servicemember is:

• Any member of the U.S. military
• A member of the National Guard called to 

active duty service by the President of the 
United States or the U.S. Secretary of Defense 
for more than 30 consecutive days to respond 
to a national emergency declared by the 
President and supported by federal funds

• A member of the commissioned corps of 
the National Oceanic and Atmospheric 
Administration in active service

• A member of the commissioned corps of the 
Public Health Service in active service

Military Home of Record
The qualified servicemember’s residence is 
considered to be the same as the servicemember’s 
home of record.

Federal Military Spouses Residency Relief Act
The earned income of qualifying spouses of Idaho 
servicemembers isn’t subject to Idaho income tax 
because of the federal Military Spouses Residency 
Relief Act.
As a servicemember’s spouse, you qualify for this 
exemption if:

• You’re married to a servicemember who’s 
serving in Idaho and the servicemember 
registered their home of record in another state, 
and

• You’ve moved to Idaho with the servicemember 
and have the same domicile (permanent 
residence) as the servicemember’s home of 
record

If you qualified for the Idaho income tax military 
spouse exemption, report any Idaho withholding on 
Form 43, line 66.

Idaho Residents on Active Duty — Stationed in Idaho
If Idaho is your military home of record and you’re on 
active duty stationed in Idaho, Idaho taxes all of your 
military wages and all nonmilitary income regardless of 
the source. File Form 40.

Idaho Residents on Active Duty — Stationed 
Outside of Idaho
Report all your Idaho income to Idaho if you meet all 
the following criteria:

• You joined the military as an Idaho resident
• Idaho is your military home of record
• You were on active duty for 120 or more 

consecutive days
• You were stationed outside of Idaho for all or part 

of the year
File Form 40 if you’re single or if you’re married and 
your spouse also is an Idaho resident.
File Form 43 if you’re married and your spouse is 
an Idaho nonresident, part-year resident, or military 
nonresident.

• Check the “Idaho Resident on Active Military 
Duty” residency status box for yourself

• Check the applicable residency status box for 
your spouse
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Idaho residents in the military don’t lose Idaho 
residency or domicile by being absent because of 
military orders.
A qualified servicemember isn’t a resident of, or 
domiciled in, Idaho just by being stationed in Idaho.
Nonresidents on Active Duty Stationed in Idaho
Idaho doesn’t tax your military income if your military 
home of record isn’t Idaho and you’re on active duty 
stationed in Idaho for all or part of the year.
Idaho taxes nonmilitary income from Idaho sources.
File Form 43 if your gross income from Idaho 
sources is more than $2,500. The instructions for 
Form 43 begin on page 15.

National Guard Members Called to Active Duty 
in a Combat Zone
Idaho follows federal law and provides income tax 
relief for servicemembers on active duty in combat 
zones. Below is a summary of how these laws affect 
Idaho National Guard members:

• All tax filing deadlines are extended for at least 
180 days after your last day in a combat zone

• No interest or penalty accrues for nonpayment 
of individual income taxes while you’re in a 
combat zone

• If you’re enlisted or a warrant officer, you don’t 
owe tax on military pay received while in a 
combat zone. If you’re a commissioned officer, 
the monthly exclusion is capped at the highest 
enlisted pay plus any hostile fire or imminent 
danger pay received

• Federal law doesn’t cover business tax returns, 
employment taxes, or sales/use tax obligations

• Write “COMBAT ZONE” and the date of 
deployment on top of the tax return you’re filing

American Indians
You can deduct all your income from working on the 
reservation only when you meet all these criteria:

• You’re enrolled in a federally recognized tribe
• You live and work on the reservation
• The income is included on the tax return

If you have no other income, you aren’t required to file.
If you have other income in an amount that meets 
the federal filing requirement, you must file an 
Idaho return. For specific instructions see Form 
39R or 39NR.

Amended Returns
Use Form 40 or 43 to amend your return. Check the 
amended return box at the top of the form and enter 
the reason for amending.
See Amended Return on page 7 or 15 for more 
information. 
If your taxable income or tax credits change because 
of an audit, you must send written notice including 
an amended return to the Tax Commission within 
120 days of the final determination. Include copies of 
all federal and/or state schedules.
If you owe additional Idaho tax and don’t send 
written notice within 120 days of the final federal 
determination, we apply a 5% negligence penalty. 
We charge interest on any tax due.
If the final determination results in an Idaho refund, 
you must file an amended Idaho income tax return 
with the written notice. If the statute of limitations is 
closed, you have one year from the date of the final 
determination to file for the refund.

Deadlines to Claim a Refund
To qualify for a refund, you must file a return within:

• Three years from the original return filing date, or
• Three years from the original return due date 

(not including extensions)
For amended returns, you must file a claim for refund 
within:

• Three years from the original return filing date, or
• One year from the time the federal audit was 

closed (if the amended return is because of a 
federal audit)
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Form 40 — Instructions
Individual Income Tax Return

2023

Instructions are for lines not fully explained on the 
form. General information instructions beginning on 
page 2 also apply to this form.

Grocery Credit Refund Only
If you’re not required to file an income tax return but 
are filing Form 40 to receive a grocery credit refund, 
you don’t need to include a copy of a federal return. 
If you or your spouse are over age 65, see Form 24.
You must complete Form 40 as follows:

• Complete the top of the form through line 6
• Write “NRF” (Not Required to File) on line 7
• Skip lines 8 through 11
• Complete line 12a if you (or your spouse) are 

age 65 or older
• Skip lines 12b through 31
• Cross through the $10 on line 32, Permanent 

Building Fund, and write “NRF”
• Skip lines 33 through 42
• Enter your grocery credit amount on line 43 

using the grocery credit worksheet on page 11
• Complete applicable lines 44 through 57
• Skip lines 58 through 61
• Complete the bottom of Form 40 below line 61

Heading
Write your name, address, and Social Security 
number (SSN) in the spaces provided. If you don’t 
have an SSN, write your Individual Tax Identification 
Number (ITIN).
If you don’t have or aren’t required to have an 
SSN or ITIN, enter “NRA” (Nonresident Alien) in 
the SSN space. If you’ve applied for an ITIN and 
haven’t received it from the Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS) before you file your Idaho return, 
enter “Form W-7” in the space provided for the 
SSN. If you enter “Form W-7,” include a copy of 
your federal Form W-7 with your return. Once you 
receive your ITIN from the IRS, you must provide 
it to the Tax Commission before your return can 
finish processing.
If you receive an SSN after using an ITIN, you must 
use the SSN and stop using your ITIN. It’s your 
responsibility to notify the Tax Commission so your 
return can finish processing.
Be sure that your return and W-2 forms show the 
correct SSN or ITIN. An error in your SSN or ITIN 
will delay your refund.

Amended Return
You can use this form as an original return or an 
amended return. 
If you’re filing this form as an amended return, check 
the box at the top of the form. Enter the number from 
the following list that best describes your reason for 
amending:

1. Federal Audit
2. Net Operating Loss Carryback – Include Form 56 

or a schedule showing the application of the loss
3. Federal Amended – Include a complete copy of 

your amended federal return
4. Other – Include an explanation

Complete the entire form and schedules using the 
corrected amounts. Don’t include a copy of your 
original return with the amended return.

Lines 1 through 5 Filing Status
Check the box indicating your Idaho filing status. 
Refer to General lnformation on page 2 for more 
information on filing status. 

Line 6 Household
Line 6a. Yourself. Enter “1” unless someone else 
claims you as a dependent on their return.

Line 6b. Spouse. Enter “1” if you’re filing a joint return.
Enter “1” if your spouse died during 2023 and you’re 
filing a joint return.
Leave the line blank if someone else claims your 
spouse as a dependent on their return.

Line 6c. Dependents. List your dependents. Include  
their SSN and birthdate. If you have more than four 
dependents, continue on Form 39R, Part F. Enter the 
total number of dependents on the line.
If you’re the noncustodial parent of a dependent and 
are claiming them on your return, include federal 
Form 8332 or a copy of the court order with your 
return. See irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f8332.pdf for more 
information.

Line 6d. Total. Add lines 6a through 6c.

Line 7 Federal Adjusted Gross Income
Enter your federal adjusted gross income from 
Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11.

Line 11 Total Adjusted Income
If your total adjusted income is negative, see 
Form 56 and instructions.
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Tax Computation
Line 12a Age 65 or Older
If you’re 65 or older, check the box for “Yourself.” 
If you’re filing a joint return and your spouse is 65 
or older, check the box for “Spouse.” If your 65th 
birthday was on January 1, 2024, you may consider 
yourself 65 on December 31, 2023. The boxes you 
check must match your federal return.

Line 12b Blind
Check the box for “Yourself” if you’re blind. If you’re 
filing a joint return and your spouse is blind, check 
the box for “Spouse.” The boxes you check must 
match your federal return.

Line 12c Claimed Dependent
Check this box if someone else, such as a parent, 
can claim you as a dependent.

Lines 13 – 16
Standard Deduction
Most people can find their standard deduction by 
looking at the instructions to the left of Form 40, 
line 16. Use the Standard Deduction Worksheet 
beginning on this page to calculate your standard 
deduction if:

• You check any boxes on lines 12a through 12c, 
or

• Someone can claim you or your spouse, if 
filing jointly, as a dependent

You can use either your federal itemized deductions 
or standard deduction, whichever benefits you 
more.
You Must Itemize If:

• You’re married, filing a separate return (filing 
status 3), and your spouse itemizes

• You had dual status as a nonresident alien for 
part of 2023 and during the rest of the year, you 
were a resident alien or a U.S. citizen

You don’t have to itemize if you file a joint return 
with your spouse who was a U.S. citizen or resident 
at the end of 2023, and you and your spouse agree 
to be taxed on your combined worldwide income.
Idaho requires that state or local income or general 
sales taxes shown on federal Schedule A be 
subtracted from your total itemized amount before 
you use this figure to reduce your income. Because 
of this addback, it may be more beneficial to itemize 
for federal purposes but use the standard deduction 
for Idaho.

If the IRS considers you or your spouse a nonresident 
alien and you aren’t from India, your standard 
deduction is zero. If you’re nonresident aliens from 
India, use the standard deduction indicated for your 
filing status.
If line 15 is more than line 16, use your itemized 
deductions on line 15. If line 16 is more than line 15, 
use your standard deduction on line 16.

Itemized Deductions
If you use federal Schedule A to itemize, use the 
following instructions for line 14:

• If federal Schedule A, line 5d, is:
 � $10,000 or less ($5,000 if married filing 

separately), enter the amount from federal 
Schedule A, line 5a.

 � More than $10,000 ($5,000 if married 
filing separately), subtract lines 5b and 5c 
from line 5e, and enter the amount here. 
Enter zero for any result less than zero.

Federal Foreign Tax Credit: If you claim the federal 
foreign tax credit, Idaho allows that amount as a 
deduction. Idaho doesn’t have a credit that matches 
the federal foreign tax credit.
Add the amount you claimed for the federal foreign tax 
credit to your Idaho itemized deductions.

Standard Deduction Worksheet

1. Enter the amount shown below for your 
filing status:
• Single or married filing separately, 

enter $13,850
• Married filing jointly or qualifying 

surviving spouse, enter $27,700
• Head of household, enter $20,800 ......

2. Can you be claimed as a dependent?
No. Enter the amount from line 1 on line 4.
Skip line 3.
Yes. Go to line 3.

3. Is your earned income* more than $850?
Yes. Add $400 to your earned income.
Enter the total. 
No. Enter $1,250 ..............................

4. If you can be claimed as a dependent, 
enter the smaller of lines 1 or 3. If born 
after January 1, 1959, and not blind, skip 
to line 6. Otherwise, go to line 5 ...............
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5. If born before January 2, 1959, or blind, 
multiply the total number of boxes 
checked on Form 40, lines 12a and 12b, 
by $1,500 ($1,850 if single or head of 
household) .............................................

6. Add lines 4 and 5. Enter the total here 
and on Form 40, line 16 ..........................

*Earned income includes wages, salaries, tips, 
professional fees, and other compensation received 
for personal services you performed. It also 
includes any amount received as a scholarship 
that you must include in your income. See Gross 
Income in General Information.

Line 18 Qualified Business Income Deduction
Enter the amount from federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, line 13.

Line 20 Tax
Enter the tax on this line. 
Worksheet

1. Enter the amount of Idaho taxable 
income from Form 40, line 19..................

2. Enter the amount shown below for your 
filing status:
• Single or married filing separately, 

enter $4,489
• Married filing jointly, head of household, 

or qualifying surviving spouse, 
enter $8,978

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. Enter the 
subtotal .........................................................

4. Multiply subtotal by 5.8% .............................
5. Idaho tax. Enter the total here and on 

Form 40, line 20 ...........................................

If you don’t meet the filing requirement 
(see page 2) and are filing only to receive a refund of 
withheld taxes, write “NRF” (Not Required to File) on 
this line.

Credits
Line 22 Income Tax Paid to Other States
When both Idaho and another state tax the same 
income, you may qualify for a credit for tax paid 
to the other state. Use Form 39R to compute the 
credit. You must include a copy of the other state’s 
income tax return and Form 39R. If the credit 
applies to more than one state, use a separate 
Form 39R for each state. See instructions, page 37.
You may qualify for a credit for tax paid to another 

state by a pass-through entity. If a pass-through 
entity paid tax to another state on your behalf, it 
should report that information to you.
Examples of income that may be taxed by both 
Idaho and another state include:

• Wages earned in another state that has an 
income tax, such as Oregon or Utah, while 
you’re living in Idaho

• Income from a business or profession earned 
in another state that has an income tax while 
you’re a resident of Idaho

Line 23 Total Credits for Charitable Contributions 
and Live Organ Donations
You may qualify for a credit if you donated a qualified 
organ that’s transplanted into another individual, or if 
you made a contribution to a:

• Qualified Idaho educational entity
• Center for independent living
• Youth or rehabilitation facility or its foundation, or
• Nonprofit substance abuse center licensed by 

the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare
Complete Form 39R, Part D and see page 37 for 
specific instructions. Enter the total allowed credit from 
Form 39R, Part D, line 4, and include Form 39R with 
your return.

Line 25 Idaho Child Tax Credit Worksheet
To qualify for the Idaho Child Tax Credit, the child 
must:

• Be your qualifying child, and
• Be age 16 or under as of December 31, 2023

If you don’t have a qualifying child, you can’t claim 
the credit.
For divorced parents or parents who don’t live 
together, the custodial parent claims the qualifying 
child.
The noncustodial parent may claim the child if:

• A court has awarded the right to claim the child 
for tax purposes to the noncustodial parent, or

• The custodial parent signs a written declaration 
that the noncustodial parent can claim the child 
for the child tax credit

The noncustodial parent must include a copy of the 
court order or the written declaration with their income 
tax return.

Note: This credit is limited to your tax liability after 
any credit for tax paid to other states and credits from 
Forms 39R and 44.
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Worksheet
1. Enter the number of your qualifying 

children* .................................................
2. Multiply line 1 by $205 ...........................
3. Enter the amount from Form 40, line 20 ....
4. Enter the amount from Form 40, line 22 ....
5. Enter the amount from Form 40, line 23 ....
6. Enter the amount from Form 40, line 24 ....
7. Subtract lines 4 through 6 from line 3. If 

less than zero, enter zero .......................
8. Enter the lesser of lines 2 or 7 here 

and on Form 40, line 25 .........................

*See federal Form 1040 instructions for more 
information on qualifying children.

Other Taxes
Line 28 Fuels Tax Due
If you buy gasoline, aircraft fuel, or special fuels 
(diesel, propane, or natural gas) without paying the 
fuels tax and later use this fuel in licensed vehicles 
or aircraft, you owe fuels tax. Add the amounts on 
Form 75, Section IV, lines 3 and 4, and enter the 
total. Include Form 75.

Line 29 Sales/Use Tax Due
If you made purchases during the year without 
paying sales tax, you must pay use tax on these 
purchases. If you purchased an item from an 
out-of-state seller (including internet, catalog, radio, 
and TV purchases) and the seller didn’t collect 
sales tax on that purchase, you must pay the use 
tax directly to the Tax Commission. Multiply the total 
amount of purchases by 6% (.06). If you computed 
use tax on Form 75, add it to the use tax on other 
purchases and enter the total on this line.
If you have an Idaho sales or use tax account, 
don’t report your sales or use tax on this line, but 
continue to report the tax on these purchases on 
your sales and use tax returns.

Line 30 Total Tax from Recapture of Income Tax 
Credits
If you’ve claimed Idaho tax credits that no longer 
qualify, you must compute the tax credit recapture. 
Enter the total tax from recapture of income 
tax credits from Form 44, Part II, line 6. Include 
Form 44.

Line 31 Tax from Recapture of Qualified 
Investment Exemption (QIE)
If you’ve claimed Idaho exemption of property taxes 
from property that no longer qualifies, you must 
compute the recapture of the QIE. Include Form 49ER.

Line 32 Permanent Building Fund (PBF) Tax
You’re required to pay the $10 PBF tax if you’re 
required to file an Idaho income tax return. See Who 
Must File on page 2.
You aren’t required to pay the $10 PBF tax if:

• Your gross income was less than the amount 
specified for your filing status. Draw a line through 
the $10 and enter “NRF” (Not Required to File)

• You were receiving Idaho public assistance 
payments at the end of the tax year. Check the 
box on this line and draw a line through the $10. 
Food stamps and WIC payments don’t qualify as 
Idaho public assistance

• You (or your spouse) are legally blind at the end 
of the tax year. Draw a line through the $10

Donations
The donations on lines 34 through 41 are voluntary 
and will either reduce your refund or increase your tax 
due. Once you make the donation, it can’t be changed. 
These donations may be itemized as charitable 
contribution deductions on your 2024 income tax 
return. If you have questions about your donations, 
contact the agencies listed.
If you’re filing an amended return, your donations can’t 
be less than the amounts on the original return.
If you make a donation and owe tax, you must pay the 
tax at the time of filing.

Line 34 Idaho Nongame Wildlife Fund
Contributions are used to ensure the conservation and 
management of nongame wildlife, rare plants, and 
their habitats in Idaho, to promote greater awareness 
of and appreciation for species that aren’t hunted, 
fished, or trapped, and to increase opportunities 
to view and enjoy “watchable” wildlife. For more 
information visit the Department of Fish and Game 
website at idfg.idaho.gov/wildlife/funding or call 
(208) 334-2920.

Line 35 Idaho Children’s Trust Fund/Prevent Child 
Abuse Idaho
Contributions are used to protect our children, 
Idaho’s single greatest resource. The Children’s Trust 
supports work in communities throughout Idaho to 
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prevent child abuse and neglect before it ever occurs. 
For more information visit the Idaho Children’s 
Trust Fund/Prevent Child Abuse Idaho website at 
idahochildrenstrustfund.org or call (208) 386-9317.

Line 36 Special Olympics Idaho
Contributions provide support for year-round sports 
training and competition for children and adults 
with developmental disabilities in Idaho. For more 
information visit the Special Olympics Idaho website 
at specialolympicsidaho.org or call (208) 323-0482.

Line 37 Idaho Guard and Reserve Family 
Support Fund
Contributions are used to assist military reservists 
and their families to promote the overall readiness 
for them to support our state and federal missions. 
For more information visit the Idaho Guard and 
Reserve Family Support Fund, Inc. website 
at imd.idaho.gov/igr-family-support or call 
(208) 801-4225.

Line 38 American Red Cross of Idaho Fund
Contributions prevent and alleviate human 
suffering in the face of emergencies. For more 
information visit the American Red Cross 
website at redcross.org/local/idaho or call 
(800) 733-2767.

Line 39 Veterans Support Fund
Contributions fund programs that support Idaho 
veterans. For more information visit the Idaho 
Division of Veterans Services website at veterans.
idaho.gov/publications/idaho-veterans-support-
fund or call (208) 780-1300.

Line 40 Idaho Food Bank Fund
Contributions assist Idaho hunger relief 
organizations in meeting the demand for emergency 
food for hungry Idaho families, children, and senior 
citizens. For more information visit the Idaho Food 
Bank Fund website at idahofoodbankfund.org or 
call (208) 336-9643.

Line 41 Opportunity Scholarship Program
Contributions help provide need-based scholarship 
funds to Idaho high school graduates who attend 
approved higher education institutions within Idaho. 
For more information visit the Idaho Opportunity 
Scholarship Program website at boardofed.idaho.
gov/scholarships/Idaho-opportunity-scholarship.

Payments and Other Credits
Line 43 Grocery Credit
If you’re an Idaho resident, you can claim a credit for 
each qualifying dependent who’s an Idaho resident. If 
someone else, such as a parent, can claim you as a 
dependent, you can’t claim this credit on your return. 
The credit is $120 each for you, your spouse, and your 
dependents. You can claim an additional $20 if you’re 
age 65 or older on December 31, 2023, and are an 
Idaho resident. You can claim an additional $20 if your 
spouse is age 65 or older and is an Idaho resident.
An individual doesn’t qualify for the credit for any 
month or part of a month for which that person:

• Received assistance from the federal food 
stamp program

• Was incarcerated, or
• Lived illegally in the United States

Members of the Armed Forces
A member of the United States Armed Forces 
who’s domiciled in Idaho is allowed the credit. If 
you live in Idaho but are a nonresident under the 
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, you aren’t allowed 
the grocery credit.
A spouse or dependent of a nonresident military 
person stationed in Idaho may be an Idaho resident 
or part-year resident. The domicile of a dependent 
child is the same as that of the nonmilitary spouse.
Complete the worksheet and enter the total computed 
grocery credit on line 43. See the following instructions 
to donate your credit. If you aren’t donating your credit, 
enter the computed amount in the column for line 43.

Grocery Credit Worksheet
Yourself:

1. Number of qualified months .......................
2. If 65 or older, multiply line 1 by $11.67

If qualified for the entire year, enter $140 ......
If under 65, multiply line 1 by $10.
If qualified for the entire year, enter $120 ......

Spouse (if joint return):
3. Number of qualified months .......................
4. If 65 or older, multiply line 3 by $11.67

If qualified for the entire year, enter $140 ......
If under 65, multiply line 3 by $10
If qualified for the entire year, enter $120 ......

 



EIN00046 11-06-2023  Page 12 of 52

Form 40 — Instructions    2023    (continued)     

Resident dependents claimed on line 6:
5. Enter $120 for each dependent who qualifies for 

the entire year. If a dependent qualifies for only 
part of the year, compute as follows:

 Number of qualified months ____  x  $10
Number of qualified months ____  x  $10
Number of qualified months ____  x  $10
Number of qualified months ____  x  $10

If you have more than four dependents, use additional 
paper to compute. 

Total credit allowed:

6. Add amounts on lines 2, 4, and 5. Enter 
total on line 43 ............................................

Donating Your Grocery Credit
You can donate your entire grocery credit to the 
Cooperative Welfare Fund. To donate, check the 
box on line 43 and enter zero (0) in the column for 
line 43. Once you make the donation, it can’t be 
changed on an amended return.
Note: If you (or your spouse) are age 65 or older 
and qualify for the credit but aren’t required to file 
an Idaho income tax return, you can claim the credit 
on Form 24. You can get this form from any Tax 
Commission office or our website at tax.idaho.gov/
IITforms. Form 24 is due by April 15, 2024.

Line 44 Maintaining a Home for a Family Member 
Age 65 or Older or a Family Member with a 
Developmental Disability
You can claim a tax credit of $100 per person (up 
to $300) if you maintained a household for an 
immediate family member:

• Age 65 or older (not including yourself or your 
spouse), or 

• With a developmental disability (including 
yourself and your spouse), and

• Didn’t claim a deduction of $1,000 per person 
on Form 39R, Part B, line 15

You can claim this credit even if your gross income 
is less than the filing requirement.

Line 45 Fuels Tax Refund
If you buy special fuels (diesel, propane, or natural 
gas) with Idaho tax included and use this fuel for 
heating or in off-highway equipment, you may be 
eligible for a refund of the Idaho special fuels tax 
you paid. Enter the amount from Form 75, Section 
IV, line 2. Include Form 75. Heating fuel generally is 
purchased without paying the tax.

If you buy gasoline and use it in unlicensed equipment 
or auxiliary engines, you may be eligible for a refund 
of the Idaho gasoline tax you paid. Enter the amount 
from Form 75, Section IV, line 1. Include Form 75.

Line 46 Idaho Income Tax Withheld
Enter the total amount of Idaho income tax withheld. 
Include legible state copies of Form W-2s, 1099s, and 
other information forms that show Idaho withholding.
Don’t claim credit for tax withheld for other states or 
federal tax withheld.
Don’t include Form W-2s from other tax years or write 
on or change the amounts on your Form W-2s.

Line 47 Form 51 Payments
Enter the total payments you made with Form 51s 
on or before the due date. Include the amount of 
overpayment applied from your 2022 return.

Line 48 Paid by Entity/Withheld/Affected 
Business Entity (ABE)
If a pass-through entity pays or withholds income tax 
for an Idaho resident owner, include the amount paid 
or withheld on this line as specified on Form ID K-1. 
Also, include the amount of tax paid by the ABE on the 
individual’s share of ABE income. Include a copy of 
Form ID K-1s with your income tax return.

Line 49 Tax Reimbursement Incentive Credit
Enter the total credit allowed from the Idaho 
Reimbursement Incentive Certificate. Include a copy 
of the certificate with the return.

Claim of Right Credit
If you claimed a deduction or credit on your federal 
return for claim of right, complete Idaho Worksheet 
CR to determine which option benefits you most on 
your Idaho return. See Claim of Right Worksheets 
at tax.idaho.gov/taxes/income-tax/individual-
income/popular-credits-and-deductions/claim-
of-right-income-repayments.

Tax Due or Refund
Line 52 Penalty and Interest
Idaho law provides penalties for not filing tax returns 
by the due date, not paying tax due on time, and not 
prepaying enough on extension returns. For more 
information or to calculate a penalty, see our Penalties 
and Interest page at tax.idaho.gov/penalties.

Interest: We charge interest on the amount of tax 
due, line 51, from the original due date until paid. The 
rate for 2024 is 6%.
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Idaho Medical Savings Account: If you make an 
Idaho medical savings account withdrawal that’s 
taxable and you’re under age 59 1/2, the withdrawal 
is subject to penalty. The penalty is 10% of the 
amount withdrawn. Check the box and enter the 
amount here.

Line 53 Nonrefundable Credit From a Prior Year 
Return
If you were denied a refund from an overpayment of 
tax on a prior year return because of the three-year 
statute of limitations, you may be eligible to take 
a credit for the amount. See Idaho Form 44 for 
calculation of your credit and include it with your 
return.

Line 54 Total Due
Enter the amount you owe, including penalty and 
interest, on this line.
Don’t send cash. Payments of less than $1 aren’t 
required. We charge a $20 fee on all returned 
checks.

Electronic payments. There’s no fee to pay by 
ACH Debit. Our third-party provider charges a 
convenience fee when you pay by credit card 
or e-check. We accept American Express®, 
Discover®, MasterCard®, and Visa®. For 
more information, visit our E-Pay page at 
tax.idaho.gov/epay.

Check payments. Make your check or money 
order payable to the Idaho State Tax Commission. 
Be sure to write your Social Security number on it, 
and include it with your return. Don’t staple your 
check to your return or send a check stub.

Line 56 Refund/Apply to 2024
Refund
Enter the amount of your overpayment from line 55 
that you want refunded to you. Refunds of less than 
$1 won’t be issued. You have three years from the 
return’s due date (not including extensions) to claim 
a refund. Refunds will be reduced by unpaid Idaho 
tax liabilities and can be applied to unpaid liabilities 
owed to other agencies.
The agency or party seizing the refund must send 
you notice of the action. Questions about a refund 
seizure should be directed to the agency or party 
that initiated the claim for seizure.
Apply to 2024
If you’re filing an original return, subtract the amount 

you want to refund from line 55. Any difference will be 
applied to your 2024 tax and won’t be refunded.

Line 57 Direct Deposit
Complete this line if you want us to deposit your refund 
directly into your bank or Idaho 529 College Savings 
(IDeal) account instead of mailing you a check.
If your refund is being forwarded from a United States 
financial institution to a financial institution or financial 
agency located outside of the United States, check the 
box on this line. If after filing your Idaho income tax 
return you become aware that your electronic refund 
payment will be electronically deposited in a financial 
institution or financial agency located outside of the 
United States, please notify us at:

Idaho State Tax Commission
PO Box 56
Boise ID 83756-0056

Contact your bank to make sure your deposit will be 
accepted and that you have the correct routing and 
account numbers.

Enter your nine-digit routing number. The routing 
number must begin with 01 through 12 or 21 through 
32 for bank accounts. For all IDeal accounts, the 
routing number is 011001234.

Enter the account number you want your refund 
deposited into. The account number can be up to 
17 characters (both numbers and letters). For IDeal  
accounts, the account number will be 541 plus the 
11-digit IDeal account number.
Don’t include hyphens, spaces or special symbols. 
Enter the number left to right and leave any unused 
boxes blank.

Check the appropriate box for account type. Check 
either checking or savings, but not both. For IDeal 
accounts, check the box for checking.

The check example above indicates where the 
proper banking information is located. To locate 
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your IDeal account number, log into your account 
at www.idsaves.org or call (866) 433-2533 for 
assistance. You’re responsible for the accuracy of 
this information.
If your financial institution rejects your request for 
direct deposit, you’ll receive a check by mail instead.
Note: An IDeal account has a maximum balance 
limit of up to $350,000 for each beneficiary.

Amended Return Only
Complete lines 58 through 61 only if you’re filing 
this return as an amended return.

Line 58 Total Due or Overpaid on This Return
If the total due shown on line 54 is greater than zero, 
enter it as a positive amount.
If line 54 is zero, enter the amount of overpayment 
that’s shown on line 55 here as a negative amount.

Line 59 Refund from Original Return Plus 
Additional Refunds
Enter the total refund amount from previous returns 
for this tax year here as a positive amount.

Line 60 Tax Paid with Original Return Plus 
Additional Tax Paid
Enter the total due paid from previous returns for 
this tax year here as a positive amount. (Don’t 
include penalty, interest, Form 51 estimated 
payments, withholding, or unpaid tax.)

Line 61 Amended Tax Due or Refund
Add lines 58 and 59, then subtract line 60. A positive 
amount is your amended tax due. A negative amount 
is your amended refund.

Tax Preparer Contact Box
This box applies only if you paid a tax preparer to 
complete your return. If you check the box, you’re 
authorizing the Tax Commission to discuss your return 
with the paid preparer identified on the return.
You’re also authorizing the paid preparer to:

• Give the Tax Commission any information that’s 
missing from your return, and

• Call the Tax Commission for information about 
the processing of your return or the status of your 
refund or payments

You’re not authorizing the paid preparer to receive 
any refund check, bind you to anything including any 
additional tax liability, or otherwise represent you 
before the Tax Commission.
This authorization is valid for up to 180 days from the 
date the Tax Commission receives the return. If you 
want the Tax Commission to contact you rather than 
your preparer, leave the box blank.

Signatures
Who must sign the return?

• You
• Your spouse (if filing a joint return)
• A paid preparer (if used). Include preparer’s 

name, address, and identification number
• An authorized person signing for a deceased 

individual or an individual unable to sign. 
Include the authorized person’s relationship to 
the taxpayer. Write “FILING AS SURVIVING 
SPOUSE” or “UNABLE TO SIGN” in the signature 
space

• If a taxpayer signs with an “X,” this mark must be 
witnessed

• Not signing the return will delay processing
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Form 43 — Instructions
Part-year Resident and Nonresident 
Income Tax Return

2023

Instructions are for lines not fully explained on the 
form. General information instructions beginning on 
page 2 also apply to this form.

Grocery Credit Refund Only
You must be an Idaho resident or an Idaho resident 
on active military duty to qualify for a refund of 
the grocery credit. Part-year residents can claim a 
prorated credit against their tax due but don’t qualify 
for a refund of any excess credit. Nonresidents 
don’t qualify for the credit.
If you were a resident, but your spouse was a 
part-year resident or nonresident and you aren’t 
required to file an income tax return, file Form 43 to 
claim a refund of the grocery credit allowed to the 
resident.
You aren’t required to include a copy of the federal 
return.
Complete Form 43 as follows:

• Complete the top of the form through line 6
• Skip lines 7 through 27
• Write “NRF” (Not Required to File) on line 28, 

Column A. Leave line 28, Column B blank
• Skip lines 29 through 31
• Complete line 32a if you (or your spouse) are 

age 65 or older
• Skip lines 33 through 51
• Cross through the $10 on line 52, Permanent 

Building Fund, and write “NRF”
• Skip lines 53 through 62
• Enter your grocery credit amount on line 63 

using the grocery credit worksheet on page 24
• Complete applicable lines 64 through 77
• Skip lines 78 through 81
• Complete the bottom of Form 43 below line 81

Heading
Write your name, address, and Social Security 
number (SSN) in the spaces provided. If you 
don’t have an SSN, write in your Individual Tax 
Identification Number (ITIN).
If you don’t have or aren’t required to have an SSN 
or ITIN, enter “NRA” (Nonresident Alien) in the SSN 
space. If you’ve applied for an ITIN and haven’t 
received it from the IRS before you file your Idaho 
return, enter “Form W-7” in the space provided for 
the SSN. If you enter “Form W-7,” include a copy of 

your federal Form W-7 with your return. Once you 
receive your ITIN from the IRS, you must provide it 
to the Tax Commission before your return can finish 
processing.
If you receive an SSN after using an ITIN, you must 
use the SSN and stop using your ITIN. It’s your 
responsibility to notify the Tax Commission so your 
return can finish processing.
Be sure that your return and W-2 forms show the 
correct SSN or ITIN. An error in your SSN or ITIN will 
delay your refund.

Amended Return
You can use this form as an original return or an 
amended return. 
If you’re filing this form as an amended return, check 
the box at the top of the form. Enter the number from 
the following list that best describes your reason for 
amending.

1. Federal Audit
2. Net Operating Loss Carryback – Include Form 56 

or a schedule showing the application of the loss
3. Federal Amended – Include a complete copy of 

your federal return
4. Other – Include an explanation

Complete the entire form and schedules using the 
corrected amounts. Don’t include a copy of your 
original return with the amended return.

Nonresident Alien
Nonresident aliens for federal purposes are 
nonresidents for Idaho income tax purposes. If you’re 
(you or your spouse) a nonresident alien, check the 
box below the address and check Nonresident for your 
residency status. 

Residency Status
Check the box that applies to your residency status 
for 2023. If you’re married and filing a joint return, 
check the box that applies to your spouse’s residency 
for 2023. Use Form 43 if one of you is a resident and 
the other isn’t, and you filed a joint federal return. See 
page 4 to determine your status.

• If you’re (you or your spouse) an Idaho resident, 
check box 1.

• If you’re (you or your spouse) a member of the 
armed forces on active military duty outside 
Idaho and Idaho is your state of permanent 
residence, check box 2. (An Idaho resident on 
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active military duty in or outside Idaho must file 
on Form 40 unless your spouse is a part-year 
resident or nonresident.)

• If you’re (you or your spouse) a nonresident, 
check box 3.

• If you or your spouse moved into or out of Idaho 
and were a resident for only part of the year, 
check box 4.

• If you’re (you or your spouse) in Idaho on 
military orders but your state of permanent 
residence is another state, check box 5. See 
the instructions for Military Personnel on 
page 5 of this booklet.

If the earned income of a servicemember’s spouse 
is exempt from Idaho taxation on Idaho Form 43, 
the servicemember must check box 5 and the 
qualifying spouse must check box 3.
If you’re a resident filing Forms 43 and 39NR due 
to a nonresident spouse, the amounts reported 
for additions and subtractions in the Idaho column 
must be the total amount for your share of those 
additions or subtractions plus the amount of any 
Idaho additions or subtractions of your nonresident 
spouse.

Full Months in Idaho This Year
If you were a part-year resident, enter the number 
of full months you lived in Idaho in 2023. If you’re 
married and filing a joint return, enter the number 
of full months your spouse lived in Idaho in 2023. 
Nonresidents don’t respond to this question.

Current State of Residence
Use the two-letter state abbreviation to report 
your current state of residence. For example, 
if you moved to Idaho during 2023, use ID. 
All part-year residents and nonresidents must 
complete this section. Spouses with separate 
domiciles may report different states. If you’re a 
military nonresident, indicate your military home of 
record.

Lines 1 Through 5 Filing Status
Check the box indicating your Idaho filing status. 
Refer to General Information on page 2 for further 
information on filing status.

Line 6 Household
Line 6a. Yourself. Enter “1” unless someone else 
claims you as a dependent on their return.

Line 6b. Spouse. Enter “1” if you’re filing a joint 
return.
Enter “1” if your spouse died during 2023 and you’re 
filing a joint return.
Leave the line blank if someone else claims your 
spouse as a dependent on their return.

Line 6c. Dependents. List your dependents. Include 
their SSN and birthdate. If you have more than four 
dependents, continue on Form 39NR, Part G. Enter 
the total number of dependents on the line.
If you’re the noncustodial parent of a dependent and 
are claiming them on your return, include federal 
Form 8332 or a copy of the court order with the return. 
See irs.gov for more information.

Line 6d. Total Household. Add lines 6a through 6c.

Idaho Income
Complete your federal income tax return before you 
begin this form. You’ll use the information from your 
federal income tax return to complete your Form 43.

Line 7 Wages, Salaries, Tips, etc.
Enter the total wages, salaries, tips, etc. received for 
all employment while an Idaho resident or part-year 
resident and for all work performed in Idaho while a 
nonresident. If you’re a nonresident who works for an 
employer both in Idaho and outside of Idaho, visit our 
Idaho Residency Status webpage at tax.idaho.gov/
IITbasics. It explains how to determine the amount of 
income that’s taxable to Idaho.
If your military home of record is Idaho and you’re on 
active duty outside Idaho, include all of your wages. 
Your active duty military wages earned outside of 
Idaho can be deducted on Form 39NR, Part B, line 7. 
If you have nonmilitary wages that are taxable in 
another state, you can take a credit for tax paid to 
other states on Form 39NR, Part D.
If your military home of record wasn’t Idaho and 
you were on active duty in Idaho, don’t include your 
military wages.
If the servicemember’s spouse’s earned income 
isn’t taxable by Idaho as described on page 5 under 
Military Personnel, don’t include the qualifying 
spouse’s wages.
If the wages on line 7 don’t match the Idaho income 
amounts on your Form W-2s, include a schedule or 
explanation.

Form 43 — Instructions    2023    (continued)     
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Line 8 Taxable Interest Income
From federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 2b, enter 
all:

• Interest income received while an Idaho resident
• Business interest income earned from Idaho 

sources
• Interest income on installment sales of Idaho 

property
Note: Don’t include interest earned from a personal 
bank account in Idaho while a nonresident.

Line 9 Dividend Income
From federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 3b, 
enter dividends earned while an Idaho resident 
or part-year resident and dividends earned from 
Idaho sources while a nonresident.

Line 10 Alimony Received
From federal Schedule 1, line 2a, enter alimony 
received while an Idaho resident or part-year 
resident. 

Line 11 Business Income or Loss
From federal Schedule 1, line 3, enter the income  
or loss reported on Schedule C or C-EZ from 
businesses or professions engaged in while an 
Idaho resident or part-year resident or conducted 
in Idaho while a nonresident. A nonresident 
conducting business in Idaho and another state 
must apportion income or loss. Complete and 
include Idaho Form 402.

Line 12 Capital Gain or Loss
From federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 7, enter 
the gain or loss reported on Schedule D from:
• The sale of capital assets located in Idaho
• The sale of capital assets while you were 

residing in Idaho, or
• The receipt of installment sale proceeds while 

you were an Idaho resident

Line 13 Other Gains or Losses
From federal Schedule 1, line 4, enter other gains 
or losses reported on federal Schedule 4797 that 
occurred while an Idaho resident or part-year 
resident or from an Idaho business.

Line 14 IRA Distributions
From federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 4b, enter 
the amount of IRA distributions received while an 
Idaho resident or part-year resident.

Line 15 Pensions and Annuities
From federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 5b, enter 
the amount of pensions and annuities received while 
an Idaho resident or part-year resident.

Line 16 Rents, Royalties, Partnerships, etc.
From federal Schedule 1, line 5, enter the amount 
reported on Schedule E earned or received while 
an Idaho resident or part-year resident or related to 
Idaho business or property. Report passive activity 
losses from Idaho activities that are “Allowed” 
losses from federal Form 8582 and corresponding 
worksheets.

Line 17 Farm Income or Loss
From federal Schedule 1, line 6, enter the amount 
reported on Schedule F that’s farm income or 
loss incurred while an Idaho resident or part-year 
resident or from an Idaho farming operation. A 
nonresident operating a farm in Idaho and another 
state must apportion income or loss. Complete and 
include Idaho Form 402.

Line 18 Unemployment Compensation
From federal Schedule 1, line 7, enter any 
unemployment compensation received while an 
Idaho resident or part-year resident. Enter the amount 
received from the Idaho Department of Labor while a 
nonresident.

Line 19 Other Income
From federal Schedule 1, line 8, enter any other 
income received while an Idaho resident or part-year 
resident or from an Idaho source. An example is: 
• Idaho lottery winnings over $600 

Also include:
• The total of any state income tax refunds 

received while an Idaho resident from federal 
Schedule 1, line 1, state tax rebates for Idaho 
servicemembers, and 

• The taxable amount of Social Security benefits 
received while an Idaho resident from federal 
Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 6b.

Don’t include federal NOL on this line.

Idaho Adjustments
Line 21 Deductions for IRAs and Health Savings 
Accounts
Enter Idaho’s portion of:
• The IRA deduction included on federal Schedule 1, 

line 20
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• The deduction for a federal health savings
account included on Schedule 1, line 13

• The Archer MSA deduction included on
Schedule 1, line 23, and

• The IRC 501(c)(18)(D) retirement plan included
on Schedule 1, line 24f

1. Enter the amount of wages and earned
income you computed on the federal IRA 
deduction worksheet and the amount of
income you earned from the business
that the federal health savings account
deduction is claimed on .............................

2. Enter the amount from line 1 received
while an Idaho resident or part-year
resident or from Idaho sources ..................

3. Divide line 2 by line 1.
(Can’t exceed 100%) ................................. %

4. Enter amounts from federal Schedule 1,
lines 13, 20, 23, and 24f ............................

5. Multiply line 4 by line 3. Enter this
amount on line 21 ......................................

Line 22 Moving Expenses, Alimony Paid, and 
Student Loan Interest
If you claimed a deduction on federal Schedule 1, 
line 14, 19a, or 21 for moving expenses, alimony 
paid, or student loan interest, complete this 
worksheet to determine your Idaho deduction, if any:

1. Enter total income from Form 43, line 20. 
Don’t include federal NOL in line 20 .........

2. Enter total income from federal
Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 9, less 
federal NOL unless already subtracted .....

3. Divide line 1 by line 2.
(Can’t exceed 100%) ................................. %

4. Enter total allowable federal amount of
moving expenses, alimony paid, and
student loan interest ..................................

5. Multiply line 4 by line 3. Enter this
amount on line 22 ......................................

Line 23 Deductions for Self-employed
Enter Idaho’s portion of the deductions for 
self-employment tax, self-employed health insurance, 
and contributions to a Simplified Employee Pension 
Plan (SEP), a Savings Incentive Match Plan for 
Employees (SIMPLE), or a qualified plan reported on 
your federal Schedule 1, lines 15, 16, and 17. 
Note: S corporation wages paid to a more-than-2% 
shareholder qualify for self-employed health 
insurance. 

To compute Idaho’s portion, complete this worksheet. 
If you have amounts from more than three businesses, 
add more lines.

1. Self-Employment Tax Deduction
Enter the total federal deduction amount related
to each Schedule C, E, and/or F in Column A.
Compute the Idaho percentage in Column B
by dividing the Idaho income reported by each
business by the total income reported by each
business. Multiply Column A by Column B and
enter in Column C.

A B C
Business 1 x =
Business 2 x =
Business 3 x =

Total Idaho Self-Employment 
Tax Deduction ..........................................

2. Self-Employed SEP, SIMPLE, and Qualified Plans
Enter the total federal deduction amount related
to each Schedule C, E, and/or F in Column A.
Compute the Idaho percentage in Column B by
dividing the Idaho self-employment income reported
by each business by the total self-employment
income reported by each business. Multiply
Column A by Column B and enter in Column C.

A B C
Business 1 x =
Business 2 x =
Business 3 x =
Total Idaho Self-Employed 
Retirement Plan Deduction ......................

3. Self-Employed Health Insurance Deduction
Enter the total federal deduction amount related
to each Schedule C, E, and/or F in Column A.
Compute the Idaho percentage in Column B
by dividing the Idaho income reported by each
business by the total income reported by each
business. Multiply Column A by Column B and enter
in Column C.

A B C
Business 1 x =
Business 2 x =
Business 3 x =
Total Idaho Self-Employed
Health Insurance Deduction ....................

4. Total Self-Employment Deduction
Add the total amounts in Column C,
lines 1, 2, and 3 ........................................
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Line 24 Penalty on Early Withdrawal of Savings
Enter the amount from federal Schedule 1, line 18 
that relates to interest income reported as Idaho 
income.

Line 25 Other Deductions
You may qualify for an Idaho deduction if you 
claimed any of the following items on federal 
Schedule 1, lines 11 through 25 relating to:

• Reservists
• Performing artists
• Fee-based government officials
• Educator expenses
• A write-in deduction for rental of personal 

property
• Reforestation amortization and expenses*
• Attorney fees and court costs
• Jury duty pay

Divide the amount of income relating to that item 
included in Idaho total income by the income 
relating to the item included in federal adjusted 
gross income. This percentage is multiplied by 
the deduction claimed on your federal return to 
calculate the deduction allowed on your Idaho 
return. For example, divide Idaho jury pay included 
in Idaho total income by total jury pay included 
in federal adjusted gross income to arrive at a 
percentage (can’t exceed 100%). Multiply that 
percentage by the amount of the jury pay claimed 
as a deduction on your federal return. Repeat this 
step for each of the deductions mentioned above. 
Total the result for each deduction, and enter the 
amount on line 25. Include a copy of your calculations 
with your return.
*If there’s no income from the related timber 
operations for the year of the reforestation deduction, 
the deduction for reforestation is based on the 
percentage of property in Idaho to the total property 
that relates to the reforestation amortization and 
expense.

Line 28 Adjusted Gross Income
Column A: This must be the same amount of 
Adjusted Gross Income as reported on your federal 
Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11.
Column B: This is Idaho Adjusted Gross Income. 
Enter the amount from line 27.
If your Idaho Adjusted Gross Income is negative, 
see Idaho Form 56 and instructions.

Tax Computation
Line 32a Age 65 or Older
If you’re 65 or older, check the box for “Yourself.” If 
you’re filing a joint return and your spouse is 65 or 
older, check the box for “Spouse.” If your 65th birthday 
was on January 1, 2024, you may consider yourself 
65 on December 31, 2023. The boxes you check must 
match your federal return.

Line 32b Blind
Check the box for “Yourself” if you’re blind. If you’re 
filing a joint return and your spouse is blind, check the 
box for “Spouse.” The boxes you check must match 
your federal return.

Line 32c Claimed Dependent
Check this box if someone else, such as a parent, can 
claim you as a dependent.

Lines 33 – 36 
Standard Deductions
Most people can find their standard deduction by 
looking at the instructions to the left of Form 43, 
line 36. Use the Standard Deduction Worksheet on 
page 20 to calculate your standard deduction if:

• You check any boxes on lines 32a through 
32c, or

• Someone can claim you or your spouse, if filing 
jointly, as a dependent

You can use either your federal itemized deductions or 
standard deduction, whichever benefits you more. 
You must itemize if:

• You’re married filing a separate return (filing 
status 3), and your spouse itemizes

• You were a nonresident alien for any part of 2023
You don’t have to itemize if you file a joint return 
with your spouse who was a U.S. citizen or resident 
at the end of 2023, and you and your spouse agree 
to be taxed on your combined worldwide income.
Idaho requires that state or local income or general 
sales taxes shown on federal Schedule A be 
subtracted from your total itemized amount before 
you use this figure to reduce your income. Because 
of this addback, it may be more beneficial to itemize 
for federal purposes but use the standard deduction 
for Idaho.
If the IRS considers you or your spouse nonresident 
aliens and you aren’t from India, your standard 
deduction is zero. If you’re nonresident aliens from 
India, use the standard deduction for your filing status.
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If line 35 is more than line 36, use your itemized 
deductions on line 35. If line 36 is more than line 35, 
use your standard deduction on line 36.

Itemized Deductions
If you use federal Schedule A to itemize, use the 
following instructions for line 34:

• If federal Schedule A, line 5d, is:
 � $10,000 or less ($5,000 if married filing 

separately), enter the amount from federal 
Schedule A, line 5a

 � More than $10,000 ($5,000 if married 
filing separately), subtract lines 5b and 5c 
from line 5e, and enter the amount here. 
Enter zero for any result less than zero

Federal foreign tax credit: If you claim the federal 
foreign tax credit, Idaho allows that amount as a 
deduction. Idaho doesn’t have a credit that matches 
the federal foreign tax credit.
Add the amount you claimed for the federal foreign 
tax credit to your Idaho itemized deductions. 

Standard Deduction Worksheet

1. Enter the amount shown below for your 
filing status:
• Single or married filing separately 

enter $13,850
• Married filing jointly or qualifying 

surviving spouse enter $27,700
• Head of household enter $20,800 ......

2. Can you be claimed as a dependent?
No. Enter the amount from line 1 on line 4.
Skip line 3.
Yes. Go to line 3

3. Is your earned income* more than $850?
Yes. Add $400 to your earned 
income. Enter the total 
No. Enter $1,250 ..............................

4. If you can be claimed as a dependent, 
enter the smaller of lines 1 or 3. If born 
after January 1, 1959, and not blind, 
skip to line 6. Otherwise, 
go to line 5 ..............................................

5. If born before January 2, 1959, or blind, 
multiply the total number of boxes 
checked on Form 43, lines 32a and 32b 
by $1,500 ($1,850 if single or head of 
household) .............................................

6. Add lines 4 and 5. Enter the total 
here and on Form 43, line 36 ..................

*Earned income includes wages, salaries, tips, 
professional fees, and other compensation received 
for personal services you performed. It also includes 
any amount received as a scholarship that you 
must include in your income. See Gross Income in 
General Information. Generally, your earned income 
is the total of the amounts you reported on federal 
Form 1040 or 1040-SR.

Line 38 Idaho Percentage
Divide the amount from line 31, Column B, by the 
amount from line 31, Column A. Round to four digits 
to the right of the decimal point. For example .66666 
is rounded to .6667 and is entered as 66.67%. The 
percentage can’t exceed 100% or be less than zero. If 
line 31, Column A is negative and line 31, Column B is 
positive, the percentage is 100%.

Line 40 Qualified Business Income Deduction
Use the worksheet below to calculate the amount to 
enter on line 40. 

Worksheet
1. Enter the business information in the table below using information from your K-1s and federal Form 8995. Then add your totals 

for Column (c) and for column (e).
(a) 

Business name
.

(b)
Taxpayer

identification number

(c)
Total qualified business 

income or (loss)

(d) 
Idaho apportionment 

factor

(e) 
Idaho source qualified 

business income or (loss)
(Multiply Column c by 

Column d)

Total: Total:
2. Divide the total of Column (e) by the total of Column (c) for your Idaho percentage of qualified 

business income. It can’t exceed 100% ........................................................................................... 2 
3. Enter the qualified business income deduction you claimed on your federal return ........................ 3 
4. Multiply line 2 by line 3 to calculate your Idaho Qualified business income deduction. Enter the 

amount from line 4 on Idaho Form 43, line 40 ................................................................................. 4  
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Line 42 Tax
Enter the tax on this line. 
Worksheet

1. Enter the amount of Idaho taxable 
income from Form 43, line 41..................

2. Enter the amount shown below for your 
filing status:
• Single or married filing separately, 

enter $4,489
• Married filing jointly, head of household, 

or qualifying surviving spouse, 
enter $8,978

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. Enter the 
subtotal .........................................................

4. Multiply subtotal by 5.8% .............................
5. Idaho tax. Enter the total here and on 

Form 43, line 42 ...........................................

If you don’t meet the filing requirement 
(see page 2) and are filing only to receive a refund of 
withheld taxes, write “NRF” (Not Required to File) on 
this line.

Credits
Line 43 Income Tax Paid to Other States
Nonresidents don’t qualify for this credit.
Part-year resident: When both Idaho and another 
state tax the same income while you’re an Idaho 
resident, you may qualify for a credit for tax paid 
to the other state. Use Form 39NR, Part C, to 
compute the credit. You must include a copy of the 
other state’s income tax return and Form 39NR. 
If the credit applies to more than one state, use a 
separate Form 39NR for each state.

Idaho resident on active military duty: Use 
Form 39NR, Part D to compute the credit.
Certain part-year residents may qualify for a credit 
for tax paid to another state by a pass-through 
entity. If a pass-through entity paid a tax to another 
state, it should report that information to you.

Line 44 Total Credits for Charitable Contributions 
and Live Organ Donations
You may qualify for a credit if you donated a qualified 
organ that’s transplanted into another individual, or if 
you made a contribution to:

• A qualified Idaho educational entity
• Center for independent living
• Youth or rehabilitation facility or its foundation, or
• A nonprofit substance abuse center licensed by 

the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare 
Complete Form 39NR, Part E and see page 51 
for specific instructions. Enter the total allowed 
credit from Form 39NR, Part E, line 4 and include 
Form 39NR with your return.

Line 46 Idaho Child Tax Credit
Nonresidents don’t qualify for this credit. To 
qualify for the Idaho Child Tax Credit, the child must:

• Be your qualifying child, and
• Be age 16 or under as of December 31, 2023

If you don’t have a qualifying child, you can’t claim the 
credit.
For divorced parents or parents who don’t live 
together, the custodial parent claims the qualifying 
child.
The noncustodial parent may claim the child if:

• A court has awarded the right to claim the child 
for tax purposes to the noncustodial parent, or

• The custodial parent signs a written declaration 
that the noncustodial parent can claim the child 
for the child tax credit

The noncustodial parent must include a copy of 
the court order or the written declaration with their 
income tax return.

Idaho part-year residents qualify for the Idaho child 
tax credit for the part of the year they were an Idaho 
resident. Compute the prorated credit using the 
following worksheet.

Note: This credit is limited to your tax liability after any 
credit for tax paid to other states, grocery credit, and 
credits from Forms 39NR and 44. See Line 63 Grocery 
Credit for more limitations to part-year resident grocery 
credit.
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Worksheet
1. Enter the number of months you lived in 

Idaho (more than 15 days is treated as a 
full month) ..................................................

2. Multiply line 1 by $17.08 ............................
3. Multiply line 2 by the number of your 

qualifying children* ....................................
4. Enter the amount from Form 43, line 42 ...
5. Enter the amount from Form 43, line 43 ...
6. Part-year residents: Enter the amount from 

Form 43, line 63. (See line 63 instructions 
for calculating the Grocery Credit.) ............

7. Enter the amount from Form 43, line 44 ...  
8. Enter the amount from Form 43, line 45 ...
9. Subtract lines 5 through 8 from line 4. If 

less than zero, enter zero ..........................
10. Enter the lesser of lines 3 or 9 here and on 

Form 43, line 46 ........................................

*See federal Form 1040 instructions for more 
information on qualifying children.

Other Taxes
Line 48 Fuels Tax Due
If you buy gasoline, aircraft fuel, or special fuels 
(diesel, propane, or natural gas) without paying the 
fuels tax and later use this fuel in licensed vehicles 
or aircraft, you owe fuels tax. Add the amounts on 
Form 75, Section IV, lines 3 and 4, and enter the 
total. Include Form 75.

Line 49 Sales/Use Tax Due
If you made purchases during the year without 
paying sales tax, you must pay use tax on these 
purchases. If you purchased an item from an 
out-of-state seller (including internet, catalog, radio, 
and TV purchases) and the seller didn’t collect sales 
tax on that purchase, you must pay use tax directly 
to the Tax Commission. Multiply the total amount of 
purchases by 6% (.06). If you computed use tax on 
Form 75, add it to the use tax on other purchases 
and enter the total here.
If you have an Idaho sales or use tax account, don’t 
report your sales or use tax on this line, but continue 
to report the tax on these purchases on your sales 
and use tax returns.

Line 50 Total Tax from Recapture of Income Tax 
Credits
If you’ve claimed Idaho tax credits that no longer 
qualify, you must compute the tax credit recapture. 

Enter the total tax from recapture of income 
tax credits from Form 44, Part II, line 6. Include 
Form 44.

Line 51 Tax from Recapture of Qualified 
Investment Exemption (QIE)
If you’ve claimed Idaho exemption of property 
taxes from property that no longer qualifies, you 
must compute the recapture of the QIE. Include 
Form 49ER.

Line 52 Permanent Building Fund (PBF) Tax
You must pay the $10 PBF tax if you’re required to 
file an Idaho income tax return. See Who Must File 
on page 2.
You aren’t required to pay the $10 PBF tax if:

• Your gross income was less than the amount 
specified for your filing status. Draw a line 
through the $10 and enter “NRF” (Not 
Required to File)

• You were receiving Idaho public assistance 
payments at the end of the tax year. Check the 
box on this line and draw a line through the 
$10. Food stamps and WIC payments don’t 
qualify as Idaho public assistance

• You (or your spouse) are legally blind at the end 
of the tax year. Draw a line through the $10

Donations
The donations on lines 54 through 61 are voluntary 
and will either reduce your refund or increase the 
tax due. Once you make the donation, it can’t be 
changed. These donations may be itemized as 
charitable contribution deductions on your 2024 
income tax return. If you have questions about your 
donations, contact the agencies listed.
If you’re filing an amended return, your donations 
can’t be less than the amounts on the original return.

Line 54 Idaho Nongame Wildlife Fund
Contributions are used to ensure the conservation 
and management of nongame wildlife, rare plants, 
and their habitats in Idaho, to promote greater 
awareness of and appreciation for species that 
aren’t hunted, fished, or trapped, and to increase 
opportunities to view and enjoy “watchable” wildlife. 
For more information visit the Department of Fish 
and Game website at idfg.idaho.gov/wildlife/
funding or call (208) 334-2920.
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Line 55 Idaho Children’s Trust Fund/Prevent Child 
Abuse Idaho
Contributions are used to protect our children, 
Idaho’s single greatest resource. The Children’s 
Trust supports work in communities throughout Idaho 
to prevent child abuse and neglect before it ever 
occurs. For more information visit the Idaho Children’s 
Trust Fund/Prevent Child Abuse Idaho website at 
idahochildrenstrustfund.org or call (208) 386-9317.

Line 56 Special Olympics Idaho
Contributions provide support for year-round sports 
training and competition for children and adults 
with developmental disabilities in Idaho. For more 
information visit the Special Olympics Idaho website at 
specialolympicsidaho.org or call (208) 323-0482.

Line 57 Idaho Guard and Reserve Family 
Support Fund
Contributions are used to assist military reservists and 
their families to promote the overall readiness for them 
to support our state and federal missions. For more 
information visit the Idaho Guard and Reserve Family 
Support Fund, Inc. website at imd.idaho.gov/igr-
family-support or call (208) 801-4225.

Line 58 American Red Cross of Idaho Fund
Contributions prevent and alleviate human 
suffering in the face of emergencies. For more 
information visit the American Red Cross website at 
redcross.org/local/idaho or call (800) 733-2767.

Line 59 Veterans Support Fund
Contributions fund programs that support Idaho 
veterans. For more information visit the Idaho 
Division of Veterans Services website at veterans.
idaho.gov/publications/idaho-veterans-support-
fund or call (208) 780-1300. 

Line 60 Idaho Food Bank Fund
Contributions assist Idaho hunger relief organizations 
in meeting the demand for emergency food for 
hungry Idaho families, children, and senior citizens. 
For more information visit the Idaho Food Bank 
Fund website at idahofoodbankfund.org or call 
(208) 336-9643.

Line 61 Opportunity Scholarship Program
Contributions help provide need-based scholarship 
funds to Idaho high school graduates who attend 
approved higher education institutions within Idaho. 
For more information visit the Idaho Opportunity 
Scholarship Program website at boardofed.idaho.gov/
scholarships/Idaho-opportunity-scholarship.

Payments and Other Credits
Line 63 Grocery Credit
Nonresidents don’t qualify for this credit.
You can’t claim this credit if someone else, such as 
a parent, can claim you as a dependent.
If you’re a part-year resident, you’re eligible for a 
prorated credit based on the number of months you 
were domiciled in Idaho during the tax year. For this 
purpose, more than 15 days of a month is treated 
as a full month.
The credit allowed for part-year residents can’t 
be more than the amount on line 42 less line 43. 
Grocery credit isn’t refunded to part-year residents.
The credit is $120 each for you, your spouse, and 
dependents. 
You can claim an additional $20 if you’re age 
65 or older on December 31, 2023, and are an 
Idaho resident. Also, if your spouse is age 65 or 
older and is an Idaho resident, you can claim an 
additional $20.
An individual doesn’t qualify for the credit for any 
month or part of a month for which that person:

• Received assistance from the federal food stamp 
program

• Was incarcerated, or
• Lived illegally in the United States

Members of the Armed Forces
A member of the United States Armed Forces 
who’s domiciled in Idaho is allowed the credit. If 
you live in Idaho but are a nonresident under the 
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, you aren’t allowed 
the grocery credit.
A spouse or dependent of a nonresident military 
person stationed in Idaho may be an Idaho resident or 
part-year resident. The domicile of a dependent child 
is the same as that of the nonmilitary spouse.
Complete the worksheet and enter the total computed 
grocery credit on line 63. See the following instructions to 
donate your credit. If you aren’t donating your credit, enter 
the computed amount in the column for line 63.
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Grocery Credit Worksheet
Yourself:

1. Number of qualified months ........................
2. If 65 or older, multiply line 1 by $11.67

If under 65, multiply line 1 by $10 ..............
Spouse (if joint return):

3. Number of qualified months ........................
4. If 65 or older, multiply line 3 by $11.67

If under 65, multiply line 3 by $10 ..............
Resident dependents claimed on line 6:

5. Enter $120 for each dependent who qualifies for the 
entire year. If a dependent qualifies for only part of 
the year, compute as follows:

 Number of qualified months _____ x $10

Number of qualified months _____ x $10

Number of qualified months _____ x $10

Number of qualified months _____ x $10
(If you have more than four dependents, use additional 
paper to compute.) 

Total credit allowed:

6. Add amounts on lines 2, 4, and 5 ................

7. Enter tax. Subtract line 43 from 42 ..............
8. Enter the smaller of line 6 or line 7 here 

and on line 63 ...............................................

Donating Your Grocery Credit
You can donate your entire grocery credit to the 
Cooperative Welfare Fund. To donate, check the 
box on line 63 and enter zero (0) in the column for 
line 63. Once you make the donation, it can’t be 
changed on an amended return.

Line 64 Maintaining a Home for a Family Member 
Age 65 or Older or a Family Member with a 
Developmental Disability
Part-year residents and nonresidents don’t qualify for 
this credit.
You can claim a tax credit of $100 per person (up to 
$300) if you maintained a household for immediate 
family members:

• Age 65 or older (not including yourself or 
spouse), or 

• With a developmental disability (including 
yourself and spouse), and

• Didn’t claim a deduction of $1,000 per person 
on Form 39NR, Part B, line 11

If the home was maintained for the family member 
for less than a full year, the tax credit is allowed at 
the rate of $8.33 per month per person. You can 
claim this credit even if your gross income is less 
than the filing requirement.

Line 65 Fuels Tax Refund
If you buy special fuels (diesel, propane, or natural 
gas) with Idaho tax included and use this fuel for 
heating or in off-highway equipment, you may be 
eligible for a refund of the Idaho special fuels tax 
you paid. Enter the amount from Form 75, Section 
IV, line 2. Include Form 75. Heating fuel generally is 
purchased without paying the tax.
If you buy gasoline and use it in unlicensed 
equipment or auxiliary engines, you may be eligible 
for a refund of the Idaho gasoline tax you paid. 
Enter the amount from Form 75, Section IV, line 1. 
Include Form 75.

Line 66 Idaho Income Tax Withheld
Enter the total amount of Idaho income tax withheld. 
Include legible state copies of Form W-2s, 1099s, 
and other information forms that show Idaho 
withholding.
Don’t claim credit for tax withheld for other states or 
federal tax withheld.
Don’t include Form W-2s from other tax years or 
write on or change the amounts on your Form W-2s.

Line 67 Form 51 Payments
Enter the total payments you made with Form 51s 
on or before the due date. Include the amount of 
overpayment applied from your 2022 return.

Line 68 Paid by Entity/Withheld/Affected 
Business Entity (ABE)

• Enter on the paid by entity line any amount 
reported on Form ID K-1, Part XI, line 57

• Enter on the withheld line the amount of 
withholding reported on Form ID K-1, Part V, 
line 35

• Enter the amount of tax paid by the ABE 
reported on Form ID K-1, Part XI, line 58

• Include a copy of Form ID K-1s with your 
income tax return

Line 69 
Tax Reimbursement Incentive Credit. Enter the 
total credit allowed from the Idaho Reimbursement 
Incentive Certificate. Include a copy of the certificate 
with the return.
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Claim of Right Credit. If you claimed a deduction 
or credit on your federal return for claim of right, 
complete Idaho Worksheet CR to determine which 
option benefits you most on your Idaho return. See 
Claim of Right Worksheets at tax.idaho.gov/taxes/
income-tax/individual-income/popular-credits-and-
deductions/claim-of-right-income-repayments.

Tax Due or Refund
Line 72 Penalty and Interest
Idaho law provides penalties for not filing tax returns 
by the due date, not paying tax due on time, and not 
prepaying enough on extension returns. For more 
information or to calculate a penalty, see our Penalties 
and Interest page at tax.idaho.gov/penalties.

Interest. We charge interest on the amount of tax due, 
line 71, from the original due date until paid. The rate 
for 2024 is 6%.

Idaho Medical Savings Account. If you make an 
Idaho medical savings account withdrawal that’s 
taxable and you’re under age 59 1/2, the withdrawal is 
subject to penalty. The penalty is 10% of the amount 
withdrawn. Check the box and enter the amount here.

Line 73 Nonrefundable Credit From a Prior Year 
Return
If you were denied a refund from an overpayment of 
tax on a prior year return because of the three-year 
statute of limitations, you may be eligible to take 
a credit for the amount. See Idaho Form 44 for 
calculation of your credit and include it with your 
return.

Line 74 Total Due
Enter the amount you owe. If your payment includes 
amounts for penalty and interest, include those 
amounts in the figure you enter on this line.
Don’t send cash. Payments of less than $1 aren’t 
required. We charge a $20 fee on all returned 
checks.

Electronic payments. There’s no fee to pay by 
ACH Debit. Our third-party provider charges a 
convenience fee when you pay by credit card or 
e-check. We accept American Express®, Discover®, 
MasterCard®, and Visa®. For more information, visit 
our E-Pay page at tax.idaho.gov/epay.

Check payments. Make your check or money 
order payable to the Idaho State Tax Commission. 
Be sure to write your Social Security number on it, 

and include it with your return. Don’t staple your 
check to your return or send a check stub.

Line 76 Refund/Apply to 2024
Refund
Enter the amount of your overpayment from line 75 
that you want refunded to you. Refunds of less than 
$1 won’t be issued. You have three years from the 
return’s due date (not including extensions) to claim 
a refund. Refunds will be reduced by unpaid Idaho 
tax liabilities and can be applied to unpaid liabilities 
owed to other agencies.
The agency or party seizing the refund must send 
you notice of the action. Questions about a refund 
seizure should be directed to the agency or party 
that initiated the claim for seizure.
Apply to 2024
If you’re filing an original return, subtract the 
amount you want to refund from line 75. Any 
difference will be applied to your 2024 tax and 
won’t be refunded.

Line 77 Direct Deposit
Complete line 77 if you want us to deposit your 
refund directly into your bank or Idaho 529 College 
Savings (IDeal) account instead of mailing you a 
check.
If your refund is being forwarded from a United 
States financial institution to a financial institution 
or financial agency located outside of the United 
States, check the box on line 77. If after filing your 
Idaho income tax return you become aware that 
your electronic refund payment will be electronically 
deposited in a financial institution or financial 
agency located outside of the United States, please 
notify us at:

Idaho State Tax Commission
PO Box 56
Boise ID 83756-0056

Contact your bank to make sure your deposit will 
be accepted and that you have the correct routing 
and account numbers.
Enter your nine-digit routing number. The routing 
number must begin with 01 through 12 or 21 through 
32 for bank accounts. For all IDeal accounts, the 
routing number is 011001234.
Enter the account number you want your refund 
deposited into. The account number can be up to 
17 characters (both numbers and letters). For IDeal 
accounts, the account number will be 541 plus the 
11-digit IDeal account number.
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Don’t include hyphens, spaces, or special symbols. 
Enter the number left to right and leave any unused 
boxes blank.
Check the appropriate box for account type. 
Check either checking or savings, but not both. For 
IDeal accounts, check the box for checking.

The check example above indicates where the 
proper banking information is located. To locate 
your IDeal account number, log into your account 
at www.idsaves.org or call (866) 433-2533 for 
assistance. You’re responsible for the accuracy of 
this information.
If your financial institution rejects your request for 
direct deposit, you’ll receive a check by mail instead.
Note: An IDeal account has a maximum balance limit 
of up to $350,000 for each beneficiary.

Amended Return Only
Complete lines 78 through 81 only if you’re filing this 
return as an amended return.

Line 78 Total Due or Overpaid
If the total due shown on line 74 is greater than zero, 
enter it here as a positive amount.
If line 74 is zero, enter the amount of overpayment 
that’s shown on line 75 here as a negative amount.

Line 79 Refund from Original Return Plus 
Additional Refunds
Enter the total refund amount from previous returns 
for this tax year here as a positive amount.

Line 80 Tax Paid with Original Return Plus 
Additional Tax Paid
Enter the total due paid from previous returns 
for this tax year here as a positive amount. Don’t 
include penalty, interest, Form 51 estimated 
payments, withholding, or unpaid tax.

Line 81 Amended Tax Due or Refund
Add lines 78 and 79 then subtract line 80. A positive 
amount is your amended tax due. A negative 
amount is your amended refund.

Tax Preparer Contact Box
This box applies only if you paid a tax preparer to 
complete your return. If you check the box, you’re 
authorizing the Tax Commission to discuss your return 
with the paid preparer identified on the return.
You’re also authorizing the paid preparer to:

• Give the Tax Commission any information 
that’s missing from your return, and

• Call the Tax Commission for information about 
the processing of your return or the status of your 
refund or payments

You’re not authorizing the paid preparer to receive 
any refund check, bind you to anything including 
any additional tax liability, or otherwise represent 
you before the Tax Commission.
This authorization is valid for up to 180 days from 
the date the Tax Commission receives the return. If 
you want the Tax Commission to contact you rather 
than your preparer, leave the box blank.

Signatures
Who must sign the return?

• You
• Your spouse (if filing a joint return)
• A paid preparer (if used). Include preparer’s 

name, address, and identification number
• An authorized person signing for a deceased 

individual or an individual unable to sign. 
Include the authorized person’s relationship to 
the taxpayer. Write “FILING AS SURVIVING 
SPOUSE” or “UNABLE TO SIGN” in the signature 
space

• If a taxpayer signs with an “X,” this mark must be 
witnessed

• Not signing the return will delay processing
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Complete Form 39R if you’re filing Form 40. If you’re 
filing Form 43, complete Form 39NR.

Part A — Additions
Line 1 Federal Net Operating Loss (NOL) Deduction
Generally the allowable federal NOL carryover isn’t 
the same amount allowed on the Idaho return. Enter 
any NOL carryover included on your federal return. 
You’ll claim the allowable Idaho NOL carryover as a 
subtraction on Part B, line 1.

Line 2 Capital Loss Carryover
If you claimed a capital loss or carryover from 
activities not taxable by Idaho or before you 
became an Idaho resident, enter the amount used 
in calculating your net capital gain or loss reported 
on your federal Schedule D.
Use the worksheet below to calculate your Idaho 
capital gain (loss) and capital loss carryover.

Tax Year Idaho Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment Worksheet Schedule D
Don’t complete this worksheet if all of your Idaho gains (losses) are the same as your federal gains (losses).

List the Form 1099-B transactions reported on federal Schedule D, Part I lines 1a through 3 and Part II, lines 8a through 10 
that you sold after you became an Idaho resident. If you don’t have any Form 1099-B transactions for the current tax year, go 
to line 2.

(a) 
Description of property

Example: 100 shares of “XYZ” Co.

(b)
Date acquired
(mm/dd/yyyy)

(c)
Date sold

(mm/dd/yyyy)

(d) 
Sales price

(e) 
Cost or other 

basis

(f) 
Gain or (loss)

If you have additional transactions, list on a  Supplemental Schedule and enter the total gain or (loss) 
in column (f).

1. Total gain/(loss) ...................................................................................................................... 1 
2. Enter the total gain/(loss) amounts that are Idaho-source on the following lines:

a. Schedule D, Line 4
b. Schedule D, Line 5
c. Schedule D, Line 11
d. Schedule D, Line 12

Combine the amounts from a, b, c, and d. Enter the total amount ........................................... 2 
3. Enter the total capital gain distributions (federal Form 1099-DIV, box 2a) 

you received as an Idaho resident ........................................................................................... 3 
4. Idaho capital loss carryover from prior year, if any .................................................................. 4 
5. Tax year ________. Total Idaho gain (loss). Combine lines 1, 2, 3, and 4. 

If a (loss), go to line 6. If a gain, go to line 7 ............................................................................ 5 
6. Enter the smaller loss of:

(a) the (loss) on line 5; or
(b) ($3,000) for married, qualifying widow(er) or head of household.

($1,500) if single or married filing separately ............................................................... 6 

7. Enter the Idaho gain from line 5 or (loss) from line 6 ............................................................... 7 
8. Enter the (loss - if any) from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 7. 

If no loss is reported, enter zero .............................................................................................. 8 

9. Subtract line 8 from line 7. Enter the difference here and on Form 39R, Part A, line 2 ........... 9 
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Idaho Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet

Tax Year
 If the line 5 loss from the Idaho Capital 
Gain or Loss Adjustment Worksheet is 
more than ($3,000) or ($1,500 for MFS and 
Single), subtract line 6 from line 5. This is 
your Idaho capital loss carryover ................

Keep these worksheets for your records.
Example: For the current tax year you reported 
capital loss carryovers totaling $40,000 that were 
incurred before moving to Idaho. These are used 
to offset $26,000 of Idaho capital gains earned in 
the current year, resulting in a capital loss of $3,000 
allowed on the federal return. For the current 
tax year, you must add back $29,000 on line 2 
($26,000 gain offset plus $3,000 loss allowed). The 
remainder of the $11,000 loss carryover must be 
added back in future years to the extent allowed as 
a loss and used to offset gain.

Line 3 Non-Idaho State and Local Bond Interest 
and Dividends
Enter the amount of interest and dividends, less 
the related expenses, you received from municipal 
bonds of other state governments, including 
their counties or cities or from obligations of any 
foreign country. This income isn’t reported on your 
federal return.
This includes your distributive share of interest 
and dividends not taxable under the IRC from 
Form ID K-1, Part IV, Column B, line 21. Don’t 
include the interest income from Idaho municipal 
securities reported on Form ID K-1, Part IV, 
Column B, line 24.

Line 4 Idaho College Savings Account 
Withdrawal
If you made a nonqualified withdrawal from an 
Idaho college savings account, enter the amount 
withdrawn less any amounts reported on your 
federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR.
Include withdrawals from Idaho college savings 
programs that were transferred to a qualified 
program operated by another state or a qualified 
Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) 
program. The amount added back is limited to your 
contributions deducted in the year of transfer and the 
previous tax year.

Line 5 Bonus Depreciation
If you claimed bonus depreciation for federal purposes 
for property acquired before 2008 or after 2009:

• Complete a separate federal Form 4562 or 
detailed computation for Idaho depreciation 
purposes as if the special depreciation allowance 
hadn’t been claimed

• Compute the Idaho adjusted basis and any 
gains or losses from the sale or exchange of the 
property using the Idaho depreciation amounts

• If the federal depreciation (including gains and 
losses) is more than the Idaho depreciation 
(including Idaho gains and losses), include 
the difference on this line; otherwise, enter the 
difference on Part B, line 21

Include on this line your distributive share of bonus 
depreciation from Form ID K-1, Part IV, Column B, 
line 22.
Don’t enter any amounts for property acquired during 
2008 and 2009.
If you have a current year loss limitation for the 
following:
• At Risk (IRC Section 465)
• Passive Loss (IRC Section 469)
• Partnership Basis (IRC Section 704(d))
• Shareholder Basis (IRC Section 1366(d)

Check the box and include Form DBDA.
Line 6 Other Additions
Retirement Plan Lump-sum Distributions
Enter the taxable amount of a lump-sum distribution 
from a retirement plan reported on federal 
Form 4972. The amount taxable by Idaho includes 
the ordinary income portion and the amount eligible 
for the federal capital gain election.
Partner and Shareholder Additions
Include on this line the state, municipal, and local 
income tax additions from Form ID K-1, Part IV, 
Column B, line 20 and the other additions from 
Form ID K-1, Part IV, Column B, line 23.
Idaho Medical Savings Account Withdrawals
If you withdraw funds from an Idaho medical 
savings account and don’t use the funds to 
pay eligible medical expenses, Idaho taxes 
the withdrawal. Report this amount as an other 
addition. Eligible medical expenses include medical 
care, vision care, dental care, medical insurance 
premiums, and long-term care expenses.
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If you make a taxable withdrawal and you’re under 
age 59 1/2, penalty applies to the withdrawal. The 
penalty is 10% of the amount withdrawn. Report 
the penalty on Form 40, line 52, and check the box 
for an unqualified withdrawal.
First-time Home Buyer Savings Account 
Withdrawals
If you withdraw funds from an Idaho first-time 
home buyer savings account and don’t use the 
funds to pay eligible home costs, Idaho taxes 
the withdrawal. Report this amount as an other 
addition. Eligible home costs include:

• Down payment for the purchase of an Idaho 
home

• Costs, fees, taxes, or payments for the 
purchase of an Idaho home

Non-Idaho Passive Losses
If you claimed a passive loss that was incurred 
from activities not taxable by Idaho or before you 
became an Idaho resident, enter the amount 
reported on your federal return.
Emergency Rental Assistance
Include on this line any amounts excluded from 
taxable income for funds received according to the 
emergency rental assistance program established 
under Public Law 116-260 for COVID relief.

Part B — Subtractions
Line 1 Idaho Net Operating Loss (NOL) Carryover 
and Carryback
Enter the Idaho NOL carryover. Include Form 56 or 
a schedule showing the application of the loss.
If this is an amended return to claim an NOL 
carryback, enter the amount of the NOL carryback. 
Include Form 56 or a schedule showing the 
application of the loss.
Enter the total of the NOL carryover and carryback 
amounts.

Line 2 State Income Tax Refund
If you itemized your deductions on federal 
Form 1040, enter the amount of all state income tax 
refunds and state tax rebates included in income on 
federal Schedule 1, line 1.

Line 3 Interest from U.S. Government Obligations
Idaho doesn’t tax interest income you received 
from U.S. government obligations. Deduct any U.S. 
government interest included in federal adjusted 

gross income, Form 40, line 7. Examples of U.S. 
government obligations include:

• Banks for Cooperatives
• Federal Farm Credit Banks
• Federal Financing Bank
• Federal Homeowners Loan Bank
• Federal Intermediate Credit Bank
• Federal Land Bank
• Guam
• Puerto Rico
• Student Loan Marketing Association
• Tennessee Valley Authority Bonds
• Territory of Alaska
• Territory of Hawaii
• Territory of Samoa
• U.S. Series EE and HH Bonds
• U.S. Treasury Bills and Notes
• Virgin Islands

Idaho taxes interest income received from the Federal 
National Mortgage Association (FNMA) and the 
Government National Mortgage Association (GNMA).
If you have interest income from a mutual fund that 
invests in both nonexempt securities and exempt 
U.S. government securities, you can deduct the 
portion of the interest that’s attributable to direct 
U.S. government obligations. This amount must be 
identified by the mutual fund to be deductible.
This includes your distributive share from Form ID K-1, 
Part IV, line 25.

Line 4 Energy Efficiency Upgrade
To qualify for this deduction, your Idaho residence 
must have existed, been under construction or had a 
building permit issued on or before January 1, 2002, 
and must be your primary residence.
Energy efficiency upgrade means an energy 
efficiency improvement to your residence’s envelope 
or duct system that meets or exceeds the minimum 
value for the improved component established by 
the version of the International Energy Conservation 
Code (IECC) in effect in Idaho during the tax year 
when the improvement is made. Contact the Idaho 
Division of Building Safety at dbs.idaho.gov for 
more information.
Examples of energy efficiency upgrades include:

• Insulation that’s added to existing insulation. 
Insulated siding doesn’t qualify unless the 
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cost of the siding and the insulating material 
is stated separately. The cost of the insulating 
material is the only thing that qualifies.

• Windows that replace less efficient existing 
windows.

• Storm windows.
• Weather stripping and caulking.
• Duct sealing and insulation. Duct sealing 

requires mechanical fastening of joints and 
mastic sealant.

The amount charged for labor to install the energy 
efficiency upgrades also is deductible.
Enter the energy efficiency upgrade installed in your 
Idaho residence. If you have more than one, enter 
multiple. Enter the total amount on line 4.

Line 5 Alternative Energy Device Deduction
If you install an alternative energy device in your 
Idaho residence, you can deduct a portion of the 
amount actually paid or accrued (billed but not paid).
In the year the device is placed in service, you can 
deduct 40% of the cost to construct, reconstruct, 
remodel, install, or acquire the device, but not more 
than $5,000.
In the next three years after installation, you can 
deduct 20% of these costs per year, but not more 
than $5,000 in any year.
Qualifying devices include:

• A system using solar radiation, wind, or 
geothermal resource primarily to provide 
heating or cooling or produce electrical power 
or any combination thereof

• A fluid-to-air heat pump operating on a 
fluid reservoir heated by solar radiation or 
geothermal resource but not an air-to-air heat 
pump unless it uses geothermal resources as 
part of the system

• A natural gas or propane heating unit that 
replaces a noncertified wood stove

• An Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA)-certified wood stove or pellet stove 
meeting the most current industry and state 
standards that replaces a noncertified wood 
stove

A noncertified wood stove is a wood stove that 
doesn’t meet the most current EPA standards. You 
must take the noncertified wood stove to a site 
authorized by the Idaho Division of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) within 30 days from the date of 

purchase of the qualifying device. The DEQ 
will give you a receipt to verify it received and 
destroyed the noncertified wood stove.
You must install the natural gas or propane heating 
unit or the EPA-certified wood stove or pellet stove in 
the same tax year that you surrender the nonqualifying 
wood stove to the DEQ.

Lines 5a – 5d
Complete the lines that apply to the year you acquired 
the device. For example, if you acquired the device 
in 2020, complete line 5d. Enter the device type and 
total cost. Multiply the total cost by the appropriate 
percentage. Line 5e can’t be more than $5,000.

Line 6 Child and Dependent Care
If you claimed the federal Credit for Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses, you’re allowed an Idaho 
deduction for the child care expenses you paid for 
the care of your dependents. The Idaho deduction is a 
different amount than the federal credit.
Complete this worksheet to determine your Idaho 
child or dependent care deduction. Refer to federal 
Form 2441 to determine amounts to enter on lines 1 
through 6.
Worksheet

1. Enter the amount of qualified expenses 
you incurred and paid in 2023. Don’t 
include amounts paid by your employer 
or excluded from taxable income ...........

2. Enter $12,000 for one or more child or 
dependent cared for during the year ......

3. Enter excluded benefits from Part III of 
Form 2441 ..............................................

4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If zero or 
less, stop. You can’t claim the 
deduction ................................................

5. Enter your earned income ......................

6. If married filing a joint return, enter your 
spouse’s earned income. All others 
enter the amount from line 5 ..................

7. Enter the smallest of lines 1, 4, 5, or 6 
here and on Form 39R, Part B, line 6 .....

Include federal Form 2441, Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses, with your return.

Line 7 Social Security and Railroad Benefits
Idaho doesn’t tax Social Security benefits, benefits 
paid by the Railroad Retirement Board, or Canadian 
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Social Security benefits (OAS, QPP or CPP) that 
are taxable on your federal return.
Exempt payments from the Railroad Retirement 
Board include:

• Retirement, supplemental, and disability 
annuities

• Unemployment and sickness benefits
Enter the taxable amount of Social Security benefits 
from Form SSA-1099 or Social Security equivalent 
railroad benefits from Form RRB-1099 included 
on your federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 6b. 
Don’t enter the amount reported on Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, line 6a.
Enter the taxable amount of non-Social Security 
equivalent railroad benefits from Form RRB-1099R 
included on your federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, 
line 5b. Don’t enter the amount reported on 
Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 5a.
If subtracting benefits from the Railroad Retirement 
Board, you must include Form RRB-1099 or 
RRB-1099-R with your return.
Disability pension paid by the Federal Railroad 
Retirement Act may be included as wages on 
Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 1 if you’re under the 
minimum retirement age.

Line 8 Retirement Benefits Deduction for 
Qualified Retirement Benefits
You may be able to deduct some of the qualifying 
retirement benefits and annuities you receive.
The Idaho Retirement Benefits Deduction has a 
two-part qualification. You must qualify for both 
parts to receive this deduction.
Part One – Age, Disability, and Marital/Filing 
Status
The recipients must be at least age 65 or be 
classified as disabled and be at least age 62.
The following individuals are classified as disabled:

• An individual recognized as disabled by 
the Social Security Administration, the 
Railroad Retirement Board, or the Office of 
Management and Budget

• A veteran of a U.S. war with a service-connected 
disability rating of 10% or more

• A veteran of a U.S. war with a 
nonservice-connected disability pension

• A person who has a physician-certified 
permanent disability with no expectation of 
improvement

If you’re married, you can’t claim this deduction if 
you file separately. If you’re an unremarried widow 
or widower of a pensioner and receive qualifying 
survivor benefits, you may be eligible to claim 
the retirement benefit deduction if you meet the 
age/disability requirements.
Part Two – Qualified Retirement Benefits
The recipients must meet the requirements in 
Part One, and their qualified retirement benefits must 
be one of the following:

• Civil Service Employees: Retirement 
annuities paid by the United States of America 
Civil Service Retirement System (CSRS), the 
Foreign Service Retirement and Disability 
System (FSRDS), or the offset programs of 
these two systems. To qualify for the deduction, 
the employee must have established eligibility 
before 1984. Retirement annuities paid to a 
retired federal employee under the Federal 
Employees Retirement System (FERS) don’t 
qualify for the deduction. If you received a 
CSA-1099, you can tell if your benefits are 
paid under the CSRS or FERS by looking at 
the first digit of the account number shown on 
your CSA-1099. If the first digit is 7 or 9, the 
benefits are paid out of FERS and don’t qualify. 
If the first digit is 8, look at your Notice of 
Annuity Adjustment from the Office of Personnel 
Management. The notice shows how much of 
your benefits are paid from CSRS and how 
much are paid from FERS. Only the portion 
paid from CSRS qualifies for this deduction. If 
the first digit is 0, 1, 2, 3, or 4, the benefits are 
paid out of CSRS.

• Idaho Firefighters: Retirement benefits paid by 
the Public Employee Retirement System of Idaho 
(PERSI) relating to the Firemen’s Retirement 
Fund. If you received a 1099R and your account 
number includes the FRF (Firemen’s Retirement 
Fund) designation, your benefits may qualify for 
the deduction. Benefits paid out of the PERSI 
Base Plan don’t qualify for the deduction.

• Police Officers of an Idaho City: Retirement 
benefits paid from the Policemen’s Retirement 
Fund that no longer admits new members 
and, on January 1, 2012, was administered 
by an Idaho city or PERSI. Also, benefits 
paid by PERSI relating to Idaho police officer 
employment not included in the federal Social 
Security retirement system. For example, 
benefits paid out of the city police retirement 
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funds for the cities of Coeur d’Alene, Lewiston, 
and Pocatello may qualify for the deduction. 
Similarly, benefits paid by PERSI relating to the 
old Idaho Falls Policemen’s Retirement Fund 
may qualify for the deduction. If you received 
a 1099R and your account number includes 
the IFP (Idaho Falls Police) designation, your 
benefits may qualify for the deduction. Benefits 
paid out of the PERSI Base Plan don’t qualify 
for the deduction.

• Service Members: Retirement benefits paid 
by the United States to a retired member of the 
U.S. military.

Disability pension paid by the Federal Railroad 
Retirement Act may not be included on your 
Form RRB-1099 or RRB-1099-R, if you’re under the 
minimum retirement age. Instead it may be included 
on Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 1 as wages.
Line 8a The maximum amounts that can be 
deducted for 2023 are:
Married filing jointly:

•   Recipient age 65 or older ....................... $65,286
•   Recipient age 62 or older and disabled ... $65,286

Single:
•   Age 65 or older ...................................... $43,524
•   Age 62 or older and disabled .................. $43,524

These amounts must be reduced by retirement 
benefits received by you and your spouse under the 
Federal Social Security Act and the Federal Railroad 
Retirement Act.
The amount deducted can’t be more than the 
amount of qualified benefits included in federal 
income.
Line 8b. Enter the amount of retirement benefits 
you (and your spouse) received under the Federal 
Railroad Retirement Act.
Include on this line:

• The net Social Security equivalent benefit 
portion from federal Form RRB-1099, Box 5

• The “total gross paid” amount from federal 
Form RRB-1099-R, Box 7, minus any 
repayment from Box 8; and

• Any railroad retirement disability benefit 
included as wages on federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, line 1

Line 8c. Enter the amount of retirement benefits you 
(and your spouse) received under the Federal Social 
Security Act, Box 5 of your Form SSA-1099s. If you 

or your spouse received Canadian Social Security 
benefits that you included in your federal taxable 
income, include those amounts received.

Line 9 Technological Equipment Donation
Enter the lesser of cost or fair market value of 
technological equipment donated to one or more of 
the following Idaho educational institutions or libraries 
located in Idaho:

• Public or nonprofit private elementary or 
secondary school

• Public or nonprofit private college or university
• Public library or library district

Items that qualify for this deduction are limited 
to computers, computer software, and scientific 
equipment or apparatus manufactured within five 
years of the date of donation. The amount deducted 
can’t reduce Idaho taxable income to less than zero. 
Any unused deduction can’t be carried to another year.
Include your distributive share from the appropriate 
column of Form ID K-1, Part IV, line 26. The deduction 
from a pass-through entity can’t be more than the 
amount of pass-through income minus deductions of 
the entity making the contribution.

Line 10 Idaho Capital Gains Deduction
You may be able to deduct 60% of the capital gain net 
income reported on federal Schedule D from the sale 
of qualified Idaho property described below.
(a) Real property held for at least 12 months, or
(b) Tangible personal property used in a 

revenue-producing enterprise and held for at 
least 12 months. A revenue-producing enterprise 
means:

• Producing, assembling, fabricating, 
manufacturing, or processing any agricultural, 
mineral, or manufactured product

• Storing, warehousing, distributing, or selling 
at wholesale any products of agriculture, 
mining, or manufacturing

• Feeding livestock at a feedlot
• Operating laboratories or other facilities for 

scientific, agricultural, or animal husbandry, or 
industrial research, development, or testing

(c) Cattle and horses held for at least 24 months and 
other livestock used for breeding held for at least 
12 months

(d) Timber held for at least 24 months
(e) Certain sales of partnership interests. See Idaho 

Code 63-3022H(3)(f) for more information.
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Note: Gains from the sale of stocks and other 
intangibles don’t qualify.
Complete Idaho Form CG to compute your capital 
gains deduction.

Line 11 Active Duty Military Pay Earned 
Outside of Idaho
If you’re serving in the United States military on 
active duty that’s continuous and uninterrupted for 
120 days, Idaho doesn’t tax your active duty military 
wages for service outside of Idaho. The continuous 
120 days don’t have to be in the same tax year. 
Enter your nontaxable military wages.
Don’t include military wages earned while stationed 
in Idaho. Your W-2 doesn’t show this amount 
separately, and you may have to compute the 
amount of income earned outside of Idaho. You 
should see your unit of assignment or use your 
orders in making the computation. Include a copy of 
your worksheet.
National Guard or Reserve pay, including annual 
training pay, generally doesn’t qualify as active duty 
pay unless you’ve been called into full-time duty for 
120 days or more. If you’re a commissioned officer 
of the Public Health Service or of the National 
Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration militarized 
by the President of the United States and attached 
to the armed forces, your active duty military wages 
earned outside Idaho qualify for this deduction. 
Enter these wages on this line.

Line 12 Adoption Expenses
If you adopt a child, you can deduct some of the 
expenses incurred in the adoption. You can claim 
legal and medical expenses incurred up to a 
maximum of $10,000 per adoption. Travel expenses 
don’t qualify. If you incur expenses in two or more 
years, deduct the costs in the year paid until you 
meet the $10,000 limit. The expenses related to an 
unsuccessful attempt to adopt aren’t deductible. 
If you claim expenses in a year before such a 
determination, file an amended return to add back 
any deduction claimed for the unsuccessful attempt.

Line 13 Idaho Medical Savings Account 
Contributions and Interest
You can contribute up to $10,000 ($20,000 if 
married filing a joint return) to an Idaho medical 
savings account and deduct the contribution. 
Deductible contributions don’t include 
reimbursements that were redeposited into your 
Idaho medical savings account. Don’t include 

amounts deducted on federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR.
An Idaho medical savings account is generally 
established with a bank, savings and loan, or credit 
union. The account is established to pay eligible 
medical expenses of the account holder and the 
account holder’s dependents.
Include interest earned on the account on line 13 but 
only if included on Form 40, line 7. Add your qualifying 
contributions to the interest earned on the account. 
Enter the name of the financial institution and your 
account number in the spaces provided.

Line 14 Idaho College Savings Program
You can deduct up to $6,000 ($12,000 if married filing 
a joint return) per year in contributions to accounts 
in the Idaho College Savings Program (IDeal). 
Contributions to an out-of-state qualified tuition 
program aren’t eligible for the deduction. Designate 
the account owner and beneficiary at the time you 
establish the account. The account owner can make 
withdrawals for a qualified eligible education expense 
for the beneficiary as provided in 26 U.S.C. section 
529. The person who withdraws the funds must report 
the amounts withdrawn as income. More information is 
available at idsaves.org or by calling (866) 433-2533.

Line 15 
Home for the Aged 
You can deduct $1,000 for each family member, not 
including yourself or your spouse, who:

• Is age 65 or older
• You maintain a household for, and
• You provide more than one-half of the family 

member’s support for the year
Developmentally Disabled
You can deduct $1,000 for each family member, 
including yourself and your spouse, who:

• Is developmentally disabled 
• You maintain a household for, and
• You provide more than one-half of the family 

member’s support for the year
No more than three deductions of $1,000 are allowed. 
If you claim this deduction, you can’t claim the $100 
credit in Part E.
Developmental disability means a chronic disability 
that:

• Is attributable to an impairment such as:
 � Intellectual disability
 � Cerebral palsy
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 � Epilepsy
 � Autism
 � Other condition found to be closely related 

to or similar to, one of these impairments, 
and

• Results in substantial functional limitation in 
three or more of the following areas of life 
activity:

 � Self-care
 � Receptive and expressive language
 � Learning
 � Mobility
 � Self-direction
 � Capacity for independent living
 � Economic self-sufficiency, and

• Reflects the need for a combination and 
sequence of special, interdisciplinary, or generic 
care, treatment, or other services which are of 
lifelong or extended duration and individually 
planned and coordinated.

If you maintain the home for the family member for 
less than a full year, the deduction is allowed at 
the rate of $83.33 for each month the home was 
maintained.
A family member is any person who meets the 
relationship test to be claimed as a dependent on 
income tax returns. Refer to the federal Form 1040 
instructions for more information.
Maintaining a household means paying more than 
one-half of the expenses incurred for the benefit 
of all the household’s occupants. Social Security 
benefits aren’t support provided by you but must be 
included in the computation of total support provided. 
Some examples of expenses of maintaining a 
household include:

• Property taxes
• Mortgage interest
• Rent
• Utility charges
• Upkeep and repairs
• Property insurance, and
• Food consumed on the premises

Line 16 Idaho Lottery Winnings
You can deduct Idaho lottery prizes of less than 
$600 per prize included in federal adjusted gross 
income on Form 40, line 7. You can’t deduct lottery 
prizes from other states.

Line 17 Income Earned on a Reservation by an 
American Indian
You can deduct all your income from working on the 
reservation only when all these criteria are met:

• You’re enrolled in a federally recognized tribe
• You live and work on the reservation
• The income is included on Form 40, line 7 of 

your tax return
If you have no other income, you aren’t required to file.
Income earned off the reservation can’t be deducted. 
Income earned on the reservation can’t be deducted if 
you live off the reservation.

Line 18 Health Insurance Premiums
Deduct premiums you paid for health insurance for 
yourself, your spouse, and your dependents if those 
premiums haven’t already been deducted or excluded 
from your income.
If you claimed a deduction for health insurance 
premiums on your federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, 
Schedule A, use the worksheet on page 35 to 
calculate the deduction allowed for health insurance 
premiums. The worksheet follows the priority that 
itemized deductions first apply to health insurance 
premiums then to long-term care insurance.
Idaho Medical Savings Account
If you take money out of your Idaho medical savings 
account to pay medical insurance premiums, no 
deduction is allowed. Since the health insurance costs 
are already deducted or accounted for, they can’t be 
deducted a second time.
Salary Reduction Plans
Premiums paid through a cafeteria plan or other 
salary-reduction arrangement can’t be included in 
the Idaho deduction for health insurance costs. For 
example, if your health insurance payments are 
deducted from your paycheck pretax, they don’t qualify 
for the deduction.
Business Deductions
Premiums deducted as a business expense can’t be 
included in the Idaho deduction for health insurance 
costs, since these amounts are already deducted. This 
includes amounts of self-employed health insurance 
premiums deducted in arriving at federal adjusted 
gross income.
Social Security Medicare A and B
No deduction is allowed for the amount paid for 
employer-required Social Security Medicare A. This 
is the amount listed as a deduction on almost every 
federal Form W-2.
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If you voluntarily enroll in Medicare B or Medicare D 
or aren’t covered under Social Security and voluntarily 
enroll in Medicare A, you can deduct the premiums 
you paid.
Idaho Standard Deduction
If you use the Idaho standard deduction instead of 
itemizing your deductions for Idaho purposes, you 
don’t have to reduce your health insurance costs by 
any amount claimed as a federal itemized deduction.
Federal Itemized Deduction Limitations
Reduce the amount of medical expenses allowed 
as a deduction on federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, 
Schedule A, by 7.5% of adjusted gross income.

Line 19 Long-term Care Insurance
You can deduct the amount you paid in premiums 
for qualified long-term care insurance that isn’t 
otherwise deducted or accounted for. If you claimed 
a deduction for long-term care insurance on your 
federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule A, use the 
following worksheet to calculate the long-term care 
insurance allowed as a deduction.
Qualified long-term care insurance includes any 
insurance policy that provides coverage for at least 
12 consecutive months for yourself, your spouse, 
or your dependents for one or more necessary 
diagnostic, preventive, therapeutic, rehabilitative, 
maintenance, or personal care services provided in 
a setting other than an acute care unit of a hospital. 
Group and individual annuities and life insurance 
policies that directly provide or supplement long-term 
care insurance qualify. This includes a policy that 
provides for payment of benefits based on cognitive 
impairment or loss of functional capacity.
Qualified long-term care insurance doesn’t include 
any insurance policy that’s offered primarily to 
provide coverage for:

• Basic Medicare supplement
• Basic hospital expense
• Basic medical surgical expense
• Hospital confinement indemnity
• Major medical expense
• Disability income or related asset protection
• Accident only
• Specified disease or specified accident, or
• Limited benefit health

Life insurance policies that accelerate death 
benefits generally don’t qualify.

Worksheet
The following worksheet shows how the federal 
limitation affects the amount of health insurance 
costs deductible for Idaho purposes.
If you aren’t itemizing deductions for Idaho, skip lines 
1-6 and enter zeros on lines 8, 12, and 13.

Health Insurance and Long-term Care Insurance 
Deduction Limitations

1. Amount claimed for health insurance 
costs on federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, 
Schedule A  .............................................

2. Amount claimed for long-term care 
insurance on federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, Schedule A ...............................

3. Additional medical expenses claimed 
on federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, 
Schedule A ..............................................

4. Total medical expenses. Add lines 1, 
2, and 3 ...................................................

5. Enter 7.5% of federal adjusted gross 
income ....................................................

6. Medical expense deduction allowed 
on federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, 
Schedule A. (Subtract line 5 from line 4. If 
less than zero, enter zero.) .........................

Health Insurance
7. Enter the total paid for health insurance .....
8. Portion of health insurance deduction 

allowed on federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, Schedule A. Enter the lesser of 
lines 1 or 6 ...............................................

9. Enter the total health insurance costs 
deducted elsewhere on the federal return ....

10. Idaho health insurance deduction 
allowed. Subtract lines 8 and 9 from line 7. 
Enter this amount on Form 39R, line 18 ....

Long-term Care Insurance
11. Enter the total paid for long-term care 

insurance .................................................
12. Medical expense deduction not 

allocated to health insurance costs. 
Subtract ine 1 from line 6. If less than 
zero, enter zero .......................................

13. Portion of long-term care insurance 
deduction allowed on federal Form 1040 or
1040-SR, Schedule A. Enter the lesser 
of lines 2 or 12 .........................................
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14. Enter the total long-term care 
insurance costs deducted elsewhere 
on the federal return ................................

15. Long-term care insurance deduction 
allowed. Subtract lines 13 and 14 from line 
11. Enter the amount on Form 39R, line 19 

Line 20 Workers’ Compensation 
Insurance
A self-employed individual can deduct the actual 
amount paid for workers’ compensation insurance 
coverage in Idaho, if the cost isn’t deducted 
elsewhere.

Line 21 Bonus Depreciation
If you claimed the bonus depreciation for federal 
purposes for property acquired before 2008 or after 
2009:

• Complete a separate federal Form 4562 or 
detailed computation for Idaho depreciation 
purposes as if the special depreciation 
allowance hadn’t been claimed

• Compute the Idaho adjusted basis and any 
gains or losses from the sale or exchange 
of the property using the Idaho depreciation 
amounts

• If the federal depreciation (including gains and 
losses) is less than the Idaho depreciation 
(including gains and losses), include the 
difference on this line; otherwise, enter the 
difference on Part A, line 5

Include on this line your distributive share of bonus 
depreciation from Form ID K-1, Part IV, Column B, 
line 27.
Don’t enter any amounts for property acquired 
during 2008 and 2009.

Line 22 First-time Home Buyer Savings Account
You can contribute up to $15,000 ($30,000 if 
married filing a joint return) to a first-time home 
buyer savings account and deduct the contribution. 
Deposits into a first-time home buyer savings 
account can’t exceed $100,000 for the lifetime of 
the account.
A first-time home buyer savings account is 
established in Idaho with a bank, savings and 
loan association, credit union, or trust company 
authorized to act as a fiduciary. The account is 
established to pay the eligible home costs of 
the account holder or to reimburse the account 
holder’s eligible home costs in connection with a 
qualified home purchase.

Include interest earned on the account on line 22 but 
only if included on Form 40, line 7. Interest earned 
on the account is tax deferred if the funds are used 
for a qualified home purchase. Enter the name of the 
financial institution and your account number in the 
spaces provided.
Check the box to attest that you’re a first-time home 
buyer. A first-time home buyer means an individual 
who:

• Resides in Idaho
• Has filed an Idaho income tax return for the most 

recent tax year
• Doesn’t own, either individually or jointly, a 

single-family or multi-family residence; and
• Has never owned or purchased, either individually 

or jointly, a single-family residence in any location

Line 23 Other Subtractions
Identify any other subtraction you’re eligible for, and 
claim the amount on this line. 
Include:

• Your distributive share of other subtractions from 
Form ID K-1, Part IV, Column B, line 28

• Charitable contributions not allowed on the 
federal return because of federal NOL limitations

• Interest from Idaho Build America Bonds that 
was included in federal adjusted gross income, 
Form 40, line 7

• Amounts included in taxable income for funds 
received or loans forgiven according to Public 
Laws 116-136, 116-139, and 116-142 for COVID 
relief

Don’t include:
• Income earned in another state as a subtraction
• Foreign taxes as a subtraction, since they’re 

claimed as part of the Idaho itemized deduction, 
if allowable 

• Any interest from non-Idaho Build America Bonds
See the instructions for Itemized or Standard 
Deductions. 
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Part C — Credit for Income Tax Paid to 
Other States

When Idaho and another state tax the same 
income, you may qualify for a credit for tax paid 
to the other state. Use this section to compute 
the credit. Include a complete copy of the other 
state’s income tax return and Idaho Form 39R 
with your income tax return. If your S corporation 
or partnership paid income tax to another state on 
your behalf, include a copy of Form ID K-1 or the 
schedule you received from the S corporation or 
partnership that paid the tax. If credit applies to 
more than one state, use a separate Form 39R for 
each state.
Examples of income that both Idaho and another 
state may tax include:

• Wages earned in another state that has an 
income tax, such as Oregon or Utah, while 
living in Idaho

• Income from a business or profession earned 
in another state that has an income tax, while 
a resident of Idaho

Line 1. Enter the tax shown on Form 40, line 20.

Line 2. Enter the total portion of federal adjusted 
gross income derived in the other state, modified 
to reflect Idaho additions and subtractions. In 
computing the income derived in the other state, 
you must reverse any adjustments to federal 
taxable income allowed by the other state that 
aren’t applicable to Idaho.
Enter your adjusted gross income from the other 
state restated to a basis comparable to Idaho 
adjusted income. For example, if the other state 
taxes interest received from U.S. obligations, 
deduct this amount from the other state’s adjusted 
gross income since Idaho doesn’t tax this interest.
If your income derived in the other state includes 
income from an S corporation, partnership, trust, 
or estate, enter your share of the entity’s taxable 
income correctly reported to the other state plus any 
other Idaho adjusted gross income from sources in 
the other state.

Line 3. Enter your Idaho adjusted income from 
Form 40, line 11, if you reported the double-taxed 
income on an individual income tax return in the 
other state. However, if the double-taxed income 
was reported to the other state and taxed as part of 

an S corporation or partnership composite or group 
return, enter your federal adjusted income from 
Form 40, line 7.

Line 4. Divide line 2 by line 3. Round to four digits 
to the right of the decimal point. For example, .66666 
is rounded to .6667 and is entered as 66.67%. The 
percentage can’t be more than 100%.

Line 6. Enter the other state’s tax due from its tax 
table or rate schedule less its income tax credits. 
State and local tax (SALT) workaround payments 
or credits aren’t subtracted. If your income derived 
in the other state was reported on a composite or 
group return filed by an S corporation or partnership, 
enter your proportionate share of the tax paid by the 
S corporation or partnership minus your proportionate 
share of the income tax credits. Income tax credits 
are those credits that relate to income tax excluding 
SALT workaround payments or credits. An example of 
a credit that isn’t an income tax credit is a special fuels 
or gasoline tax credit or refund.

Line 7. Your allowable credit for tax paid to other 
states is the smaller of lines 5 or 6. Enter this amount 
on Form 40, line 22.

Part D — Credits for Idaho Educational 
Entity and Idaho Youth and Rehabilitation 
Facility Contributions, and Live Organ 
Donation Expenses

Line 1 Credit for Idaho Educational Entity 
Contributions
If you donated cash to a qualified educational 
entity, you can claim a tax credit. Donation of goods 
or services don’t qualify. Include amounts from 
Form ID K-1, Part VIII, line 50 to calculate the credit 
amount.
The credit is limited to the smallest of:

• One-half of the amount donated
• 50% of the tax on Form 40, line 21
• $500 ($1,000 on a joint return)
• The tax on Form 40, line 21 less the amount on 

Form 40, line 22
If you have credit from an ABE (Form ID K-1, 
Part XI, line 59), you can add that to the amount 
computed above (if any). The total credit is limited to 
the smallest of: 

• 50% of the tax on Form 40, line 21 or 
• $500 ($1,000 on a joint return).
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A qualified educational entity includes:
• A nonprofit corporation, fund, foundation, 

research park, trust, or association organized 
and operated exclusively for the benefit of Idaho 
colleges and universities

• A nonprofit, private, or public Idaho school 
(elementary, secondary, or higher education) 
or its foundation

• Idaho education public broadcast system 
foundations

• The Idaho State Historical Society or its 
foundation

• An Idaho public library or its foundation
• An Idaho library district or its foundation
• An Idaho public or private nonprofit museum
• The Idaho Commission for Libraries
• Idaho Commission on Hispanic Affairs
• Idaho Commission for the Blind and Visually 

Impaired
• Idaho Council on Developmental Disabilities
• Idaho State Independent Living Council
• Idaho Council for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
• Idaho STEM Action Center
• Medical residency programs or support 

organizations devoted to training residents in 
Idaho

Line 2 Credit for Idaho Youth and Rehabilitation 
Facility Contributions
You can claim this credit if you donated cash or 
goods to the following:

• Qualified center for independent living
• Youth or rehabilitation facility or its foundation, or
• Nonprofit substance abuse center licensed by 

the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare
Include amounts from Form ID K-1, Part VIII, line 51 
to calculate the credit amount.
The credit is limited to the smallest of:

• One-half of the amount donated
• 20% of the tax on Form 40, line 21
• $100 ($200 on a joint return)
• The tax on Form 40, line 21 less the amounts 

on Form 40, line 22, Form 39R, Part D, line 1 
and Form 44, Part I, line 1

If you have credit from an ABE (Form ID K-1, 
Part XI, line 61), you can add that to the amount 
computed above (if any). The total credit is limited 
to the smallest of: 

• 20% of the tax on Form 40, line 21 or 
• $100 ($200 on a joint return).

The qualified youth or rehabilitation facilities and 
their foundations are:

• Anchor House, Coeur d’Alene
• The Arc, Inc., Boise
• The Children’s Home Society of Idaho, Inc., 

Boise
• Children’s Village, Inc., Coeur d’Alene
• Dawn Enterprises, Inc., Blackfoot
• Development Workshop, Inc., Idaho Falls
• Gem Youth Services, Inc., Emmett
• Hope House, Inc., Nampa
• Idaho Drug Free Youth, Inc., Coeur d’Alene
• Idaho Elks Rehabilitation Hospital, Inc., Boise
• Idaho Youth Ranch
• Kinderhaven, Sandpoint
• Learning Lab, Inc., Boise
• Magic Valley Rehabilitation Services, Inc., 

Twin Falls
• New Day Products, Inc., Pocatello
• Northwest (North Idaho) Children’s Home, Inc.
• Opportunities Unlimited, Inc., Lewiston
• Panhandle Special Needs, Inc., Sandpoint
• Project P.A.T.C.H., Planned Assistance for 

Troubled Children
• Shepherd’s Home, Inc., McCall
• Transitional Employment Services for the 

Handicapped, Coeur d’Alene
• Walker Center, Gooding
• Winchester Occupational Workshop, Winchester
• Witco Inc., Caldwell
• Women’s and Children’s Alliance

The following are the qualified centers for 
independent living:

• Disability Action Center Northwest, Moscow and 
Coeur d’Alene

• Living Independence Network Corporation, Boise 
and Twin Falls

• Living Independently for Everyone, Inc., 
Blackfoot, Idaho Falls, and Pocatello
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Line 3 Credit for Live Organ Donation Expenses
A living taxpayer who donates (or whose dependent 
donates) a qualified organ that’s transplanted into 
another individual can claim a credit for expenses 
related to the donation.
The credit can’t be more than the taxpayer’s tax 
liability and is limited to the smaller of:

• The amount of live organ donation expenses 
paid by the taxpayer during the tax year, or

• $5,000
Any unused credit can be carried over for five years.
To claim the credit, you must donate one or more of 
the following organs:

• Human bone marrow
• Any part of an:

 � Intestine
 � Kidney
 � Liver
 � Lung
 � Pancreas

Qualified expenses are those incurred by the 
taxpayer or dependent for travel, lodging, or lost 
wages and aren’t reimbursed to the taxpayer. The 
expenses must be directly related to the live organ 
donation by the taxpayer or a dependent of the 
taxpayer.

Part E — Maintaining a Home for a Family 
Member Age 65 or Older or a Family Member 
with a Developmental Disability

If you didn’t claim the $1,000 deduction on Part B, 
line 15, you can claim a $100 credit for each family 
member, not including yourself or your spouse who:

• Is age 65 or older
• You maintain a household for, and
• You provide more than one-half of the family 

member’s support for the year

If the home was maintained for the family member 
less than a full year, the credit is allowed at the rate of 
$8.33 for each month the home was maintained.
You can claim this credit if your gross income is less 
than the filing requirement. File Form 40 and include 
Form 39R.
Only residents, including Idaho residents on active 
military duty outside Idaho, can claim this credit.

Lines 1 and 2. Answer the two questions. If you 
answer yes to either question, you qualify.

Line 3. Enter the family member’s name, Social 
Security number, relationship, and date of birth for 
whom you maintain a home and provide more than 
one-half of their support. If the claim is for a family 
member with a developmental disability, check the 
box.

Line 4. Enter the total on Form 40, line 44.
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Complete Form 39NR if you’re filing Form 43. If 
you’re filing Form 40, complete Form 39R.

Part A — Additions
Line 1 Non-Idaho State and Local Bond Interest 
and Dividends
Column A: Enter the amount of interest and 
dividends, less the related expenses, you received 
from municipal bonds of other state governments, 
including their counties or cities, or from obligations 
of any foreign country. This income isn’t taxed 
on your federal return. Include any amount 
passed through to you from Form ID K-1, Part IV, 
Column A, line 21.
Column B: Enter the amount in Column A earned 
while an Idaho resident or part-year resident. This 
includes your apportioned share passed through 
from S corporations, partnerships, trusts, and 
estates from Form ID K-1, Part IV, Column B, 
line 21.
If you’re required to file an Idaho return, you must 
report any amounts allocated or apportioned to Idaho.

Line 2 Idaho College Savings Account 
Withdrawal
Column A: If you made a nonqualified withdrawal 
from an Idaho college savings account, enter the 
amount withdrawn minus any amounts reported on 
your federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR.
Include withdrawals from Idaho college savings 
programs that are transferred to a qualified program 
operated by another state or a qualified Achieving 
a Better Life Experience (ABLE) program. The 
amount added back is limited to your contributions 
deducted in the year of transfer and the previous 
tax year.

Column B: If you made a nonqualified withdrawal 
from an Idaho college savings account, enter the 
total amount withdrawn.

Line 3 Bonus Depreciation
If you claimed bonus depreciation for federal 
purposes for property acquired before 2008 or 
after 2009:

• Complete a separate federal Form 4562 or 
detailed computation for Idaho depreciation 
purposes as if the special depreciation 
allowance hadn’t been claimed

• Compute the Idaho adjusted basis and any 
gains or losses from the sale or exchange of the 
property using the Idaho depreciation amounts

• If the federal depreciation (including gains and 
losses) is more than the Idaho depreciation 
(including Idaho gains and losses), include 
the difference on this line; otherwise, enter the 
difference on Part B, line 24

Include on this line your distributive share of bonus 
depreciation from Form ID K-1, Part IV, line 22.
Don’t enter any amounts for property acquired during 
2008 and 2009.
Column A: If the federal depreciation is more 
than the depreciation calculated without the bonus 
depreciation, include the difference on this line.
If you’re a shareholder of an S corporation or a partner 
in a partnership that has Idaho source income, include 
your distributive share of bonus depreciation from 
Form ID K-1, Part IV, Column A, line 22.
Column B: If the federal depreciation is more 
than the depreciation calculated without the bonus 
depreciation, include the difference on this line.
Enter on this line your apportioned share of bonus 
depreciation from Form ID-K-1, Part IV, Column B, 
line 22. The amount must be included as part of 
Form 43, line 27, Idaho Adjusted Gross Income.
If you have a current year loss limitation for the 
following:

• At Risk (IRC Section 465)
• Passive Loss (IRC Section 469)
• Partnership Basis (IRC Section 704(d))
• Shareholder Basis (IRC Section 1366(d)

Check the box and include Form DBDA.
Line 4 Other Additions
Complete this worksheet using the instructions 
below to determine your other additions.

Column A Column B
1. Federal net operating 

loss ...................................
2. Capital loss carryforward ....
3. Retirement plan lump-sum 

distributions .......................
4. Partner and shareholder 

Idaho additions ..................
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5. Idaho medical savings 
account withdrawals ..........

6. Non-Idaho passive losses 
incurred before taxpayer 
was an Idaho resident ......

7. First-time home buyer 
savings account 
withdrawals ......................

8. Total. Add lines 1 through 7. 
Enter these amounts in the 
appropriate columns on line 
4 of Form 39NR .................

Federal Net Operating Loss (NOL)
Column A: Enter the NOL carryforward or carryback 
included on your federal return. The federal NOL 
carryforward or carryback isn’t the same as Idaho’s. 
The Idaho NOL is reported on Part B, line 1.
Column B: Make no entry in Column B.

Capital Loss Carryforward
Column A: Enter any capital losses included on 
federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 7 that were 
incurred in another state or capital losses from 
activities not taxable by Idaho.
See the Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment 
Worksheet on page 27 to compute your Idaho 
capital gain (loss) and required addition if 
necessary.
Column B: Make no entry in Column B.

Retirement Plan Lump-sum Distributions
Column A: Enter the taxable amount of a lump-sum 
distribution from a retirement plan reported on 
federal Form 4972. The amount taxable by Idaho 
includes the ordinary income portion and the 
amount eligible for the federal capital gain election.
Column B: Enter any amount in Column A received 
while an Idaho resident.

Partner and Shareholder Idaho Additions
Column A: Include the amount of the state, municipal, 
and local income tax additions from Form ID K-1, 
Part IV, Column B, line 20, and the other additions 
from Form ID K-1, Part IV, Column B, line 23.
Column B: Include your apportioned share of the 
state, municipal, and local income tax additions from 
Form ID K-1, Part IV, Column B, line 20, and the other 
additions from Form ID K-1, Part IV, Column B, line 23.

Idaho Medical Savings Account Withdrawals
Columns A and B: If you withdraw funds from an 
Idaho medical savings account and don’t use the 
funds to pay eligible medical expenses, Idaho taxes 
the withdrawal. Report this amount as an other 
addition. Eligible medical expenses include: 

• Medical care
• Vision care
• Dental care
• Medical insurance premiums and long-term 

care expenses
If you make a taxable withdrawal and you’re under 
age 59 1/2, penalty applies to the withdrawal. The 
penalty is 10% of the amount withdrawn. Report the 
penalty on Form 43, line 72, and check the box for an 
unqualified withdrawal.

First-time Home Buyer Savings Account
Columns A and B: If you withdraw funds from an 
Idaho first-time home buyer savings account and 
don’t use the funds to pay eligible home costs, Idaho 
taxes the withdrawal. Report this amount as an other 
addition. Eligible home costs include: 

• Down payment for the purchase of an Idaho 
home

• Cost, fees, taxes, or payments for the 
purchase of an Idaho home

Part B — Subtractions
Line 1 Idaho Net Operating Loss (NOL) Carryover 
and Carryback
Columns A and B: Enter the Idaho NOL carryover. 
Include Form 56 or a schedule showing the application 
of the loss. Don’t include losses from sources that 
weren’t taxable by Idaho or that were incurred before 
becoming a resident or part-year resident.
If this is an amended return to claim an NOL 
carryback, enter the amount of the NOL carryback. 
Include Form 56 or a schedule showing the 
application of the loss.
Enter the total of the NOL carryover and carryback 
amounts.

Line 2 State Income Tax Refund
Column A: Enter all state income tax refunds 
included on federal Schedule 1, line 1. 
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Column B: Enter state income tax refunds and 
state tax rebates for Idaho servicemembers 
included on Idaho Form 43, line 19.

Line 3 Interest from U.S. Government Obligations
Idaho doesn’t tax interest income received from 
U.S. government obligations. See page 29 for 
examples of U.S. government obligations.
Idaho taxes interest income received from the 
Federal National Mortgage Association (FNMA) and 
the Government National Mortgage Association 
(GNMA).
If you have interest income from a mutual fund that 
invests in both nonexempt securities and exempt 
U.S. government securities, you can deduct the 
portion of the interest earned that’s attributable to 
direct U.S. government obligations. This amount 
must be identified by the mutual fund to be 
deductible.
Column A: Enter the interest income you received 
from U.S. government obligations if included on 
federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 2b. Your 
distributive share from Form ID K-1, Part IV, 
Column A, line 25 net of the expenses related to the 
federal obligations, should already be included on 
federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR.
Column B: Enter on this line the interest and 
related expenses included as part of Form 43, 
line 27. This includes your apportioned share of 
interest from Form ID K-1, Part IV, Column B, 
line 25 minus expenses relating to U.S. interest.

Line 4 Child and Dependent Care
If you claimed the federal Credit for Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses, you’re allowed an 
Idaho deduction for the child care expenses you 
paid for the care of your dependents. The Idaho 
deduction is a different amount than the federal 
credit.
Complete this worksheet to determine your Idaho 
child or dependent care deduction. Refer to federal 
Form 2441 to determine amounts to enter on lines 1 
through 6.
Worksheet

1. Enter the amount of qualified expenses 
you incurred and paid in 2023. Don’t 
include amounts paid by your employer 
or excluded from taxable income ...........

2. Enter $12,000 for one or more child or
dependent cared for during the year .....

3. Enter excluded benefits from Part III of 
Form 2441 ..............................................

4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If zero or 
less, stop. You can’t claim the 
deduction ................................................

5. Enter your earned income ......................
6. If married filing a joint return, enter your 

spouse’s earned income. All others 
enter the amount from line 5 ..................

7. Enter the smallest of lines 1, 4, 5, or 6 
here and on Form 39NR, Part B, line 4, 
Column A .................................................

8. If married filing a joint return, enter the 
total of lines 5 and 6 that are from Idaho 
sources. All others enter the amount 
from line 5 from Idaho sources ...............

9. If married filing a joint return, enter the 
total of lines 5 and 6. All others enter 
the amount from line 5 ............................

10. Divide line 8 by line 9. 
(Can’t exceed 100%) ............................. %

11. Multiply line 7 by line 10. Enter this 
amount here and on Form 39NR, 
Part B, line 4, Column B .........................

Include federal Form 2441, Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses, with your return.

Line 5 Social Security and Railroad Benefits
Idaho doesn’t tax Social Security or Social Security 
equivalent benefits, benefits paid by the Railroad 
Retirement Board, or Canadian Social Security 
benefits (OAS, QPP or CPP) that are taxable on your 
federal return.
Exempt payments from the Railroad Retirement 
Board include:

• Retirement, supplemental, and disability annuities
• Unemployment and sickness benefits

Column A: Enter the taxable amount of Social 
Security benefits from Form SSA-1099 or 
Social Security Equivalent railroad benefits from 
Form RRB-1099 included on your federal Form 1040 
or 1040-SR, line 6b. Don’t enter the amount reported 
on Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 6a.
Enter the taxable amount of non-Social Security 
equivalent railroad benefits from Form RRB-1099R 
included on your federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 
5b. Don’t enter the amount reported on Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, line 5a.
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If subtracting benefits from the Railroad Retirement 
Board, you must include Form RRB-1099 or 
RRB-1099-R with your return.
Disability pension paid by the Federal Railroad 
Retirement Act may be included as wages on 
Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 1 if you’re under the 
minimum retirement age.

Column B: Enter Social Security and railroad 
benefits included on Idaho Form 43, line 19.

Line 6 Idaho Capital Gains Deduction
Columns A and B: If you had capital gain net 
income from the sale of qualified Idaho property 
described below, you may be able to deduct 60% 
of the capital gain net income reported on federal 
Schedule D.
(a) Real property held for at least 12 months, or
(b) Tangible personal property used in a 

revenue-producing enterprise and held for at 
least 12 months
• See page 32 for the definition of 

revenue-producing enterprises
(c) Cattle and horses held for at least 24 months 

and other livestock used for breeding held for 
at least 12 months

(d) Timber held for at least 24 months
(e) Certain sales of partnership interests. 

See Idaho Code 63-3022H(3)(f) for more 
information.

Note: Gains from the sale of stocks and other 
intangibles don’t qualify.
Complete Idaho Form CG to compute your capital 
gains deduction.

Line 7 Idaho Resident-Military Pay Earned 
Outside of Idaho
Column A and B: If you’re serving in the United 
States military on active duty that’s continuous 
and uninterrupted for 120 days, Idaho doesn’t tax 
your active duty military wages for service outside 
of Idaho. The continuous 120 days don’t have to 
be in the same tax year. This deduction applies to 
Idaho part-year residents who report military wages 
earned outside Idaho as Idaho income on Form 43, 
line 7.
Enter the amount of wages in Columns A and B if 
included on Form 43, line 7. Don’t include military 
wages earned while stationed in Idaho. Your W-2 
doesn’t show this amount separately, and you may 

have to compute the amount of income earned outside 
of Idaho. See your unit of assignment or use your 
orders to make the computation. Include a copy of 
your worksheet.
National Guard or Reserve pay, including annual 
training pay, doesn’t qualify as active duty pay unless 
you’ve been called into full-time duty for 120 days 
or more. If you’re a commissioned officer of the 
Public Health Service or of the National Oceanic 
and Atmospheric Administration militarized by the 
President of the United States and attached to the 
armed forces, your active duty military wages earned 
outside Idaho qualify for this deduction. Enter these 
wages on this line.

Line 8 Idaho Medical Savings Account 
Contributions and Interest
Columns A and B: You can contribute up to $10,000 
($20,000 if married filing a joint return) to an Idaho 
medical savings account and deduct the contribution. 
Deductible contributions don’t include reimbursements 
that were redeposited into your Idaho medical savings 
account. Don’t include amounts deducted on federal 
Form 1040 or 1040-SR.
An Idaho medical savings account generally is 
established with a bank, savings and loan, or credit 
union. The account is established to pay eligible 
medical expenses of the account holder and the 
account holder’s dependents.
Include interest earned on the account on this line but 
only if included on Form 43, line 8. Add your qualifying 
contributions to the interest earned on the account and 
enter the total on this line.

Line 9 Idaho College Savings Program
You can deduct up to $6,000 ($12,000 if married filing 
a joint return) per year in contributions to accounts 
in the Idaho College Savings Program (IDeal). 
Contributions to an out-of-state qualified tuition 
program aren’t eligible for the deduction. Designate 
the account owner and beneficiary at the time you 
establish the account. The account owner can 
make withdrawals for a qualified eligible education 
expense for the beneficiary as provided in 26 U.S.C. 
section 529. The person who withdraws the funds 
must report the amounts withdrawn as income. More 
information is available at idsaves.org or by calling 
(866) 433-2533.
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Line 10 Adoption Expenses
Column A: If you adopt a child, you can deduct 
some of the expenses incurred in the adoption. 
You can claim legal and medical expenses incurred 
up to a maximum of $10,000 per adoption. Travel 
expenses don’t qualify. If you incur expenses in 
two or more years, deduct the costs in the year 
paid until you meet the $10,000 limit. Expenses 
related to an unsuccessful attempt to adopt aren’t 
deductible. If you claim expenses in a year before 
the unsuccessful attempt to adopt, file an amended 
return to add back any deduction claimed for the 
unsuccessful attempt.
Column B: Enter the amount included in Column 
A in the proportion that total Idaho income bears 
to total income from all sources. Complete the 
following worksheet.

1. Total Idaho income from Form 43, line 20 ......
2. Total income from federal Form 1040 or 

1040-SR, line 9 .......................................
3. Divide line 1 by line 2. 

(Can’t exceed 100%) .............................. %
4. Total adoption expenses from line 10, 

Column A .................................................
5. Multiply line 4 by line 3. Enter this 

amount on line 10, Column B .................

Line 11 
Home for the Aged 
Columns A and B: You can deduct $1,000 for 
each family member, not including yourself or your 
spouse, who:

• Is age 65 or older
• You maintain a household for, and
• You provide more than one-half of the family 

member’s support for the year
Developmentally Disabled
You can deduct $1,000 for each family member, 
including yourself and your spouse, who:

• Is developmentally disabled 
• You maintain a household for, and 
• You provide more than one-half of the family 

member’s support for the year
No more than three deductions of $1,000 are 
allowed. If you claim this deduction, you can’t claim 
the $100 credit in Part F.
See page 33 for the definition of developmental 
disability.

If you maintain the home for the family member for 
less than a full year, the deduction is allowed at 
the rate of $83.33 for each month the home was 
maintained.
A family member is any person who meets the 
relationship test to be claimed as a dependent on 
income tax returns. Refer to the federal Form 1040 
instructions for more information.
Maintaining a household means paying more than 
one-half of the expenses incurred for the benefit of all 
the household’s occupants. Social Security benefits 
aren’t support provided by you but must be included 
in the computation of total support provided. Some 
examples of expenses of maintaining a household 
include:

• Property taxes
• Mortgage interest
• Rent
• Utility charges
• Upkeep and repairs
• Property insurance, and
• Food consumed on the premises

The amounts entered in Columns A and B must be 
the same.

Line 12 Idaho Lottery Winnings
Columns A and B: Enter the amount of Idaho lottery 
prizes of less than $600 per award included in other 
income on Form 43, line 19. The amounts entered in 
Columns A and B must be the same.

Line 13 Income Earned on a Reservation by an 
American Indian
Column B: You can deduct all your income from 
working on the reservation only when all these criteria 
are met:

• You’re enrolled in a federally recognized tribe
• You live and work on the reservation
• The income is included on Form 43, line 7 of 

your tax return
If you have no other income, you aren’t required 
to file.
Income earned off the reservation can’t be deducted. 
Income earned on the reservation can’t be deducted 
if you live off the reservation.
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Line 14 Workers’ Compensation Insurance
Columns A and B: A self-employed individual can 
deduct the actual cost of amounts paid for workers’ 
compensation insurance coverage in Idaho, if the 
cost isn’t deducted elsewhere.
Don’t enter amounts paid for coverage in other 
states. The amounts entered in Columns A and B 
must be the same.

Line 15 Pass-through Subtractions
Column A: Include the amount of other subtractions 
included on Form ID K-1, Part IV, Column A, line 28.

Column B: Enter your Idaho apportioned share of 
the Idaho subtractions from Form ID K-1, Part IV, 
Column B, line 28.

Line 16 Energy Efficiency Upgrade
Columns A and B: To qualify for this deduction, 
your Idaho residence must have existed, been 
under construction, or had a building permit issued 
on or before January 1, 2002, and must be your 
primary residence.
Energy efficiency upgrade means an energy 
efficiency improvement to your residence’s 
envelope or duct system that meets or exceeds 
the minimum value for the improved component 
established by the version of the International 
Energy Conservation Code (IECC) in effect in Idaho 
during the tax year when the improvement is made. 
Contact the Idaho Division of Building Safety at 
dbs.idaho.gov for more information.
See page 29 for more on energy efficiency upgrades.
The amount charged for labor to install the energy 
efficiency upgrades is also deductible.
Enter the energy efficiency upgrade installed in your 
Idaho residence. If you have more than one, enter 
multiple. Enter the total amount on line 16.

Line 17 Technological Equipment Donation
Columns A and B: Enter the lesser of cost or fair 
market value of technological equipment donated 
to one or more of the following Idaho educational 
institutions or libraries located in Idaho:

• Public or nonprofit private elementary, or 
secondary school

• Public or nonprofit private college or university
• Public library or library district

Items that qualify for this deduction are limited 
to computers, computer software and scientific 
equipment, or apparatus manufactured within five 
years of the date of donation. The amount deducted 
can’t reduce Idaho taxable income to less than zero. 
Any unused deduction can’t be carried to another year.

Columns A and B: Include your distributive share 
from the appropriate column of Form ID K-1, Part IV, 
line 26. The deduction from a pass-through entity can’t 
be more than the amount of pass-through income 
minus deductions of the entity making the contribution.

Line 18 Health Insurance Premiums
Column A: Deduct premiums you paid for health 
insurance for yourself, your spouse, and your 
dependents if those premiums haven’t already been 
deducted or excluded from your income.
If you claimed a deduction for health insurance 
premiums on your federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, 
Schedule A, use the worksheet on page 46 to 
calculate the deduction allowed for health insurance 
premiums. The worksheet follows the priority that 
itemized deductions first apply to health insurance 
premiums, then to long-term care insurance.

Idaho Medical Savings Account
If you take money out of your Idaho medical savings 
account to pay medical insurance premiums, no 
deduction is allowed. Since the health insurance 
costs already are deducted or accounted for, they 
can’t be deducted a second time.

Salary Reduction Plans
Premiums paid through a cafeteria plan or other 
salary-reduction arrangement can’t be included in 
the Idaho deduction for health insurance costs. For 
example, if your health insurance payments are 
deducted from your paycheck pretax, they don’t qualify 
for the deduction.

Business Deductions
Premiums deducted as a business expense can’t 
be included in the Idaho deduction for health 
insurance costs, since these amounts are already 
deducted. This includes amounts of self-employed 
health insurance premiums deducted in arriving at 
federal adjusted gross income.

Social Security Medicare A and B
No deduction is allowed for the amount paid for 
employer-required Social Security Medicare A. This 
is the amount listed as a deduction on almost every 
federal Form W-2.
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If you voluntarily enroll in Medicare B or 
Medicare D or aren’t covered under Social Security 
and voluntarily enroll in Medicare A, you can deduct 
the premiums you paid.

Idaho Standard Deduction
If you use the Idaho standard deduction instead of 
itemizing your deductions for Idaho purposes, you 
don’t have to reduce your health insurance costs by 
any amount claimed as a federal itemized deduction.

Federal Itemized Deduction Limitations
The following worksheets calculate your health 
insurance and long-term care insurance premium 
subtractions for Idaho purposes.
If you aren’t itemizing deductions for Idaho, skip 
lines 1-6 and enter zeros on lines 8, 12, and 13.

Health Insurance and Long-term Care Insurance 
Deduction Limitations

1. Amount claimed for health insurance 
costs on federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, 
Schedule A  .............................................

2. Amount claimed for long-term care 
insurance on federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, Schedule A ..............................

3. Additional medical expenses claimed 
on federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, 
Schedule A ..............................................

4. Total medical expenses. Add lines 1, 
2 and 3 ....................................................

5. Enter 7.5% of federal adjusted gross 
income ....................................................

6. Medical expense deduction allowed 
on federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, 
Schedule A. (Subtract  line 5 from line 4. If 
less than zero, enter zero.) ........................

Health Insurance
7. Enter the total paid for health insurance .....
8. Portion of health insurance deduction 

allowed on federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, Schedule A. Enter the lesser 
of lines 1 or 6 ...........................................

9. Enter the total health insurance 
costs deducted elsewhere on the 
federal return ................................................

10. Idaho health insurance deduction 
allowed. Subtract lines 8 and 9 from line 7. 
Enter this amount on Form 39NR, line 18,  
Column A ................................................

Long-term Care Insurance
11. Enter the total paid for long-term care 

insurance .................................................

12. Medical expense deduction not 
allocated to health insurance costs. 
Subtract line 1 from line 6. If less than 
zero, enter zero .......................................

13. Portion of long-term care insurance 
deduction allowed on federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, Schedule A. Enter the lesser of 
lines 2 or 12 ..........................................

14. Enter the total long-term care 
insurance costs deducted elsewhere 
on the federal return ................................

15. Long-term care insurance deduction 
allowed. Subtract lines 13 and 14 from  
line 11. Enter the amount on Form 39NR, 
line 19, Column A ..........................................

Column B: Enter the amount from line 5 of this 
worksheet.

1. Total Idaho income from Form 43, 
line 20 ...........................................................

2. Total income from federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, line 9 ............................................

3. Divide line 1 by line 2.  
(Can’t exceed 100%) ................................... %

4. Enter the amount from Form 39NR, 
line 18, Column A ........................................

5. Allowable Idaho deduction. Multiply line 4 
by line 3 .......................................................

Line 19 Long-term Care Insurance
Column A: You can deduct the amount you paid in 
premiums for qualified long-term care insurance that 
isn’t otherwise deducted or accounted for. 
Qualified long-term care insurance includes any 
insurance policy that provides coverage for at least 12 
consecutive months for yourself, your spouse, or your 
dependents for one or more necessary diagnostic, 
preventive, therapeutic, rehabilitative, maintenance, 
or personal care services provided in a setting other 
than an acute care unit of a hospital. Group and 
individual annuities and life insurance policies that 
directly provide or that supplement long-term care 
insurance qualify. This includes a policy that provides 
for payment of benefits based on cognitive impairment 
or loss of functional capacity.
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Qualified long-term care insurance doesn’t include 
any insurance policy that’s offered primarily to provide 
coverage for:

• Basic Medicare supplement
• Basic hospital expense
• Basic medical surgical expense
• Hospital confinement indemnity
• Major medical expense
• Disability income or related asset protection
• Accident only
• Specified disease or specified accident, or
• Limited benefit health

Life insurance policies that accelerate death 
benefits generally don’t qualify.
If you claimed a deduction for long-term care 
insurance on your federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, 
Schedule A as an itemized deduction, calculate the 
long-term care insurance allowed as a deduction by 
using the worksheet on the previous page.

Column B: Enter the amount from line 5 of this 
worksheet.

1. Total Idaho income from Form 43, 
line 20 ...........................................................

2. Total income from federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, line 9 ............................................

3. Divide line 1 by line 2.  
(Can’t exceed 100%) ................................... %

4. Enter the amount from Form 39NR, 
line 19, Column A ........................................

5.  Allowable Idaho deduction. Multiply line 4 
by line 3 .......................................................

Line 20 Alternative Energy Device 
Deduction
Columns A and B: If you install an alternative 
energy device in your Idaho residence, you can 
deduct a portion of the amount actually paid or 
accrued (billed but not paid).

In the year the device is placed in service, you can 
deduct 40% of the cost to construct, reconstruct, 
remodel, install, or acquire the device, but not more 
than $5,000.
In the next three years after installation, you can 
deduct 20% of these costs per year, but not more 
than $5,000 in any year.

Qualifying devices include:
• A system using solar radiation, wind, or 

geothermal resource primarily to provide 
heating or cooling or produce electrical power 
or any combination thereof

• A fluid-to-air heat pump operating on a fluid 
reservoir heated by solar radiation or geothermal 
resource but not an air-to-air heat pump unless it 
uses geothermal resources as part of the system

• A natural gas or propane heating unit that 
replaces a noncertified wood stove

• An Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA)-certified wood stove or pellet stove meeting  
current industry and state standards that replaces 
a noncertified wood stove

A noncertified wood stove is a wood stove that 
doesn’t meet current EPA standards. You must take 
the noncertified wood stove to a site authorized by 
the Division of Environmental Quality (DEQ) within 
30 days from the date of purchase of the qualifying 
device. The DEQ will give you a receipt to verify it 
received and destroyed the noncertified wood stove.
You must install the natural gas or propane heating 
unit or the EPA-certified wood stove or pellet stove the 
same tax year that you surrender the nonqualifying 
wood stove to the DEQ.

Lines 20a – 20d
Complete the lines that apply to the year you acquired 
the device. For example, if you acquired the device 
in 2020, complete line 20d. Enter the device type and 
total cost. Multiply the total cost by the appropriate 
percentage. Line 20e can’t be more than $5,000.

Line 22 Idaho Qualified Retirement Benefits 
Deduction
You may be able to deduct some of the qualifying 
retirement benefits and annuities you receive.
The Idaho Retirement Benefits Deduction has a 
two-part qualification. You must qualify for both 
parts to receive this deduction.

Part One  – Age, Disability, and Marital/Filing Status
The recipients must be at least age 65 or be classified 
as disabled and be at least age 62.
The following individuals are classified as disabled:

• An individual recognized as disabled by the 
Social Security Administration, the Railroad 
Retirement Board, or the Office of Management 
and Budget
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• A veteran of a U.S. war with a service-connected 
disability rating of 10% or more

• A veteran of a U.S. war with a 
nonservice-connected disability pension

• A person who has a physician-certified 
permanent disability with no expectation of 
improvement

If you’re married, you can’t claim this deduction if 
you file separately. If you’re an unremarried widow 
or widower of a pensioner and receive qualifying 
survivor benefits, you may be eligible to claim 
the retirement benefit deduction if you meet the 
age/disability requirements.

Part Two – Qualified Retirement Benefits
The recipients must meet the requirements in 
Part One, and their qualified retirement benefits 
must be one of the following:

• Civil Service Employees: Retirement 
annuities paid by the United States of America 
Civil Service Retirement System (CSRS), the 
Foreign Service Retirement and Disability 
System (FSRDS), or the offset programs of 
these two systems. To qualify for the deduction, 
employees must have established eligibility 
before 1984. Retirement annuities paid to a 
retired federal employee under the Federal 
Employees Retirement System (FERS) don’t 
qualify for the deduction. If you received a 
CSA-1099, you can tell if your benefits are paid 
under the CSRS or FERS by looking at the 
first digit of the account number shown on your 
CSA-1099. If the first digit is 7 or 9, the benefits 
are paid out of FERS and don’t qualify. 
If the first digit is 8, look at your Notice of 
Annuity Adjustment from the Office of Personnel 
Management. The notice shows how much of 
your benefits are paid from CSRS and how 
much are paid from FERS. Only the portion 
paid from CSRS qualifies for this deduction. If 
the first digit is 0, 1, 2, 3, or 4, the benefits are 
paid out of CSRS.

• Idaho Firefighters: Retirement benefits paid 
by the Public Employee Retirement System 
of Idaho (PERSI) relating to the Firemen’s 
Retirement Fund. 
If you received a 1099R and your account 
number includes the FRF (Firemen’s 
Retirement Fund) designation, your benefits 
may qualify for the deduction. Benefits paid out 
of the PERSI Base Plan don’t qualify for the 
deduction.

• Police Officers of an Idaho City: Retirement 
benefits paid from the Policemen’s Retirement 
Fund that no longer admits new members 
and, on January 1, 2012, was administered 
by an Idaho city or PERSI. Also, benefits 
paid by PERSI relating to Idaho police officer 
employment not included in the federal Social 
Security retirement system. For example, 
benefits paid out of the city police retirement 
funds for the cities of Coeur d’Alene, Lewiston, 
and Pocatello may qualify for the deduction. 
Similarly, benefits paid by PERSI relating to the 
old Idaho Falls Policemen’s Retirement Fund 
may qualify for the deduction. 
If you received a 1099R and your account 
number includes the IFP (Idaho Falls Police) 
designation, your benefits may qualify for the 
deduction. Benefits paid out of the PERSI Base 
Plan don’t qualify for the deduction.

• Service Members: Retirement benefits paid by 
the United States to a retired member of the U.S. 
military.

Disability pension paid by the Federal Railroad 
Retirement Act may not be included on your 
Form RRB-1099 or RRB-1099-R, if you’re under the 
minimum retirement age. Instead it may be included 
on Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 1 as wages.
The maximum amounts that can be deducted for 
2023 are:

Married filing jointly:
•   Recipient age 65 or older ......................... $65,286
•   Recipient age 62 or older and disabled ..... $65,286

Single:
•   Age 65 or older ........................................ $43,524
•   Age 62 or older and disabled ................... $43,524

These amounts must be reduced by retirement 
benefits received by you and your spouse under the 
Federal Social Security Act and the Federal Railroad 
Retirement Act.
Include with your return Form 1099s for all qualified 
retirement benefits claimed.

Line 22a. Enter $65,286 or $43,524, whichever 
applies to your filing status. Note: Only one deduction 
is allowed even though you and your spouse receive 
more than one annuity.

Line 22b. Enter the amount of retirement benefits you 
and your spouse received under the Federal Railroad 
Retirement Act.
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Include on this line:
• The net Social Security equivalent benefit portion 

from federal Form RRB-1099, Box 5
• The “total gross paid” amount from federal 

Form RRB-1099-R, Box 7, minus any repayment 
from Box 8, and

• Any railroad retirement disability benefit 
included as wages on federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, line 1

Line 22c. Enter the amount of retirement benefits 
you and your spouse received under the Federal 
Social Security Act, Box 5 of your Form SSA-1099s. 
If you or your spouse received Canadian Social 
Security benefits that you included in your federal 
taxable income, include those amounts received.

Line 22e. Enter the amount of qualified retirement 
benefits included on Form 43, line 28, Column A.

Line 22g. Enter the amount of qualified retirement 
benefits included in Idaho gross income. This 
amount must have been included on Form 43, 
line 28, Column B.

Line 22h. Divide line 22g, Column B, by line 22e, 
Column A. Round the percentage to the nearest 
whole number. For example, 45.49% is entered as 
45%; 45.50% is entered as 46%.

Line 23 Nonresident Military Pay
Column A: If you’re a nonresident of Idaho, enter 
the amount of military pay included on Form 43, 
line 28, Column A.

Line 24 Bonus Depreciation
If you claimed the bonus depreciation for federal 
purposes for property acquired before 2008 or after 
2009:

• Complete a separate federal Form 4562 or 
detailed computation for Idaho depreciation 
purposes as if the special depreciation 
allowance hadn’t been claimed

• Compute the Idaho adjusted basis and any 
gains or losses from the sale or exchange 
of the property using the Idaho depreciation 
amounts

• If the federal depreciation (including gains and 
losses) is less than the Idaho depreciation 
(including gains and losses), include the 
difference on this line; otherwise, enter the 
difference on Part A, line 3

Include the federal Form 4562s or detailed  

computations used to compute the depreciation and 
gains and losses.
Don’t enter any amounts for property acquired 
during 2008 and 2009.

Column A: If the federal depreciation (including gains 
and losses) is less than the depreciation (including 
gains and losses) calculated without the bonus 
depreciation, include the difference on this line.
If you’re a shareholder in an S corporation or a partner 
in a partnership that has Idaho-source income, include 
your distributive share of bonus depreciation from 
Form ID K-1, Part IV, Column A, line 27.

Column B: If the federal depreciation (including 
gains and losses) is less than the Idaho depreciation 
(including Idaho gains and losses), include the 
difference on this line.

Enter on this line your apportioned share of bonus 
depreciation from Form ID K-1, Part IV, Column B, 
line 27. The amount must be included as part of 
Form 43, line 27, Idaho Adjusted Gross Income.

Line 25 First-time Home Buyer Savings Account 
Contributions and Interest
You can contribute up to $15,000 ($30,000 if married 
filing a joint return) to a first-time home buyer savings 
account and deduct the contribution. Deposits into a 
first-time home buyer savings account can’t exceed 
$100,000 for the lifetime of the account.
A first-time home buyer savings account is established 
in Idaho with a bank, savings and loan association, 
credit union, or trust company authorized to act as 
a fiduciary. The account is used to pay the eligible 
home costs of the account holder or to reimburse the 
account holder’s eligible home costs in connection 
with a qualified home purchase.
Include interest earned on the account on line 25 but 
only if included on Form 43, line 8. Interest earned 
on the account is tax deferred if the funds are used 
for a qualified home purchase. Enter the name of the 
financial institution and your account number in the 
spaces provided. Add your contributions to the interest 
earned on the account, and enter the total on this line.
Check the box to attest that you’re a first-time home 
buyer. A first-time home buyer means an individual 
who:

• Resides in Idaho
• Has filed an Idaho income tax return for the most 

recent tax year
• Doesn’t own, either individually or jointly, a 
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single-family or multi-family residence, and
• Has never owned or purchased, either individually 

or jointly, a single-family residence in any location

Line 26 Other Subtractions
Columns A and B: Identify any other subtraction 
you’re eligible for, and claim the amount on this line. 
Don’t include foreign taxes as a subtraction, since 
they’re claimed as part of the Idaho itemized 
deduction if allowed. See the instructions for 
Itemized or Standard Deductions. Don’t include 
other subtractions from Form ID K-1, Part IV, line 28 
on this line. Include those other subtractions on 
line 15.
On this line in the applicable column, include 
interest from Idaho Build America Bonds included 
on Form 43, line 28, Columns A and B. Don’t 
include on this line any interest from non-Idaho 
Build America Bonds.

Part C — Credit for Income Tax Paid to 
Other States by Part-year Residents

When both Idaho and another state tax the same 
income while you’re an Idaho resident, you may be 
eligible for a credit for tax paid to the other state.
Use this section to compute the credit. Include 
a complete copy of the other state’s income tax 
return and Idaho Form 39NR with your income tax 
return. If your S corporation or partnership paid 
income tax to another state on your behalf, include 
a copy of Form ID K-1 or the schedule received 
from the S corporation or partnership that paid the 
tax. If credit applies to more than one state, use a 
separate Form 39NR for each state.
Examples of income that both Idaho and another 
state may tax include:

• Wages earned in another state that has an 
income tax, such as Oregon or Utah, while 
living in Idaho

• Income from a business or profession earned 
in another state that has an income tax, while a 
resident of Idaho

Line 1. Enter your Idaho adjusted income from 
Form 43, line 31, Column B, if you reported the 
double-taxed income on an individual income tax 
return in the other state. If the double-taxed income 
was reported to the other state and taxed as part of 
an S corporation or partnership composite or group 
return, enter your federal adjusted gross income 
from Form 43, line 28, Column A.

Line 2. Enter the total portion of federal adjusted 
gross income derived in the other state modified 
to reflect Idaho additions and subtractions. In 
computing the income derived in the other state, 
reverse any adjustments to federal taxable income 
allowed by the other state that aren’t applicable to 
Idaho.
Enter your adjusted gross income from the other state 
restated to a basis comparable to Idaho adjusted 
income. For example, if the other state taxes interest 
received from U.S. obligations, deduct this amount 
from the other state’s adjusted gross income. Idaho 
doesn’t tax this interest.
If your income derived in the other state includes 
income from an S corporation, partnership, trust, or 
estate, enter your share of the entity’s taxable income 
correctly reported to the other state plus any other 
Idaho adjusted gross income from sources in the other 
state.

Line 3. Enter the amount of income that’s taxed twice. 
Only income that’s taxed by Idaho and also taxed by 
another state is double-taxed.

Line 4. Enter the tax shown on Form 43, line 42.

Line 5. Divide line 3 by line 1. Round to four digits to 
the right of the decimal point. For example, .66666 is 
rounded to .6667 and should be entered as 66.67%. 
The percentage can’t exceed 100%.

Line 7. Enter the other state’s tax due from its tax 
table or rate schedule less its income tax credits. 
State and local tax (SALT) workaround payments 
or credits aren’t subtracted. If your income derived 
in the other state was reported on a composite or 
group return filed by an S corporation or partnership, 
enter your proportionate share of the tax paid by the 
S corporation or partnership minus your proportionate 
share of the income tax credits. Income tax credits 
are those credits that relate to income tax excluding 
SALT workaround payments or credits. An example of 
a credit that isn’t an income tax credit is a special fuels 
or gasoline tax credit.

Line 8. Divide line 3 by line 2. Round to four digits to 
the right of the decimal point. For example, .66666 
is rounded to .6667 and is entered as 66.67%. The 
percentage can’t be more than 100%.

Line 10. Your allowable credit for income tax paid to 
other states is the smaller of lines 6 or 9. Enter this 
amount on Form 43, line 43.
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Part D — Credit for Income Tax Paid to 
Other States by Idaho Residents on Active 
Military Duty

When both Idaho and another state tax the same 
income, you may be eligible for a credit for tax paid to 
the other state.
Use this section to compute the credit. You must 
include a complete copy of the other state’s income 
tax return and Idaho Form 39NR with your income 
tax return. If your S corporation or partnership paid 
income tax to another state on your behalf, include 
a copy of Form ID K-1 or the schedule you received 
from the S corporation or partnership that paid the 
tax. If credit applies to more than one state, use a 
separate Form 39NR for each state.
Examples of income that both Idaho and another 
state may tax include:

• Wages earned in another state that has an 
income tax, such as Oregon or Utah, while 
living in Idaho

• Income from a business or profession earned 
in another state that has an income tax, while a 
resident of Idaho

Line 1. Enter the tax shown on Form 43, line 42.

Line 2. Enter the total portion of federal adjusted 
gross income derived in the other state, modified 
to reflect Idaho additions and subtractions. In 
computing the income derived in the other state, 
you must reverse any adjustments to federal 
taxable income allowed by the other state that 
aren’t applicable to Idaho.
Enter your adjusted gross income from the other 
state restated to a basis comparable to Idaho 
adjusted income. For example, if the other state 
taxes interest received from U.S. obligations, 
deduct this amount from the other state’s adjusted 
gross income. Idaho doesn’t tax this interest.
If your income derived in the other state includes 
income from an S corporation, partnership, trust, 
or estate, enter your share of the entity’s taxable 
income correctly reported to the other state plus 
any other Idaho adjusted gross income from 
sources in the other state.

Line 3. Enter your Idaho adjusted income from 
Form 43, line 31, Column B, if you reported the 
double-taxed income on an individual income tax 
return in the other state. However, if the double-taxed 
income was reported to the other state and taxed 

as part of an S corporation or partnership composite 
or group return, enter your federal adjusted gross 
income from Form 43, line 28, Column A.

Line 4. Divide line 2 by line 3. Round to four digits 
to the right of the decimal point. For example, 
.66666 is rounded to .6667 and should be entered 
as 66.67%. The percentage can’t exceed 100%.

Line 6. Enter the other state’s tax due from its tax 
table or rate schedule less its income tax credits. If 
your income derived in the other state was reported on 
a composite or group return filed by an S corporation 
or partnership, enter your proportionate share of the 
tax paid by the S corporation or partnership minus 
your proportionate share of the income tax credits. 
Income tax credits are those credits that relate to 
income tax. An example of a credit that isn’t an income 
tax credit is a special fuels or gasoline tax credit.

Line 7. Your allowable credit for income tax paid to 
other states is the smaller of lines 5 or 6. Enter this 
amount on Form 43, line 43.

Part E — Credits for Idaho Educational 
Entity and Idaho Youth and Rehabilitation 
Facility Contributions, and Live Organ 
Donation Expenses

Line 1 Credit for Idaho Educational Entity 
Contributions
If you donated cash to qualified educational entities, 
you can claim a tax credit. Donation of goods or 
services don’t qualify.
Include amounts from Form ID K-1, Part VIII, line 50 
to calculate the credit amount.
The credit is limited to the smallest of:

• One-half of the amount donated
• 50% of the tax on Form 43, line 42
• $500 ($1,000 on a joint return)
• The tax on Form 43, line 42 minus the amount 

on Form 43, line 43
If you have credit from an ABE (Form ID K-1, Part XI, 
line 59), you can add that to the amount computed 
above (if any). The total credit is limited to the smallest 
of: 

• 50% of the tax on Form 43, line 42 or 
• $500 ($1,000 on a joint return).

See page 38 for the list of qualified educational 
entities.
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Line 2 Credit for Idaho Youth and Rehabilitation 
Facility Contributions
You can claim this credit if you donated cash or goods 
to the following:

• Qualified center for independent living
• Youth or rehabilitation facility or its foundation, or
• Nonprofit substance abuse center licensed by 

the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare
Include amounts from Form ID K-1, Part VIII, line 51 
to calculate the credit amount.
The credit is limited to the smallest of:

• One-half of the amount donated
• 20% of the tax on Form 43, line 42
• $100 ($200 on a joint return)
• The tax on Form 43, line 42 minus the 

amounts on Form 43, line 43, Form 39NR, Part 
E, line 1 and Form 44, Part I, line 1

If you have credit from an ABE (Form ID K-1, 
Part XI, line 61), you can add that to the amount 
computed above (if any). The total credit is limited 
to the smallest of: 

• 20% of the tax on Form 43, line 42 or 
• $100 ($200 on a joint return)

See page 38 for the list of qualified youth or 
rehabilitation facilities and their foundations.
Line 3 Credit for Live Organ Donation Expenses
A living taxpayer who donates (or whose dependent 
donates) a qualified organ that’s transplanted into 
another individual can claim a credit for expenses 
related to the donation.
The credit can’t be more than the taxpayer’s tax 
liability and is limited to the smaller of:

• The amount of live organ donation expenses 
paid by the taxpayer during the tax year, or

• $5,000
Any unused credit can be carried over for five years.
To claim the credit, you must donate one or more of 
the following organs:

• Human bone marrow
• Any part of an:

 � Intestine
 � Kidney
 � Liver
 � Lung
 � Pancreas

Qualified expenses are those incurred by the 
taxpayer or dependent for travel, lodging, or lost 
wages and aren’t reimbursed to the taxpayer. The 
expenses must be directly related to the live organ 
donation by the taxpayer or a dependent of the 
taxpayer.

Part F — Maintaining a Home for a Family 
Member Age 65 or Older or a Family 
Member with a Developmental Disability

If you didn’t claim the $1,000 deduction on Part B, 
line 11, you can claim a $100 credit for each family 
member, not including yourself or your spouse, who:

• Is age 65 or older
• You maintain a household for, and
• You provide more than one-half of the family 

member’s support for the year
If the home was maintained for the family member 
less than a full year, the credit is allowed at the rate of 
$8.33 for each month the home was maintained.
You can claim this credit if your gross income is less 
than the filing requirement. File Form 43 and include 
Form 39NR.
Only residents, including Idaho residents on active 
military duty outside Idaho, can claim this credit.

Lines 1 and 2. Answer the two questions. If you 
answer yes to either question, you qualify.

Line 3. Enter the family member’s name, Social 
Security number, relationship, and date of birth for 
whom you maintain a home and provide more than 
one-half of their support. If the claim is for a family 
member with a developmental disability, check 
the box.

Line 4. Enter the total on Form 43, line 64.


	Frm40StdWorksheetL1: 
	Frm40StdWorksheetL3: 
	Frm40StdWorksheetL4: 
	Frm40TaxWorksheetL1: 
	Frm40TaxWorksheetL2: 
	Frm40TaxWorksheetL3: 
	Frm40TaxWorksheetL4: 
	Frm40TaxWorksheetL5: 
	Frm40StdWorksheetL5: 
	Frm40StdWorksheetL6: 
	Frm40Line25WorksheetL1: 
	Frm40Line25WorksheetL2: 
	Frm40Line25WorksheetL3: 
	Frm40Line25WorksheetL4: 
	Frm40Line25WorksheetL5: 
	Frm40Line25WorksheetL6: 
	Frm40Line25WorksheetL7: 
	Frm40Line25WorksheetL8: 
	Frm40GroceryCreditWorksheetYourselfL1: 
	Frm40GroceryCreditWorksheetYourselfL2: 
	Frm40GroceryCreditWorksheetYourselfL2a: 
	Frm40GroceryCreditWorksheetSpouseL3: 
	Frm40GroceryCreditWorksheetSpouseL4: 
	Frm40GroceryCreditWorksheetYourselfL4a: 
	Frm40GroceryCreditWorksheetL6: 
	Frm40GroceryCreditWorksheetL5R1c1: 
	Frm40GroceryCreditWorksheetL5R2c1: 
	Frm40GroceryCreditWorksheetL5R3c1: 
	Frm40GroceryCreditWorksheetL5R4c1: 
	Frm40GroceryCreditWorksheetL5R2c2: 
	Frm40GroceryCreditWorksheetL5R3c2: 
	Frm40GroceryCreditWorksheetL5R4c2: 
	Line21_1: 
	Line21_2: 
	Line21_3: 
	Line21_4: 
	Line21_5: 
	Line22_1: 
	Line22_2: 
	Line22_3: 
	Line22_4: 
	Line22_5: 
	L1ColABus1: 
	L1ColBBus1: 
	L1ColCBus1: 
	L1ColABus2: 
	L1ColBBus2: 
	L1ColCBus2: 
	L1ColABus3: 
	L1ColBBus3: 
	L1ColCBus3: 
	L23TotalL1: 
	L2ColBBus2: 
	L2ColABus1: 
	L2ColBBus1: 
	L2ColCBus1: 
	L2ColABus2: 
	L2ColCBus2: 
	L2ColABus3: 
	L2ColBBus3: 
	L2ColCBus3: 
	L23TotalL2: 
	L3ColABus1: 
	L3ColBBus1: 
	L3ColCBus1: 
	L3ColABus2: 
	L3ColBBus2: 
	L3ColCBus2: 
	L3ColABus3: 
	L3ColBBus3: 
	L3ColCBus3: 
	L23TotalL3: 
	L23TotalL4: 
	Frm43StdWorksheetL1: 
	Frm43StdWorksheetL3: 
	Frm43StdWorksheetL4: 
	Frm43StdWorksheetL5: 
	Frm43StdWorksheetL6: 
	L1ColAR1: 
	L1ColBR1: 
	L1ColCR1: 
	L1ColDR1: 
	L1ColER1: 
	L1ColAR2: 
	L1ColBR2: 
	L1ColCR2: 
	L1ColDR2: 
	L1ColER2: 
	TotalColC 1: 
	TotalColE 1: 
	L3: 
	Frm43TaxWorksheetL6: 
	Frm43TaxWorksheetL7: 
	Frm43TaxWorksheetL8: 
	Frm43TaxWorksheetL9: 
	Frm43TaxWorksheetL10: 
	Frm43Line46WorksheetL1: 
	Frm43Line46WorksheetL2: 
	Frm43Line46WorksheetL3: 
	Frm43Line46WorksheetL4: 
	Frm43Line46WorksheetL5: 
	Frm43Line46WorksheetL6: 
	Frm43Line46WorksheetL7: 
	Frm43Line46WorksheetL8: 
	Frm43Line46WorksheetL9: 
	Frm43Line46WorksheetL10: 
	Frm43GroceryCreditWorksheetYourselfL1: 
	Frm43GroceryCreditWorksheetYourselfL2: 
	Frm43GroceryCreditWorksheetSpouseL3: 
	Frm43GroceryCreditWorksheetSpouseL4: 
	Frm43GroceryCreditWorksheetL5R1c1: 
	Frm43GroceryCreditWorksheetL5R2c1: 
	Frm43GroceryCreditWorksheetL5R3c1: 
	Frm43GroceryCreditWorksheetL5R4c1: 
	Frm40GroceryCreditWorksheetL5R1c2: 
	Frm43GroceryCreditWorksheetL5R2c2: 
	Frm43GroceryCreditWorksheetL5R3c2: 
	Frm43GroceryCreditWorksheetL5R4c2: 
	Frm43GroceryCreditWorksheetL6: 
	Frm43GroceryCreditWorksheetL7: 
	Frm43GroceryCreditWorksheetL8: 
	L1ColaRow1Description 3: 
	L1ColbR1DateAcquired 3: 
	L1ColcR1DateSold 3: 
	L1ColdR1SalePrice 3: 
	L1ColeR1Cost 3: 
	L1ColfR1GainLoss 3: 
	L1ColaRow2Description 3: 
	L1ColbR2DateAcquired 3: 
	L1ColcR2DateSold 3: 
	L1ColdR2SalePrice 3: 
	L1ColeR2Cost 3: 
	L1ColfR2GainLoss 3: 
	L1ColaRow3Description 3: 
	L1ColbR3DateAcquired 3: 
	L1ColcR3DateSold 3: 
	L1ColdR3SalePrice 3: 
	L1ColeR3Cost 3: 
	L1ColfR3GainLoss 3: 
	L2: 
	L2Combine 1: 
	L4: 
	L5: 
	L6: 
	L7: 
	L8: 
	L9: 
	L10: 
	L2b 1: 
	L2c 1: 
	L2a 1: 
	L2d 1: 
	Tax Year 1: 
	L5TaxYear 1: 
	IDCapLossCarryover 1: 
	TxYr 1: 
	Frm39RWorksheetL8: 
	Frm39RWorksheetL7: 
	Frm39RWorksheetL6: 
	Frm39RWorksheetL5: 
	Frm39RWorksheetL4: 
	Frm39RWorksheetL3: 
	Frm39RWorksheetL2: 
	Frm39RWorksheetLine19L6: 
	Frm39RWorksheetLine19L5: 
	Frm39RWorksheetLine19L8: 
	Frm39RWorksheetLine19L9: 
	Frm39RWorksheetLine19L10: 
	Frm39RWorksheetLine19L11: 
	Frm39RWorksheetLine19L12: 
	Frm39RWorksheetLine19L13: 
	Frm39RWorksheetLine19L2: 
	Frm39RWorksheetLine19L3: 
	Frm39RWorksheetLine19L4: 
	Frm39RWorksheetLine19L7: 
	Frm39RWorksheetLine19L18: 
	Frm39RWorksheetLine19L17: 
	Frm39RWorksheetLine19L16: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L1ColA 1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L1ColB 1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L2ColA 1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L2ColB 1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L3ColA 1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L3ColB 1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L4ColA 1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L4ColB 1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L5ColA 1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L5ColB 1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L6ColA 1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L6ColB 1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L8ColA 1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L8ColB 1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L7ColA 1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L7ColB 1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L6: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L3: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L4: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L5: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L7: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L8: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L9: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L10: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L11: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine4L2: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine10L1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine10L2: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine10L3: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine10L4: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetLine10L5: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetHealthL1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetHealthL2: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetHealthL3: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetHealthL4: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetHealthL5: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetHealthL6: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetHealthL12: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetHealthL13: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetHealthL14: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetHealthL15: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetColBL1: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetColBL2: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetColBL3: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetColBL4: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetColBL5: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetHealthL7: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetHealthL8: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetHealthL9: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetHealthL10: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetHealthL11: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetL19ColBL2: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetL19ColBL3: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetL19ColBL4: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetL19ColBL5: 
	Frm39NRWorksheetL19ColBL1: 


