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103. HAND TOOL, COMPONENT, AND UNIT PRICE (RULE 103). 

Sections 63-3622S, 63-3622T, 63-3622W, 63-3622JJ, Idaho Code. 

 

 01. Exempt Hand Tools. The Idaho sales tax law exempts hand tools with a unit 

price of over one hundred dollars ($100) if the hand tools are used directly and primarily in any 

of the following operations: (7-1-93) 

 

 a. Manufacturing, processing, mining, farming or fabricating, Section 63-3622D, 

Idaho Code;   (7-1-93)(        ) 

 

 ba. Broadcasting, Section 63-3622S, Idaho Code; (7-1-93) 

 

 cb. Certain newspaper publishing, Section 63-3622T, Idaho Code; (7-1-93) 

 

 dc. Agricultural irrigation, Section 63-3622W, Idaho Code; (7-1-93) 

 

 ed. Logging, Section 63-3622JJ, Idaho Code. (7-1-93) 

 

 02. Unit. A unit, as applied to hand tools, means a single, distinct part or object which 

can be used by itself to perform a specific function. For example, a screwdriver can be used by 

itself to tighten or loosen a screw. When units, such as screwdrivers, are sold in sets to a 

manufacturer who will use the tools primarily and directly in the production process, i.e., to 

assemble product, a per unit price must be computed to determine if the purchase qualifies for 

the over one hundred dollars ($100) per unit exemption. When a manufacturer purchases a set of 

twenty (20) wrenches for one hundred twenty-five dollars ($125) to be used in product assembly, 

the purchase is taxable because the per unit price of the hand tools is less than one hundred 

dollars ($100).   (7-1-93) 

 

 03. Component. A unit may be composed of two (2) or more components. A 

component is a distinct part which must be physically attached to another part to perform a 

specific function. A component alone has no utility. For example, a drill bit must be physically 

attached to a drill in order for the bit or the drill to have utility. Together they become a unit 

which can perform a specific function. Single components or sets of components, sockets, drill 

bits, etc., are taxable unless they will be physically joined to another component, ratchet, drill, 

etc., to form a unit which exceeds one hundred dollars ($100) in cost. For example, drill bits 

which are physically attached to a five hundred dollar ($500) drill press to perform a specific 

function in a production process are exempt from the tax. (7-1-93) 

 

 04. Unit Price. The total amount extended on a purchase invoice for multiple units is 

not the unit price. The unit price must be computed to determine whether the hand tool exceeds 

one hundred dollars ($100) and qualifies for a given exemption. (7-1-93) 


