DATE:

SUBJECT:

PURPOSE:

POLICY:

IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION
ADMINISTRATIVE POLICY MEMORANDUM NO. 13-09

(Replaces Administrative Policy Memo No. 09-10, dated April 1, 2009)

March 6, 2013
Family and Medical Leave Act

The purpose of the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) is to assist
employees in balancing work life and family matters by providing leave for
special health or family-related needs.

Idaho State Tax Commission (Tax Commission) supervisors, Human
Resource staff, or other individuals in the managerial chain-of-command
shall inform employees about the availability of FMLA leave whenever a
situation arises that may indicate the employee may be eligible for and might
benefit from FMLA leave. Such notice may be verbal but is normally given
by providing the employee with the Request for Family/Medical Leave or
Donated Leave form.

The Tax Commission provides eligible employees within a 12-month period
under qualifying circumstances:

1. Up to 12 work weeks (480 hours) of unpaid, job protected leave in a 12-
month period for certain family and medical reasons; or,

2. Up to 26 workweeks of leave for eligible employees to care for a covered
service member with a serious illness or injury.

Employee Eligibility

An employee must meet the following criteria to be eligible for FMLA leave:

1. Employment with the State of Idaho has been in effect for at least 12
months. The 12 months does not have to be continuous employment'.
Employees who were on the payroll for any part of a week (even just
one day) will be credited with a full week toward their total. This
includes part-time or temporary workers; and

2. Has worked at least 1,250 hours during the 12-month period
immediately preceding the leave. This 1,250 hours means “actual time”
spent working. It does not include paid vacation or sick time, or periods
of unpaid leave during which other benefits continued to be provided,
i.e., a group health plan or workers’ compensation.

To determine eligibility, the 12-month period is measured backwards
from the date an employee’s leave is designated as FMLA. The FMLA
leave year will begin on the first day that the employee takes FMLA
leave.

Eligible employees may take leave for any of the following reasons:

1. Birth of an employee’s child (within the first 12 months of birth).

2. Placement of a child with the employee for adoption or foster care (within
the first 12 months of the adoption or placement).


http://taxsps10/sites/taxinsider/doccenter/Documents/FMLA%20Request%20-%20Donated%20Leave%20Request.docx
http://taxsps10/sites/taxinsider/doccenter/Documents/FMLA%20Request%20-%20Donated%20Leave%20Request.docx

3. To care for the employee’s own serious health condition, including health
conditions relating to pregnancy, childbirth, and related medical
conditions.

4. To care for the serious health condition of the employee’s child (under
age 18"), spouse, or parent.

5. Attend to a Qualifying Exigency (QE) arising out of the fact that the
employee’s spouse, parent, or child is a service member who is “on
active duty (or notified of an impending call or order to active duty) in
support of a contingency operation.”

6. To care for a qualifying family member who incurred a serious injury or
illness in the line of duty while on active duty in the Armed Forces.

A serious health condition is an illness, injury, impairment or physical or
mental condition that involves incapacity or treatment connected with:

1. Inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential medical facility; or

2. Pregnancy or prenatal care; or

3. Continuing treatment by a health care provider.

Types of FMLA Leave

There are two types of FMLA leave: continuous and intermittent/reduced
work schedule.

e Continuous FMLA Leave — An employee, who is off work entirely for a
single qualifying reason, is on a block of continuous FMLA leave.

e Intermittent FMLA Leave — An employee takes leave in separate
blocks of time, combined with periods of work, due to a single
qualifying reason.

Employee’s FMLA Rights

e While on FMLA leave, the employee’s health and dental benefits will
remain unchanged. Thus, the employee will still be responsible for
his/her share of the monthly health and dental premiums. If the
employee does not return to work after FMLA leave for reasons
beyond his/her medical condition, the Tax Commission can require
the employee to reimburse the state’s share of the premiums paid
during his/her absence.

e An employee’s use of FMLA leave cannot result in the loss of any
employment benefit that the employee earned or was entitled to
before using FMLA leave.

e Use of FMLA leave cannot be counted against the employee for any
disciplinary action regarding attendance.

e Upon return from FMLA leave, employees are entitled to be restored
to the position they held prior to their FMLA leave, or to be restored to
an equivalent position with substantially equivalent benefits, pay, or
other terms and conditions of employment.
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Use of Paid Leave

An employee may elect to use accrued vacation leave, sick leave, or
compensatory time concurrently with FMLA leave. If the employee elects to
use compensatory time such time taken shall be counted against the
employee’s FMLA entitlement. If the employee elects to use accrued paid
leave concurrently with FMLA, the employee is required to comply with all
procedural requirements, such as notice requirements of the Tax
Commission’s paid leave policies. A failure to do so may result in loss of
entitlement to paid leave for the time period for which the employee failed to
comply with such policies, although the employee remains entitled to take
unpaid FMLA leave. A bona fide illness must exist to use sick leave
concurrently with FMLA leave.

Employees on FMLA leave who are concurrently using available sick or
vacation time shall accrue sick and vacation hours at the same rate as if
they were not on FMLA. However, employees utilizing compensatory time or
unpaid FMLA leave do not accrue sick or vacation leave credits.

This policy is not intended to be all-inclusive. The exceptions and unique
situations regarding FMLA benefits are too numerous and complex to
address in this policy alone. Consultation with the HR FMLA Coordinator is
strongly advised.

The Tax Commission has adopted and made part of this policy_ Personnel
Procedures Manual, Section 6 - Work Hours, Overtime, Attendance and
Leave and Employee Rights and Responsibilities under the Family and
Medical Leave Act.

Immediately

Adopted by the Tax Commissioners on March 6, 2013.

A copy of this policy will be published on the Tax Insider upon adoption by
the Commissioners, distributed to all employees of the Tax Commission, and

included in New Hire Orientation.

This policy expires on March 6, 2017.

"If an employee has had a break of service of more than 7 years, time worked prior to rehire/reinstatement following that break of
service does not count towards the twelve month eligibility requirement.

" The child must be under 18 unless he/she is incapable of self-care due to mental or physical disability.
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