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Oct 2014 changes included. All the changes noted in Subsection 03 are October changes and will be
explained at the Rule Committee meeting to be held on October 30, 2014. All other noted changes
have be previously approved by the Rules Committee. Draft proposed rule 626, version c dated Oc-
tober 23, 2014.

626. PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM TAXATION -- CERTAIN PERSONAL PROPERTY
(RULE 626).
Sections 63-105(A), 63-201, 63-302, 63-308, 63-313, 63-602Y,, and 63-602KK, Idaho Code.

01. Locally Assessed Property - Application Required. (3-20-14)

a. The taxpayer must file one (1) or more of the lists of taxable personal property as
required by Section 63-302, Section 63-313, or Section 63-602Y, Idaho Code if the total market
value of the property to be listed is greater than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000). The
filing of said list(s) shall constitute the filing of an application for exemption. For purposes of
reporting personal property, the value is to be based on market value, not book value. (3-20-14)

b. Taxpayers establishing initial eligibility for the exemption provided in Section
63-602KK(2), Idaho Code, may in lieu of a list, file only an application attesting to ownership of
otherwise taxable personal property having a cost of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) or
less. In providing such cost, newly acquired personal property items acquired at a price of three
thousand dollars ($3,000) or less, that are exempt pursuant to Section 63-602KK(1), Idaho Code,
shall not be included. The application must be filed no later than April 15th of the first year for
which the exemption is claimed. (3-20-14)

02. Locally Assessed Property - Taxpayers’ Election of Property Location.(3-20-14)

a. Multiple Locations Within A County. In cases where the taxpayer has personal
property located in multiple places within the county, the taxpayer may elect the location of the
property to which the exemption will apply by filing the “Idaho Personal Property Exemption
Location Application Form” available from the Sstate Ftax €commission (Commission) for this
purpose. To make the election for property required to otherwise be listed as provided in Section
63-302, Idaho Code, the form must be filed with the county assessor by April 15. For taxpayers
with personal property required to be listed as provided in Sections 63-602Y and 63-313, Idaho
Code, any application specifying the location of the property to which the exemption provided for
in Section 63-602KK(2) will apply, must be filed by the dates specified for filing the lists required
by these Sections. Should the taxpayer not make an election as to where to apply the exemption,
the county shall have discretion regarding the property to which the exemption shall apply.
However, to the extent possible and assuming the assessor is not aware of any changes in
eligibility, the exemption will be first applied to the same property to which it applied in the
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immediate prior year. (3-20-14)

b. Multiple locations in different counties. The one hundred thousand dollar
($100,000) limit on the exemption applies to a taxpayer’s otherwise taxable personal property
within any county. If the taxpayer owns qualifying personal property in more than one county, the

limit is one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) in market value per county. (3-20-14)
03.  Centrally Assessed Property - Application Required. (3-20-14)
a. Except for private railcar fleets, the taxpayer must may file a list of personal

property with the operator’s statement filed pursuant to Rule 404 of these rules. The filing of such
a list shall constitute the filing of an application for this exemption. Except as provided in
Subsections 626.03._b and c. of this rule, for such personal property to be considered for the

exemption, the operator’s statement must include: (3-20-14)( )
i A description of the personal property, including any tax code area in which the
personal property subject to assessment as situs property is located,; (3-20-14)
ii. Cost and depreciated cost of the personal property; (3-20-14)
iii. The county in which the personal property is located, if the taxpayer wishes to
receive the exemption on property located in more than one county. (3-20-14)
b. For private railcar fleets subject to assessment by the Commission, the filing of the

annual operator’s statement shall constitute application for thls exemption. —and-having-antdahe

aaply—tnstead— tThe Commlssmn shaII after usmg apportlonment procedures descrlbed in Rule
413 of these rules to apportion the market value of these fleets, allow an exemption of up to one
hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) to be applied to the apportioned market value within each
county within which the railcar fleet operates. Provided that the Fhe remaining taxable value is
five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) or greater, this value anrd-exemptimarket-value is to be
further apportioned to each taxing district and urban renewal revenue allocation area.

@204 )

C. After subtraction of the personal property exemption calculated as provided in
Subsection 626.03.b of this rule, for Fer private railcar fleets subject to assessment by the

Commission, and having an Idaho taxable market value of less than five hundred thousand dollars
($500,000), neither the final amount of the exemption nor the taxable value of the fleet shall be
sub|ect to apportlonment
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d. When operating property companies have locally assessed property, any exemption
pursuant to Section 63-602KK(2), Idaho Code must be applied to the locally assessed property
first. In this case, the county assessor must notify the Commission of the value of the exemption
granted. If such exemption is entered on the property roll, such notification must be made by the
first Monday in August. After notice by the Commission of the amount of exemption granted to
the centrally assessed property, the assessor may make adjustments to assessed values to be
entered on any subsequent or missed property rolls to ensure that the exemption does not exceed
$100,000 (one hundred thousand dollars) for any taxpayer. 3-20-14)( )

04. Centrally Assessed Property - Taxpayers’ Election of Property Location.
Except for private rail car fleets having an Idaho taxable value of five hundred thousand dollars
($500,000) or greater, to which the procedures in Subsection 626.03.b. of this rule shall apply, the
taxpayer owning personal property located in multiple counties may indicate the county in which
the property is located. Should the taxpayer not make an election as to where to apply the
exemption, the exemption shall be limited to one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) applied to
the Idaho value of the taxpayer prior to apportionment. (3-20-14)

05.  Valuation Assessment Notice. The valuation assessment notice required by
Section 63-308, Idaho Code, must show the taxable market value before granting the exemption
provided in Section 63-602KK(2), ldaho Code, the exempt market value pursuant to the
exemption provided in Section 63-602KK(2), Idaho Code, and the net taxable market value of the
personal property. After the year of initial eligibility, if the net taxable market value is zero, no

valuation assessment notice is required untH-every-fifth-yearfolowing-when-the-clabmant-must
reapply. 3-20-14)(1-1-14)T

06. Fax—Cenmumission’sReview—and Correction of the Personal Property Tax
Replacement Reduetion-Lists Amounts. 3-20-14)(1-1-14)T
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naccordance-with-the-correction: 3-20-14)(1-1-14)T

d. If, subsequent to finalization of the amount of replacement money to be paid to any
county, an amount paid on behalf of any taxpayer IS dlsapproved by the county, the county shall so
notify the Commission, which 3
paid-to-thecounty,the Commission shaII adjust the payment to the county —anel—then—t The
county shal may begin proceedings to recover any remaining excessive amounts paid on behalf of
any taxpayer, pursuant to the recovery procedures found in Section 63-602KK(7), Idaho Code.

Any-amount-so-recovered-shall-beremitted-to-the-Commission: (3-20-14) (1-1-14)T

' . (1-1-14H)T

07. Limitation on Eligibility for the Exemption. (3-20-14)
a. Except for taxpayers claiming and receiving the exemption provided for in Section

63-4502, Idaho Code, taxpayers receiving the personal property exemption provided in Section
63-602KK, ldaho Code, may be eligible for, and are not precluded from, other applicable
exemptions. (3-20-14)

b. Personal property exempt in accordance with statutes other than Section
63-602KK, Idaho Code, shall not be included in determining when the one hundred thousand
dollar ($100,000) limit provided in Section 63-602KK(2) is reached. (3-20-14)

C. Taxpayers with requirements to annually apply for, or list personal property for,
which other statutorily provided personal property exemptions are sought, must continue to
comply with the requirements of these statutes. (3-20-14)

d. Improvements, as defined or described in Sections 63-201 and 63-309, Idaho Code,
shall not be eligible for the exemption provided in Section 63-602KK. Improvements shall be
deemed to include mobile and manufactured homes and float homes, regardless of whether such
property is considered personal property. Leasehold real properties and other leasehold
improvements that are structures or buildings shall be considered improvements, and therefore
ineligible for the exemption. Structures, such as cell towers, are improvements and therefore are
not personal property eligible for the exemption. (3-20-14)
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Common fes §267 Yes Shared
Enterprize? Relationzhip? 5100,000
L Mo l No
$100,000 $100,000

for each for each
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089. Special Rules for the Exemption Provided in Section 63-602KK(1), Idaho
Code. (3-20-14)( )

a. Newly acquired items of personal property, exempt as provided in Section
63-602KK(1), are not to be reported on any list otherwise required pursuant to Sections 63-302,
63-602Y, and 63-313, Idaho Code. (3-20-14)

b. The exemption provided in Section 63-602KK(1), Idaho Code, is in addition to the
one hundred thousand dollar ($100,000) per taxpayer, per county exemption provided in Section
63-602KK(2), Idaho Code. (3-20-14)

C. No application for the exemption provided in Section 63-602KK(1),Idaho Code, is
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necessary. (3-20-14)

d. The requirement in Section 63-602KK(6) requiring the assessor to provide the
application by no later than March 1, applies only to taxpayers who have an obligation to file any
application.  (3-20-14)

0910. Limitation on Replacement Money. (3-20-14)

provided-in-thisrule-thereshal-be-no-additions: In addltlon to replacement money reductions

due to corrections as provided in section 06 of this rule, Hewever; there may be changes and

reductions as follow: 3-20-14)(1-1-14)T

I If a taxing district dissolves, the state will make no payment of the amount
previously certified for that district, and when an urban renewal district revenue allocation area
dissolves and is no longer receiving any allocation of property tax revenues, the state will
discontinue payment of amounts previously certified for that revenue allocation area, beginning
with the next scheduled distribution. (3-20-14)

ii. If taxing districts or revenue allocation areas within urban renewal districts are
consolidated, the amounts of replacement money attributed to each original district or revenue
allocation area shall be summed and, in the future, distributed to the consolidated taxing or urban
renewal district. (3-20-14)

iii. No urban renewal district shall receive replacement money based on exempt
personal property within any revenue allocation area (RAA) established on or after January 1,
2013, or within any area added to an existing RAA on or after January 1, 2013. (3-20-14)

iv. Any payment made to the ldaho Department of Education, as provided in
Subsection 626.10 4 of this rule shall be discontinued if the state authorized plant facilities levy is
not certified in any year. Certification in subsequent years shall not cause any resumption of this
payment. (3-20-14)

ameunteetreplaeementemeney—beadwsteel ad|ustment to replacement money |f personal propertv

not receiving the exemption found in Section 63-602KK(2), Idaho Code, i thispersenalproperty
receives this e exemption -Seetion-63-602KK(2) in the future. (3-20-14)(1-1-14)T

10%. Special Provision For Replacement Money For State Authorized Plant
Facilities Levy. The amount of replacement money calculated based on anv 2013 state authonzed
plant faC|l|t|es levy w A . , :
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related—funds directly to the Idaho Department of Education for deposit to the Public School
Cooperative Fund. 3-20-14)(1-1-14)T

112. Special Provision For Exempt Personal Property Within Urban Renewal
Revenue Allocation Areas (RAAs). When personal property subject to the exemption in Section
63-602KK(2), Idaho Code, is within an RAA, any adjustment shall first be to the increment value,
and there shall be no adjustment to the base value of the RAA unless the remaining taxable market
value of the parcel is less than the most current base value of the parcel. In that case, the base value
shall be reduced. The amount to be subtracted is to be determined on a parcel by parcel basis in
accordance with procedures found in Rule 804 of these rules. (3-20-14)

123. Special-Provision—+For No Reporting of Exempt Value. Beginning in 2014,
taxing district values submitted to the Commission as required in section 63-510, Idaho Code,

shall not include or indicate the otherwise taxable value exempt pursuant to section 63-602KK(2),

134. Cross Reference. For information on transient personal property, see Rule 313 of
these rules, and—fFor information on the definition of personal property, see Rule 205 of these
rules. For information on the definition of a taxpayer, see Rule 627 of these rules.{3-20-14)( )




Terry Accordino’s August 9, 2014 suggested changes to Rule 727

RULE 627
Section 01.

e This opening paragraph does not really explain where the $100,000 exemption comes from. It
starts off with the language, “Although taxpayers are limited to receiving one [exemption]...”,
but it doesn’t refer to where this limitation is found. Also, starting a paragraph (not to mention
a whole rule) with the word “Although” is probably not the best way go. Perhaps a better way
to begin this rule would be to introduce the topic. That was not needed when this rule was a
part of Rule 626, but now that it is a stand-alone rule, | think the topic needs to be introduced
again.

e Another issue that you may or may not want to cover in this section is the fact that this section
mentions the amount of the 63-602KK(2) exemption. | thought that one of the reasons for
splitting out this rule apart from the rest of Rule 626 was so that if the law changed the amount
of the exemption, you wouldn’t have to re-publish a really lengthy rule. The idea was that this
rule would cover only the ownership rules which may or may not be modified by future law
changes. However, if this rule refers to the $100K number and the law were to change the
exemption amount, then this rule would also have to be opened and adjusted.

e  With the two points above as my areas of concern, may | suggest re-writing Section 01 to
something like this:

Idaho Code Section 63-602KK(2) provides taxpayers with one exemption in each Idaho
county in which they meet the ownership rules. Although taxpayers are limited to

receiving one (1) ene-hundred-theusand-delar{5100,000)-exemption per county, a

taxpayer owning more than one (1) business within one (1) county may be entitled to

more than one (1) ene-hundred-thousand-dollar{5100-000)-Idaho Code Section 63-
602KK(2) exemption within the county.

Section 02.

e The first sentence in this paragraph refers to “this exemption” but it may not be clear as to
what “this exemption” is referring to. I'm not sure if the opening sentence in Section 01 as |
proposed above would be sufficient to cover this concern, but if not then perhaps you could
start this section out like this:

For purposes of this-the ldaho Code Section 63-602KK(2) exemption, a taxpayer
includes two (2) or more individuals....

Section 02.d.i.
e The sentence describing Example 1 is okay, but may | suggest a small word change:
Example 1. This is an example of a common enterprise;-but-being_that is entitled to two
(2) exemptions because the owners are not related....
Section 02.d.iii.

e The sentence describing Example 3 is okay, but it’s not complete. The $100K exemption is
limited if both a common enterprise and a common ownership exists. | think it would be helpful
to add some language to this example:



Example 3. This is an example of multiple businesses being entitled to only one (1)
exemption because a common enterprise exists_and all the businesses are
constructively owned in a manner identified in IRS 267.
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627. PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM TAXATION -- CERTAIN PERSONAL
PROPERTY — TAXPAYER OWNERSHIP CLARIFICATION (RULE 627).
Section 63-602KK(2), Idaho Code. ( )

01. ldaho Code Section 63-602KK(2) provides taxpayers with one exemption in
each Idaho County in which they meet the ownership rules. Although taxpayers are limited
to receiving one (1) ene-hundred-thousand-doHar{$100.-000) exemption per county, a taxpayer

owning more than one (1) business within one (1) county may be entitled to more than one (1)

one-hundred-thousand-doHar{$100.000) Idaho Code Section 63-602KK(2) exemption within
the county.  ( )

02. Ilustration of Common Enterprise and IRS Section 267 Restriction

For purposes of this the Idaho Code Section 63-602KK(2) exemption, a taxpayer includes two
or_more individuals or organizations using the property in a common enterprise, and the
individuals or organizations are within a relationship described in Section 267 of the Internal

Revenue Code. This is illustrated in the following chart: ( )
Commeon §267 Yes Shared
Enterprise? Relationship? $100,000
51 ::o, 000 519:, 000
foreach for each
C )
a. First, an analysis must be made to determine if a common enterprise exists. If entities or

individuals are organized to manage a common scheme of business, they would be in a common
enterprise.

)
i. Horizontal Commonality is demonstrated by the following chart: ( )
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CAR
MFG,
LLC
. ™ ™,
FACTORY FACTORY PRODUCTION

BUILDING,
LLC

EQUIPMENT,

LABOR,
LLC

LLC

Here, the usual functions involved in a working car manufacturing company are
split between several LLCs, all of which own the property involved with the
functions they perform. The operation of the business is no different than if all the
functions were combined in just Car Manufacturing, LLC

)
)

ii. Vertical Commonality is demonstrated by the following chart:
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ROAD
CONSTRUCTION, LLC

CONCRETE PLANT,
LLC

ROCK CRUSHER, LLC

QUARRY, LLC

Here, a business operation is split so that each step in a process is designated to a different LLC.
All the steps rely on the one below in order to produce the final product, or process.

)

b. Second, an analysis would be made to determine whether the ownership between the
entities are within the relationships identified in Section 267 of the Internal Revenue Code. If

such a relationship is found to exist, and the businesses are in a common enterprise, then the
entities or individuals would be considered one (1) taxpayer for purposes of this exemption.

¢ )

[oR Ownership alone does not determine whether entities are considered one taxpayer
for purposes of this exemption. Two (2) businesses can have identical ownership, and each
receive the exemption, providing they do not operate as a common enterprise. In addition,
entities in a common enterprise can receive separate exemptions, providing that their ownership
does not consist of a relationship identified in Section 267 of the Internal Revenue Code. ( )

d. The following examples are given to illustrate eligibility situations related to
common enterprise and related ownerships: ( )

that is

I. Example 1. This is an example of a common enterprise
entitled to two (2) exemptions because the owners are not related in a manner as described in
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Section 267 of the Internal Revenue Code. ( )

CAR MFG,, LLC

owner: Bob
FACTORY LABOR,
LLC
owner: John
PRODUCTION FACTORY
CATRAEEE EQUIPMENT, LLC BUILDING, LLC
owner: Bob owner: Bob owner: Bob

So long as Bob and John are not related in a manner identified in IRC 267, two
exemptions exist. One for Car Manufacturing, LLC. The other for all of Bob’s
businesses, because they are in a common enterprise and are all owned by him.

¢ )

il. Example 2. This is an example of the same owner with multiple businesses not all
united in a common enterprise. Bob’s car businesses are common enterprises, and therefore
entitled to only one (1) exemption for all the car businesses. Bob’s used furniture business is not

involved with Bob’s car businesses, so Bob is entitled to an additional exemption related to his
used car business. ( )
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™

CAR MFG,
LLC

owned by: Bob

CAR PARTS, |
LLC

owned by:
Bob

FACTORY
BUILDING, LLC

owned by: Bob

owned by: Bob

BOB’S USED
FURNITURE

Owner: Bob

)

iii. Example 3. This is an example of multiple businesses being entitled to only one

(1) exemption because_a common enterprise exists_and all the businesses are constructively

owned in a manner identified in IRS 267.

)
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Here, one exemption exists for all of the entities because they are in a common
enterprise, due to their vertical commonality, and are all constructively owned by Bob,
pursuant to IRC 267.

iv. Example 4. This is an example showing how owners of common enterprises may
o " intersect.
ROAD SONSTRUCTION, LLC
Owner: Bob
100 %
Y
p = GRAVEL SALES, LLC
Owner: John
CONCRETE PLANT, LLC 100 %
Owner: Bob
100 %
T ™~
[ )
ROCK CRUSHER, LLC DUMP TRUCKS, LLC
Owner: Bob - 10 % Owner: John
Owner: Dump Trucks, LIC - 90 % 100 %
e
QUARRY, LLC 6
Owner: Bob
100 %
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This is an example of how common enterprises can intersect with one another. The
companies Bob owns completely receive one exemption; John’s companies also receive
one exemption, including Rock Crusher, LLC, because John’s ownership interest in that
company falls within IRC 267.

(]

e. In cases of partial ownership as noted in example four wherein Bob owns ten
percent (10%) and Dump Trucks, LLC owns ninety percent (90%) only the majority owner is
eligible to receive this exemption.

)

03. Cross Reference. For information on applying for the exemption provided in
Section 63-602KK(2), Idaho Code, see Rule 626 of these rules. ( )




