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If you have questions about the articles in this issue of 7ax Update, or if you need more information,
contact the Idaho Tax Commission. m

The 2010 Idaho Legislature passed
tax laws affecting charitable contributions,

ethanol, and more. Here are some of the
highlights:

INCOME TAX

SPOTLIGHT ON NEW TAX LAWS

Idaho law doesn’t conform to current
federal Internal Revenue Code (IRC). The Idaho
Legislature didn’t pass a conformity bill during the
2010 regular session. As a result, Idaho currently
doesn’t conform to changes made to the IRC on or
after February 18, 2009.

Credit increased, extended for some
charitable contributions. The income tax credit
is increasing for donations to the following Idaho
organizations:

e Public and nonprofit private K-12 schools and
universities

e Idaho Public Broadcasting
e Idaho State Historical Society
e Idaho libraries and museums

Also, the credit is now available for donations
to these organizations:

e Idaho Commission of Hispanic Affairs

e Jdaho Commission for the Blind and Visually
Impaired

e Jdaho Council on Developmental Disabilities

e Idaho State Independent Living Council

e Idaho Council for the Deaf and Hard of
Hearing

For individual taxpayers, the tax credit is
limited to 50% of the taxpayer’s total Idaho
income tax liability, and the maximum annual
credit increases to $500 ($1,000 on a joint return).

For corporate taxpayers, the maximum annual
credit increases to $5,000.

Donations that qualify are limited to monetary
donations minus the value of any benefits
received. The new provisions (except for the
change to allow only monetary donations) will
expire in five years.

Effective: January 1, 2011

Income tax liability changed for pass-through
entities with nonresidents. Pass-through entities
aren’t liable for the tax not paid by nonresidents
who earn Idaho taxable income from the entity.
However, an entity must withhold income tax if
a nonresident doesn’t elect to have tax paid on
the entity return. A pass-through entity includes a
partnership, a limited liability company taxed as a
partnership, an S Corporation, or a trust or estate.

Effective: January 1, 2011

Some contributions to college savings
accounts are taxable. A college savings account
owner who transfers amounts from a qualified
Idaho account to an account in another state must
add to taxable income the amount contributed to

continued on back page

REMINDER

If you’ve electronically filed your sales and use or
sales—related returns for six consecutive months (or
two consecutive quarters), you’ll no longer receive
paper returns in the mail. Similarly, if you’ve made
income tax withholding payments electronically for
six consecutive months (or two consecutive quarters),
you’ll no longer receive payment vouchers. Visit our
website to find the sales tax due dates for 2010 (under
“Quick Picks”), and read A Guide to Idaho Income Tax
Withholding (page 9) to get the withholding payment
due dates.



http://tax.idaho.gov/i-1093.cfm
http://tax.idaho.gov/s-results-pub.cfm?doc=EPB00006
http://tax.idaho.gov/s-results-pub.cfm?doc=EPB00006

SPOTLIGHT ON NEW TAX LAWS
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the account within the 12 months
preceding the transfer. However,
the addition is limited to the
amounts that were deducted on
the account owner’s income tax
return for the year of the transfer
and the prior tax year.

Retroactive to January 1, 2008

Taxable income clarified
for nonresidents with Idaho
estates or trusts. Nonresident
individuals, estates, and trusts
must report only that portion of
income from a resident estate or
resident trust that has an Idaho
source.

Effective: January 1, 2010 (affects all
proceedings pending on that date)

Income tax forms get new
donation option. Individuals
and businesses can use a new
line on their Idaho income tax
return to make a donation to
the Opportunity Scholarship
Program Account.

Effective: January 1, 2010

Credit extended for
contributions to education
institutions. The credit for
contributions to education
institutions includes
contributions to a nonprofit
corporation, fund, foundation,
trust, or association that is:

continued in next column

Unless otherwise noted, information
in Tax Update applies only to Idaho
taxes. This newsletter is designed to
provide general information only, and
is not intended to offer comprehen-
sive explanations of Idaho tax laws
and rules. Specific questions should
be addressed to the nearest Tax Com-
mission office.

Costs associated with this publication are

available from the Idaho Tax Commission
(see Idaho Code section 60-202).

e QOrganized and operated
exclusively for the benefit
of elementary or secondary
education institutions in
Idaho,

° Officially

recognized and

designated as the

sole supporting

organization of

an elementary or

secondary education

institution, and

e Qualified to be exempt from
federal tax under Internal
Revenue Code section
501(c)(3).

Effective: January 1, 2010

SALES & USETAX
Tax exemption

()
expanded for m

purchases made with \ s
federal food stamps.

Purchases made with

coupons issued under

the federal Food, Conservation,
and Energy Act of 2008 are
exempt from sales and use taxes.

Effective: March 25, 2010

FUELSTAX
,@W’%‘ Ethanol and
? 4 blended fuels subject

to motor fuels tax.
Idaho’s motor fuels tax and
transfer fee apply to ethanol,
ethanol-blended fuel, gasoline
blend stocks, and natural
gasoline when the fuels are
received in Idaho.

Effective: July 1, 2010
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FOR MORE INFORMATION

‘Website: tax.idaho.gov

Phone (Boise area): 334-7660
Phone (toll free): (800) 972-7660
Hearing impaired: (800) 377-3529

TAX COMMISSION OFFICES

Boise:

800 Park Blvd., Plaza IV
Coeur d’Alene:

1910 Northwest Blvd., Ste. 100

Idaho Falls:
150 Shoup Ave., Ste. 16
Lewiston:
1118 F St.
Pocatello:
611 Wilson St., Ste. 5
Twin Falls:
440 Falls Ave.
UNCLAIMED
PROPERTY
Unclaimed property

transfers to State Treasurer.
The administration of the
state’s unclaimed property
law is transferring to the State
Treasurer from the Idaho Tax
Commission.

Effective: July 1, 2010

Some holders must file
unclaimed property reports
electronically. Businesses
that hold 10 or more items
of unclaimed property must
submit their unclaimed property
report in an electronic format
established by the unclaimed
property administrator.

Effective: July 1, 2010
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