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If you have questions about the articles in this issue of 7ax Update, or if you need more information,
contact the Idaho State Tax Commission. —

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT
NEW TAX LAWS

The 2011 Idaho Legislature
passed tax laws affecting person-
al property, mandatory gratuities,
nonresident students, and more.
Here are some of the highlights:

INCOME TAX

Hire a new employee, get a
tax credit. Businesses that hire
new employees can get one of /
three levels of refundable income
tax credits based on how they

are rated by the Department of Labor for paying
unemployment insurance taxes.

Positive-rated employers adding an employee
will get a refundable tax credit equal to 6 per-
cent of that new employee’s gross annual wages.
Standard-rated employers will get a refundable tax
credit equal to 4 percent of the new employee’s
gross annual wages. Negative-rated employers will
receive a refundable tax credit equal to 2 percent
of the new employee’s annual wages.

To qualify for the credit, the new employees
must:

e Earn at least $12 an hour for wages in coun-
ties with unemployment rates of 10 percent or
more, or earn at least $15 an hour in counties
with unemployment of less than 10 percent.

¢ Be hired on or after April 15, 2011.

e Receive employer-provided health care benefits.

Effective January 1, 2011

Idaho law conforms to part of federal Inter-
nal Revenue Code (IRC). Idaho law conforms
to the IRC as of January 1, 2011. This includes
provisions in federal acts passed after February 17,
2009, and in 2010.

P — Job Creation Act of 2010.”

Idaho didn’t adopt, however,
the changes to IRC section
168(k), which extended and
increased amounts allowed for
bonus depreciation for property
acquired and placed in service
after 2009. These changes were
included in the “Small Busi-
ness Jobs Act of 2010,” and the
“Tax Relief, Unemployment
Insurance Reauthorization and

Those who claim depreciation
on their federal return for assets placed in service
after 2009 must report an adjustment on the Idaho
return.

Bonus depreciation provisions in the federal
acts not adopted by Idaho include:

e Extending the additional first-year deprecia-
tion deduction for assets acquired and placed in
service during 2010 (or placed in service during
2011 for certain long-lived property and trans-
portation property).

¢ Extending and expanding the additional first-
year depreciation to 100 percent of the cost
of qualified property placed in service after
September 8, 2010, and before January 1, 2012

continued on back page

REQUEST AN ACCOUNT CHANGE ONLINE

Our website now features an online form that lets
sales tax, sales tax-related, income tax withholding,
and IFTA account holders request a change to their
name, address, or business entity type. It also lets
them cancel the account.

The form is available through the E-file page
(scroll down to “Businesses” and click on “Address,
name, or entity type change and cancellation re-
quests”). You can also find it through the Businesses
page (scroll down to “Related searches™).



http://tax.idaho.gov/i-1020.cfm
http://tax.idaho.gov/p-businesses.cfm
http://tax.idaho.gov/p-businesses.cfm
http://tax.idaho.gov/i-1095.cfm
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(before January 1, 2013, for
certain longer-lived and trans-
portation property), and the
50 percent first-year additional
depreciation deduction for
qualified property placed in
service after December 31,
2011, and before January 1,
2013 (after December 31,
2012, and before January 1,
2014, for certain longer-lived
and transportation property).

Idaho also conforms to the
IRC section 179 expense provi-
sions. Taxpayers can claim the
IRC section 179 expense on their
Idaho return to the extent they
claim the deduction on their
federal income tax return.

Effective January 1, 2010

Income tax reporting
changed for pass-through enti-
ties with nonresidents. Nonresi-
dents who have Idaho taxable
income in addition to the Idaho
income from a pass-through
entity can’t elect to have the
pass-through entity pay their tax.
Also, the time for when a pass-
through entity must withhold tax
has changed to when the income
is required to be reported on the
taxpayer’s individual return. Pub-
licly traded partnerships aren’t
required to withhold income tax
if certain conditions are met.

continued in next column

Unless otherwise noted, information
in Tax Update applies only to Idaho
taxes. This newsletter is designed to
provide general information only, and
isn’t intended to offer comprehensive
explanations of Idaho tax laws and
rules. Specific questions should be
addressed to the Tax Commission.

A pass-through entity includes
a partnership, a limited liability
company taxed as a partnership,
an S Corporation, or a trust or
estate.

Effective January 1, 2011

Investment tax credit clari-
fied. The investment tax credit
isn’t allowed for investments in
property for which a deduction
has been allowed under section
168(k) or section 179 of the
Internal Revenue Code in arriv-
ing at Idaho taxable income. The
previous law didn’t allow the
credit if the deductions had been
claimed in arriving at taxable
income, which by definition is
federal taxable income.

Effective January 1, 2010

SALES & USETAX

Mandatory gratuities exempt
from sales tax. The sales price
of a taxable meal doesn’t include
the mandatory gratuity or tip
when it’s paid to the service pro-
vider for a meal.

Effective January 1, 2011

Nonresident students ex-
empt from motor vehicle use
tax. Nonresident students don’t
have to pay use tax on vehicles
used in Idaho for more than 90
days if the vehicle is titled in the
student’s home state, and the
student is paying tuition or fees
to an Idaho institution of higher
learning.

Effective January 1, 2011

Nonresident military mem-
bers exempt from motor vehicle
use tax. Nonresident military
members and their spouses don’t
have to pay use tax on personal
vehicles used in Idaho for more
continued in next column
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FOR MORE INFORMATION

Website: tax.idaho.gov

Phone (Boise area): 334-7660
Phone (toll free): (800) 972-7660
Hearing impaired: (800) 377-3529

TAX COMMISSION OFFICES

Boise:

800 Park Blvd., Plaza IV
Coeur d’Alene:

1910 Northwest Blvd., Ste. 100
Idaho Falls:

150 Shoup Ave., Ste. 16
Lewiston:

1118 F St.
Pocatello:

611 Wilson St., Ste. 5
Twin Falls:

440 Falls Ave.

than 90 days if the vehicle was
bought and registered in another
state at least three months before
it was brought into Idaho.

Effective July 1, 2011

Media rebate extended. The
sales tax rebate for tangible per-
sonal property used by a media
production company in a media
production is extended for five
more years and expires as of July
1, 2016.

Effective July 1, 2011

PROPERTY TAX

Personal property declara-
tions aren’t public records.
Personal property declarations,
centrally assessed operator
statements, trade secrets, and
financial information marked by
the taxpayer as proprietary are
exempt from disclosure under
the Idaho Public Records Act.

Effective April 8, 2011
EPB00032




