VOLUME TWENTY-ONE - NUMBER ONE

STATE OF IDAHO

TAX UPDATE

JUNE 2009

If you have questions about the articles in this issue of 7ax Update, or if you need more information,
contact the Idaho State Tax Commission.

The 2009 Idaho Legislature
passed tax laws on everything
from computer donations to
W biodiesel fuel. Here are some of
the highlights:

SALES & USETAX

Some aircraft exempt from use tax. People
who move to Idaho don’t have to pay use tax on
personally owned aircraft they owned while they
were a resident of another state. However, if they
acquired the aircraft less than three months before
moving to Idaho, they owe use tax if they didn’t
pay sales or use tax to the other state.

Also, aircraft that are used to provide passen-
ger or freight services for hire to the public from
one point on land or water to another are exempt
from use tax.

Effective: July 1, 2009

INCOME TAX

Small Employer Incentive Act extended. The
Idaho Small Employer Incentive Act has been
extended to 2020. The act allows employers to
claim tax credits when employing 10 or more new
employees with benefits and making additional
investments in new plant and building facilities.

Effective: July 1, 2009

Idaho law conforms to Internal Revenue
Code (IRC). Idaho law conforms to the IRC,
including provisions passed during 2008 in the
“Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of 2008,”
the “Housing and Economic Recovery Act of
2008,” and the “Heroes Earning Assistance and

ROUNDUP OF NEW TAX LAWS

Relief Tax Act.” The new provisions allow addi-
tional standard deduction amounts for individuals
who don’t itemize their tax deductions, including:

e The amount an individual paid for state and
local real property taxes, limited to $500 for
single filers and $1,000 for married taxpayers
filing jointly.

® An individual’s net disaster loss if the individ-
ual had a personal casualty loss in a federally
declared disaster area.

Effective: January 1, 2008

Idaho law also incorporates the provisions of
the “American Recovery and Reinvestment Tax
Act of 2009.” The Act:

e Extends the bonus first-year depreciation al-
lowed for purchases of qualified property and
extends the increased IRC section 179 expens-
ing amounts for depreciable assets.

e Excludes the first $2,400 of unemployment
benefits received during 2009.

e Allows a deduction for the amount of sales
tax paid on the purchase of qualified motor
vehicles after Feb. 16, 2009. This deduction is

continued on back page

NEW WEB SITE COMING
We're redesigning our Web site, tax.idaho.gov. In the
next few months, you'll see a different look and some
great new features. And the new site will be easier
to search. We’ll highlight the major changes in the
December issue of Tax Update.




ROUNDUP OF NEW TAX LAWS

continued from front page

allowed either as an item-
ized deduction (except when
a taxpayer uses the federal
sales tax tables to deduct
state and local general sales
taxes) or as an additional
standard deduction.
Effective: January 1, 2009

Deduction extended for
private school computer dona-
tions. Taxpayers can now get an
income tax deduction for donat-
ing technological equipment like
computers and computer soft-
ware to private nonprofit elemen-
tary and secondary schools in
Idaho. This deduction already
applies to public elementary and
secondary schools, as well as to
public and private universities
and colleges in Idaho.

Effective: January 1, 2009

Income tax forms get
new donation check-off box.
Taxpayers can donate an income
tax refund or overpayment to
the Idaho Foodbank using a new
check-off box on Idaho individ-
ual income tax forms.
Effective: July 1, 2009

FUELS TAX

Ethanol and biodiesel

deductions end. Fuel distributors
continued in next column

can no longer deduct ethanol or
biodiesel fuel from the gallons
subject to fuels tax.

Effective: June 1, 2009

Individual biodiesel fuel
producers get exemption.
Individuals who produce 5,000
gallons or less of biodiesel fuel
annually for personal use don’t
have to pay the one-cent-per-
gallon petroleum transfer fee,
and they don’t have to get a fuel
distributor’s license. However,
they must continue to pay the
25-cents-per-gallon fuels tax on
taxable gallons of fuel.
Effective: July 1, 2009

Penalties apply to untaxed
fuel use on highways. Drivers
who use dyed or other untaxed
fuel in a motor vehicle operated
on a state highway will be subject
to a civil penalty. The penalty is
$250 for the first violation and
goes up to $1,000 for the third
and subsequent violations.
Effective: July 1, 2009

OTHER

Procedures outlined for Tax
Commission settlements. When
the Tax Commission enters into
a settlement or closing agreement
with a taxpayer that results in a
reduction of $50,000 or more to
the disputed amount due:

¢ Two tax commissioners must
be present at the final review,
as well as a deputy attorney
general, a tax policy special-
ist, and a representative from
either the audit division or
other division where the case

originated.
continued in next column

Effective: July 1, 2009

=72

el
&y

FOR MORE INFORMATION

‘Web site: tax.idaho.gov

Phone (Boise area): 334-7660
Phone (toll free): (800) 972-7660
Hearing impaired: (800) 377-3529

TAX COMMISSION OFFICES

Boise:

800 Park Blvd., Plaza IV
Coeur d’Alene:

1910 Northwest Blvd., Ste. 100
Idaho Falls:

150 Shoup Ave., Ste. 16
Lewiston:

1118 F St.
Pocatello:

611 Wilson St., Ste. 5
Twin Falls:

440 Falls Ave.

Both commissioners must
sign the settlement or closing
agreement to make it binding
and complete.

The Tax Commission must
provide the Legislature

and Governor an annual
report that summarizes the
settlement and closing agree-
ments.

Unless otherwise noted, information in
Tax Update applies only to Idaho taxes.
This newsletter is designed to provide
general information only, and is not
intended to offer comprehensive expla-
nations of Idaho tax laws and rules.
Specific questions should be addressed
to the nearest Tax Commission office.
Costs associated with this publication are
available from the Idaho State Tax Commis-
sion in accordance with Idaho Code section
60-202.
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