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Temporary sales tax permits are a type of seller’s permit unless the event meets specific criteria (learn more in
and allow you, your company, or your organization to our brochure Nonprofit Groups and Churches (#50)).
make infrequent retail sales in Idaho. These permits Churches and nonprofits must get a seller’s permit if they
include a simple form to report sales and submit the make retail sales.

sales taxes you collect from your customers. They are )

designed for one-time events such as concerts, fund- Other tax requirements

raisers, and bazaars. Whether you’re in business for yourself, or you represent

Regular or temporary seller’s permit a corporation or partnership, you’ll need to file an Idaho
income tax return if your gross income from Idaho meets

The following information may help you determine the filing requirement. If you have employees in Idaho,
whether to apply for a regular seller’s permit or a you may also need to file and pay employee taxes.
temporary seller’s permit. There’s no fee for either
permit. Yard sales

Regular seller’s permit: You can have two home yard sales in a calendar year
e Valid until cancelled without registering as a retailer and getting a seller’s
e Valid for multiple events permit to collect sales tax. If you hold a yard sale with
e File regular, periodic returns someone else (whether a family member, neighbor, or
e Must file, even if no sales friend), it counts as a sale for each of you.

Temporary seller’s permit: To qualify for the exemption from collecting sales
e Valid up to 90 days; limited to three permits per year tax, your yard sale must meet all of the following
e Valid for only one event requirements:
e File return within 15 days of the last day of the event ® The sale must last no more than a few days.
e Must file, even if no sales e [fyou have a business and sell a particular item in that

business, you can’t sell the same or similar items at a
Get a regular seller’s permit: yard sale.
http://tax.idaho.gov/i-1159.cfm e You can’t use your yard sale to sell items you
Get a temporary seller’s permit: specifically bought for resale.
http://tax.idaho.gov/tsp2 e You must own the items you offer for sale. You can’t
make consignment sales.

Churches and non proﬁts are included e You have to conduct the yard sale on your premises.
Churches and nonproﬁt organizations are not exempt If your yard sale doesn’t meet all of these requirements,
from collecting and paying the tax on sales they make, or if you’ll be holding more than two yard sales in a
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calendar year, you’re considered a retailer and must
collect sales tax.

You must get a:
e Temporary seller’s permit if you only occasionally
make sales, or a
e Regular seller’s permit if you’re going to sell items
regularly.

This publication doesn’t provide full explanations of Idaho tax laws or rules. For more information, contact:
e (208) 334-7660 in the Boise area or (800) 972-7660 toll free
e Hearing impaired: TDD (800) 377-3529
e tax.idaho.gov
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