
2016 Forestland Value and Stumpage Value Zones in Idaho

Zone 1
Land Grade

Good	 Med.	 Poor
$149	 $104	 $  61   Bare Land & Yield
$518	 $284	 $128   Productivity

Zone 2
Land Grade

Good	 Med.	 Poor
$144	 $  91	 $  46   Bare Land & Yield
$451	 $245	 $110   Productivity

Zone 3
Land Grade

Good	 Med.	 Poor
$102	 $  65	 $  34   Bare Land & Yield
$197 	 $104	 $  43   Productivity

Zone 4
Land Grade

Good	 Med.	 Poor
$  74	 $  47	 $  25   Bare Land & Yield
$187	 $103	 $  50   Productivity

Idaho’s Forest Tax Law

Forest landowners with at least five acres but less than 
5,000 acres statewide have a choice between two tax 
systems: a Productivity Tax system or a Bare Land 
and Yield Tax (BL&Y) system. These two tax systems 
provide Idaho’s 12,200 owners of small woodlands 
with property tax options which recognize their diverse 
ownership goals. 

Forest landowners with tracts of 5,000 acres or more 
statewide are taxed under the Productivity Tax system.

Forest landowners with less than five acres are assessed 
at the property’s market value.

The Two Tax Systems

The Productivity Tax system is a property tax based on 
the ability of the land to produce an annual income from 
wood products.  Idaho is divided into four Forest Value 
Zones as shown on the accompanying map.  Within these 
zones, forestland is graded as Poor, Medium, or Good 
based on its ability to produce wood fiber.  The appropri-
ate growth rates are shown in the table below: 

The forest landowner will pay property taxes amount-
ing to about 1% of the productivity values shown on the 
accompanying chart of forestland values for 2016.  The 
yield tax does not apply to timber harvested from land in 
this option.

The Bare Land and Yield Tax system requires that the 
landowner pay a yearly tax based on the present value 
of his bare forestland plus a 3% yield tax on the stump-
age value at the time of harvest.  Within each of the four 
Forest Value Zones, land is again graded as either Poor, 
Medium, or Good. 

	 Poor	 125	 125

	 Medium	 225	 213

	 Good	 350	 320

     Productivity
         Class Zones 1 & 2	 Zones 3 & 4

Avg. Board Ft. Per Acre
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The Bare Land Values to be used in each zone are shown 
on the accompanying chart of forestland values and 
represent per acre figures.  The forest landowner will pay 
about 1% of these figures each year in property taxes.  
When harvesting timber, a landowner will pay a 3% 
yield tax on the stumpage value of the timber harvested 
in addition to the annual property tax.  The party receiv-
ing the logs or forest products is required to provide 
the Idaho Department of Lands with a report listing the 
quantity, species, and source of the logs or products cut.  
The yield tax payment will be due to the county treasurer 
at the same time as the property tax payment.

Deferred Taxes

Lands that are designated by the landowner under the 
BL&Y system are subject to a  recapture of deferred 
taxes, if the use of the property changes.  An example 
would be when the use of the land changes from forest-
land to a subdivision.  A deferred tax is also due if the 
land is sold, and the new owner removes or changes the 
designation.  If you are the new owner of forestland and 
maintain this designation, you accept the liability for 
deferred taxes incurred by the previous landowner.  The 
deferred taxes may be assessed for up to a total of 10 
years.  Any yield tax paid during a deferred tax period 
will be allowed as a credit against the deferred tax.

Choosing a Tax Option

If you have more than five acres but less than 5,000 
acres of forestland, you will want to choose the system 
that best fits your circumstances.  An owner of a small 
woodland may prefer the Bare Land and Yield Tax 
system, because it provides a lower yearly property tax 
and defers some of the tax obligation until the time of 
harvest.  The BL&Y system might also appeal to a forest 
landowner who has heavily cut over woodland and does 
not expect to harvest trees for a long time.  Owners who 
receive income from their forestland annually may prefer 
the Productivity Tax system, with a higher land value, 
but no yield tax at the time of harvest.

2016

Designation Deadline

Forest landowners with ownership of from five to 5,000 
acres have the right to choose between two forest tax 
systems.  Designation forms are available at the county 
assessor’s office.  If no choice is made, the forestland 
will be assessed at its full market value.  Once the for-
est landowner chooses one of the forest tax systems, 
the designation must remain in effect until the end of a 
designation period.  The current designation period ends 
in December 2022.  For more information, see chapter 
17, title 63 of the Idaho Code.  You can also contact the 
county assessor where your land is located or the Forest 
Tax Administrator, Idaho State Tax Commission, at
(208) 334-7737.

When filling out the designation form, remember 
that:

(1)  Proof of active management to enhance growth 
of timber for future harvest is required, and

(2)  The designation form (FT-101) must be signed by 
all the owners of the property.
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This brochure was prepared by  the Idaho

State Tax Commission.  It does not  provide

comprehensive explanations of  Idaho tax

laws or rules. Specific questions should be

addressed to the Tax Commission or

 a qualified tax practitioner.

Costs associated with this publication

are available from the Idaho

Tax Commission in accordance 

with section 60-202 Idaho Code.

Boundary County Forest Tax Distribution 2015

The distribution may vary in other counties.
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