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#41 TRANSPORTATION

An Educational Guide to Sales Tax in the State of Idaho

This brochure is intended to help people in the transportation industry understand the sales tax laws that apply 
to their business. This information is based on the sales tax laws and rules in effect on June 1, 2008.

GROUND TRANSPORTATION

Are purchases of interstate trucks, buses, and trailers tax exempt?
Under the IRP exemption, trucks and buses registered with a gross vehicle weight of more than 26,000 pounds 
and trailers that are part of a fleet may be purchased exempt from Idaho sales and use tax if:

The motor vehicle will be immediately registered under the International Registration Plan (IRP) or yy
similar pro rata registration system, or the trailer will become part of an IRP-registered fleet, and
The vehicle or trailer will be part of a registered fleet of vehicles that operates at least 10 percent of its yy
fleet miles outside Idaho. An IRP-registered truck or bus may operate less than 10 percent of its miles 
outside Idaho and still be exempt from tax if the carrier operates at least 10 percent of its overall fleet 
miles outside of Idaho.

Buyers claiming this exemption must give the seller or the Idaho Department of Transportation a completed 
form ST-104-MV, Sales Tax Exemption Certificate—Vehicle. 

If a vehicle or fleet doesn’t meet both of the above conditions, Idaho use tax is due at the end of the registration 
period. For example, if a vehicle is removed from IRP or similar registration, use tax is due on the vehicle’s fair 
market value determined as of the last day of the registration period. If the fleet miles outside of Idaho drop to 
less than 10 percent of the total, use tax is due on all vehicles and trailers that are part of the registered fleet and 
purchased under this exemption. 

NOTE: Trucks and buses with a maximum gross registered weight of 26,000 pounds or less don’t qualify for the 
IRP exemption.

How many vehicles does it take to make a fleet?
A fleet can be one or more vehicles.

What about repair parts and supplies?
The IRP exemption described earlier applies only to purchases of motor vehicles, trailers, and glider kits assem-
bled into vehicles and immediately registered under the IRP or similar registration plan. All purchases of repair 
parts, supplies, tires, and other tangible personal property are taxable.
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Do my vehicles qualify for the IRP exemption if I haul my own goods?
Generally, yes. You should contact the Idaho Department of Transportation to find out if your vehicles qualify 
for the International Registration Plan.

Does the IRP exemption apply to rentals and leases of trucks, trailers, and buses?
Yes. Rentals and leases of motor vehicles and trailers qualify for the IRP exemption. The customer must give 
the rental or leasing company a completed form ST-104-MV.

What about trucks, buses, taxis, or trailers that are used in Idaho but aren’t IRP-
registered?
These vehicles are taxable. Parts, supplies, and glider kit purchases are also taxable.

Do ground transportation companies have to charge sales tax on their services? 
Ground transportation services, such as freight transportation by a trucking company or passenger trips offered 
by bus or taxi companies, aren’t taxable. However, if a freight, bus, or moving company sells tangible personal 
property in Idaho, it must have an Idaho seller’s permit and collect and pay sales tax on the items it sells, unless 
the buyer qualifies for an exemption and gives the seller a completed form ST-101, Sales Tax Resale or Exemp-
tion Certificate. (For more information, see Brochure #5—Retailers & Wholesalers: Making Exempt Sales.) 

Examples are sales of trucks, buses, other motor vehicles, office furniture, and shop tools, and rentals of items 
such as boxes, hand trucks, forklifts, and packing materials.

Is there tax on items purchased by a common carrier for use out of state?
A common carrier may buy goods for out-of-state use without paying sales tax when:

The common carrier uses its own vehicles to ship the purchases out of state,yy
A bill of lading is written for the delivery, yy and
The goods will be used in the buyer’s business as a common carrier.yy

A common carrier that buys goods in Idaho and takes delivery of them in the state without a bill of lading must 
pay tax to Idaho like any other consumer from out of state. The point of sale, not the destination, determines 
which state receives the tax.

FLYING SERVICES

Are purchases of aircraft exempt from sales and use tax?
Yes, if the aircraft will be used primarily (more than 50 percent of its flight hours) to transport passengers or 
freight for hire. Transporting passengers by aircraft means a service offered to the public that takes people from 
one place to a different place where they will land and disembark. Transporting freight means hauling items 
fully enclosed within the aircraft from one location to another.

Purchases of aircraft that are exempt from sales tax include: aircraft used for regularly scheduled commercial 
flights, air ambulance transportation, and charter flights to landing destinations.  Purchases of parts, repair, and 
replacement materials for these aircraft are also exempt from tax. Buyers who qualify for this exemption need to 
provide the aircraft vendor with a completed form ST-101, Sales Tax Resale or Exemption Certificate.
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Buyers can also purchase aircraft tax exempt if they’re held for resale or rented to customers who provide their 
own pilots. For more information on resale purchases and flight instruction, see Brochure #15—RVs, Boats and 
Aircraft.

Purchases of aircraft that aren’t exempt from sales tax and are taxable include:  

Aircraft used for recreational flights such as hot air balloon rides, sightseeing, wildlife viewing, and yy
similar services where the purpose of the trip isn’t to get from one place to another.
Aircraft used for airlifting power poles or machinery at installation sites, aerial logging, aerial spraying, yy
fire suppression, or crop dusting.
Aircraft owned by a company that offers services to its related companies, but not to the general public. yy

Purchases of parts and supplies for these aircraft are also taxable.

Are sales of flying services taxable?
No.  Charges for flying services aren’t taxable.  Flying services include transporting passengers and freight for 
hire; recreational flights, including balloon rides, sightseeing, wildlife viewing, or similar activities; and flights 
for surveying, photography, and mapmaking. 

Are fuel charges taxable when renting aircraft?
It depends.  If the charge for aircraft fuel is separately stated from the aircraft rental fee on the invoice, sales or 
use tax doesn’t apply to the fuel charge.  If the charge for aircraft fuel isn’t separately stated, that charge be-
comes part of the invoice amount subject to sales or use tax.

RAIL TRANSPORTATION

Are purchases by a railroad taxable?
When items are purchased by a railroad for use in Idaho, they’re subject to sales or use tax unless a specific 
exemption applies to the purchase. Taxable purchases include office supplies and equipment, computers, motor 
vehicles, repair parts, and repair supplies.

Is there an exemption for railroad rolling stock?
Yes. The sale of railroad rolling stock that’s been rebuilt or remanufactured in Idaho is exempt from tax, as well 
as all parts, material, or equipment used to rebuild or remanufacture the rolling stock. To qualify for this exemp-
tion, the railroad rolling stock must be used in interstate commerce for three consecutive months before being 
rebuilt or remanufactured.

Should a railroad collect sales tax on its sales?
The charge for transporting passengers or freight by rail isn’t taxable. However, a railroad may sell other items 
that are taxable. Promotional items, supplies sold to employees, equipment, and other tangible personal property 
sold by the railroad are subject to sales tax unless the buyer qualifies for an exemption and gives the railroad a 
completed form ST-101.

The railroad also owes use tax when it gives away items on which sales or use tax hasn’t already been paid. For 
example, when a railroad gives a boxcar to a school for use as a storage building, the railroad must pay use tax 
on the value of the boxcar when it’s donated, unless the railroad paid tax when it acquired the boxcar.
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SALES TO PASSENGERS

Are sales to airline, bus, and railway passengers taxable?
Some airline, railway, and bus companies buy food, drinks, souvenirs or other items exempt from tax and sell 
them to their customers in addition to the fare for the trip. A company that sells such items is a retailer. When a 
trip includes one or more scheduled stops in Idaho, the retailer must collect and pay sales tax on these sales. If 
the product is ordered or delivered in Idaho, Idaho tax is due, regardless of where the product is consumed. If a 
trip occurs in more than one state, businesses can prorate the sales for the trip by multiplying the total sales by 
the percentage of Idaho miles in that portion of the trip, instead of keeping track of the sales by state.

Transportation companies also may buy items that are provided to customers as part of the fare for the trip, or 
are given as gifts. Examples include in-flight meals, complimentary beverages, and souvenirs. These items are 
taxable if purchased in Idaho. If the transportation company buys the items in another state and doesn’t pay 
sales tax to that state, use tax is due on these goods for any trip that includes one or more scheduled stops in 
Idaho. The company can prorate the amount subject to tax using the Idaho mileage percentage method described 
earlier.

For more information, read:
Brochure #2 	 Use Tax
Brochure #5 	 Retailers & Wholesalers: Making Exempt Sales
Brochure #11 	 Rental & Leasing Firms
Brochure #14 	 Motor Vehicles
Brochure #15 	 RVs, Boats & Aircraft
Rule 17 		  Airlines, Buses, and Railway Dining Cars
Rule 37 		  Aircraft and Flying Services
Rule 101 		  Motor Vehicles and Trailers Used in Interstate Commerce

For more information, contact:

•	 Idaho State Tax Commission: In the Boise area, 334-7660; Toll free,  (800) 972-7660
•	 Hearing impaired: TDD (800) 377-3529
•	 tax.idaho.gov

This information was prepared by the Idaho State Tax Commission. It does not provide comprehensive 
explanations of Idaho tax laws or rules. Specific questions should be addressed to the Tax Commission or a 
qualified tax practitioner.


