Idaho State Tax Commission

Idaho State Tax Commission

This article is over 12 months old and may be out of date. Please check elsewhere on our website or contact us if you need more information.

Tax Commission News Release

Make sure local option tax isn’t charged in Nez Perce County

BOISE, IDAHO — Nov. 6, 2014 — The Nez Perce County local option sales tax expired Sept. 30, 2014, after being in place for a decade.  

As of Oct. 1, Nez Perce County retailers should have stopped collecting the one-half of one percent (0.5%) local option tax. All money collected through Sept. 30 should be reported and paid on the retailers’ normal reporting schedule.

Retailers should verify that they’re no longer collecting the tax. If they’ve collected tax in error, it’s their responsibility to refund the tax to the customer. 

At the same time, buyers should also check their receipts to make sure they’re not paying the local option tax when they make purchases from Nez Perce County retailers.

Any questions about the process can be referred to the Idaho State Tax Commission toll free at (800) 972-7660.

The Nez Perce local option tax was approved by voters in 2004 to pay for property tax relief and to build a new county jail. More than $28.6 million was raised by the tax.

 

Posted 11-06-2014

The information on this site is for general guidance only. Tax laws are complex and change regularly. We can't cover every circumstance in our website guides. This guidance may not apply to your situation. Please contact us with any questions. We work to provide current and accurate information on our website. But some information could have technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. If there's a conflict between current tax law and the information on our website, current tax law will govern.