Idaho State Tax Commission

Idaho State Tax Commission

This article is over 12 months old and may be out of date. Please check elsewhere on our website or contact us if you need more information.

Tax Commission News Release

Oct. 15 deadline nears for taxpayers with filing extensions

BOISE, IDAHO — Oct. 1, 2014 — If you haven't filed your 2013 Idaho state income taxes, the clock is ticking. Taxpayers who qualified for an automatic extension of time to file Idaho returns must send their return and full payment by Oct. 15, according to the Idaho State Tax Commission.

Idaho law allows these taxpayers to avoid a penalty for late filing, but they’ll be charged 4 percent interest on any tax that was due and not paid by April 15.

“We expect about 32,000 individual income tax returns to be filed,” said Doreen Warren, revenue operations administrator for the Tax Commission.

Taxpayers can file returns electronically through Oct. 15. Some may qualify to file online for free through the Free File program available at tax.idaho.gov/efile or through the “Quick Picks” section on tax.idaho.gov.

Filers can pay their taxes electronically through tax.idaho.gov/epay. And they can mail returns and payments to the Idaho State Tax Commission, P.O. Box 56, Boise, ID 83756-0056.

For help computing interest, taxpayers should call 334-7660 in the Boise area, (800) 972-7660 toll free, or visit a Tax Commission office.

 

Posted 10-01-2014

Return to top of page