Idaho State Tax Commission

Idaho State Tax Commission

This article is over 12 months old and may be out of date. Please check elsewhere on our website or contact us if you need more information.

Tax Commission News Release

Tax Commission, AARP partner on Property Tax Reduction Program

BOISE, IDAHO — Feb. 26, 2013 — According to research done by AARP Idaho, just under half of those eligible for property tax reduction in Idaho actually apply for this discount. Therefore, the Idaho State Tax Commission is partnering with AARP Idaho to make more people aware of the benefit that’s available to lower-income seniors and others who qualify.

“Living on a fixed income is a challenge many Idahoans face,” said Pam Waters, who oversees the Property Tax Reduction Program for the Tax Commission. “Our goal is to increase awareness of this program so more people can get the help they need.”

The Idaho Property Tax Reduction (Circuit Breaker) Program reduces property taxes on a homeowner’s primary Idaho residence and up to one acre of land by as much as $1,320. 

Applicants for the property tax reduction program can have no more than $28,000 in total 2012 income.  They must be U.S. citizens or legal permanent residents.  They must also be in at least one of the following categories as of Jan. 1, 2013:

  • Age 65 or older
  • Blind
  • Widow(er) of any age
  • Former prisoner of war or hostage
  • Disabled (as recognized by the Social Security Administration, Veterans Affairs, Railroad Retirement Board, or Federal Civil Service)

“Most people know someone who is eligible for property tax reduction,” said AARP Idaho State Director Mark Estess. “It’s important that eligible property owners use this valuable program and we are proud to partner with the Idaho Tax Commission to spread the word across the state.” 

Eligible homeowners can get an application for property tax reduction on the Tax Commission’s website or from their county assessor. Applications must be filed with a homeowner’s county assessor by April 15.

For more information, contact any county assessor’s office in Idaho or call the Tax Commission at (208) 334-7736 in the Boise area or (800) 334-7756 toll free.


Posted 02-26-2013

This information is for general guidance only. Tax laws are complex and change regularly. We can't cover every circumstance in our guides. This guidance may not apply to your situation. Please contact us with any questions. We work to provide current and accurate information. But some information could have technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. If there's a conflict between current tax law and this information, current tax law will govern.