Idaho State Tax Commission

Idaho State Tax Commission

This article is over 12 months old and may be out of date. Please check elsewhere on our website or contact us if you need more information.

Tax Commission News Release

More than 55,000 Idahoans eligible for property tax reduction

BOISE, IDAHO — Feb. 21, 2017 — Just under half of the more than 55,000 Idahoans eligible for a reduction in their property taxes actually apply for the Idaho Property Tax Reduction Program. A property tax credit is available to low-income seniors, widows and widowers, those who are disabled, and others who qualify.  

The Idaho Property Tax Reduction Program reduces property taxes on a homeowner’s primary Idaho residence and up to one acre of land by as much as $1,320. Reductions are grants from the state, and there is no repayment.

Applicants for the property tax reduction program can have no more than $29,640 in total 2016 income. They must be U.S. citizens or legal permanent residents. They must also be in at least one of the following categories as of Jan. 1, 2017:

  • Age 65 or older
  • Blind
  • Widow(er) of any age
  • Former prisoner of war or hostage
  • Recognized as disabled by the Social Security Administration, Railroad Retirement Board, Federal Civil Service, a public employee retirement system not covered by these agencies, or by Veterans Affairs
  • Fatherless or motherless child under 18 years old

“Although many seniors are aware of the program, a significant number of homeowners under the age of 65 might also be eligible,” said Pam Waters, who oversees the Property Tax Reduction Program for the Idaho State Tax Commission. “Those who are disabled or widowed might not realize they qualify if they meet the income requirement.” 

Thanks to a recent law change, public employees who don’t contribute to Social Security also qualify in the disabled category if they’re recognized as disabled by a public employee retirement system. They must still meet the ownership and income requirements to receive a benefit.  

Eligible homeowners can get an application for property tax reduction on the Tax Commission’s website or from their county assessor. Applications must be filed with a homeowner’s county assessor by Tuesday, April 18.  

For more information, contact any county assessor’s office in Idaho or call the Tax Commission at (208) 334-7736 in the Boise area or toll-free at (800) 334-7756, or visit the Tax Commission's Property Tax Reduction (Circuit Breaker) webpage.


Posted 02-21-2017
tax pros news release general

This information is for general guidance only. Tax laws are complex and change regularly. We can't cover every circumstance in our guides. This guidance may not apply to your situation. Please contact us with any questions. We work to provide current and accurate information. But some information could have technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. If there's a conflict between current tax law and this information, current tax law will govern.