Idaho State Tax Commission

Idaho State Tax Commission

This article is over 12 months old and may be out of date. Please check elsewhere on our website or contact us if you need more information.

Tax Commission News Release

Oct. 17 deadline nears for taxpayers with filing extensions

BOISE, IDAHO — Oct. 11, 2016 — If you haven't filed your 2015 Idaho state income taxes, the clock is ticking. Taxpayers who qualified for an automatic extension of time to file Idaho returns must send their return and full payment by Oct. 17, according to the Idaho State Tax Commission.

Idaho law allows these taxpayers to avoid a penalty for late filing, but they’ll be charged 4 percent interest on any tax that was due and not paid by April 18. 

“We expect about 32,000 individual income tax returns to be filed,” said Chris Barry, central processing bureau chief for the Tax Commission.

Taxpayers can file returns electronically through Oct. 17. Some may qualify to file online for free. They can learn more about free e-filing by clicking on the “Free individual income tax e-file” link under the “Quick Picks” section on

Filers can pay their taxes electronically through And they can mail returns and payments to the Idaho State Tax Commission, P.O. Box 56, Boise, ID 83756-0056. 

For help computing interest, taxpayers should call 334-7660 in the Boise area, (800) 972-7660 toll-free, or visit a Tax Commission office


Posted 10-11-2016
tax pros news release general

Return to top of page

The information on this site is for general guidance only. Tax laws are complex and change regularly. We can't cover every circumstance in our website guides. We work to provide current and accurate information on our website. But some information could have technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. If there's a conflict between current tax law and the information on our website, current tax law will govern.