Tax Commission News Release
Maximum homeowner’s exemption to rise in 2016
BOISE, IDAHO — Sept. 21, 2015 — The maximum homeowner’s exemption for 2016 will increase to $94,745, according to calculations by the Idaho State Tax Commission. The maximum exemption for 2015 is $89,580.
The maximum exemption amount is based on the Idaho House Price Index – All Transactions, which is published by the Federal Housing Finance Agency. “The current index shows a 5.77 percent increase in house prices for Idaho,” said Alan Dornfest, property tax policy bureau chief for the Tax Commission. “This is the third year of increase following four years of decreases.”
Idaho provides a partial property tax exemption to qualified homeowners for their primary dwelling and up to one acre of land. The law exempts 50 percent of the assessed value from taxation; however, the exemption can’t exceed the maximum value, which changes each year.
“The impact of the exemption on property taxes will depend on 2016 taxing district budgets, as well as how much 2016 property values change for homes and other properties,” said Dornfest.
Idaho’s homeowner’s exemption began in 1980, with a maximum of $10,000. It remained at that level until 1983, when it was raised to $50,000 by voter initiative. The 2006 Idaho Legislature raised the exemption to $75,000 and tied future limits to the House Price Index.
tax pros news release general
- Subscribe to our News
- Follow us on Twitter @idahotax
- Media: Visit our Newsroom
- Visit our Online Learning page
- Watch our YouTube Channel - IdahoStateTax