Idaho State Tax Commission

100% Service-Connected Disabled Veterans Benefit

The Veterans Property Tax Reduction benefit reduces property taxes for qualified 100% service-connected disabled veterans.

If you qualify, the property taxes on your home and up to one acre of land may be reduced by as much as $1,320. The program doesn't have an income limit.

Once granted, a surviving spouse can use this benefit, but it isn't transferable to a new property after the death of the qualifying veteran.

Note: The benefits won't reduce solid waste, irrigation, or other fees charged by government entities.

Who qualifies

You may qualify for Veterans Property Tax Reduction in 2019 if both of these apply:

  • You were recognized as 100% service-connected disabled by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs as of January 1, 2019
  • You owned and lived in a home in Idaho that was your primary residence before April 15, 2019.
    • The property must have a current homeowner's exemption.
    • The home can be a mobile home.

Note: You could qualify if you lived in a care facility or nursing home. Contact your county assessor's office for information.

How to apply

  1. Contact your county assessor for an application or download one here.
  2. Get a current letter from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs confirming your 100% service-connected disability rating as of January 1, 2019.
  3. Complete the application. The assessor's office will help you. You must file the application with your assessor's office between January 1 and April 15, 2019.


  • This benefit isn't automatically renewed. You must apply and qualify each year.
  • If approved, your benefit will appear on your December 2019 property tax bill.

More tax relief options

You may also qualify and apply for the following tax relief programs in addition to or instead of the Veterans Property Tax Reduction benefit:

  • Property Tax Reduction – This program reduces the amount of taxes qualified individuals pay on their home and up to one acre of land. Benefits range from $150 to $1,320. There's an income limit for this program.
  • Property Tax Deferral – This program defers the taxes on the home and up to one acre of land for qualified individuals. The deferred taxes become a lien on the property and have to be repaid to the state of Idaho. There's an income limit for this program.

Contact your county assessor for more program information and an application.

Page last updated January 30, 2019. Last full review of page: January 29, 2019.

This information is for general guidance only. Tax laws are complex and change regularly. We can't cover every circumstance in our guides. This guidance may not apply to your situation. Please contact us with any questions. We work to provide current and accurate information. But some information could have technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. If there's a conflict between current tax law and this information, current tax law will govern.