Penalties and Interest
Penalties are assessed for late returns and/or late payments. The calculations are determined by law and differ according to tax type.
- It's important that you get in touch with us if you've forgotten to file for one or more tax periods.
- You can use our Penalty and Interest Estimator to calculate what you may owe.
When penalty is due
According to Idaho Code section 63-3046, penalty is due if a taxpayer:
- Files a return but the tax due isn't paid (0.5%/month to a maximum of 25%)
- Doesn't file a tax return on time (5%/month to a maximum of 25%)
- Disregards rules without an intent to defraud (5%)
- Substantially understates tax due (10%)
- Files a false or fraudulent tax return (50%)
The minimum penalty is $10.
How income tax penalty is calculated
- How Your Income Tax Penalty Is Calculated (07-06-2016)
Individuals, corporations, pass-through entities, and fiduciaries have an automatic six-month extension of time to file a tax return (Idaho code section 63-3033). However, this doesn't apply to payments — payments are due in full on the return's due date.
What you don't know about a "valid extension of time" for your individual income tax return can hurt you. These are the top five extension misconceptions.
To avoid penalties your prepayments (e.g., withholdings or payments applied from previous year refunds) must equal either 80% of the estimated tax due for your current return or 100% of the income tax reported on your return for the previous year. If your prepayments don't meet that level, you can make a payment for the balance by the due date—either through TAP or by sending us your payment with the appropriate form:
You don't need to make an extension payment if you filed a return the previous year and the "tax due" (immediately following the "Payments and Other Credits" section) was zero. If you didn't file the previous year, you must pay 80% of the current year's liability. A penalty doesn't apply if the necessary payment would be $50 or less.