Idaho State Tax Commission

Idaho State Tax Commission

Certifications

Property tax appraisal certification

Requirements:

  • Pass State Tax Commission Course No. 1 or IAAO Course No. 101, and
  • Pass the IAAO Course 102 or IAAO Course 201 or IAAO Course 300, and
  • Complete a minimum of 12 months of property tax appraisal experience in Idaho, and
  • Submit a completed application to the State Tax Commission

To maintain certification, an appraiser must complete 32 credit hours of continuing education during the previous two years.

The State Tax Commission education program is for property tax purposes. To practice general appraisal, an appraiser candidate must follow a separate track of certification through the Idaho Real Estate Appraiser Board.

Cadastral specialist certification

Requirements:

  • Pass State Tax Commission's Basic Mapping Course, and
  • Pass the IAAO Course 600 or IAAO Course 601 or IAAO Course 650 and 651, and
  • Complete a minimum of 12 months experience working as a cadastral specialist in Idaho, and
  • Submit a completed application to the State Tax Commission

To maintain certification, a cadastral specialist must complete 32 credit hours of continuing education during the previous two years.

Also available: IAAO Mapping Certification/CMS Designation

Last updated Mar. 3, 2011

The information on this site is for general guidance only. Tax laws are complex and change regularly. We can't cover every circumstance in our website guides. This guidance may not apply to your situation. Please contact us with any questions. We work to provide current and accurate information on our website. But some information could have technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. If there's a conflict between current tax law and the information on our website, current tax law will govern.