Idaho State Tax Commission

About Us

Our mission is "to administer the state's tax laws in a fair, timely, and cost-effective manner to benefit all Idaho citizens."

The Tax Commission informs taxpayers about their obligations so everyone can pay their fair share of taxes, and it must enforce Idaho's laws to ensure the fairness of the tax system with those who don't voluntarily comply. The agency is organized into five divisions and has offices in Boise and five other locations throughout the state. For more background, read the history of the Idaho State Tax Commission.

The Tax Commission is an executive branch agency, which means it operates under the guidance of the governor of the state of Idaho. The governor appoints the four tax commissioners, and their appointments must be confirmed by the state Senate. The commissioners serve six-year terms. Besides presiding over specific tax types and areas of the agency, the tax commissioners also sit as the State Board of Equalization for two weeks in August. In that capacity, they hear and decide appeals for operating property — property such as railroads and utilities, which cross county lines.

Annual Report

Strategic Plan

Agency divisions

  • The Audit Division ensures fairness and consistency of Idaho's tax laws by examining tax returns for potential errors and obtaining tax returns in cases where a return is required to be filed but no return was submitted.
  • The Collection Division provides taxpayers with education and programs to ensure equitable and fair compliance, as well as payment of unpaid tax debts. The division also oversees field offices around the state.
  • Revenue Operations processes tax returns and payments.
  • Property Tax appraises public utilities and provides technical assistance and education for Idaho's counties to help them administer the property tax system. The Tax Commission conducts studies each year to determine whether counties are in compliance with state guidelines for proper administration of the property appraisal and taxing system.
  • General Services consists of Information Technology, Management Services, Human Resources, Tax Appeals, and Taxpayer Resources. Taxpayer Resources focuses on communication, policy, and outreach and includes Taxpayer Services, which provides taxpayer support by phone, email, and in our Boise office.


Chairman Tom Harris

  • First appointed: April 26, 2019
  • Current term ends: April 26, 2025
  • Taxes:
    • Business Income
    • Multistate Income
    • Travel & Conventions
    • Auditorium Districts
  • Management:
    • Revenue Operations
    • Taxpayer Resources
    • Human Resources
    • Management Services / Budget

Commissioner Tom Katsilometes

  • First appointed: March 25, 2005
  • Current term ends: March 8, 2023
  • Taxes:
    • Property Tax
    • Mine License
    • Kilowatt Hour
    • Beer, Wine, Cigarette, Tobacco
    • Motor and Special Fuels
    • Transfer Fee
  • Management:
    • Property Tax Division

Commissioner Elliot Werk

  • First appointed: February 17, 2015
  • Current term ends: March 8, 2021
  • Taxes:
    • Sales / Use
  • Management:
    • Audit Division
    • Information Technology

Commissioner Janet Moyle

  • First appointed: December 6, 2017
  • Current term ends: December 6, 2023
  • Taxes:
    • Individual Income
    • Estate Transfer
    • Illegal Drugs
    • Withholding
  • Management:
    • Collection Division
    • Field Offices
    • Tax Appeals

The lists above include major responsibilities assigned to that person. Although commissioners have primary responsibilities over certain areas, they provide backup coverage for each other when needed.

History of the Tax Commission

The function of today's Tax Commission is very different from its earliest predecessors, which were charged with overseeing how Idaho land and other property was valued and taxed.

1890: Article 7, Section 12 of the Constitution of the state of Idaho, as originally adopted on July 3, 1890, created a State Board of Equalization. The Board consisted of the governor, secretary of state, attorney general, state auditor, and state treasurer. The duty of this board was to meet annually to equalize the valuation of the taxable property in the state.

1913: The Legislature created the first Tax Commission, which consisted of members of the Public Utilities Commission. This body was charged with administering Idaho's property tax laws.

1915: The Legislature repealed the law establishing the Tax Commission, based on a constitutional challenge.

1931: The Office of Tax Commissioner was established to administer the Income Tax Act, referred to as the "Property Relief Act of 1931." Income taxes were intended to offset property taxes levied for state purposes.

1939: The Tax Commissioner was given duties for other taxes then administered by the commissioner of finance, commissioner of law enforcement, and the state treasurer.

1941: The duties given to the Tax Commissioner in 1939 were taken away and given back to Finance, Law Enforcement, and the State Treasurer.

1944: A Constitutional amendment abolished the State Board of Equalization and transferred its duties to a Tax Commission with four part-time members. The amendment was passed in November 1944, and the Tax Commission's first meeting was in August 1945.

1949: The Office of Tax Collector was created and given the previous duties of the Tax Commissioner, plus responsibility for certain taxes previously collected by the commissioner of law enforcement, commissioner of finance, and the commissioner of agriculture.

1967: The Legislature abolished the Office of Tax Collector and transferred its duties to the State Tax Commission, which was made a full-time body. Duties included:

  • State Board of Equalization oversight and assistance for county assessors and county boards of equalization
  • Oversight and assistance for county assessors and county boards of equalization
  • Publishing and enforcement of rules for all taxes
  • Administrative review (hearings) on protested tax cases, except for property tax cases
  • Administration for income tax, sales tax, motor fuels tax, beer and wine taxes, cigarette and tobacco taxes, mine license tax, kilowatt hour tax, inheritance tax, and unclaimed property

1974: A Constitutional amendment mandated a reorganization of the Executive Branch of state government. As a result, the Tax Commission and Board of Tax Appeals were brought under the umbrella of the new Department of Revenue and Taxation. This department has no director or staff of its own; it consists of its two component agencies, which operate independently and are funded by separate appropriations.

2010: The Legislature transferred Idaho's Unclaimed Property Program to the State Treasurer's Office.

Last updated June 3, 2019

This information is for general guidance only. Tax laws are complex and change regularly. We can't cover every circumstance in our guides. This guidance may not apply to your situation. Please contact us with any questions. We work to provide current and accurate information. But some information could have technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. If there's a conflict between current tax law and this information, current tax law will govern.