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Instructions - Form 1450 Distributor's Fuel Tax Report - Idaho
YOU MUST FILE ARETURN FOR EACH FILING PERIOD, EVEN WHEN NO TAX IS DUE.

Use Form 1450 to calculate and report your fuels tax and
transfer fee each month. If you have questions about
reporting, call the Idaho State Tax Commission at 334-7660
in the Boise area or toll free at (800) 972-7660. The report
is not valid unless you sign and date it in the space
provided.

Amended reports. Use this form to amend a fuel tax
report. Check the "AMENDED REPORT" box at the top of
the report. If you kept a copy of the original report, correct
the amounts on pages 1 and 2. If you didn't keep a copy of
the original report, you can get a blank form by contacting
the Tax Commission. Complete pages 1 and 2 using the
corrected amounts. Don't enter the net change. If you're
correcting load information, include only schedule details
about the corrected loads. Remember to sign and date the
amended report.

Electronic filing. You can file your fuel tax report
electronically using free software provided by the Tax
Commission or through Electronic Data Interchange (EDI)
using an approved private software package or in-house
application. For more information, e-mail our electronic filing
help desk at efilehelp@tax.idaho.gov or call (208) 332-
6632.

Check payment. Make your check or money order payable
to the Idaho State Tax Commission. Don't staple your check
to your report or send a check stub.

Electronic funds transfer payment. You can use
electronic funds transfer to make a payment. Whenever the
amount due is $100,000 or more, the law requires you to
use electronic funds transfer. If you file a paper tax report,
indicate on the report that you paid by electronic funds
transfer.

Payment by credit/debit card and e-check. You can use
a credit/debit card or e-check to make payments under
$100,000 to the state of Idaho. You can pay through our
website at tax.idaho.gov. We accept American Express,
Discover, MasterCard, and Visa for credit card payments. If
you pay with a credit/debit card or e-check, our third-party
provider will charge a convenience fee.

For lines 1 through 13, enter the information that applies
for each fuel product type.

Line 1. If you have bulk storage, enter the number of
gallons in your physical inventory on the first day of the
month. This number must match the ending inventory from
the previous month.

Line 2. Enter the total gallons from Schedules 1, 2, and 3.

Line 3. Enter the total gallons from Schedules 6, 7, 9,
and 10T as a negative number [in brackets].

Line 4. To report gallons transferred from one product type
to another, enter the number of gallons transferred from a
product type as a negative number [in brackets]. Enter the
number of gallons transferred to a product type as a positive
number. Attach a complete explanation of the product
transfer.

Typical transfers include undyed diesel accidentally mixed
with dyed diesel and jet fuel transferred to undyed diesel.

Line 5. Enter the total adjustment for casualty losses

as a negative number [in brackets]. Attach a complete
explanation of the loss. This deduction doesn't apply to the
transfer fee.

Line 6. If you have bulk storage, enter the total number
of gallons in your physical inventory on the last day of the
month. This number must agree with the actual physical
ending inventory.

Line 7. Add lines 2, 3, 4, and 5, and enter the number of
gross taxable gallons.

Line 8. Enter the number of gallons of fuel you purchased
with the Idaho fuels tax and transfer fee included in the price.
(Total from Schedule 1 for each product type.)

Line 9. Subtract line 8 from line 7, and enter the gallons
subject to tax.

Line 10. Multiply line 9 by 0.98, round to the nearest whole
gallon, and enter the number of taxable gallons after the 2%
allowance.

Line 11. Multiply line 10 by the tax rate that applies for each
product type, and enter the result.

Note: Tax rates are listed at the end of these instructions.

Line 12. For "Propane and Natural Gas," enter the dollar
amount received from the sale of Gaseous Fuel Permits sold
during the month. Attach the receipt (yellow copy) for each
permit sold.

Line 13. Add lines 11 and 12, and enter the net tax due.

Line 14. Add all the column amounts from line 13, and enter
the tax due.

Line 15. Enter the amount of any penalty you owe on the
tax.

You must file and pay the tax by the due date listed on the
tax report. If you don't, the following penalties apply:

e |f you file on time but your payment is late, the penalty is
0.5% (1/2 percent) of the tax due (see line 14) for each
late month.
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e |f you file late, the penalty is 5% of the tax due (line 14)
for each late month. This penalty begins the first day
you are late and continues until you file your return or
pay the tax.

e |f you file late and don't pay the tax when you file, there
is an additional late penalty of 0.5% (1/2 percent) of the
tax due (line 14) for each late month.

Note: No penalty is due if no tax is due. The minimum
penalty amount is $10, and the maximum penalty is 25%.
Even if your payment is only one day late, you still owe the
entire monthly penalty.

Line 16. Enter the amount of interest you owe.

Note: Interest accrues on late tax payments from the due
date until the amount you owe is paid. Rates are as follows:

1/1/2015 - 12/31/2015, 4% per year
1/1/2014 - 12/31/2014, 4% per year
1/1/2013 - 12/31/2013, 3% per year
1/1/2012 - 12/31/2012, 4% per year

Line 17. Add lines 14, 15, and 16, and enter the total tax,
penalty, and interest.

Line 18. Complete the Transfer Fee Worksheet at the
bottom of page 2, and enter the number of gallons subject to
the transfer fee from line H.

Line 19. Multiply line 18 by .01, and enter the transfer fee
due.

Line 20. Enter the amount of any penalty you owe on the
transfer fee.

You must file and pay the transfer fee by the due date listed
on the tax report. If you don't, the same penalties apply to
the transfer fee as for the tax (see instructions for line 15).

Line 21. Enter the amount of any interest you owe on the
transfer fee. Rates are listed under the instructions for
line 16.

Form 1450 Instructions -- continued

Line 22. Add lines 19, 20, and 21, and enter the total
transfer fee, penalty, and interest due.

Line 23. Add lines 17 and 22. If the result is an amount
due, enter the amount on line 23a. If the result is a refund
amount, enter the amount on line 23b.

Tax Rates (for fuel used on or after July 1, 2008)

Gasoline Diesel (undyed)
including including biodiesel
ethanol Natural | Aviation Jet and biodiesel
blends | Propane | Gas | Gasoline Fuel blends
25 181 197 .07 .06 25

Transfer Fee Worksheet Instructions

Complete this worksheet for all petroleum-based products
and biodiesel products subject to the one-cent-per-gallon
transfer fee. See the Transfer Fee Fact Sheet for a list of
products subject to the fee. Visit our website at tax.idaho.
gov and click on "Tax Types," then select "Fuel distributors"
(tax.idaho.gov/i-1034), or call us at 334-7660 in the Boise
area or toll free at (800) 972-7660. Natural gas and propane

are exempt from the transfer fee.

A.
B.

C.

Enter the total receipts from line 2 of the Form 1450.
Enter the total number of gallons exported out of Idaho
and included on Schedule 7.

Enter the total number of gallons delivered to
licensedmotor fuel distributors "transfer fee not
collected" and reported on Schedule 6.

Enter the total number of gallons received "transfer fee
paid" and reported on Schedule 1.

Enter the total number of gallons delivered to an

Indian tribe "transfer fee not collected" and reported on
Schedule 10U.

Enter the total number of gallons sold to a railroad
company.

Enter the total number of gallons repackaged into
containers of 55 gallons or less or stored for
repackaging.

Enter the total number of gallons of petroleum product
subject to the transfer fee. Line A minus the total of
lines B, C, D, E, F, and G.

Mail return to: Idaho State Tax Commission, PO Box 83784, Boise, ID 83707-3784

CONTACT US
In the Boise Area: 334-7660
or
Toll Free: (800) 972-7660

Hearing impaired (TDD):
(800) 377-3529

IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION OFFICES

800 Park Blvd., Plaza IV
Boise, Idaho 83712

1910 Northwest Blvd., Suite 100
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho 83814

1118 F St.

Lewiston, Idaho 83501

440 Falls Ave.
Twin Falls, Idaho 83301

611 Wilson Ave., Suite 5
Pocatello, Idaho 83201

150 Shoup Ave., Suite 16
Idaho Falls, Idaho 83402




