
Form 852 — Instructions
County Assessor Sales Tax Return

Contact us:
In the Boise area: (208) 334-7660 | Toll free: (800) 972-7660

Hearing impaired (TDD) (800) 377-3529
tax.idaho.gov/contact

Interest. Interest accrues on overdue tax from 
the original due date of the return until you pay 
the tax. 
Rates are as follows:

01/01/2020  –  12/31/2020, 4% per year
01/01/2019  –  12/31/2019, 5% per year
01/01/2018  –  12/31/2018, 4% per year
01/01/2017  –  12/31/2017, 3% per year

Payments. We apply payments in this order:
1.	Bad check fees
2.	Interest
3.	Tax
4.	Penalty

Pay electronically. How you can pay 
electronically using one of these options:

•	 ACH Debit
•	 ACH Credit
•	 Credit card
•	 Debit card
•	 E-check 

You can access payment options at 
tax.idaho.gov/epay.
Note: If you pay electronically and file a paper 
return, note at the top of the return which one you 
used.

Payments $100,000 or more. Idaho law requires 
you to use ACH Debit or ACH Credit.

Pay by check. Make your check or money order 
payable to the Idaho State Tax Commission and 
include it with your return.

Mail paper returns and payment to:  
Idaho State Tax Commission
PO Box 76
Boise ID  83707-0076

General Information
You must report all sales or use tax collected 
on an 852 return at least monthly.
Returns cover a period of one month and each 
return indicates the period covered. You have 
the option to report more frequently and can 
do so by duplicating the return for that period. 
Always use a return for the current month.
You must file a signed return for each filing 
period, even if you haven’t collected any tax.

Completion of Return
You must prepare a separate return for 
each rate of tax collected, and can do so by 
duplicating the return for that period. Always 
use a return for the current month.
For example, if the majority of the transactions 
were taxed at 6%, but one transaction was 
taxed at 2% because the applicant had paid 
tax at 4% to another state, the assessor must 
prepare two returns: 
•	 One return for the transactions taxed at 6%
•	 One return for the transactions at 2%. On 

the return prepared for the 2% transactions, 
the assessor should insert the rate of tax 
collected in bold print.

Tax collected. Enter the amount of sales tax 
collected.

Reimbursable Transactions. Enter the 
number of reimbursable transactions. The 
assessor will be reimbursed $1.00 for 
processing each of the following transactions:

•	 Application for certificate of title or initial 
registration of a motor vehicle, trailer, or 
other titled property 

•	 Form ST-108 Transport Trailer, Office 
Trailer, and Untitled Boat Certificate

•	 Form ST-108TR Occasional Sale 
Exemption Certificate – Office Trailer and 
Transport Trailer

No reimbursement will be made for processing 
transactions where the sales or use tax was 
previously collected by a retailer.
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