
Buyer’s Name Seller’s Name

Address Address

City State ZIP Code City State ZIP Code

Vehicle/Vessel Year Vehicle/Vessel Make Vehicle/Vessel Model Hull or Vehicle Identification Number

Nonresident Exemption
(Idaho Code section 63-3622R and Idaho Sales and Use Tax Administrative Rule 107)

A vehicle or vessel that a nonresident purchases in Idaho may qualify for exemption from Idaho sales tax.
Nonresident individuals can claim the exemption if they meet all of the following requirements:
•	 The intended use of the vehicle/vessel is outside of Idaho, and it won’t require titling in Idaho.
•	 It will be taken out of Idaho and immediately registered and titled in another state or country (if required there).
•	 It won’t be stored or used in Idaho for more than 90 days in any 12-month period.
•	 None of the buyers listed on the purchase, registration, or title documents are Idaho residents.

Nonresident corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, or other organizations can claim the 
exemption if they meet all the requirements listed above and all of these additional requirements:
•	 It isn’t formed under the laws of Idaho.
•	 It isn’t required to be registered with the Idaho Secretary of State to do business in Idaho.
•	 It doesn’t have significant contacts with Idaho and doesn’t have consistent operations in Idaho.
•	 None of the buyers listed on the purchase, registration, or title documents are Idaho residents.

Each buyer listed on the purchase, registration, or title documents must complete a separate form.  You can’t claim this 
exemption if an Idaho resident is listed on the exemption certificate, purchase, registration, or title documents.  Truck 
campers, vessels less than 11 feet sold without a motor, and canoes, kayaks, paddleboards, inflatable boats or similar 
watercrafts sold without a motor, don’t qualify for this exemption.

By signing this form, I certify that the statements I made on this form are true and correct.  I know that submitting 
false information can result in criminal and civil penalties.
Buyer’s Signature Buyer’s Name (please print)

Title Phone Number Date

EFO00303     01-17-2019

Buyer:   You must meet all requirements listed above and complete all statements below to claim the exemption.
•	 I’m buying a(n):

Automobile Snowmobile Vessel without a motor, 11’ or more in length
Motorcycle All-terrain vehicle (ATV) Vessel with a motor, regardless of length
Truck Specialty off-highway vehicle (SOHV)
Trailer Utility type vehicle (UTV)

•	 I’m not an Idaho resident, and I’ll limit the storage or use of the vehicle or vessel in Idaho to 90 days or less in any 
12-month period.

•	 I’ll take this vehicle to the state or country of _________________________ and immediately register and title it, 
if required.

•	 None of the buyers listed on the purchase, registration, or title documents are Idaho residents.  
My nonresident driver’s license number is _________________________ issued by the state or country of 
_________________________, or qualifying company/organization EIN is _________________________.

Seller:  Scan and email the completed form and a copy of the driver’s license to vehicles@tax.idaho.gov. Or, send the 
documents to the Idaho State Tax Commission, Tax Discovery Bureau, PO Box 36, Boise, Idaho 83722.  Keep a copy 
for your records.

Form ST-104NR
Sales Tax Exemption Certificate
Nonresident Vehicle/Vessel
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