2002

IDAHO INCOME TAX RETURN FOR SINGLE AND JOINT
FILERS WITH NO DEPENDENTS

:40EZ

R Tc40E721
M 10-07-02
. W M
Your first name and initial Last name Your Social Security Number
Use IDAHO | If a joint return, spouse's first name and initial Last name Spouse's Social Security Number
label. | |
OtherWIS_e‘ Address (number, street and apartment number)
p'eafe print A IMPORTANT! A
ortype.
ity State and Zip Code You must enter your SSN(s)
above.
IDAHO ELECTION CAMPAIGN FUND Constitution Democratic Libertarian Natural Law Reform Republican No Specific Party None
I want $1 of my income tax to go to the Idaho Election 1. Yourself 1 «[] 2" 3" D 4" 5" 6" D 7 - g" l:l
Campaign Fund. ($2 on joint return) 2. Spouse 'D [ ] L |:| - l:l - |:| L] |:| - l:l =]
Report .
your 3. Total wages, salaries, and tips. Attach Form(s) W-2. 3= | |, | | | 0 | 0 |
income 4. Taxable interestincome of $1,500 or less. If the total is over
$1,500, you cannot use this form. 4 = | |, | ‘ ‘ 10 | 0 |
5. Unemployment compensation. 5" | |’ | | | L0 | 0 |
6. Adjusted gross income. Add lines 3, 4 and 5. 6 = | |, | | | 10 | 0 |
i 2
Note: You . Can your parents (or someone else) claim you as a dependent
MUST check} - D Yes. Do worksheet on back. = \:\ No. Ifsingle, enter $7,700. If married, enter $15,400. 7 = | |, | | | - O | O |
Yes or No
8. Taxable income. Subtract line 7 from line 6.
If line 7 is larger than line 6, enter zero. 8 = | |, | | | - 0 0 |
Figure 9. Tax. Enter the tax from the Tax Tables. See instructions, page 28. .
your Electronically filed return credit. See back page. 9 = | |, 010
tax
10. Sales/Use tax due. See back page. 10 = | | | 0 | 0 |
11. Permanent building fund. See back page.
Check if you are receiving ldaho public assistance payments. . |:| 11 = | 1 | 010|0
12. Write the amount you wish to donate in the appropriate box and enter
Attach ) .
W-2 form(s) the total of your donations on line 12. See back page.
o . Children's Trust Fund
here Nongame Wildlife Conservation Fund Child Abuse Prevention
- .10j0] - .10]0 . , Tol0]
13. Tax and donations. Add lines 9, 10, 11 and 12. 13 » , 010
14. Grocery credit.  If single and line 6 is $7,700 or more, enter $20.
Figure If married and line 6 is $13,850 or more, enter $40. 14 = "010
Youlits  15. Idaho income tax withheld. Attach Form(s) W-2. 15 = , 0|0
16. Add lines 14 and 15. 16 = ) 010
17. TAXDUE. Ifline 13 is more than line 16, subtract line 16 from line 13. 17 = , "010
Tax Due .
or 18. Penalty = Interest from due date = Entertotal. 18 = y 0|0
Refund 19. Total Due. Add lines 17 and 18.
Make check or money order payable to the Idaho State Tax Commission. 19 = ’ 0 0
20. REFUND. Ifline 16 is more than line 13, subtract line 13 from line 16. 20 = y - 0 0

u D Within 180 days of receiving this return, the Idaho State Tax Commission may contact the paid preparer to discuss it.

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that to the best of my knowledge and belief this return is true, correct and complete.

Your signature Date Paid preparer's signature Preparer's EIN, SSN, or PTIN
Sign | " . .
Here [spouse's signature (if a joint return, BOTH MUST SIGN) Daytime phone Address and phone number




Instructions for Idaho Form 40EZ

10-07-02

You can file on the Internet at www2.state.id.us/tax/filing.htm free of charge.

Use this form only if you (and your spouse, if married) meet ALL of the following requirements:

(1) You are a full-year resident;

(2) Your filing status is single or married filing jointly;

(3) You do not claim any dependents;

(4) You are under age 65 and not blind;

(5) Your taxable income on line 8 is under $50,000;

(6) Your only taxable income is from wages, salaries, tips, unemployment compensation, and

taxable fellowships and scholarships; and
(7) Your taxable interest income is $1,500 or less.

Do not use this form if you and your spouse are filing separate returns. Use Form 40 to amend this return.

Instructions are for lines not fully explained on the front of the form.

1.
3.
7.

10.

11.

12.

14.

18.

Idaho Election Campaign Fund: See instructions, page 5.
If you have taxable fellowships and scholarships, include them on this line.

If you answered "Yes," complete this worksheet:

A. Add $250 to the amount from line 3 on the front. Enter total here. .......cc.cocovevvevivveeenc... A
B . Minimum Standard dEAUCHON ......c.oveveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee et et eeee et ee e e e et e eeeeeeeeeneen. B 750
C. Enter the larger of ine A Or liN€ B NEre. .........c.ccveveeeeeeeeeeeeee e C
D. Enter $4,700, if single; or enter $9,400 if married filing jointly. ..........cccoooeeieeieeiienne. D
E . Enter the smaller of ine C or INE D NEIe. .....oeoueeeeee e E
F . EXEMPLON @MOUNL ..ottt e e eteere e e e aeea F
» If single, enter 0.
» If married and both you and your spouse can be claimed as
dependents, enter 0.
» If married and only one of you can be claimed as a dependent,
enter $3,000.
G. Add lines E and F. Enter the total here and on line 7 on the front. ..........cccooevvveeenen.... G

If you answered "No" on line 7 because no one can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent, enter on
line 7 the amount shown below that applies to you.

« Single, enter $7,700. This is the total of your standard deduction ($4,700) and personal exemption ($3,000).
«  Married filing jointly, enter $15,400. This is the total of your Idaho standard deduction ($9,400), exemption
for yourself ($3,000), and exemption for your spouse ($3,000).

If you file this return electronically, Idaho allows you a $2.00 nonrefundable credit. If you are filing this return by paper
do not make an entry in the shaded area.

If you made any purchases during the year without paying sales tax, you must report sales/use tax due on such
purchases. Examples include magazine subscriptions, out-of-state catalog purchases, merchandise purchased over
the Internet, book and record clubs, and purchases made in states that do not charge sales tax etc. Multiply the total
amount of such purchases by 5% (.05).

Generally, you must pay the $10 permanent building fund tax if you are required to file an Idaho income tax return.
See filing requirements, page 1 of the instruction book.

If you are not required to pay the permanent building fund tax, or if you were receiving public assistance payments as
of December 31, 2002, draw a line through the@%‘v@. Check the box, if you were receiving public assistance
payments.

Donations will either reduce your refund or increase your tax. Descriptions of these funds can be found on page 8 of
the instructions.

If line 6 is $7,700 ($13,850 if married filing jointly) or more and you checked "NO" on line 7, you are entitled to a $20
(%40 if married filing jointly) grocery credit.

Penalty: If you file your return late or the tax due is not paid, a penalty will apply to the unpaid tax for each month (or
fraction of a month) it remains unpaid beyond the due date, up to a maximum of 25%. The minimum penalty is $10.

Interest: Interest applies on delinquent tax at the rate of 5% per year (rate effective 1/1/2003 - 12/31/2003) from the
original due date until paid.

MAIL TO: Idaho State Tax Commission, PO Box 56, Boise, ID 83756-0056



