Great people | Helping you | Serving Idaho



# IFTA Tips for Renewal and Return Filing

#### License renewals

**Renewals are due by December 31\* of each year.** Renew your International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) license and order decals for the following year in one of these ways:

- Complete the renewal and pay online at tax.idaho.gov/gotoTAP. Pay by ACH Debit to avoid a convenience fee.
- Mail Form 3105 with your payment.
- Fax or email Form 3105 and pay over the phone through the Tax Commission's IFTA Help Desk (see below).

#### **Renewals can't be completed at the Ports of Entry.** See "Renewal Fees" at right for important information.

## License requirements

- We won't renew overdue accounts. You must file all your returns and pay all tax, penalties, interest and fees before we'll issue the renewal license and decals. (See Important Dates on back page.)
- To qualify for an Idaho IFTA license, you must travel in at least two IFTA jurisdictions. For more information, visit tax.idaho.gov/ifta or contact the IFTA Help Desk (see below).

## Tips for online filing through TAP

 Verify your mailing address. We send your license and decals to the "Mailing IFTA Address" or else the "Mailing Address." Need to update? Visit tax.idaho.gov/taphelp

 "Changes and History in TAP" guide.

## Reporting off-road nontaxable miles

- Report all Idaho miles on the Form 3150 IFTA return in column 7 [Total Miles] and column 8 [Total Taxable Miles].
- Claim a fuel tax refund for nontaxable miles on Form 75 and worksheet 75-NM. Include a copy of Form 3150. (Get Form 75 and worksheet at: tax.idaho.gov/fuelpubs)

#### **Renewal fees**

Your minimum cost for renewing is **\$5.60**. This includes a \$5 processing fee and 60 cents for a set of decals. Your renewal and delivery of decals **could be delayed** if you don't pay in full.

## Handbook

Get the IFTA handbook at: tax.idaho.gov/ifta It has information on recordkeeping, reporting and more.

# Bonding

A new IFTA licensee isn't normally required to post a bond. But we might require a bond if you don't file returns on time or pay fuel taxes on time, or if an audit discloses that you didn't follow other IFTA requirements.

# IRS Form 2290

For help completing Form 2290, *Heavy Highway Vehicle Use Tax Return*, call the Idaho Transportation Department at (208) 334-8611. For more information or to amend the return, call the IRS HVUT helpline at (866) 699-4096.

**See back page** for more information, including a list of important dates.

## **Need help?**

E-file Help Desk (TAP) — Help using TAP to file or pay efilehelp@tax.idaho.gov, (208) 334-7660 in the Boise area, or toll free at (800) 976-7660

**Taxpayer Services** — **Copies of forms, general information** taxrep@tax.idaho.gov, (208) 334-7660 in the Boise area, or toll free at (800) 976-7660

#### IFTA Help Desk — Licensing, renewals, decals, returns

IFTAhelpdesk@tax.idaho.gov, (208) 334-7806 in the Boise area, or toll free at (800) 976-7660 ext. 7806, or fax (208) 334-7650

DAHO State Tax Commission

Great people | Helping you | Serving Idaho

## Filing

- File on time. Late returns, late payments, or both are charged a minimum of \$50 penalty plus interest.
- File reports for free at tax.idaho.gov/gotoTAP. TAP calculates MPG and tax or credit due per jurisdiction. All you'll need to complete the return are summaries of miles traveled and gallons purchased by jurisdiction.
- Not e-filing? Use the form we mailed you. This form contains your personal scan line and bar code so we can process your return. Contact Taxpayer Services (see first page) for a replacement copy. **Don't** use the example Form 3150 from the website.
- Forms you create or use software to create must include all required information and be in the correct format. We might not be able to process returns with missing information or incorrect formatting. Contact substituteforms@tax.idaho.gov with questions about valid forms.
- You must send us a power-of-attorney form or already have one on file with us if you use a filing service, accountant, CPA or other representative. Visit **tax.idaho.gov** to get this form or for more information.
- Keep all documents supporting your return for **four** years.

# Reporting

- Record all miles traveled (including Oregon and nontaxable) and **all** fuel placed in a main supply of an IFTA-decaled truck.
- In Idaho, nontaxable miles include miles traveled under a temporary permit for fuels tax and off-highway miles. Highways include public roads the federal government or the state of Idaho and its political subdivisions maintain. Highways can be concrete, asphalt, gravel, composition, dirt, or other materials.
- Each jurisdiction with distance exemptions has its own definition of nontaxable miles. You must document nontaxable miles to claim them. Contact the jurisdictions where you have nontaxable miles to find out how to claim a refund of their tax. See **iftach.org** for exemption details.
- Use column 10 to report the total gallons purchased from each jurisdiction, according to your receipts. Enter only tax-paid gallons placed into the main supply tanks of your fleet.
- In general, on Form 3150: 3A [Total Miles Traveled] = the sum of Column 7 [Total Miles]

3B [Total Gallons Used] = the sum of Column 10 [Tax Paid Gallons]

**Important dates:** \*If the due date falls on a weekend or state holiday, the due date is extended to the following business day.

- Dec. 31\* IFTA renewal for the following year
- Jan. 31\* Annual filers: Form 3150 is due for the previous year
- Apr. 30\* Quarterly filers: 1st quarter (Jan. Mar.) Form 3150 is due
- Jul. 31\* Quarterly filers: 2nd quarter (Apr. Jun.) Form 3150 is due
- Oct. 31\* Quarterly filers: 3rd quarter (Jul. Sept.) Form 3150 is due
- Jan. 31\* Quarterly filers: 4th quarter (Oct. Dec.) Form 3150 is due

**Renewals**: We'll mail your Form 3105, *IFTA Renewal Form*, by October 15\*. If you don't receive it, call Taxpayer Services (see first page). **Renewals are due by December 31**\*. If you don't renew by then, you must apply for a new IFTA license and pay the \$10 processing fee.

**Quarterly and annual filing**: We'll mail Form 3150 (the IFTA tax return) 30 days before each filing due date. If you don't receive your return, call our Taxpayer Services (see first page). Your return must be postmarked by the due date. When filing online through TAP, you must submit your return by 11:59 p.m. Mountain Time on the due date.