IDAHO

State Tax Commission | Tobacco Tax Return

Form 1350 — Instructions

What’s New
As of July 1, 2023, Idaho Code section 63-2552 has
capped the tax on cigars at $.50 per cigar.

This results in the wholesale sales price (WSP)
for cigars being capped at $1.25 each. All cigars
should be reported with a WSP up to $1.25 per
individual cigar.

General Information

Complete this return if you're a tobacco products
distributor responsible for the tax imposed by ldaho
Code section 63-2552. The return is due on the
20th day of the month immediately following the tax
period.

If you’re required to file a monthly report with Idaho
to comply with the federal Prevent All Cigarette
Trafficking (PACT) Act, you must file your PACT Act
report by the 10th day of the month. Instead of filing
a PACT Act report on the 10th and your tax return
on the 20th, you can meet both filing requirements
by filing your tax return on the 10th.

However, you must include with your return
either an addendum or internal report that lists
the brand of cigarettes and smokeless tobacco
you’re selling. You still have the option of paying
any tax you owe on or before the 20th.

If you're a delivery seller, please include the name,

address, and phone number of your common carrier.

File a return even when you don’t owe tax.

Sign your return. Include the name of the person
signing, title, date and phone number.

Schedules. If you need schedules, visit our website
at tax.idaho.gov/tob.

Rounding Amounts. Round amounts to the
nearest whole dollar.

Check the box if you’'re:

* Amending a return. See the instructions for
amended returns.

» Changing your address. Strike through the old
address and write in the new one.

» Cancelling your tobacco tax permit. The permit
will be cancelled effective the last day of the
reporting period of the return.

Amended returns. Submit an amended return
using a copy of your original return. If you need a
copy of the original return, contact the Idaho State
Tax Commission. Complete the entire form using
the corrected amounts. Don’t enter the net change.

Specific Instructions

Report amounts on lines 1 through 8 at the wholesale
sales price (WSP) of the tobacco products. The WSP
is the established price a manufacturer or any person
charges a distributor for a tobacco product without
any discount or other reduction.

Cigars are capped at a WSP of $1.25 each. All cigars
should be reported with a WSP up to $1.25 per
individual cigar.

Check the box indicating whether or not you have any
taxable roll-your-own tobacco reported on line 1 from
nonparticipating manufacturers. If yes, complete the
additional Form TB 1301-NP.

Line 1. Complete Form TB 1350A and enter the
amount from line 36.

Line 2. In-state distributors: Complete Form TB
1350B and enter the amount from line 36.
Out-of-state distributors: enter zero.

Line 3. In-state distributors: Complete Form TB
1350C, Part | and enter the amount from line 13.
Out-of-state distributors: enter zero.

Line 4. Complete Form TB 1350C, Part |l and enter
the amount from line 13.

Line 5. Enter the total WSP of tobacco products
returned to the manufacturer for credit. You must
attach documentation. Include the returned goods
receipt and bill of lading or Form TB 403 with your
return. Form TB 403 must have prior approval from the
Tax Commission.

Line 6. If you entered tax-paid purchases on line 1
of the return, deduct the amount of those tax-paid
purchases on this line. Enter any other allowable
deductions not taken on lines 2 through 5 at WSP.
Include a detailed statement of explanation.

Line 7. Enter the total of lines 2 through 6.

Line 8. Subtract line 7 from line 1. If it's a negative
amount, put the amount in [brackets].

Line 9. Tax due or refund. Multiply line 8 by 40%.
If the amount reflects a refund, put the amount in
[brackets].
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JDAHO State Tax Commission

Form 1350 — Instructions  (continued)

Line 10. Adjustment from previous periods. Include

the letter you received from the Tax Commission that
advised you of this adjustment. If the amount is a
credit, put it in [brackets]. If you paid tax on tobacco
products sold on or after January 1, 2000, and later
wrote off the accounts as bad debts because they
were worthless, use line 10 to apply the bad debt
credit to this return or, if no tax is due, to be refunded.

Line 11. Subtract line 10 from line 9. If there is no
entry on line 10, enter the amount from line 9 on line
11. If the amount on line 11 is a negative amount, also
enter it on line 13b.

Line 12. Penalty. You must file and pay by the due
date listed on the tax return. If you file or pay late, the
following penalties apply:

If you file on time but your payment is late, the penalty
is 0.5% of the tax due (see line 11) for each late
month.

If you file late, the penalty is 5% of the tax due (see
line 11) for each late month.

If you file late and pay late, there is an additional late
penalty of 0.5% of the tax due (see line 11) for each
late month.

Note: No penalty is due if no tax is due. The
minimum penalty amount is $10, and the maximum
penalty is 25%. Even if your payment is one day late,
you still owe the entire monthly penalty. The penalty
begins the first day you’re late and continues until you
pay the tax or file the return.

Interest. Interest accrues on late payments from
the due date until paid. Rates are as follows:

01/01/2025 — 12/31/2025, 6% per year
01/01/2024 — 12/31/2024, 6% per year
01/01/2023 — 12/31/2023, 5% per year
01/01/2022 — 12/31/2022, 3% per year

Line 13a. Total due. Add lines 11 and 12. Include
payment for amount due.

Line 13b. Total refund. If there is a refund on
line 11, we’ll mail you a check.

Forms TB 1350A, TB 1350B and TB 1350C

Cigars are capped at a WSP of $1.25 each. All cigars
should be reported with a WSP up to $1.25 per
individual cigar.

Enter the lesser of the actual WSP or $1.25 per cigar
in column A.

Report total WSP of all tobacco products (except
cigars) in column B.

Form TB 1350A Purchases/Shipments into Idaho

In-state distributors: Enter the total dollar amount
of all purchases of tobacco products taxed and
untaxed.

Out-of-state distributors: enter the WSP of all
products shipped into Idaho.

For each purchase or shipment into ldaho, you must
enter: the date the tobacco product was actually
received into inventory or shipped into Idaho, the
invoice number, the invoice date, customer’s name
and address, and the WSP.

Use as many pages as you need to report all
purchases/shipments into Idaho. Carry the total
from the last page forward to Form 1350, line 1.

Form TB 1350B Out-Of-State Sales

Enter the total WSP of tobacco products shipped to
retailers outside of Idaho.

For each sales invoice: enter the invoice date,
invoice number, customer’s name, city and state,
and the WSP.

Use as many pages as you need to report all
sales. Carry the total from the last page forward to
Form 1350, line 2.

Form TB 1350C, Part |, Sales To Other Idaho
Distributors

Enter the total WSP of tobacco products sold to other
distributors within Idaho.

For each sales invoice: enter the invoice date, invoice
number, customer’s name, city and state, and the
WSP.

Use as many pages as you need to report all
sales. Carry the total from the last page forward to
Form 1350, line 3.

Form TB 1350C, Part Il, Sales To Exempt
Organizations

Enter the total WSP of tobacco products sold to
exempt organizations, such as federal military
commissaries and Indian tribes.

Complete this form the same way you’ve completed
previous forms.

Use as many pages as you need to report all exempt
sales. Carry the total from the last page forward to
Form 1350, line 4.
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Form 1350 — Instructions  (continued)

Payment Information

Pay electronically. You can pay electronically by
accessing tax.idaho.gov/epay. Use one of these
payment options:

Note: If you pay electronically and file a paper return,

ACH Debit
ACH Credit
Credit card
Debit card
E-check

note at the top of the return which option you used.

Payments $100,000 or more. Idaho law requires you
to use ACH Debit or ACH Credit.

Pay by check. Make your check or money order
payable to the Idaho State Tax Commission and
include the payment with your return.

Mail paper returns and payments to:
Idaho State Tax Commission
PO Box 76
Boise ID 83707-0076

Contact us:
In the Boise area: (208) 334-7660 | Toll free: (800) 972-7660
Hearing impaired (TDD) (800) 377-3529
tax.idaho.gov/contact
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