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State Tax Commission

Form 852 — Instructions
County Assessor Sales Tax Return

General Information

Returns are due by the 20th of the month
following the reporting period. Each return
shows the period covered and the due date.
File a return for each reporting period, even
when no tax is due.

Electronic filing. You can file your return,
make changes to your account, and cancel
your permit online at tax.idaho.gov/gototap.

Completion of Return

Prepare a separate return for each tax rate you
collect.

For example, the majority of the transactions
in a period were taxed at 6%. One transaction
was taxed at 2% because the applicant paid
tax at 4% to another state. You must prepare
two returns:

» Areturn for the transactions taxed at 6%.

* Areturn for the transactions at 2%. The
preparer should insert 2% for the tax rate
collected in bold print on the return.

Tax collected. Enter the amount of sales tax
you collected.

Reimbursable transactions. Enter the
number of reimbursable transactions. We'll
reimburse you $1 for processing each of the
following transactions:

» Application for certificate of title or initial
registration of a motor vehicle, trailer, or
other titled property

« Initial registration of an untitled boat, trailer,
or other untitled property required to be
registered

We don’t reimburse you if a retailer already
collected sales or use tax on the transaction.

Interest. Interest accrues on overdue tax from
the original due date of the return until you pay
the tax.

Rates are as follows:

01/01/2025 — 12/31/2025, 6% per year
01/01/2024 — 12/31/2024, 6% per year
01/01/2023 — 12/31/2023, 5% per year
01/01/2022 — 12/31/2022, 3% per year

Payments. We apply payments in this order:
1. Bad check fees
2. Interest
3. Tax
4. Penalty

Pay electronically. You can pay electronically
using one of these options:

» ACH debit
* ACH credit
* Credit card
* Debit card
* E-check

You can view payment options at
tax.idaho.gov/epay.

Note: If you pay electronically and file a paper
return, write a note at the top of the return which
electronic payment method you used.

Payments of $100,000 or more. Idaho

law requires you to use ACH debit or ACH
credit. To request our ACH Credit Addenda and
Bank Information form, email us at
eft@tax.idaho.gov.

Pay by check. Make your check or money order
payable to the ldaho State Tax Commission

and include it with your return. Put your account
number and filing period on the check memo line.

Mail paper returns and payments to:
Idaho State Tax Commission
PO Box 76
Boise ID 83707-0076

Contact us:
In the Boise area: (208) 334-7660 | Toll free: (800) 972-7660
Hearing impaired (TDD) (800) 377-3529
tax.idaho.gov/contact
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