BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO

In the Matter of the Protest of

Petitioner.

DOCKET NO. 1-567-024-128

DECISION

N’ N N N N N’

. - - - (Petitioner) protested the Notice of Deficiency

Determination (Notice) dated March 1, 2024, issued by the staff of the Sales, Use, and
Miscellaneous Tax Audit Bureau (Bureau) of the Idaho State Tax Commission (Tax Commission)
for the period of January 1, 2020 through December 31, 2022, (Audit Period). The Tax
Commission, having reviewed the matter, hereby upholds the Notice issued by the Bureau for the
reasons stated below.
BACKGROUND

Petitioner is headquartered in - Idaho, with an additional location in -
Idaho. They are retailers of farm equipment and parts, and they also provide equipment servicing
and repairs. The Bureau contacted Petitioner to conduct a comprehensive audit of Petitioner’s
business and compliance with Idaho’s sales and use tax laws. During the review, the Bureau
identified taxable sales without a valid exemption, and business purchases without documentation
to show sales tax was paid at the time of purchase. The Bureau issued a Notice, which Petitioner
protested, arguing they had documentation that would reduce the tax due shown in the Notice. The
Bureau acknowledged the protest and allowed Petitioner additional time to supply the

documentation. Petitioner did provide the Bureau with a small amount of documentation and the
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Bureau reduced the amount of use tax due by $646.00.!. Petitioner provided no further
documentation, and the matter was forwarded to the Tax Commission’s Appeals unit for
administrative review.

Appeals sent Petitioner a letter informing them of the options available for redetermining
a Notice. Petitioner’s attorney in fact (Representative) responded and scheduled an informal
hearing, which was held on October 15, 2024.

At the informal hearing, Representative again stated they had additional documentation
they would like to submit for the Tax Commission’s consideration. After some time, Petitioner
provided information that further reduced the amount of use tax due. The Notice was again
modified to reduce use tax by $8,176.00 and interest by $701.00. Petitioner continued their
objection to the modified Notice, still arguing they had more documentation that would further
reduce the additional tax proposed in the Notice. Petitioner has had ample opportunity to provide
documentation for consideration. Therefore, the Tax Commission decides this matter based on the
information presently available.

LAW AND ANALYSIS
All sales made in Idaho are presumed to be taxable unless an exemption applies. Idaho Code
section 63-3622(a) states:

(a) To prevent evasion of the sales and use tax, it shall be presumed that all sales

are subject to the taxes imposed by the provisions of this chapter and the retailer

shall have the burden of establishing the facts giving rise to such exemption unless

the purchaser delivers to the retailer, or has on file with the retailer, an exemption

certificate or resale certificate, in which case the purchaser shall bear the burden of
establishing the facts giving rise to the exemption.

! The Bureau also adjusted the amount of interest shown in the Notice with the decrease in use tax and further reduced
it due to HB 715 which passed in 2024, ceasing the accrual of interest during an audit.
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Idaho Sales and Use Tax Administrative Rule 128.02 states:

All sales made within Idaho are presumed to be taxable unless the seller obtains
from the buyer a properly executed resale or exemption certificate. If the seller does
not have an exemption certificate on file it will have the burden of proving that a
sale is not taxable. The seller may overcome the presumption by establishing the
facts giving rise to the exemption. If the seller obtains a valid certificate from the
buyer, the seller need not collect sales or use taxes unless the sale of the tangible
personal property or the transaction in question is taxable to the buyer as a matter
of law in the particular instance claimed on the certificate.

In the present matter, Petitioner’s records show numerous sales transactions where Petitioner did
not charge sales tax and did not have an exemption certificate on file. Petitioner claimed to have
exemption certificates that would reduce their sales tax liability, but they have yet to provide them
or any information to show the sales transactions in question are not taxable.

Idaho Code section 63-3621 imposes a use tax on all tangible property used, stored, or
otherwise consumed in Idaho unless an exemption applies. The use tax is complimentary to the
sales tax, which imposes tax on the retail sale of tangible personal property within Idaho. If the
seller of goods fails to, or cannot charge sales tax and no exemption applies, the buyer is obligated
to pay a use tax directly to the state.

Idaho Code 63-3621 states in part:

(1) An excise tax is hereby imposed on the storage, use, or other consumption in

this state of tangible personal property acquired on or after October 1, 2006, for

storage, use, or other consumption in this state at the rate of six percent (6%) of the

value of the property, and a recent sales price shall be presumptive evidence of the

value of the property unless the property is wireless telecommunications

equipment, in which case a recent sales price shall be conclusive evidence of the

value of the property.

(2) Every person storing, using, or otherwise consuming, in this state, tangible

personal property is liable for the tax. His liability is not extinguished until the tax

has been paid to this state, except that a receipt from a retailer maintaining a place

of business in this state or engaged in business in this state given to the purchaser

is sufficient to relieve the purchaser from further liability for the tax to which the

receipt refers. ..

The Bureau’s review of Petitioner’s purchases showed numerous transactions where
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Petitioner did not pay sales tax or accrue use tax. Again, Petitioner claims they had documentation,
invoices, and/or receipts, which would show sales tax was paid at the time of purchase or an
exemption applies. Petitioner provided some additional documentation that reduced the use tax
liability shown in the Notice, but did not provide documentation for every transaction in the audit
period.

It is well settled that a Notice of Deficiency Determination issued by the Tax Commission
is presumed to be accurate. Parsons v. Idaho State Tax Commission, 110 Idaho 572, 574-575 n.2,
716 P.2d 1344, 1346-1347 n.2 (Ct. App. 1986). The burden is on the taxpayer to show the
deficiency is erroneous. Albertsons, Inc. v. State, Dept. of Revenue, 106 Idaho 810, 814, 683 P.2d
846, 850 (1984). Petitioner has not met its burden. The Tax Commission finds that the Notice, as
modified, is a reasonably accurate representation of Petitioner’s sales and use tax liability for the
period January 1, 2020, through December 31, 2022.

THEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated March 1, 2024, as modified
by the Bureau, is FURTHER MODIFIED and MADE FINAL.

IT IS ORDERED that Petitioner pay the following tax, and interest:

TAX INTEREST TOTAL
$81,669 $8,865 $90,534

The Tax Commission DEMANDS immediate payment of this amount. Interest is
calculated in accordance with Idaho Code section 63-3045.
An explanation of Petitioner’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed.

DATED this day of 2025.

IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this day of 2025,
a copy of the within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States
mail, postage prepaid, in an envelope addressed to:

Receipt No.
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