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BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 

In the Matter of the Protest of 
 

 

 
Petitioners 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

 
DOCKET NO.  0-927-750-144 
 
 
DECISION 

On March 28, 2018, the Tax Discovery Bureau (Bureau) of the Idaho State Tax 

Commission (Commission) issued a Notice of Deficiency Determination (Notice) to  

 (Petitioner A) &  (Petitioner B), referred to collectively as Petitioners, 

proposing sales tax and interest for the period February 1, 2018, through February 28, 2018, in the 

total amount of $1,291. 

On May 2, 2018, Petitioners filed a timely appeal and petition for redetermination of the 

Notice.  The Commission sent Petitioners hearing rights letters dated September 10, 2018, and 

October 15, 2018.  On October 31, 2018, Petitioners advised the Commission they did not want a 

hearing. 

The Commission reviewed the audit file and upholds the Notice for the reasons that follow. 

Background and Audit Findings 

On February 14, 2018, Petitioners purchased a 2015  (Vehicle) from  

 (Dealership) in Idaho and did not pay sales tax.  At the time of sale, 

Petitioners submitted a sales tax exemption certificate (ST-104-MV) to the Dealership, claiming 

the nonresident sales tax exemption. 

The Dealership faxed the ST-104-MV to the Bureau, as required, for review.  Along with 

Petitioners’ ST-104-MV, the Dealership also faxed copies of the Vehicle purchase documents and 

Petitioners’ drivers’ licenses.  This documentation reflects that Petitioner A, an Idaho resident, was 

listed on all the purchase documents and the ST-104-MV.  Based on the documentation, the Bureau 
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determined a sales tax exemption does not apply to Petitioners’ Vehicle purchase and that sales 

tax is due. 

Petitioners’ Protest 

 Petitioners protest the Bureau’s sales tax assessment contending the dealership is 

responsible for the sales tax due.  Petitioners also contend that Petitioner A is exempt as a cosigner. 

Relevant Tax Code and Analysis 

Idaho sales tax is imposed on retail sales of tangible personal property and use tax is 

imposed on the storage, use, or consumption of tangible personal property, unless an exemption 

applies under sections 63-3619 and 3621, Idaho Code.  The term “use” includes the exercise of 

any right or power over tangible personal property incident to the ownership or the leasing of that 

property under section 63-3615(b), Idaho Code. 

No exemption applies to Petitioners concerning the Vehicle purchase.  An exemption does 

exist for Idaho nonresidents that use tax does not apply to a motor vehicle used in Idaho fewer 

than 90 days in any 12 month period, provided the motor vehicle is not required to be registered 

or licensed under Idaho law and is registered under the laws of the owner’s state of residence under 

section 63-3621(k), Idaho Code.  This exemption does not apply because Petitioner A is an Idaho 

resident. 

Petitioner A contends that a motor vehicle dealer is liable for taxes it fails to collect from 

its customers.  Petitioner A also references the Commission’s website which states, “Idaho law 

requires retailers who are doing business in Idaho to get a seller’s permit and collect sales tax on 

the sales of goods they ship or deliver to customers in Idaho.”  The Commission agrees that a 

dealership has a statutory requirement to collect and remit taxes, and is personally liable for the 

payment of taxes which it fails to collect and remit as prescribed in section 63-3627, Idaho Code. 

[Redacted]
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However, if the dealership fails to collect a tax for which there is no exemption, Petitioners 

are not then released from their obligation to pay the tax due.  The legal incidence of the tax is on 

the purchaser of the tangible personal property. See section 63-3619(b), Idaho Code.  Additionally, 

section 63-3624(h), Idaho Code, states: 

When the tax commission determines that a retail sale is not exempt 
and the purchaser has failed to voluntarily pay sales or use tax in 
regard to the property or services purchased, the tax commission 
may collect the sales tax which was due at the time of the sale or the 
use tax due at the time of storage, use or other consumption of the 
taxable goods or services by issuing to the purchaser a notice of 
deficiency determination, asserting tax together with interest, at the 
rate provided in section 63-3045, Idaho Code, and may assert 
penalties found elsewhere in this chapter. 

Thus, the Commission has the authority to seek payment of the tax due from Petitioners. 

Petitioner A also argues he is exempt as a cosigner, since Petitioner B, an Oregon resident, 

was the actual buyer.  However, this conclusion is incorrect.  Petitioner A, as a cosigner, is an 

obligated party under the Vehicle sales contract.  Further, the Vehicle title paperwork lists 

Petitioner A as the co-owner of the Vehicle. 

Lastly, Petitioner A claims the first line of the tax code online states, “Sales tax is due when 

you buy a motor vehicle to use in Idaho.”  The Commission is unable to locate any such citation 

in Idaho’s tax code.  However, IDAPA 35.01.02.106.01 clearly states in pertinent part, “the sale, 

lease, rental, or purchase of a motor vehicle is subject to sales and use tax,” unless an exemption 

applies.  Again, because an exemption does not apply to the Vehicle purchase, sales tax is due.  

Therefore, the Commission finds the Bureau properly assessed sales tax on the Vehicle purchase. 

Conclusion 

On appeal, a deficiency determination issued by the Commission “is presumed to be 

correct, and the burden is on the taxpayer to show that the Commission’s decision is erroneous.” 

See Parker v. Idaho State Tax Comm’n, 148 Idaho 842, 845, 230 P.3d 734, 737 (2010) (citing 

[Redacted]
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Albertson’s Inc. v. State Dep’t of Revenue, 106 Idaho 810, 814, 683 P.2d 846, 850 (1984)).  The 

Commission requires Petitioners to provide adequate evidence to establish that the amount asserted 

in the Notice is incorrect.  Here, Petitioners did not provide adequate evidence.  As a result, the 

Commission will uphold the Notice. 

Absent information to the contrary, the Commission finds the Notice prepared by the 

Bureau to be a reasonably accurate representation of Petitioners’ sales tax liability for the period 

February 1, 2018, through February 28, 2018. 

The Bureau added interest to the sales tax deficiency.  The Commission reviewed this 

addition, found it to be appropriate per section 63-3045, Idaho Code, and updated interest 

accordingly.  Interest is calculated through April 30, 2019 and will continue to accrue at the rate 

set forth in section 63-3045(6), Idaho Code, until paid. 

THEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated March 28, 2018, is hereby 

APPROVED, in accordance with the provisions of this decision, and is AFFIRMED and MADE 

FINAL. 

IT IS ORDERED that Petitioners pay the following tax and interest: 

TAX INTEREST TOTAL 
$1,279 $63 $1,342 

DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given. 

An explanation of the Petitioners’ right to appeal this decision is included with this 

decision. 

 DATED this _______ day of _____________________________, 2019. 

     IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 

     _______________________________ 
COMMISSIONER 

[Redacted]
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 
 I hereby certify that on this    day of       2019, 
a copy of the within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States 
mail, postage prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
 

 

 

Receipt No. 
 
 

 
 

[Redacted]

[Redacted]




