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DECISION 

 On November 13, 2015, the Idaho State Tax Commission (Commission) issued a Notice 

of Deficiency Determination (NODD) to  (taxpayer) reducing the amount 

of refund claimed for taxable year 2014 in the total amount of $378.52. 

The sole issue for this decision is whether the taxpayer is entitled to a dependency 

exemption deduction for his son, .  As part of his appeal, the taxpayer provided a copy of 

the Judgment and Decree for Child Support dated July 9, 2013, issued by the Sixth Judicial 

District Court of Idaho.  The document states that  shall be entitled to the dependency 

exemption for his son. 

The taxpayer did not respond to a letter outlining his alternatives for redetermining a 

protested NODD nor did he request a hearing.  The Commission, having reviewed the file, 

hereby issues its decision. 

Taxpayers may claim dependency exemption deductions for their dependents as defined 

in Internal Revenue Code (IRC) § 152.  Under IRC § 152(a), the term “dependent” means a 

qualifying child or qualifying relative.  A qualifying child is defined as an individual who        

(1) bears a certain relationship to the taxpayer, such as the taxpayer’s child, (2) has the same 

principal place of abode as the taxpayer for more than one-half of the taxable year, (3) meets 

certain age requirements, and (4) has not provided over one-half of the individual’s own support 

for the taxable year. IRC § 152(c)(1)-(3). 
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However, the dependency exemption, as a general rule, is limited under IRC § 152(e)(1) 

as follows:  if the child received over one-half of his support during the calendar year from his 

parents who live apart at all times during the last 6 months of the calendar year and the child is in 

the custody of one or both parents for more than one-half of the calendar year, then the child is 

treated as the qualifying child of the noncustodial parent if certain requirements are met.  The 

requirements are met if (1) the custodial parent signs a written declaration ( in such manner and 

form as the Secretary may prescribe) that the custodial parent will not claim the child as a 

dependent for the taxable year; and (2) the noncustodial parent attaches the written declaration to 

the noncustodial parent’s return for the taxable year. IRC § 152(e)(2). 

The term “custodial parent” is defined in IRC § 152(e)(4)(A) as the parent having 

custody for the greater portion of the calendar year.  In response to a request for information, the 

taxpayer stated he is not the primary custodial parent of the child. 

An exception to the above rule is provided in IRC § 152(e)(2) in that if the parent having 

custody elects to release his claim to exemption for the children in his custody for the year in 

question and supplies a written release to that effect, and if the noncustodial parent receiving the 

right to claim the dependency exemption attaches such waiver to the tax return, then the waiver 

will be honored and the noncustodial parent may claim the dependency exemption for the child. 

The Decree provides that the taxpayer is entitled to the dependency exemption for his 

son.  However, the mere fact that the State court granted the taxpayer the right to claim the 

dependency exemption deduction is immaterial because a state court cannot determine issues of 

Federal tax law. Id.  See Commissioner v. Tower, 327 U.S. 280 (1946); Kenfield v. United 

States, 783 F. 2 d 966 (10th Cir.1986); Nieto v. Commissioner, T.C. Memo.1992-296. 
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The taxpayer has not shown he is the custodial parent and does not have a signed release 

from the custodial parent.  Therefore, the taxpayer is not entitled to the dependency exemption. 

THEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated November 13, 2015, and 

directed to , is AFFIRMED and made final. 

The Notice of Deficiency Determination has been paid in full by the taxpayer therefore 

no demand for payment is made or necessary. 

 An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed. 

 DATED this    day of     2016. 

      IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 
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