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BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 

In the Matter of the Protest of 
 
[Redacted], 
 
                         Petitioner. 
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) 
) 
) 

  
DOCKET NO.  26155 
 
 
DECISION 

On September 14, 2012, the staff of the Sales, Use, and Miscellaneous Tax Audit Bureau 

(Bureau) of the Idaho State Tax Commission (Commission) issued a Notice of Deficiency 

Determination (Notice) to [Redacted] (Petitioner), proposing sales tax, use tax, penalty, and 

interest for the period January 1, 2006, through December 31, 2008, in the total amount of $3,194.    

On October 31, 2012, the Petitioner filed a timely appeal and petition for redetermination 

of the Notice.  At the Petitioner’s request, the Commission held an informal hearing on 

November 3, 2014.  Present at the informal hearing were Commissioner [Redacted], Deputy 

Attorney General [Redacted], and Tax Policy Specialist [Redacted]. 

The Commission, having reviewed the audit file and considered the information provided 

at the hearing and in the months following, hereby modifies the audit findings for the reasons 

detailed below. 

Background and Audit Findings 

The Petitioner is a [Redacted] based in [Redacted], Idaho that went out of business at the 

end of the audit period.   The Bureau conducted a routine comprehensive audit of the Petitioner’s 

business for the purpose of determining compliance with Idaho sales and use tax law.  The 

Bureau found errors in the sales tax reconciliation which revealed that not all sales tax collected 

from the Petitioner’s customers had been remitted to the state of Idaho.  The Bureau imposed a 

50 percent fraud penalty for the failure to remit the collected tax.   



DECISION - 2 
[Redacted] 

Relevant Tax Code for the Imposed Tax Liability 

In Idaho, the sale of tangible personal property is subject to tax unless an exemption 

applies (Idaho Code § 63-3619).  

A retailer has a responsibility to remit all sales tax collected to the state of Idaho.  IDAPA 

35.01.02.105 states that “[t]he sales or use tax collected by a retailer from a customer at the time 

of purchase becomes state money at that time. The collected amounts may not be put to any use 

other than that allowed by Chapter 36, Title 63, Idaho Code, and these rules.”  

Idaho Code § 63-3623A identifies all moneys collected by retailers in compliance with 

Chapter 36, Title 63, Idaho Code, as state money and goes on to state that “[s]uch money shall 

not, for any purpose, be considered to be a part of the proceeds of the sale to which the tax 

relates.” 

The failure to remit all taxes collected from customers may constitute fraud: 

Penalties and additions to the tax in case of deficiency. (a) If any part of any 
deficiency is due to negligence or disregard of rules but without intent to defraud, 
five percent (5%) of the total amount of the deficiency (in addition to such 
deficiency) shall be assessed, collected and paid in the same manner as if it were a 
deficiency. 
(b) If any part of any deficiency is due to fraud with intent to evade tax, then fifty 
percent (50%) of the total amount of the deficiency (in addition to such 
deficiency) shall be so assessed, collected and paid.  (Idaho Code § 63-3046) 

 
Furthermore, for sales tax collected and not remitted, there is no statute of limitations on 

the assessment or collection, 

The periods of limitation upon assessment and collection provided in this section 
shall not apply: 
(1)  In cases where the facts disclose a false or fraudulent act with the intent to 
evade tax, or 
(2)  To taxes collected by a retailer, seller or any other person who has failed to 
pay over such taxes to the state tax commission (Idaho Code § 63-3633(d)). 
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Analysis  

The Petitioner and the Bureau are in agreement regarding the modified audit findings and 

the Commission finds the deficiency prepared by the Bureau to be a reasonably accurate 

representation of the Petitioner’s sales and use tax liability for the period January 1, 2006, 

through December 31, 2008. 

The Bureau added a fraud penalty to the sales and use tax deficiency.  Idaho Code           

§ 63-3046(b) states that “if any part of any deficiency is due to fraud with intent to evade tax, 

then fifty percent (50%) of the total amount of the deficiency.” . . .  The Petitioner requested an 

abatement of the penalty to the deficiency.  The Petitioner states that any errors made were not 

an intentional or careless disregard for the tax rules and procedures. 

The Commission reviewed Petitioner’s penalty further and found that there is insufficient 

evidence to support the imposition of a fraud penalty.  The penalty has been adjusted to a 

negligence penalty to be consistent with this conclusion. The Commission’s imposition of a 

negligence penalty and interest are appropriate per Idaho Code §§ 63-3045 and 63-3046.  Interest 

is calculated through July 31, 2015, and will continue to accrue at the rate set forth in Idaho Code 

§ 63-3045(6) until paid. 

THEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated September 14, 2012, is 

hereby MODIFIED and APPROVED, in accordance with the provisions of this decision, and is 

AFFIRMED and MADE FINAL. 

IT IS ORDERED that the Petitioner pay the following tax, penalty, and interest:  

TAX PENALTY INTEREST TOTAL

$1,796 $90 $673 $2,559 
 
 DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given. 

 An explanation of the Petitioner’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed. 
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 DATED this    day of     2015. 

      IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
             
      COMMISSIONER 

 
 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 
 I hereby certify that on this    day of     2015, a copy of the 
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
 

[Redacted] Receipt No.  
 
 
 

 


