BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO

In the Matter of the Protest of
DOCKET NO. 31116
[Redacted],

Petitioner. DECISION

N N N N N N

On February 7, 2014, the Idaho State Tax Commission (Commission) issued a Notice of
Deficiency Determination (NODD) to [Redacted] (taxpayer) proposing additional tax, penalty,
and interest for taxable year 2012 in the total amount of $422.19.

The sole issue for this decision is whether the taxpayer is entitled to a dependency
exemption deduction for [Redacted], his child from a prior relationship. As part of his appeal,
the taxpayer provided an Order of Filiation and Judgment issued by the [Redacted] Judicial
District Court of Idaho on June 13, 1997. The document states that the taxpayer will receive the
tax exemption for the minor child.

The taxpayer responded by telephone to a letter outlining his alternatives for
redetermining a protested NODD but did not request a hearing. The facts of the case and the
applicable law pertaining to dependency deductions were discussed with the taxpayer in the brief
telephone call. The taxpayer requested additional time in which to contact [Redacted] other
parent and possibly obtain a signed Form 8332. A follow-up letter was sent to the taxpayer but
no response was received, and to date, no additional documentation has been submitted for the
Commission’s consideration. Therefore, the Commission, having reviewed the file, hereby
issues its decision.

Deductions are a matter of legislative grace and taxpayers bear the burden of proving that

they are entitled to the deductions claimed. INDOPCO, Inc. v. Commissioner, 503 U.S. 79, 84,
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112 S. Ct. 1039, 117 L.Ed.2d 226 (1992); New Colonial Ice Co. v. Helvering, 292 U.S. 435, 440,

54 S. Ct. 788, 78 L.Ed. 1348 (1934). Internal Revenue Code (IRC) section 151(c) allows a
taxpayer a deduction of the exemption amount for each dependent as defined in IRC section 152.
IRC section 152(a) defines a dependent as either a “qualifying child” or a “qualifying
relative.” A qualifying child is an individual who 1) bears a certain relationship to the taxpayer,
2) has the same principal place of abode as the taxpayer for more than one-half of the taxable
year, 3) meets certain age requirements, 4) has not provided over one-half of the individual’s
own support for the taxable year, and 5) has not filed a joint return with the individual’s spouse
for the taxable year. IRC section 152(c)(1).
A qualifying relative is an individual 1) who bears a certain relationship to the taxpayer,
2) whose gross income for the taxable year is less than the exemption amount, 3) with respect to
whom the taxpayer provides over one-half of the individual’s support for the taxable year, and 4)
who is not a qualifying child of the taxpayer or of any other taxpayer for the taxable year. IRC
section 152(d)(1).
IRC section 152(e) provides a special rule for parents who are divorced or who do not
live together. It states in pertinent part:
(1) In general.
Notwithstanding subsection (c)(1)(B), (c)(4), or (d)(1)(C), if-
(A) a child receives over one-half of the child's support during the calendar year
from the child's parents—
(i) who are divorced or legally separated under a decree of divorce or
separate maintenance,
(if) who are separated under a written separation agreement, or
(iii) who live apart at all times during the last 6 months of the calendar year,
and—
(B) such child is in the custody of 1 or both of the child's parents for more than
one-half of the calendar year, such child shall be treated as being the qualifying

child or qualifying relative of the noncustodial parent for a calendar year if the
requirements described in paragraph (2) or (3) are met.
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(2) Exception where custodial parent releases claim to exemption for the year.
For purposes of paragraph (1), the requirements described in this paragraph are
met with respect to any calendar year if—

(A) the custodial parent signs a written declaration (in such manner and form as
the Secretary may by regulations prescribe) that such custodial parent will not
claim such child as a dependent for any taxable year beginning in such calendar
year, and

(B) the noncustodial parent attaches such written declaration to the noncustodial
parent's return for the taxable year beginning during such calendar year.

IRC section 152(e)(2) clearly requires that the custodial parent sign a written declaration
releasing the dependency exemption in order for the noncustodial parent to claim the child’s
dependency exemption.

The control over a child’s dependency exemption conferred on the custodial
parent by section 152(e)(2) was intended by Congress to simplify the process of
determining who is entitled to claim dependency exemptions for children of a
marriage. See H. Rept. 98-432 (Part 2), at 1498 (1984). To make section 152(e)(2)
work as intended, that control must be preserved by insisting on adherence to the
requirements of section 152(e)(2). Simply attaching a State court order that is not
signed by the custodial parent to the return of the noncustodial parent does not
satisfy the express statutory requirements of section 152(e)(2)(A). Miller v. CIR,
114 T.C. 184, (2000).

The taxpayer’s argument centers on the court document that awarded him the dependent
exemption for [Redacted]. In essence, the taxpayer is claiming the court document is an
equivalent document to federal Form 8332 releasing the dependent exemption to him.

Treasury Regulation section 1.152-4(e) states what is necessary in the written declaration

of the custodial parent to release the dependent exemption to the noncustodial parent. It states,

(1) Form of declaration.

(i) In general. The written declaration under paragraph (b)(3)(i) of this section
must be an unconditional release of the custodial parent's claim to the child as a
dependent for the year or years for which the declaration is effective. A
declaration is not unconditional if the custodial parent's release of the right to
claim the child as a dependent requires the satisfaction of any condition, including
the noncustodial parent's meeting of an obligation such as the payment of support.
A written declaration must name the noncustodial parent to whom the exemption
is released. A written declaration must specify the year or years for which it is
effective. A written declaration that specifies all future years is treated as
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specifying the first taxable year after the taxable year of execution and all
subsequent taxable years.

(if) Form designated by IRS. A written declaration may be made on Form 8332,
Release/Revocation of Release of Claim to Exemption for Child by Custodial
Parent, or successor form designated by the IRS. A written declaration not on the
form designated by the IRS must conform to the substance of that form and must
be a document executed for the sole purpose of serving as a written declaration
under this section. A court order or decree or a separation agreement may not
serve as a written declaration. (Underlining added.)

The taxpayer provided a copy of his 1997 Order of Filiation and Judgment that states he
is entitled to the dependent exemption for his minor child. However, this is where the
conformity to Form 8332 ends. The Order does not specify the year or years, it does not state the
custodial parent will not claim the dependent exemption, and the custodial parent is not properly
identified nor did she sign the document. Consequently, the Order is not acceptable a release of
the dependent exemption. Because the taxpayer has not provided a valid release of the
dependent exemption from the custodial parent, the determination of whether the taxpayer can
claim [Redacted] as a dependent reverts to IRC section 152(a).

Since a dependent is either a qualifying child or a qualifying relative, the taxpayer must
show that [Redacted] was one or the other. The taxpayer did not respond to a questionnaire that
asked how many days [Redacted] lived with him during taxable year 2012. He has provided no
documentation for consideration other than the Order and a statement from his tax preparer, none
of which state [Redacted] spent any days with the taxpayer in taxable year 2012. This being the
case, [Redacted] would not be the taxpayer’s qualifying child because his principal place of
abode was not with the taxpayer. And, since [Redacted] did not live with the taxpayer, the

presumption is that he lived with his mother and was a qualifying child for his mother. As a
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result, [Redacted] cannot be a qualifying relative for the taxpayer (IRC section 152(d)(1)(D)).

[Redacted] does not meet the requirements of a dependent for the taxpayer for taxable year 2012.

Because [Redacted] did not meet the requirements for either a qualifying child or a

qualifying relative as defined in IRC section 152, and since the taxpayer does not have a signed

release from the custodial parent, the Commission finds that the taxpayer is not entitled to the

dependent exemption deduction for [Redacted] for taxable year 2012. And, because the taxpayer

is not entitled to the dependent exemption, the taxpayer cannot claim the additional grocery

credit for [Redacted] per Idaho Code section 63-3024A.

THEREFORE, the NODD directed to [Redacted] dated February 7, 2014,
AFFIRMED.

IT IS ORDERED that the taxpayer pay the following tax, penalty, and interest:

YEAR TAX PENALTY INTEREST CREDITS TOTAL
2011 $999 $61.08 $20 $(648) $432.08

Interest is calculated through October 31, 2014.

DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given.

An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed.

DATED this day of 2014.

IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION

is

COMMISSIONER
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this day of 2014, a copy of the
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to:

[Redacted] Receipt No.
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