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BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 

In the Matter of the Protest of 
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                         Petitioner. 
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DOCKET NO.  26144 
 
 
DECISION 

On August 27, 2013, the staff of the Tax Discovery Bureau (Bureau) of the Idaho State 

Tax Commission (Commission) issued two Notices of Deficiency Determination (NODDs) to 

[Redacted] (Taxpayer).  The first NODD proposed additional sales tax, penalty, and interest for 

the period May 1, 2010, through May 31, 2013, in the total amount of $1,942.  The second NODD 

proposed [Redacted] tax, penalty, and interest for the period May 1, 2010, through April 30, 2013, 

in the total amount of $12,948.    

On December 11, 2013, the Taxpayer filed a timely appeal and petition for 

redetermination of the NODD’s.  At the Taxpayer’s request, the Commission held an informal 

hearing on March 20, 2014.  Present at the hearing were Commissioner [Redacted], Deputy 

Attorney General [Redacted], and Tax Policy Specialist [Redacted].  During the informal 

hearing, the Taxpayer did not provide any specific legal or factual reasons as to why the 

NODD’s were incorrect. 

The Commission is fully advised of the contents of the audit file, as well as information 

obtained at the hearing and thereafter, and hereby issues its decision upholding the audit findings. 

Background 

The Taxpayer is a [Redacted] located in [Redacted], and is permitted to distribute 

[Redacted] in the state of Idaho.  The Bureau conducted a routine audit of the Taxpayer’s business 

to review sales and tobacco products tax law compliance.   After its review, the Bureau determined 
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that there were errors in sales.  The errors for each tax type are addressed separately in the 

following analysis. 

Sales Tax 

The Bureau completed a detailed examination of the Taxpayer’s sales during the audit 

period and found that the Taxpayer had not collected sales tax on many sales made to Idaho 

customers for which no exemption applied.  These untaxed sales were held taxable. 

The Taxpayer protested the Bureau’s findings, but did not provide, in the protest or the 

subsequent hearing, any specific legal or factual reasons as to why the sales tax NODD was 

incorrect.  After the hearing, the Taxpayer raised the argument it does not have nexus              

(i.e. a physical presence) in the state of Idaho and, therefore, has no responsibility to remit sales 

tax that it did not collect.   

Idaho Code § 63-3622 states that all sales in Idaho are presumed to be subject to sales tax 

and the burden of justifying a nontaxed sale lies with the retailer.   

A retailer doing business in Idaho must apply for an Idaho seller’s permit and collect 

Idaho sales tax on goods shipped or delivered to customers in Idaho.  Idaho Code § 63-3620(c) 

provides that “the person signing the application (for a permit) shall certify that the applicant will 

actively engage in or conduct a business making sales subject to tax under this chapter.”   

The Taxpayer applied for a sellers permit in October 2004. The Taxpayer, by signing a 

permit application, certified that it was a retailer doing business in Idaho and, as such, was 

required to and did, in fact, collect Idaho sales tax on goods shipped or delivered to customers in 

Idaho as specified in Idaho Code § 63-3619.  

The Taxpayer has filed monthly sales and use tax returns documenting Idaho sales ever 

since the issuance of that permit.  Idaho Code § 63-3623(e) states that “for the purposes of the 
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sales tax, the return shall show the total sales at retail subject to tax under this act during the 

reporting period. For the purposes of the use tax, in case of a return filed by a retailer, the return 

shall show the total sales price of the property sold by him, the storage, use, or consumption of 

which property became subject to the use tax during the reporting period; in the case of a return 

filed by a purchaser, the return shall show the total sales price of the property purchased by him, 

the storage, use, or consumption of which became subject to the use tax during the reporting 

period.” 

Idaho Code § 63-3620A(1) provides that “A permit shall be held only by persons actively 

engaged in making sales subject to tax under this chapter.  Any person not so engaged shall 

forthwith surrender his permit to the state tax commission for cancellation.”  In the event that the 

taxpayer is no longer engaged in making sales subject to tax under this chapter, it will be 

expected to surrender its permit to the state tax commission for cancellation.  In the event that the 

taxpayer does surrender his permit to the state tax commission for cancellation, this action does 

not alleviate the taxpayer’s responsibility to collect Idaho sales tax on goods shipped or delivered 

to customers in Idaho during the time period that it certified that it was a retailer doing business 

in Idaho. 

The Taxpayer did not provide evidence adequate to establish that the amount asserted in 

the sales tax NODD is incorrect.  As a result, the Commission will uphold the NODD         

related to sales tax. A determination of the Commission is presumed to be correct                     

(Albertson’s, Inc. v. State, Dept. of Revenue, 106 Idaho 810, 814, 683 P.2d 846, 850 1984) and 

the burden is on the Taxpayer to show that the deficiency is erroneous                        

(Parsons v. Idaho State Tax Commission, 110 Idaho 572, 574-575 n.2 Ct. App. 1986.) 
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Absent information to the contrary, the Commission finds the deficiency prepared by the 

Bureau to be a reasonably accurate representation of the Taxpayer’s sales tax liability for the 

period May 1, 2010, through May 31, 2013. 

The Bureau added interest and penalty to the sales and use tax deficiency.  The 

Commission reviewed those additions, found both to be appropriate per Idaho Code §§ 63-3045 

and 63-3046, and updated interest accordingly.  Interest is calculated through March 31, 2015, 

and will continue to accrue at the rate set forth in Idaho Code § 63-3045(6) until paid. 

[Redacted]Tax 

Idaho imposes a combined forty percent tax on all sales, use, consumption, handling, or 

distribution of [Redacted] products in the state of Idaho:   

Idaho Code § 63-2552.TAX IMPOSED -- RATE. (1) From and after July 1, 1972, 
there is levied and there shall be collected a tax upon the sale, use, consumption, 
handling, or distribution of all tobacco products in this state at the rate of thirty-
five per cent (35%) of the wholesale sales price of such tobacco products. Such 
tax shall be imposed at the time the distributor (a) brings, or causes to be brought, 
into this state from without the state tobacco products for sale, (b) makes, 
manufactures, or fabricates tobacco products in this state for sale in this state, or 
(c) ships or transports tobacco products to retailers in this state, to be sold by 
those retailers. . . .  
 
Idaho Code § 63-2552A.ADDITIONAL TAX IMPOSED -- RATE. (1) In 
addition to the tax imposed in section 63-2552, Idaho Code, from and after July 1, 
1994, there is levied and there shall be collected an additional tax upon the sale, 
use, consumption, handling, or distribution of all tobacco products in this state at 
the rate of five percent (5%) of the wholesale sales price of such tobacco 
products. Such tax shall be imposed at the time the distributor: 
   (a)  Brings, or causes to be brought, into this state from without the state 
tobacco products for sale; 
   (b)  Makes, manufactures, or fabricates tobacco products in this state for sale in 
this state; or 
   (c)  Ships or transports tobacco products to retailers in this state to be sold by 
those retailers.  
 
Idaho Code § 63-2551(7) defines “wholesale sales price” as “the established price for 

which a manufacturer or any person sells a tobacco product to a distributor that is not a related 
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person as defined in section 267 of the Internal Revenue Code, exclusive of any discount or other 

reduction.”  

Idaho Code § 63-2551(3) defines “distributor” as “a) any person engaged in the business 

of selling tobacco products in this state who brings, or causes to be brought, into this state from 

without the state any tobacco products for sale, b) any person who makes, manufactures, or 

fabricates tobacco products in this state for sale in this state, [or] c) any person engaged in the 

business of selling tobacco products…to retailers in this state, to be sold by those retailers.” 

Both the Bureau and the Taxpayer agree that the Taxpayer is a distributor as defined in 

Idaho Code § 63-2551(3).  They also agree that the Taxpayer’s sale of [Redacted]products to 

Idaho distributers, retailers, or the end users, is subject to the forty percent tax on the wholesale 

sales price of the [Redacted] product.  Where the Bureau and the Taxpayer are not in agreement 

is the determination of the wholesale sales price of that [Redacted] product.   

The Taxpayer purchases [Redacted] exclusively from a company called [Redacted] which 

has been identified by the Bureau as a related entity to the Taxpayer.  As a result, the Bureau 

held that the wholesale sales price subject to the [Redacted] product tax is the amount for which 

the [Redacted] product is sold to an unrelated Idaho distributer, retailer or end user, rather than 

the amount listed on the invoice between the related manufacturer and Taxpayer.   

The Taxpayer disagrees with the Bureau’s findings and argues that it is correct in 

determining the wholesale sales price to be the amount for which [Redacted] sells the [Redacted] 

product to the Taxpayer, rather than the amount that the Taxpayer sells it to the Idaho distributer, 

retailer, or end user.  The Taxpayer maintains that the price it pays for the [Redacted] product 

purchased from [Redacted] is a fair price, covers all costs, and includes a profit for the 

manufacturer.   Idaho Statute does not stipulate that if the price between the related entities 
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seems to be fair, then it is acceptable.  The statute states that the wholesale sales price is the 

amount for which the [Redacted] product is sold to an unrelated Idaho distributer.    

The Taxpayer has stated on more than one occasion that it chooses not to challenge the 

related party determination made by the Bureau; however, the Taxpayer indicated that it may 

reconsider that argument at a future date.  The Taxpayer concedes that, in spite of its 

disagreement with the Bureau’s findings, it is now remitting [Redacted] products tax on the 

amount for which it sells the [Redacted] product to the Idaho distributer, retailer, or end user in 

order to operate in line with Idaho code.   

The Taxpayer chose not to provide a legal argument to dispute the Bureau’s 

determination that the Taxpayer and [Redacted] were related parties.  As a result, the 

Commission will uphold the NODD related to [Redacted] product tax.  A determination of the 

Commission is presumed to be correct (Albertson’s, Inc. v. State, Dept. of Revenue, 106 Idaho 

810, 814, 683 P.2d 846, 850 1984) and the burden is on the Taxpayer to show that the deficiency 

is erroneous (Parsons v. Idaho State Tax Commission, 110 Idaho 572, 574-575 n.2 Ct. App. 

1986.) 

Absent information to the contrary, the Commission finds the deficiency prepared by the 

Bureau to be a reasonably accurate representation of the Taxpayer’s [Redacted] product tax 

liability for the period May 1, 2010, through April 30, 2013. 

The Bureau added interest and penalty to the [Redacted] product tax deficiency.  The 

Commission reviewed those additions, found both to be appropriate per Idaho Code §§ 63-3045 

and 63-3046, and has updated interest accordingly. Interest is calculated through                 

March 31, 2015, and will continue to accrue at the rate set forth in Idaho Code § 63-3045(6) until 

paid. 
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THEREFORE, the Notices of Deficiency Determination dated August 27, 2013, are 

hereby APPROVED, in accordance with the provisions of this decision, and are AFFIRMED and 

MADE FINAL. 

IT IS ORDERED that the Taxpayer pay the following tax, penalty, and interest:  

TYPE TAX PENALTY INTEREST TOTAL

Sales Tax $  1,473 $   372 $   176 $  2,021 
[Redacted] Product 
Tax 

  11,119   1,114   1,315   13,548 

Total $12,592 $1,486 $1,491 $15,569 

  
 DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given. 

 An explanation of the Taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed. 

 DATED this    day of     2014. 

      IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
             
      COMMISSIONER 

 
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

 
 I hereby certify that on this    day of     2014, a copy of the 
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
 

[Redacted] Receipt No.  
 
 
 

 


