BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO

In the Matter of the Protest of
DOCKET NO. 25803
[Redacted],

Petitioner. DECISION

N N N N N N

On June 27, 2013, the Idaho State Tax Commission (Commission) issued a Notice of
Deficiency Determination (NODD) to [Redacted] (taxpayer) proposing tax, penalty, and interest
for taxable years 2009 and 2010, in the total amount of $980.80

The sole issue for this decision is whether the taxpayer is entitled to a dependency
exemption deduction for his daughter, [Redacted]. As part of his appeal, the taxpayer provided a
copy of page two of an Order Modifying Child Support and a copy of page three of his Decree of
Divorce. The Order states that a dependency exemption for [Redacted] will be assigned to the
taxpayer pursuant to the Idaho Child Support Guidelines.

The taxpayer did not respond to a letter outlining his alternatives for redetermining a
protested NODD, nor did he request a hearing. The Commission, having reviewed the file,
hereby issues its decision.

Taxpayers may claim dependency exemption deductions for their dependents as defined
in Internal Revenue Code (IRC) § 152. Under IRC § 152(a), the term “dependent” means a
qualifying child or qualifying relative. A qualifying child is defined as an individual who (1)
bears a certain relationship to the taxpayer, such as the taxpayer’s child, (2) has the same
principal place of abode as the taxpayer for more than one-half of the taxable year, (3) meets
certain age requirements, and (4) has not provided over one-half of the individual’s own support

for the taxable year. IRC § 152(c)(1)-(3).
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However, the dependency exemption, as a general rule, is limited under IRC § 152(e)(1)
as follows: if the child received over one-half of his support during the calendar year from his
parents who live apart at all times during the last 6 months of the calendar year and the child is in
the custody of one or both parents for more than one-half of the calendar year, then the child is
treated as the qualifying child of the noncustodial parent if certain requirements are met. The
requirements are met if (1) the custodial parent signs a written declaration ( in such manner and
form as the Secretary may prescribe) that the custodial parent will not claim the child as a
dependent for the taxable year; and (2) the noncustodial parent attaches the written declaration to
the noncustodial parent’s return for the taxable year. IRC 8§ 152(e)(2).

The term *“custodial parent” is defined in IRC § 152(e)(4)(A) as the parent having
custody for the greater portion of the calendar year. The page of the Decree provided states that
primary physical custody of [Redacted] will be with her mother. In addition, in response to a
request for information, when asked how many days [Redacted] lived with him during taxable
years 2009 and 2010, the taxpayer responded, zero. When asked if he was the custodial parent,
the taxpayer responded, no.

An exception to the above rule is provided in IRC section 152(e)(2) in that if the parent
having custody elects to release his claim to exemption for the children in his custody for the
year in question and supplies a written release to that effect, and if the noncustodial parent
receiving the right to claim the dependency exemption attaches such waiver to the tax return,
then the waiver will be honored and the noncustodial parent may claim the dependency
exemption for the child.

The Order provides that the taxpayer is entitled to the dependency exemption for

[Redacted]. However, the mere fact that the State court granted the taxpayer the right to claim
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the dependency exemption deduction is immaterial because a state court cannot determine issues

of Federal tax law. 1d. See Commissioner v. Tower, 327 U.S. 280 (1946); Kenfield v. United

States, 783 F.2d 966 (10th Cir.1986); Nieto v. Commissioner, T.C. Memo0.1992-296.

For taxable years 2009 and 2010, the taxpayer is not the custodial parent of [Redacted]
and he does not have a signed release from the custodial parent. Therefore, the taxpayer is not
entitled to the dependency exemption for those years.

THEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated June 27, 2013 and directed
to [Redacted], is AFFIRMED and made final.

IT IS ORDERED that the taxpayer pay the following amount of tax, penalty, and interest:

YEAR TAX PENALTY INTEREST TOTAL
2009 $392 $98.00 $57 $547.00
2010 327 81.75 32 440.75

TOTAL DUE $987.75

Interest is calculated through December 30, 2013.
DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given.
An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed.

DATED this day of 2013.

IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION

COMMISSIONER
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this day of 2013, a copy of the
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to:

[Redacted] Receipt No.
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