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                         Petitioner. 
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DECISION 

On March 1, 2013, the Revenue Operations Division of the Idaho State Tax Commission 

(Commission) denied a request [Redacted] (taxpayer) for a refund of Idaho individual income 

tax in the amount of $1,092 for the period ending December 31, 2008. The taxpayer filed a 

timely protest and petition for redetermination of the refund denial.  The Commission has 

reviewed the file, is advised of its contents, and hereby issues its decision. 

On November 13, 2012, the Commission received for processing the taxpayer’s Idaho 

individual income tax return for taxable year 2008. Because the time for claiming the refund 

shown in the return had expired, a letter was mailed to the taxpayer advising her of the 

Commission’s intent to deny the refund.  The taxpayer objected, and a Notice of Deficiency 

Determination was issued, wherein the taxpayer was advised the refund was denied and she had 

a right to appeal the determination. 

 Idaho Code § 63-3072(c) defines the time allowed to claim refunds:  
 
 Credits and refunds. . . . 

(c)  Except as provided in subsection (e) of section 63-3035, Idaho Code, a 
claim for credit or refund of tax, penalties, or interest paid shall be made within 
the later of three (3) years of the due date of the return, without regard to 
extensions, or three (3) years from the date the return was filed. However, with 
regard to remittances received with an extension of time to file, or a tentative 
return, a claim for credit or refund of such remittances shall be made within three 
(3) years from the due date of the return without regard to extensions.  (Emphasis 
added.) 
 
Idaho Code § 63-3035(c) provides: 
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(e)  Amounts deducted from wages of an employee during any calendar 
year in accordance with the provisions of this section shall be considered to be in 
part payment of the tax imposed on such employee for his tax year which begins 
within such calendar year and the return made by the employer under this 
subsection (e) shall be accepted by the state tax commission as evidence in favor 
of the employee of the amount so deducted from his wages. Where the total 
amount so deducted exceeds the amount of tax on the employee, based on his 
Idaho taxable income, or where his income is not taxable under this chapter, the 
state tax commission shall, after examining the annual return filed by the 
employee in accordance with this chapter, but not later than sixty (60) days after 
the filing of each return, refund the amount of the excess deducted. No credit or 
refund shall be made to an employee who fails to file his return, as required under 
this chapter, within three (3) years from the due date of the return, without regard 
to extensions, in respect of which the tax withheld might have been credited. In 
the event that the excess tax deducted is less than one dollar ($1.00), no refund 
shall be made unless specifically requested by the taxpayer at the time such return 
is filed.  (Emphasis added.) 

 

The period of limitation with respect to claiming a refund or credit of taxes shown in the 

Idaho income tax return for taxable year 2008, expired on April 15, 2012. The Commission did 

not receive the taxpayer’s return for taxable year 2008 until November 13, 2012.   

 Idaho Code §§ 63-3072 and 63-3035 are clear and unequivocal. The language in these 

sections “shall be made. . .” is not discretionary, but rather, is mandatory.  The Commission finds 

Idaho Code § 63-3072(c), cited above, is controlling with respect to the taxpayer’s refund or 

credit claim for taxable year 2008.  No credit or refund can be given.  

 THEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination directed to [Redacted] dated 

March 1, 2013, that denies the taxpayer a refund, is APPROVED and MADE FINAL. 

 An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed. 

 DATED this    day of     2013. 

      IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
             
      COMMISSIONER 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

 
 I hereby certify that on this    day of     2013, a copy of the 
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
 

[Redacted] Receipt No.  
 
 
 

 


