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DECISION 

On March 15, 2012, the staff of the Tax Discovery Bureau (Bureau) of the Idaho State 

Tax Commission (Commission) issued a Notice of Deficiency Determination (Notice) to 

[Redacted] (taxpayer) proposing use tax, penalty, and interest for a transaction that occurred in 

September 2007, in the total amount of $8,942.    

On April 5, 2012, the taxpayer filed a timely appeal and petition for redetermination.  The 

Commission sent a standard hearing rights letter to the taxpayer on October 3, 2012, and, as of 

the date of this decision, the taxpayer has not replied.  For the reasons that follow, the 

Commission upholds the audit findings. 

Background 

According to the auditor, [Redacted] bought a vessel on September 28, 2007, under his 

assumed business name, [Redacted].  As a retailer with the intent to resell goods, the taxpayer 

did not pay a tax either to the seller or to the county assessor when he titled the vessel under the 

assumed name.  On January 12, 2009, a boat registration was sold to [Redacted] for the vessel at 

issue.  On January 15, 2011, [Redacted]titled the vessel in his personal name and provided 

information (using the Idaho Transportation Department’s Form 502, Report of Sale and 

Application for Certificate of Title) indicating tax paid on the vessel, which he valued as 

$10,000. 
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On July 29, 2011, the Bureau sent a letter to the taxpayer questioning the value he 

assigned to the vessel when applying for a title in his own name.  The Bureau requested either 

justification of the assigned value or tax on the fair market value of the vessel.  While the 

taxpayer responded on August 3, 2011, that he would obtain an appraisal, the Bureau received no 

further information, so it issued a Notice for a presumed value, giving credit for $10,000 in 

taxable value. 

Subsequently, several additional facts came to light.  The Bureau learned that the vessel 

included not only the hull, as was previously thought, but twin engines as well.  Coincidentally, 

while searching the Internet for “like-kind” sales offerings in an effort to establish a fair market 

price, the Bureau found the vessel at issue being offered for sale.  As a consequence, the Bureau 

revised upward the value subject to tax, again giving credit for tax previously paid on $10,000. 

There were additional developments in this case, wherein the taxpayer told the Bureau 

that the transfer of title from the assumed name to the personal name was in error, followed by 

the taxpayer changing the title, this time to another but seemingly unrelated business entity.  The 

taxpayer withdrew his earlier attestation of tax paid on the $10,000 value he assigned.  This 

prompted the Bureau to increase the liability by the same amount. 

The full details of additional findings are omitted here, but one finding of particular note 

is worthy of mention.  The Commission learned that the [Redacted] made an $85,000 secured 

loan to the married couple named in this decision in April 2008.  The loan was secured by the 

vessel at issue, a trailer, and the two engines mentioned previously. 

Tax Law, Analysis and Conclusion 

In Idaho, the sale, purchase, and use of tangible personal property is subject to tax unless 

an exemption applies. If sales tax cannot or is not paid to the vendor, the buyer owes a use tax to 
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the state.  Payment of use tax extinguishes the sales tax obligation (Idaho Code §§ 63-3612 and 

63-3621).  An exemption from tax is available for retailers who buy resale inventory (Idaho 

Code § 63-3609). However,  

If a purchaser who gives a resale certificate makes any storage or use of the 
property other than retention, demonstration or display while holding it for sale in 
the regular course of business, the storage or use is taxable as of the time the 
property is first so stored or used (Idaho Code § 63-3621(f)). 

 
Based on the preceding evidence obtained by the Bureau, both the Bureau and the 

Commission have reasonable cause to conclude that while the taxpayer may have purchased the 

vessel and its accessories with the intent to resell them, it was subsequently converted to personal 

use, as evidenced by its registration and payment of tax on a $10,000 value.  Additional 

assertions by the taxpayer that he committed unintentional errors, and his final change of the 

vessel’s title to another business create an inconsistency that the Commission will not ignore. 

Nevertheless, the Commission would have preferred to discuss this case with the 

taxpayer, but the offer of a statutorily available hearing was ignored. 

The Taxpayer did not provide evidence adequate to establish that the amount asserted in 

the Notice of Deficiency Determination is incorrect.  As a result, the Commission will uphold the 

Notice.  A determination of the State Tax Commission is presumed to be correct (Albertson's, 

Inc. v. State, Dept. of Revenue, 106 Idaho 810, 814, 683 P.2d 846, 850 1984) and the burden is 

on the taxpayer to show that the deficiency is erroneous (Parsons v. Idaho State Tax 

Commission, 110 Idaho 572, 574-575 n.2 Ct. App. 1986.) 

Absent information to the contrary, the Commission finds the deficiency prepared by the 

Bureau to be an accurate representation of the taxpayer’s sales and use tax liability for 

September 2007. 
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The Bureau added interest and penalty to the sales and use tax deficiency.  The 

Commission reviewed those additions, found both to be appropriate per Idaho Code §§ 63-3045 

and 63-3046, and has updated interest accordingly.  With respect to the penalty,  

If any part of any deficiency is due to fraud with intent to evade tax, then fifty 
percent (50%) of the total amount of the deficiency (in addition to such 
deficiency) shall be so assessed, collected and paid (Idaho Code § 63-3046(b), 
excerpted in relevant part). 

 
Interest is calculated through November 4, 2013, and will continue to accrue by $.42 per 

day pursuant to the rate set forth in Idaho Code § 63-3045(6) until paid. 

THEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated March 15, 2012, is hereby 

APPROVED, in accordance with the provisions of this decision, and is AFFIRMED and MADE 

FINAL. 

IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES ORDER that the taxpayer pay the following tax, 

penalty, and interest:  

TAX PENALTY INTEREST TOTAL 
$5,100 $2,550 $1,419 $9,069 

    
 DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given. 

 An explanation of the taxpayers’ right to appeal this decision is enclosed. 

 DATED this    day of     2013. 

      IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
             
      COMMISSIONER 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 
 I hereby certify that on this    day of     2013, a copy of the 
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
 

[Redacted] Receipt No.  
 
 
 

 


