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BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 

In the Matter of the Protest of 
 
[Redacted], 
 
                         Petitioner. 
 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

  
DOCKET NO. 23863 
 
 
DECISION 

On February 26, 2009, the Revenue Operations Division of the Idaho State Tax 

Commission (Commission) denied a request by [Redacted] (taxpayer) for a refund of Idaho 

individual income tax in the amount of $739 for the period ending December 31, 2004; $493 for 

the period ending December 31, 2005; and $937 for the period ending December 31, 2006.  The 

taxpayer filed a timely protest and petition for redetermination of the refund denials.  The 

Commission has reviewed the file, is advised of its contents, and hereby issues its decision. 

On November 5, 2010, the Commission received for processing Idaho individual income 

tax returns from the taxpayer for taxable years 2004, 2005, and 2006.  Because the time for 

claiming the refunds shown in the returns had expired, a letter was mailed to the taxpayer 

advising her of the Commission’s intent to deny the refunds.  The taxpayer objected, and a 

Notice of Deficiency Determination was issued wherein the taxpayer was advised the refund was 

denied and she had a right to appeal the determination. 

 Idaho Code § 63-3072(c) defines the time allowed to claim refunds:  
 
 Credits and refunds. . . . 

(c)  Except as provided in subsection (e) of section 63-3035, Idaho Code, a claim 
for credit or refund of tax, penalties, or interest paid shall be made within the 
later of three (3) years of the due date of the return, without regard to 
extensions, or three (3) years from the date the return was filed. However, with 
regard to remittances received with an extension of time to file, or a tentative 
return, a claim for credit or refund of such remittances shall be made within three 
(3) years from the due date of the return without regard to extensions.  (Emphasis 
added.) 
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Idaho Code § 63-3035(c) provides: 

(e)  Amounts deducted from wages of an employee during any calendar year in 
accordance with the provisions of this section shall be considered to be in part 
payment of the tax imposed on such employee for his tax year which begins 
within such calendar year and the return made by the employer under this 
subsection (e) shall be accepted by the state tax commission as evidence in favor 
of the employee of the amount so deducted from his wages. Where the total 
amount so deducted exceeds the amount of tax on the employee, based on his 
Idaho taxable income, or where his income is not taxable under this chapter, the 
state tax commission shall, after examining the annual return filed by the 
employee in accordance with this chapter, but not later than sixty (60) days after 
the filing of each return, refund the amount of the excess deducted. No credit or 
refund shall be made to an employee who fails to file his return, as required under 
this chapter, within three (3) years from the due date of the return, without regard 
to extensions, in respect of which the tax withheld might have been credited. In 
the event that the excess tax deducted is less than one dollar ($1.00), no refund 
shall be made unless specifically requested by the taxpayer at the time such return 
is filed.   

 

The period of limitation with respect to claiming a refund or credit of taxes shown in the 

Idaho income tax return expired for taxable year 2004 on April 15, 2008; for taxable year 2005 

on April 15, 2009; and for taxable year 2006 on April 15, 2010.  The Commission did not 

receive the taxpayer’s returns for taxable years 2004 through 2006 until November 5, 2010.   

 Idaho Code §§ 63-3072 and 63-3035 are clear and unequivocal. The language in these 

sections “shall be made. . .” is not discretionary, but rather, is mandatory.  The Commission finds 

Idaho Code § 63-3072(c), cited above, is controlling with respect to the taxpayer’s refund or 

credit claim for taxable years 2004 through 2006.  No credit or refund can be given.  

 THEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated March 11, 2011, and 

directed to [Redacted] that denies the taxpayer a refund is AFFIRMED.  

 An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed. 
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 DATED this    day of     2011. 

      IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
             
      COMMISSIONER 
 
 
 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 
 I hereby certify that on this    day of     2011, a copy of the 
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
 

[Redacted] Receipt No.  
 
 
 

 


