
 

DECISION - 1 
[Redacted] 

BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 

In the Matter of the Protest of 
 
[REDACTED], 
 
                         Petitioner. 
 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

  
DOCKET NO.  23160 
 
 
DECISION 

On June 17, 2010, the Sales and Use Tax Audit Bureau (Bureau) of the Idaho State Tax 

Commission (Commission) issued a Notice of Deficiency Determination (Notice) to Total 

Service Inc. of Idaho (Taxpayer) asserting an [Redacted] and penalty totaling $92 for the period 

July 1, 2009, through June 30, 2010.     

The taxpayer protested the [Redacted] and penalty in a letter received July 7, 2010.  The 

Commission held a hearing at the taxpayer’s request on October 29, 2010. 

Having reviewed the audit file, the protest letter, and applicable Idaho statutes, the 

Commission hereby modifies the Notice for the following reasons. 

Background 

The taxpayer owns amusement devices located at various Idaho business locations.  

Idaho Code § 63-3623B imposes upon owners or operators of certain amusement devices an 

annual permit fee (aka decal fee or tax) in lieu of sales tax remitted from each device’s revenue 

stream.  Additionally, the statute imposes a $50 penalty per device for the owner/operator’s 

failure either to buy the permits timely or display the decals that are evidence the required fees 

have been paid.  In May 2010, the Bureau found that one of the Taxpayer’s amusement devices 

did not have a decal.  Accordingly, the Bureau sent a Notice for the decal fee and penalty. 
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The relevant code section is noted below: 

Amusement devices. (a) For purposes of this section the term "amusement 
device" shall mean all coin, currency, or token operated machines and devices 
which are used for amusement including, but not limited to, game machines, pool 
tables, juke boxes, electronic games and similar devices. 
 (b)  In lieu of the imposition of sales tax upon the use of the amusement 
device, the owner or lessee or person having the right to impose a charge for use 
of the amusement device must pay an annual permit fee of thirty five dollars 
($35.00) for each such device. [N.B. The fee is currently $42] 
 (c)  Upon payment of the permit fees, the state tax commission shall issue 
the permit(s) to the owner or lessee or person having the right to impose a charge 
for use of the amusement device. Such permit fee may be increased in a 
proportionate amount by the commission if the state sales tax rate increases. 
 (d)  All applications for a permit renewal must be made to the state tax 
commission on or before July 1 of each year. Such application shall contain the 
same information required on an application to secure a seller's permit under this 
chapter and shall be accompanied by the annual permit fee due for each device. 
 (e)  The state tax commission shall adopt a uniform system of providing, 
affixing and displaying official decals, labels or other official indicia evidencing 
that the owner, lessee, or person having the right to impose a charge for the use of 
the amusement device has paid the annual permit fee for such amusement device. 
No person subject to a permit fee under this chapter may impose a charge or 
collect any consideration for use of such amusement device unless such official 
decal, label, or other official indicia, as required herein, is affixed to such 
amusement device. 
 (f)  In addition to the penalties set forth above and in section 63 3634, 
Idaho Code, the state tax commission may assess the following penalties: 
(1)  If any owner, lessee, or person having the right to impose a charge for the 
use of any coin, currency or token operated amusement device in this state 
shall violate any provision of this section or any rule promulgated under this 
section, the commission may assess penalties, of fifty dollars ($50.00) for each 
device for failure to pay timely permit sticker fees. 
(2)  A person who knowingly secures or attempts to secure an amusement device 
permit sticker under this section by fraud, misrepresentation, or subterfuge or uses 
any permit issued under this section in a fraudulent manner shall be subject to a 
penalty of up to twenty five thousand dollars ($25,000). 
 (g)  The state tax commission shall impose the penalties provided in this 
section by a notice of deficiency determination in the manner provided in section 
63 3629, Idaho Code, which shall be subject to review as provided in section 63 
3631, Idaho Code. 
 (h)  The commission may revoke all permits of any person who operates 
any amusement device without complying with the provisions of this section. 
Notice of revocation shall be given in the manner provided for deficiencies in 
taxes in section 63 3629, Idaho Code, which shall be subject to review as 
provided in section 63 3631, Idaho Code. 
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 (i)  Permits issued under this section are transferable to another person 
only after written notice of the transfer is given to the state tax commission. 
(Idaho Code § 63-3623B.  Emphasis added.) 

 
Protest and Analysis 

The Taxpayer says that at the request of an Idaho customer he placed a machine in 

service during May 2010.  He objected to paying the full $42 fee for a time period that would 

expire on June 30, 2010.  In his experience with other state’s taxing jurisdictions, the Taxpayer 

notes that there are either one-year registrations that commence when the decal is purchased or 

that the fee is prorated for the remaining valid time period.   

However, as the previously cited Idaho Code § 63-3623B reads in unambiguous 

language, the decal fee and penalty provisions are clear and contain no provision for being 

prorated. The requirements rest in the hands of the state legislature, and the Commission’s role is 

administration and enforcement. 

The Taxpayer has not provided information to establish that the amount asserted is 

incorrect, but the Commission will exercise its discretion and abate the penalty (Idaho Code § 

63-3046). 

 WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated June 17, 2010, is hereby 

MODIFIED, and as MODIFIED is APPROVED, AFFIRMED and MADE FINAL. 

 IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES HEREBY ORDER that the Taxpayer pay the following 

tax: $42. 

 DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given. 

 An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed. 
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 DATED this    day of     2010. 

      IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
             
      COMMISSIONER 
 
 
 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 
 I hereby certify that on this    day of     2010, a copy of the 
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
 

[Redacted] Receipt No.  
 
 
 

 


