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BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 

In the Matter of the Protest of 
 
[Redacted], 
 
                         Petitioner. 
 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

  
DOCKET NO. 22480 
 
 
DECISION 

On October 14, 2009, the staff of the Sales and Use Tax Audit Bureau (Bureau) of the 

Idaho State Tax Commission (Commission) issued a Notice of Deficiency Determination 

(Notice) to [Redacted] (taxpayer) proposing use tax, penalty, and interest for the audit period 

January 1, 2008, through January 31, 2008, in the total amount of $2,217. 

In correspondence dated December 15, 2009, the taxpayer filed a timely appeal and 

petition for redetermination.  At the taxpayer’s request, the Commission held an informal hearing 

on June 10, 2010.  For the reasons that follow, the Commission upholds the audit findings. 

BACKGROUND  

The following are undisputed facts.  The taxpayer bought a tractor backhoe on            

June 1, 2007, from an Idaho equipment dealer who shipped the backhoe to the taxpayer in 

Oregon.   For taxable year 2007, the taxpayer filed Form 43, a part-time Idaho residency 

individual income tax return.  For taxable year 2008, the taxpayer filed Form 40, Idaho residency 

individual income tax return. 

The taxpayer owned a mining claim in Oregon and said that he bought the equipment for 

use at the mining site.  A few months after the purchase, in September 2007, he sold the mining 

claim and subsequently used the equipment in Oregon to provide excavation services.  For 

taxable year 2007, the taxpayer filed a Schedule C with his federal return under the label 
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“Excavation Contractor.”  The schedule showed $1,000, and the taxpayer said the income was 

for backhoe excavation services he provided.   

In December 2007, the taxpayer brought the backhoe to his new personal residence in 

Idaho.  The Bureau held the backhoe’s fair market value subject to use tax for taxable year 2008, 

the year the taxpayer claimed the sale of the asset as well as the recapture of depreciation on his 

federal income tax return.   

APPLICABLE TAX LAW 

In Idaho, the sale of tangible personal property is taxable (Idaho Code §§ 63-3612(1) and 

63-3619).  The sale of tangible personal property by an Idaho vendor with delivery by the vendor 

to a point outside of Idaho, or arranged by the vendor to be shipped by common carrier to a 

destination outside of Idaho, is not an Idaho sale and is therefore not subject to tax (Idaho Code § 

63-3622Q).  Thus, the seller was not required to collect sales tax when the backhoe was 

delivered to Oregon. 

However, the use of goods brought into Idaho is subject to a use tax unless an exemption 

applies: 

Imposition and rate of the use tax -- exemptions An excise tax is hereby imposed 
on the storage, use, or other consumption in this state of tangible personal 
property acquired … at the rate of six percent (6%) of the value of the property, 
and a recent sales price shall be presumptive evidence of the value of the property 
… (Idaho Code § 63-3621). 

  

 “Storage” and “use” in Idaho are given specific definitions in the tax code: 

 

Storage Use. (a) The term "storage" includes any keeping or retention in this state 
for any purpose except sale in the regular course of business or subsequent use 
solely outside this state of tangible personal property purchased from a retailer. 

(b)  The term "use" includes the exercise of any right or power over tangible 
personal property incident to the ownership or the leasing of that property or the 
exercise of any right or power over tangible personal property by any person in 



DECISION - 3 
[Redacted] 

the performance of a contract, or to fulfill contract or subcontract obligations, 
whether the title of such property be in the subcontractor, contractor, contractee, 
subcontractee, or any other person, or whether the titleholder of such property 
would be subject to the sales or use tax, unless such property would be exempt to 
the titleholder under section 63 3622D, Idaho Code, except that the term "use" 
does not include the sale of that property in the regular course of business. 

 (c)  "Storage" and "use" do not include the keeping, retaining, or exercising of 
any right or power over tangible personal property for the purpose of 
subsequently transporting it outside the state for use thereafter solely outside the 
state, or for the purpose of being processed, fabricated, or manufactured into, 
attached to, or incorporated into other tangible personal property to be transported 
outside the state, and thereafter used solely outside the state (Idaho Code § 63-
3615). 

PROTEST SUMMARY 

The taxpayer said he had no intention of using the equipment in Idaho but brought it to 

his new residence in this state for safekeeping and to sell it to cover a financial emergency.  He 

doesn’t believe that storage of the backhoe in Idaho for the purpose of selling it constitutes a 

taxable use.  He is willing to pay a tax on the fair market value of the equipment for the two 

months it remained in Idaho prior to the sale. 

ANALYSIS 

Without stating it specifically, the taxpayer is asking for a resale exemption for the 

storage of the equipment in Idaho.  As noted previously, “use” does not include holding property 

for “the sale of that property in the regular course of business” (Idaho Code § 63-3615(b)).  

While the taxpayer’s intention may have been to sell the equipment, the equipment was not part 

of a resale inventory, and he did not sell backhoes in the regular course of business.  Rather, the 

taxpayer was a contractor improving real property.  “All persons engaged in constructing, 

altering, repairing or improving real estate, are consumers of the material used by them; all sales 

to or use by such persons of tangible personal property are taxable…. (Idaho Code § 63-

3609(a)). As evidenced by his 2007 Schedule C, the taxpayer was in the business of providing 

excavation services.  His 2008 federal income tax return reveals that the backhoe was a 
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depreciated business asset.  The taxpayer brought the equipment to Idaho when its most recent 

use was to provide services for which he was paid.   

No exemption exists under these circumstances as “It shall be presumed that tangible 

personal property shipped or brought to this state by the purchaser was purchased from a retailer, 

for storage, use or other consumption in this state” (Idaho Code § 63-3621(h).  Further, since no 

sales or use tax was rightly paid to another jurisdiction (Oregon has no sales or use tax), tax is 

owed in Idaho (Idaho Code § 63-3621(j)).  

Rather than be assessed an amount of tax based on the fair market value of the equipment 

when it entered Idaho, the taxpayer proposes that he be taxed on a value computed for the time 

the backhoe was in Idaho up to the day the taxpayer sold it.  Therefore, he is asking that an 

approximate two-month fair rental value be taxed as an alternative to the liability imposed by the 

auditor. 

There is precedent and statutory authority for this treatment under circumstances that are 

not evident in this case:  

Use tax on transient equipment. (a) As used in this section, the term "transient 
equipment" means tangible personal property which is: 
(1)  Subject to use tax in this state; and 
(2)  Eligible for depreciation under the federal internal revenue code and actually 
depreciated on the owner's federal income tax return; and 
(3)  Present in this state for a cumulative period of time totaling not more than 
ninety (90) days in any consecutive twelve (12) months.  For purposes of this 
subsection, any part of a day is one (1) day. 
(b)  In the case of transient equipment owned and operated by a nonresident 
of this state, the use tax imposed by section 63 3621, Idaho Code, may be the 
lesser of the amount of tax computed upon: 
(1)  The value of the property  ….or 
(2)  The fair rental value of the property during the time the property is located in 
Idaho (Idaho Code § 63 3621A, emphasis added). 
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Furthermore,  Sales Tax Administrative Rule 073 states: 

01.  Equipment Brought into Idaho. Equipment or other tangible personal 
property brought or shipped to Idaho by residents or nonresidents is presumed to 
be for storage, use, or other consumption in this state. Generally, tangible personal 
property is subject to use tax on its fair market value when it is first used in Idaho. 
Special rules apply to transient equipment present in Idaho for ninety (90) days or 
less in any consecutive twelve (12) month period. See Section 63-3621A, Idaho 
Code, and Subsection 073.03 of this rule. … 
02.  Substantive Use. Any substantive use of the property in Idaho is sufficient 
to subject the property to use tax. Use is defined in Section 63-3615, Idaho Code, 
and Rule 072 of these rules. The use tax does not apply to the use of items 
purchased before July 1, 1965, or the use of items excluded from tax by Idaho 
Code.  
03.  Transient Equipment. Transient equipment means equipment that is: 
owned by the user, which is a business based in another state; a depreciable asset 
for income tax purposes and treated as such on the owner’s income tax returns; 
brought to Idaho and kept here for ninety (90) days or less in any consecutive 
twelve (12) months; and either was not taxed in another state or, if tax was paid to 
another state, the amount paid was less than the amount of Idaho use tax due 
(IDAPA 35.01.02.073.01 - .03).    

 

The preceding quotations from the tax code and administrative rules emphasize that the 

transient equipment treatment for taxes is available only to non-residents.  The taxpayer entered 

the state as a new resident and is not entitled to characterize the backhoe as transient equipment.  

In fact, the tax code lists several exemptions from sales and use tax for new residents entering the 

state, but business assets are not included: 

The use tax herein imposed shall not apply to the use of household goods, 
personal effects and personally owned vehicles or personally owned aircraft by a 
resident of this state, if such articles were acquired by such person in another 
state while a resident of that state and primarily for use outside this state and if 
such use was actual and substantial (Idaho Code § 63-3621(l)).  
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The Bureau added interest and penalty to the sales and use tax deficiency.  The 

Commission reviewed this addition and found it to be appropriate per Idaho Code §§ 63-3621, 

63-3045(6), and 63-3046, Idaho Code.  Interest is accrued through November 30, 2010, and 

continues to accrue until the tax liability is paid. 

WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated October 14, 2009, is 

hereby APPROVED, and as APPROVED, is AFFIRMED and MADE FINAL in accordance 

with the provisions of this decision. 

IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES ORDER that the taxpayer pay the following tax, 

penalty, and interest:  

TAX PENALTY INTEREST TOTAL 
$1,632 $408 $255  $2,295 

 
 DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given. 

 An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed. 

 DATED this    day of     2010. 

      IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
             
      COMMISSIONER 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

 
 I hereby certify that on this    day of     2010, a copy of the 
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
 

[Redacted] Receipt No.  
 
 
 

 


