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BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 

In the Matter of the Protest of 
 
[Redacted] 
 
                         Petitioner. 
 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

  
DOCKET NO.  22108 
 
DECISION 

On February 6, 2009, the Compliance Division of the Idaho State Tax Commission 

issued a Notice of Deficiency Determination to [Redacted] (taxpayer).  The Notice asserted the 

taxpayer, as a successor to [Redacted], owed sales tax, penalty, and interest for the periods 

November and December 2008 in the amount of $20,000.  The taxpayer timely protested and 

requested a redetermination on April 7, 2009.  An informal conference was held on November 9, 

2009.  The Commission has reviewed the file, is advised of its contents, and hereby issues its 

decision based thereon. 

Subsequent to the protest, the Compliance Division received additional information from 

[Redacted] which reduced the amount to $6,859.15.  The taxpayer purchased a business that had 

outstanding tax liens against it.  Additionally, the business owed sales tax for the periods 

November and December 2008.  At the time of purchase, the liability for those periods had been 

assessed, but a Notice of Lien had not been filed.  The taxpayer was aware of the tax liens but 

made no inquiry of the Commission to determine if any additional liabilities might be owing.  At 

closing, the taxes subject to the liens were paid out of the proceeds of the sale.  However, the 

amounts owing for November and December 2008were not paid.    

 Idaho Code § 63-3628 provides: 
 

63-3628.  Successors’ liability. (a) If any vendor liable for any amount under this 
act sells out his business or stock of goods, the vendee shall make inquiry of the 
state tax commission and withhold from the purchase price any amount of tax that 
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may be due under this act until such time as the vendor produces a receipt stating 
that no amount is due. 

(b)  If the purchaser of a business or stock of goods fails to withhold from 
the purchase price as above required, he becomes personally liable for the 
payment of the amount required to be withheld by him to the extent of the 
purchase price valued in money. 

 
(c)  The state tax commission shall, as soon as practicable after receiving 

written inquiry as to the amount due and no later than thirty (30) days after receipt 
of the inquiry or, if necessary, thirty (30) days from the date the vendor's records 
are made available for audit, but in any event no later than sixty (60) days after 
receiving the inquiry, issue a statement to the purchaser setting forth the amount 
of tax due by the vendor, if any. Failure of the state tax commission to issue such 
statement will release the purchaser from any obligation to withhold from the 
purchase price as above required. 

 
  The statute imposes a duty on the purchaser of a business to make written inquiry of the 

State Tax Commission to find out the sales tax liability of the seller.  The purchaser is then 

required to withhold from the purchase price the amount of the liability and pay to the 

Commission.  If the purchaser does not make written inquiry and then fails to withhold the tax 

amount from the purchase price, the purchaser is then liable for the unpaid tax.   

  Here, the taxpayer’s representative contended he made verbal inquiry.  He argues that he 

made several phone calls to the Commission but was not given any response other than that all 

information about the seller is confidential information which could not be disclosed.  He did 

involve a title company that assisted him with identifying and paying the recorded liens.  At 

closing, the liens were satisfied and released, but there is no evidence, nor does the taxpayer 

contend, that written inquiry was made to the Commission as required by the statute.  

Presumably, if the written inquiry had been made, the Commission would have notified the 

taxpayer of the November and December 2008 liability.  The taxpayer’s representative contends 

that he tried to make sure all state tax debts were paid and if someone would have told him about 

the November and December 2008 liability before closing, they would have been paid.  The 
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Compliance Officer working the file for the Commission indicates that the taxpayer was sent a 

letter explaining the need to make a written request to determine whether the seller owed any 

additional sales or use taxes.  Since the taxpayer did not make the written request, the statute 

allows for a successor liability claim. 

THEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated February 6, 2009 is hereby 

MODIFIED, and as modified, is APPROVED, AFFIRMED, AND MADE FINAL. 

IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES ORDER that the taxpayer pay the following tax, 

penalty and interest: 

TAX TYPE TAX PENALTY INTEREST TOTAL 
SALES $6,859.15 $0 $0 $6,859.15 

     
 DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given. 

 An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed. 

 DATED this    day of     2010. 

      IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
             
      COMMISSIONER 
 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 
 I hereby certify that on this    day of     2010, a copy of the 
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
 

[Redacted] Receipt No.  
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