BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO

In the Matter of the Protest of
DOCKET NO. 21948
[Redacted]
DECISION
Petitioner.
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On April 17, 2009, the staff of the Sales Tax Audit Bureau (Bureau) of the Idaho State
Tax Commission (Commission) issued a Notice of Taxpayer Initiated Refund Determination to
[Redacted] (taxpayer) allowing a refund of sales and use tax and interest for the period of April
1, 2006, through October 31, 2006, of $1,104 but denying the balance of the taxpayer’s refund
claim of $15,000.

On May 1, 2009, the taxpayer filed a timely appeal and petition for redetermination. The
Commission held an informal hearing with the taxpayer on December 3, 2009.

[Redacted].

The bad debt statute, Idaho Code § 63-3613(d) states:

(d) Taxes previously paid on amounts represented by accounts found to
be worthless may be credited upon a subsequent payment of the tax provided in

this chapter or, if no such tax is due, refunded. If such accounts are thereafter
collected, a tax shall be paid upon the amount so collected.

Retailers or their successors are therefore allowed to claim a refund of a portion of the tax
they have remitted after a person who borrowed money to make a taxable purchase defaults on
the loan.

The taxpayer filed a Form TCR refund claim on December 11, 2008. The taxpayer did
not provide any additional documentation with the form. Most importantly, the taxpayer did not
describe the tangible personal property to which the claim related as required by

IDAPA 35.01.02.117. Since the amount of the bad debt credit could not be calculated from the
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information that the taxpayer provided, the audit staff requested that the taxpayer send more
documentation on both the amount of tax paid on the original purchase of the vehicles as well as
the amount of loan payments the borrowers paid prior to defaulting. The taxpayer did not send
this information until March 27, 2009. The audit staff treated this later date as the date that the
claim was filed.

Idaho Code § 63-3626 is the statutory provision governing sales and use tax refund
claims. The statute states, in relevant part:

63-3626. Refunds, limitations, interest. (a) Subject to the provisions of
subsection (b) of this section, if any amount due under this chapter has been
overpaid, the excess amount may be credited on any amount then due to the state
tax commission from the person by whom the excess was paid and any balance
refunded to that person.

(b) (1) No such credit or refund shall be allowed after three (3) years

from the time the payment was made to the state tax commission, unless

before the expiration of such period a written claim therefor is filed with

the state tax commission by the claimant or the claimant's
representative.... (Emphasis added.)

Because the audit staff considered the claim to have been filed March 27, 2009, they
treated most of the bad debt claims as barred by Idaho Code 63-3626(b)(1). If the audit staff had
treated the claim as if it had been filed on December 11, 2008, the amount of the refund allowed
would have been $2,629.35. Although most of the defaults occurred within three years of
December 11, 2008, many of the bad debt claims were still outside the limitation period because
the vehicles had been purchased, and hence the tax had been paid to the Commission, more than
three years prior to the refund claim.

The taxpayer has raised two arguments. The first argument is that the claim was actually
filed in December 2008. The Commission does not dispute that the original Form TCR was filed
on December 11, 2008. Idaho Code § 63-3626(b)(1) indirectly states that filing a written claim

with the Commission stops the running of the three-year limitation period. The audit staff took
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the position that the claim was not perfected because of the lack of documentation provided with
the refund claim. There is nothing in the statute or in the administrative rules, however, that
defines a perfected refund claim. Without some sort of authority, either in the statute or the
rules, the Commission must treat the taxpayer’s claim as if it had been filed on December 11,
2008, at which point the three-year limitation period stopped running.

Second, the taxpayer argues that the words “[n]o such credit or refund shall be allowed
after three (3) years from the time the payment was made to the state tax commission...” do not
apply to the bad debt credit allowed by Idaho Code § 63-3613.

The Commission has always treated all refund claims as being governed by ldaho
Code § 63-3626, including claims for bad debt refunds. The use of the word “refunded” in Idaho
Code 8 63-3613(d) indicates that bad debt claims should be treated like other refunds. There is
no other limitation period in the lIdaho Sales Tax Act that applies to refunds or to bad debt
claims. For this reason, the amount that should have been refunded is $2,629 rather than the
$930 that was actually refunded. The Notice of Taxpayer Initiated Refund Determination must,
therefore, be modified to reflect this amount.

WHEREFORE, the Notice of Taxpayer Initiated Refund Determination dated
April 17, 2009, is MODIFIED and, as MODIFIED, APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE

FINAL.
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IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES ORDER that the taxpayer be refunded the following
tax and interest:

TAX INTEREST TOTAL
$1,699 $381 $2,080

Interest is calculated through March 5, 2010.
An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed.

DATED this day of 2010.

IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION

COMMISSIONER

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this day of 2010, a copy of the
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to:

Receipt No.
[Redacted]
COPY MAILED TO:
[Redacted]
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