BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO

In the Matter of the Protest of
DOCKET NO. 21801
[REDACTED]
DECISION
Petitioner.
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On October 3, 2008, the staff of the Sales Tax Audit Bureau (Bureau) of the Idaho State
Tax Commission (Commission) issued a Notice of Deficiency Determination to
[Redacted](taxpayer) proposing sales and use tax, penalty, and interest for the period ending July
31, 2005, in the total amount of $1,328.

On December 3, 2008, the taxpayer filed a timely appeal and petition for redetermination.
The Commission sent the taxpayer two letters informing him of his right to an informal hearing
with the Commission. The taxpayer did not respond to either letter.

At issue in this case is the imposition of use tax on $15,000 worth of materials that the
taxpayer used to [Redacted]. The taxpayer claimed that the use of [Redacted] was exempt under
Idaho Code § 63-3622D, commonly known as the “production exemption,” when he titled and
registered [Redacted] and did not pay sales tax

Idaho Code § 63-3621 imposes a use tax on the storage, use, or other consumption of
tangible personal property in Idaho. The use tax is a complementary tax to the sales tax.
Payment of sales tax to the seller extinguishes the use tax liability. Idaho
Code 8 63-3622D(g)(3) states that property used [Redacted] is excluded from the production

exemption, regardless of use.
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The taxpayer has an [Redacted]. Rule 105(6)(b) (IDAPA 35.01.02.105(6)(b)) states:

b. Retailers Must Report Own Use and Nontaxed Transactions. All retailers must
report any sales or purchases on which no sales or use tax was collected or paid. Goods sold or
produced and consumed by the retailer, items withdrawn from stock for personal use or

employee use, stock removed and used for gift or promotional purposes, or any combination of
such uses are subject to tax.

In his protest, letter [Redacted] stated that he paid sales tax on the [Redacted] when he
purchased them. The taxpayer has submitted no documentation to show that he did pay sales tax
when he bought the materials.

The taxpayer has not provided the Commission with information to establish that the
amounts asserted in the NOD are incorrect. As a result, the Commission will uphold the NOD,
as adjusted. A determination of the State Tax Commission is presumed to be correct.
Albertson's, Inc. v. State, Dept. of Revenue, 106 Idaho 810, 814, 683 P.2d 846, 850 (1984). The
burden is on the taxpayer to show that the deficiency is erroneous. Parsons v. ldaho State Tax
Commission, 110 Idaho 572, 574-575 n.2 (Ct. App. 1986).

WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated October 3, 2008, is
APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE FINAL.

IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES ORDER that the taxpayer pay the following tax,
penalty, and interest:

TAX PENALTY INTEREST TOTAL
$900 $255 $237 $1,362

Interest is calculated through August 28, 2009, and will continue to accrue at the rate set
forth in Idaho Code § 63-3045(6) until paid.

DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given.

An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed.

DATED this day of , 2009.
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IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION

COMMISSIONER

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this day of , 2009, a copy of the
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to:

[REDACTED] Receipt No.
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