
DECISION - 1 
[Redacted] 

BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 

In the Matter of the Protest of 
 
[Redacted], 
 
                         Petitioner. 
 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

  
DOCKET NO.  21619 
 
DECISION 

On July 25, 2008, the staff of the Sales Tax Audit Bureau (Bureau) of the Idaho State Tax 

Commission (Commission) issued a Notice of Deficiency Determination to [Redacted], and 

[Redacted] (taxpayer) proposing use tax, penalty, and interest for the period of July 1, 2001, 

through June 30, 2008, in the total amount of $39,940.     

On September 19, 2008, the taxpayer filed a timely appeal and petition for 

redetermination.  The taxpayer did not respond to two hearing rights letters, and no informal 

hearing was held.  

The taxpayer is in the business [Redacted].  The taxpayer also installs [Redacted].   

Idaho Code § 63-3609 defines contractors improving real property as the consumers of 

the materials they install.  Idaho Code § 63-3621 imposes a use tax on purchases of tangible 

personal property consumed in Idaho.  The use tax is only imposed on purchases of goods that 

were not taxed by the seller.  The taxpayer purchased most of the materials it installed from out-

of-state vendors that did not charge sales tax and, therefore, owes use tax on those purchases.   

The taxpayer’s protest letter stated only that the owners “needed additional information in 

order to state factual and legal reasons” why the NOD was in error.  The taxpayer also mentioned 

that a lot of the materials they purchase are consumed in the process of [Redacted].   

There is no provision in the Idaho Sales Tax Act for allowing a credit for building 

materials that are consumed or broken during the fabrication process.  The tax is imposed on the 
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sales price of the goods.  The same issue was discussed in the Commission’s decision in    

Docket No. 21430, which stated: 

As stated previously, Idaho Code § 63-3621 imposes a tax 
on the storage, use, or other consumption of tangible personal 
property.  The tax is imposed on 6 percent of the “value of the 
property, and a recent sales price shall be presumptive evidence of 
the value of the property….”  In the taxpayer’s case, the value was 
the sales price charged by the vendor, not 50 percent of that sales 
price.  In fact, Sales Tax Brochure # 2 states:  The amount of use 
tax is based on the fair market value of the item when it first 
becomes taxable. A recent purchase price of the item is usually its 
fair market value.  (Emphasis added.)  The use [Redacted] became 
taxable at the time it was delivered to Idaho.   

Furthermore, if the taxpayer had purchased [Redacted] 
from an Idaho vendor, the tax would have been applied to the 
entire purchase price and not just 50 percent.  There is no provision 
in the Sales Tax Act that allows for a deduction from the sales 
price for building materials that were used up or discarded in the 
process of [Redacted]. 

 

WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated July 25, 2008, is 

APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE FINAL. 

 IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES ORDER that the taxpayer pay the following tax, 

penalty, and interest:  

TAX PENALTY INTEREST TOTAL 
$29,640 $7,410 $4,068 $41,118 

 
 Interest is calculated through June 5, 2009, and will continue to accrue at the rate set forth 

in Idaho Code § 63-3045(6) until paid. 

DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given. 

 An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed. 



DECISION - 3 
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 DATED this    day of    , 2009. 

      IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
             
      COMMISSIONER 
 
 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 
 I hereby certify that on this    day of    , 2009, a copy of the 
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
 

[Redacted] Receipt No.  
 
 
 
 

 


