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DECISION 

On May 24, 2008, the Revenue Operations Division (Division) of the Idaho State Tax 

Commission issued a Notice of Deficiency Determination to [Redacted] (taxpayer).  The notice 

proposed a penalty in the amount of $500 and interest in the amount of $229.60 for the 

taxpayer’s failure to make its 2008 extension payment by an electronic transfer as required by 

Idaho Code § 67-2026.  The taxpayer timely protested and requested a redetermination on May 

30, 2008.  An informal conference was not held.  The Tax Commission has reviewed the file, is 

advised of its contents, and hereby issues its decision based thereon. 

On May 14, 2008, the taxpayer paid its 2008 extension payment in the amount of 

$140,000.  The taxpayer made the payment by cashier’s check.  The Tax Commission’s records 

indicate that the check was received on May 15, 2008.  However, because the payment was not 

made by electronic funds transfer as required by Idaho Code § 67-2026, the Division imposed an 

additional interest charge and penalty as allowed by Idaho Code § 67-2026A.  Idaho Code § 67-

2026 provides in relevant part: 

67-2026.  Taxes, fees and other amounts to be paid by electronic 
funds transfer—Exception.—(1)  Except as allowed in subsection 
(3) of this section, all taxes and additional amounts of interest, 
penalty or fees payable to the state must be paid by electronic 
funds transfer whenever the amount paid or payable is one hundred 
thousand dollars ($100,000) or greater.  Whenever the payment of 
taxes is required to be made by electronic funds transfer under this 
section and the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal 
holiday, the payment may be made on the first business day 
thereafter. 
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 Subsection (3) excludes individuals from the electronic payment requirement even if the 

amount paid is greater than one hundred thousand dollars.  Here, it is undisputed that the 

taxpayer’s payment by certified check did not comply with Idaho Code § 63-2026.  The 

consequence of failing to use the electronic fund transfer when required is governed by Idaho 

Code § 63-3026A, which provides in relevant part: 

63-3026A.  Failure to use electronic funds transfer.—(1) Any 
payor required under the provisions of section 67-2026, Idaho 
Code, to make a payment by electronic transfer who makes the 
payment by check or other nonelectronic means shall be liable for 
an additional amount of interest.  The interest shall be calculated at 
the annual rate of twelve per cent (12%) simple interest for the 
period of time between the date the payment is due and the day the 
funds become available to the state treasurer for investment.  
Unless the payor establishes a contrary time, the time between 
receipt of a payment by means other than electronic funds transfer 
and the time the funds become available to the state treasurer for 
investment is presumed to be five (5) days.  
If the agency administering the tax determines that a payor’s 
failure to use electronic funds transfer when required is due to the 
payor’s negligence or is the result of the payor’s knowing 
disregard of the requirement, the agency may assert a penalty, in 
addition to the interest charged under subsection (1) of this section, 
of five hundred dollars ($500).  If the payor establishes that the 
failure is not due to his negligence or the result of his knowing 
disregard of the requirement, agency shall abate the penalty, but it 
shall not abate the interest due under subsection (1) of this section. 
 

 Thus, there are two issues raised by the taxpayer.  It contends that it should not be 

responsible for interest, and it contends that it was not negligent nor did it intentionally disregard 

the statute and, therefore, the penalty should be abated.  The taxpayer is correct with respect to 

interest, but the Tax Commission hereby determines the taxpayer is negligent because it had 

received actual notice of the requirement to make electronic funds payments and failed to 

comply with the statute.   
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 With respect to interest, the statute imposes an additional interest charge calculated 

between the due date of the payment and the actual date the money becomes available for 

investment by the state treasurer.  The extension payment is due on the 15th day of the fourth 

month following the end of the taxpayer’s fiscal year.  Here, the taxpayer’s fiscal year ended on 

February 23, 2008, and the payment was received on May 15, 2008, well before its due date.  

Accordingly, the treasurer had the payment timely to make an investment.  The Tax Commission 

hereby withdraws the interest portion of the Notice of Deficiency. 

 The taxpayer also contends it should not be responsible for the penalty.  It argues that the 

instructions for Form 41ES, the form used in conjunction with its estimated payment, does not 

give any indication of a requirement to make payments electronically.  The Tax Commission 

does not accept the argument that without such instructions on the form, a taxpayer is relieved of 

its statutory obligation to pay electronically.  Certainly, the instructions are not inconsistent with 

the statute, and the failure to include such direction cannot relieve a taxpayer of its statutory 

obligation.  However, in this case, the Division sent two letters along with brochures informing 

the taxpayer of its obligation to make payments electronically.  On June 27, 2007, after receiving 

the taxpayer’s quarterly tax payment in an amount greater than $100,000, the Division sent a 

letter to the taxpayer advising it of its obligation to pay its tax electronically.  The letter included 

the following statement “[y]ou may not be aware of the Idaho law that requires payments of 

$100,000 or more to be made by electronic funds transfer.  Enclosed is a pamphlet that explains 

your electronic payment options.”  The letter further advises the taxpayer to set up an electronic 

payment account.  The Division did not issue a Notice of Deficiency for the $500 penalty. 

 Despite this notice, the taxpayer did not pay its next quarterly installment by electronic 

funds transfer.  Even though its payment was greater than $100,000, it made the payment by 
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check.  The Division did not issue a Notice of Deficiency for the penalty.  However, it imposed 

an interest charge of $492 and again instructed the taxpayer on its obligation to pay 

electronically.  The Division sent the taxpayer the following letter on August 23, 2007: 

Dear Taxpayer: 
 
Idaho law requires businesses to make payments of $100,000 or 
more by electronic funds transfer (EFT).  Because you did not 
follow this law when you made an Idaho Business Income Tax 
payment for the period ending February 29, 2008, we are charging 
you interest in the amount of $ 492.00. 
 
We have enclosed a copy of your return, the law requiring 
payments by electronic funds transfer, and a brochure that explains 
how to make electronic payments.   
 
Please send your interest payment in the enclosed envelope by 
September 6, 2007.  If you do not pay by electronic funds transfer 
when required in the future, we may charge both interest and 
penalty. 
 
If you have any questions or need more information about making 
electronic payments, call 334-7660 in the Boise calling area, or toll 
free (800) 972-7660 nationwide.   
 

 The taxpayer did pay the interest charge.  Though the taxpayer argues that the 

instructions do not direct that payments in excess of $100,000 must be made electronically, the 

taxpayer did receive two letters and a copy of a brochure addressing the requirement.  

Additionally, the taxpayer was told that if it did not make these payments electronically, a 

penalty could be imposed.   

 For these reasons, the Tax Commission believes the taxpayer was negligent in making its 

estimated payment by electronic means. 

 THEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated May 24, 2008, is hereby 

MODIFIED and as MODIFIED is APPROVED, AFFIRMED, AND MADE FINAL. 
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IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES ORDER that the taxpayer pay the penalty of $500 

related to its 2008 extension payment made on May 14, 2008. 

 DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given. 

An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed. 

 DATED this    day of    , 2008. 

       IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
             
       COMMISSIONER 

 
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

 
 I hereby certify that on this    day of    , 2008, a copy of the 
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
 

[REDACTED] Receipt No.  
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