BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO

In the Matter of the Protest of
DOCKET NO. 21163
[REDACTED],
DECISION
Petitioner.
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On February 19, 2008, the Automated Billing Unit (ABU) of the Idaho State Tax
Commission (Commission) issued a Notice of Deficiency Determination to the [Redacted]
(petitioner) proposing additional interest and penalty for taxable year ending
January 31, 2007, in the total amount of $1,469.35. The petitioner filed a timely protest and
petition for redetermination. The petitioner did not request a hearing. The Tax Commission,
having reviewed the file, hereby issues its decision.

When the petitioner filed its 2007 Idaho Form 66 on November 30, 2008, the petitioner
paid $7,017 for tax, interest, and penalty. The petitioner’s return was date stamped on
December 3, 2007, as having been received by the Commission on that date.

The ABU, after reviewing the petitioner’s 2007 return, calculated the petitioner’s liability
for tax, penalty, and interest to be $8,486.35, a difference of $1,469.35. The following table

identifies the difference between the petitioner’s calculation and that of the ABU.

Per Per
ABU Petitioner  Difference
Tax $6,585.00  $6,585.00 $0.00
Interest 255.10 236.00 19.10
Penalty 1,646.25 196.00 1,450.25
Total $8,486.35  $7,017.00  $1,469.35
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The petitioner agrees with the ABU’s calculation of additional interest but not the
additional penalty.® The petitioner argues that the ABU’s penalty calculation does not take into
consideration the federal extension that was filed for the petitioner. The petitioner believes it is
only liable for one month of late filing penalty at 5 percent and six months of late payment
penalties at .5 percent per month. The ABU maintains that the petitioner is liable for five months
of late filing penalties at 5 percent per month; maximum of 25 percent. The difference between

two approaches is illustrated as follows:

Per Petitioner Per ABU

Late Late Late
Filing Payment Filing
Penalty Penalty Penalty
Tax $6,585  $6,585 $6,585
Penalty percentage 5.00% 0.50% 5.00%
Number of late months 1 6 5
Penalty amount $329 $198 $1,646.25
Penalty remitted (196) 0 (196)
Amount owed $133 $198 $1,450.25

On the Idaho Form 66 as originally filed, the petitioner calculated its penalty to be $196;
however, in its letter dated July 22, 2007, the petitioner now believes its penalty to be the $527
($329 + $198) as shown above.

The petitioner has a tax year ending January 31, 2007. The original due date for filing
and payment of tax due was May 15, 2007. The petitioner’s extended due date, if applicable, for
filing the return was November 15, 2007. The date the return was filed was November 30, 2007,
approximately 15 days past any extended due date and more than six months past the original

due date.

! See schedule dated July 24, 2008, attached to the petitioner’s letter dated July 22, 2008.

DECISION - 2
[Redacted]



Idaho’s extension of time to file a return is governed by ldaho Code section 63-3033
which states, in pertinent part:

63-3033. Extension of time. (a) Taxpayers shall have an
automatic extension of time for filing any return, . . . required by
this chapter for a period of six (6) months if on or before the
unextended due date the taxpayer has paid at least eighty percent
(80%) of the total tax due on the income tax return when it is filed,
or the total tax due on the income tax return for the prior year if a
return was filed for the prior year.

(b) If, on the unextended due date, the payment required to
meet the provisions of subsection (a) of this section, after
consideration of any previous credits or payments applicable to the
return, is fifty dollars ($50.00) or less, such payment shall not be
required in order to qualify for the extension. However, interest
shall accrue as provided in subsection (f) of this section. Payment
of any balance of tax is due on the earlier of the extended due date
or the date the return is filed.

(F) If the amount of payment made under subsection (a) of
this section is less than eighty percent (80%) of the total tax due
under the provisions of this chapter and is less than the amount of
the total tax due on the income tax return for the prior year, except
as permitted by subsection (b) of this section, a penalty may be
applied to the total of the balance due unless reasonable cause can
be established. The penalty shall be:

1) If the taxes for the taxable year are paid on or before the
extended due date, two percent (2%) per month from the original
due date to the date of payment.

2 If the taxes for the taxable year are not paid on or before
the extended due date, the penalty provided in section 63-3046(c),
Idaho Code, from the original due date.

Idaho Code section 63-3046(c) states, in pertinent part:

63-3046. Penalties and additions to the tax in case of
deficiency. ...

() (1) In the event the return required by this chapter is not
filed on or before the due date (including extensions) of the return,
there may be collected a penalty of five percent (5%) of the tax due
on such returns for each month elapsing after the due date
(including extensions) of such returns until the return is filed.

2 In the event the return required by this chapter is
filed but the tax shown thereon to be due is not paid, there may be
collected a penalty of one-half percent (0.5%) of the tax due on
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such return for each month elapsing after the later of the due date
of such return or the date the return was filed until the tax is paid.

(9) Total penalties imbblsed under subsections (a), (c) and

(d) of this section and under section 63-3033, Idaho Code, shall not
exceed twenty-five percent (25%) of the tax due on the return.

Since the petitioner paid all of the tax due with the filing of the return beyond the
extended due date, the extension provisions found in Idaho Code section 63-3033 are
inapplicable, thus the ABU was correct in calculating the penalty in accordance with Idaho Code
section 63-3046(c)(1) at 5 percent per month with a maximum of 25 percent starting from the

original due date.

Even if Idaho Code section 63-3033 extension provisions were applicable, in the event
that the extension criteria is not met, Idaho Income Tax Administrative and Enforcement
Rule 400.03.d. states that if “the return is filed after the extended due date and the tax is paid
after the extended due date, a penalty of five percent (5%) of the tax due per month shall apply
from the due date of the return to the earlier of the date the return is filed or the date the tax is
paid. If the tax is paid after the return is filed, a penalty of one-half percent (0.5%) of the tax due
per month shall apply from the date the return is filed to the date the tax is paid.”

Since, Idaho Code section 63-3046(g) limits the type of penalties involved in this case to
a maximum of 25 percent, the ABU was correct in applying a penalty of 25 percent.

WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated February 19, 2008, is

hereby APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE FINAL.
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IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES ORDER that the petitioner pay penalty and interest:

YEAR TAX PENALTY INTEREST TOTAL
31-Jan-07 $1,450.25 $19.10 $1,469.35
TOTALDUE  $1,469.35

DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given.
An explanation of the petitioner’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed.

DATED this day of , 2008.

IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION

COMMISSIONER
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
I hereby certify that on this day of , 2008, a copy of the

within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to:

[REDACTED] Receipt No.
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