
 

DECISION - 1 
[Redacted] 

BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 

In the Matter of the Protest of 
 
[Redacted]. and [Redacted] 

                         Petitioner. 
 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

  
DOCKET NO.  20988 
 
DECISION  

On March 18, 2005, the staff of the Sales Tax Audit Bureau (Bureau) of the Idaho State 

Tax Commission (Commission) issued a Notice of Deficiency Determination to [Redacted] 

[Redacted] (taxpayer) proposing sales and use tax, penalty, and interest for the period of August 

1, 1999, through July 31, 2002, in the total amount of $8,898,615.  That amount was later 

decreased to $138,091.  

On May 20, 2005, the taxpayer filed a timely appeal and petition for redetermination.  

The Commission held an informal hearing with the taxpayer on June 24, 2008.   

[Redacted].  The taxpayer provided a general journal but other records were lacking.  The 

auditor scheduled all of the purchases of consumable items and imposed use tax on them because 

the taxpayer was unable to provide invoices showing tax paid to the vendor.  Also, the auditor 

found a difference between the sales tax collected and the amount remitted.  This difference 

could not be reconciled. 

Idaho Code § 63-3621 imposes a use tax on tangible personal property stored or used in 

Idaho.  The use tax liability is extinguished if the purchaser pays sales tax to the seller at the time 

of purchase.  The taxpayer did not pay any use tax during the audit period.   

Subsection § 63-3621(a) states, in relevant part: 

(a) Every person storing, using, or otherwise consuming, in 
this state, tangible personal property is liable for the tax.  His 
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liability is not extinguished until the tax has been paid to this state 
except that a receipt from a retailer maintaining a place of business 
in this state or engaged in business in this state given to the 
purchaser is sufficient to relieve the purchaser from further liability 
for the tax to which the receipt refers…. 
 

  The taxpayer was able to provide some of the required records after the Commission 

issued the NOD.  Because of this, the amount of the deficiency was decreased substantially.  The 

main issue, however, remains the lack of documentation.  Taxpayers are required to keep 

adequate records.  Idaho Code § 63-3624(c) states: 

 (c)  Every seller, every retailer, and every person storing, 
using, or otherwise consuming in this state tangible personal 
property purchased from a retailer shall keep such records, 
receipts, invoices and other pertinent papers as the state tax 
commission may require. Every such seller, retailer or person who 
files the returns required under this act shall keep such records for 
not less than four (4) years from the making of such records unless 
the state tax commission in writing sooner authorizes their 
destruction. 

 
In addition, Idaho sales tax Rule 111.01 (IDAPA 35.01.02.111.01) states: 

01. In General. Every retailer doing business in this 
state and every purchaser storing, using, or otherwise consuming in 
this state tangible personal property shall keep complete and 
adequate records as may be necessary for the State Tax 
Commission to determine the amount of sales and use tax for 
which that person is liable under Title 63, Chapter 36, Idaho Code. 
  

Idaho sales tax Rule 111.06 (IDAPA 35.01.02.111.06) goes on to state: 

  06. Failure of the Taxpayer to Maintain or Disclose 
Complete and Adequate Records. Upon failure by the taxpayer, 
without reasonable cause, to substantially comply with the 
requirements of this rule, the State Tax Commission shall:(3-30-01) 
 
 a.   Impose any penalty as may be authorized by law.  
  (7-1-93) 
 
 b.   Subpoena attendance of the taxpayer and any other 
witness when the State Tax Commission deems it necessary or 
expedient for examination and compel the taxpayer and witness to 
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produce any documents within the scope of its inquiry relating in 
any manner to the sales and use tax. (3-30-01) 
 

c.   Enter such other order as may be necessary to 
obtain compliance with this rule in the future by any taxpayer 
found not to be in substantial compliance with the requirements of 
this rule.  (7-1-93) 

 
The taxpayer provided some documentation on a few of the purchases after the informal 

hearing.  The Commission has adjusted the deficiency amount accordingly.  Other than that, the 

taxpayer has provided no further evidence to show that the Notice of Deficiency Determination 

is incorrect.   

WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determinations dated March 18, 2005, is 

APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE FINAL. 

IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES ORDER that the taxpayer pay the following tax and 

interest:  

 Interest is calculated through October 31, 2008, and will continue to accrue at the rate set 

forth in Idaho Code § 63-3045(6) until paid. 

 DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given. 

 An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed. 

SALES AND USE TAX PENALTY INTEREST TOTAL 
$92,103 $4,606 $42,464 $139,173 
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 DATED this    day of    , 2008. 

       IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 

             
       COMMISSIONER 

 
 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 
 I hereby certify that on this    day of    , 2008, a copy of the 
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
 

[Redacted] 
[Redacted] 

Receipt No.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 


