BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO

In the Matter of the Protest of
DOCKET NO. 20959
[Redacted],
DECISION
Petitioner.
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On October 19, 2007, [Redacted] (taxpayer) filed a sales and use tax refund claim with
the State Tax Commission (Commission) in the amount of $537,626.23 for the period of
September 1, 2004, through December 31, 2005. On December 7, 2007, the staff of the Sales
Tax Audit Bureau (Bureau) of the Commission issued a Notice of Taxpayer Initiated Refund
Determination to the taxpayer refunding $7,484.75 plus interest, but denying the rest.

On February 11, 2008, the taxpayer filed a timely appeal and petition for redetermination.
The Commission held an informal hearing with the taxpayer on May 2, 2008.

[Redacted]. [Redacted]. [Redacted]. In its refund claim, the taxpayer stated that it paid
use tax on purchases of equipment and collected sales tax [Redacted].

The taxpayer makes two arguments supporting its claim. The first has to do with sales
[Redacted]. There are two statutes of the Idaho Sales Tax Act that deal with
telecommunications equipment.

Idaho Code 8§ 63-3621 imposes a tax on the storage or use of tangible personal property.
The use tax is complementary to the sales tax. The rate is the same as sales tax. Payment of

sales tax to a retailer extinguishes the use tax liability. ldaho Code § 3621 states, in relevant

part:
63-3621. Imposition and Rate of the Use Tax -- Exemptions.
An excise tax is hereby imposed on the storage, use, or other
consumption in this state of tangible personal property acquired on
or after October 1, 2006, for storage, use, or other consumption in
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this state at the rate of six percent (6%) of the value of the
property, and a recent sales price shall be presumptive evidence of
the value of the property unless the property is wireless
telecommunications equipment, in which case a recent sales price
shall be conclusive evidence of the value of the property.
(Emphasis added.)

Prior to October 1, 2006, the use tax rate was 5 percent. ldaho Code 8 63-3613(b)(10)
excludes from the sales price subject to tax:

(10) The amount of any discount or other price reduction on
telecommunications equipment when offered as an inducement to
the consumer to commence or continue telecommunications
service, or the amount of any commission or other indirect
compensation received by a retailer or seller as a result of the
consumer commencing or continuing telecommunications service.

The two statutes are intended to apply to cellular telephones sold below cost. As a result
of these statutes, if a retailer gives a deep discount [Redacted], the tax is imposed only on the
amount actually charged. If the phone is given free of charge then no tax applies at all.

The taxpayer argues that its [Redacted] equipment qualifies for exemption under these
statutes. The Commission has consistently interpreted these statutes to apply only to cellular
telephones. Idaho Sales Tax Rule 033.04 (IDAPA 35.01.02.031.06) states:

06.  Wireless Telecommunications Equipment. A retailer
may give away wireless telecommunications equipment as an
inducement to commence or continue a contract for
telecommunications service. Such a use is exempt from tax
pursuant to Section 63-3621(a), ldaho Code. For the purposes of
this exemption “telecommunications service” means the
transmission of two-way interactive switched signs, signals,
writing, images, sounds, messages, data, or other information that
is offered to the public for compensation. ““Telecommunication
service” does not include the one-way transmission to subscribers
of video programming, or other programming service, and
subscriber interaction, if any, which is required for the selection of
such video programming or other programming service, surveying,
internet service, alarm monitoring service, or the provision of radio
paging, mobile radio telecommunication services, answering

DECISION - 2
[Redacted]



services (including computerized or otherwise automated
answering or voice message services). (Emphasis added.)

This definition clearly excludes video programming. It is taken from Idaho
Code § 62-603 which regulates telephone companies. Accepting the taxpayer’s argument would
mean rejecting this rule. The Commission believes the rule is reasonable and is not contrary to
the statute.

Alternatively, the taxpayer argues that it should be refunded all of the use tax it paid on
purchases of equipment during the period in question. During that time, the taxpayer remitted
$90,254.19 in use tax but only $7,484.75 in sales tax accrued [Redacted]. Since businesses
generally sell their products above cost, the amount of sales tax collected and remitted on its
sales should be greater than the amount of use tax paid on its purchases. It therefore appears that
the equipment was either rented at a price that did not reflect market value or that the taxpayer
did not collect tax on approximately 83 percent of the rentals. Under these circumstances, it
appeared that the most equitable resolution was to refund the sales tax, which the Commission
did. The taxpayer was asked to resolve the large discrepancy but has failed to do so.

A determination of the State Tax Commission is presumed to be correct (Albertson's, Inc.
v. State, Dept. of Revenue, 106 Idaho 810, 814, 683 P.2d 846, 850 (1984)), and the burden is on
the taxpayer to show that the deficiency is erroneous (Parsons v. ldaho State Tax Commission,
110 Idaho 572, 574-575 n.2 (Ct. App. 1986)).

WHEREFORE, the Notice of Taxpayer Initiated Refund Determination dated
December 7, 2007, is APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE FINAL.

An explanation of the taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is included with this
decision.

DATED this day of , 2008.
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IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION

COMMISSIONER

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this day of , 2008, a copy of the
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to:

[Redacted] Receipt No.
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