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DOCKET NO.  20584 
 
DECISION 

On August 22, 2007, the Sales and Use Tax Audit Bureau of the Idaho State Tax 

Commission issued a Notice of Deficiency Determination to [Redacted] (Taxpayer) asserting 

amusement device permit fees and penalty totaling $460 for the period July 1, 2007, through 

June 30, 2008.     

The Taxpayer paid the permit fees (aka decal fees) and later protested the penalty portion 

of the Notice of Deficiency Determination in a letter received October 1, 2007.  The Commission 

sent a hearing rights letter on October 5, 2007, but the Taxpayer did not respond. 

Having reviewed the audit file, the protest letter, applicable Idaho statutes, and other 

relevant information, the Commission hereby upholds the Notice of Deficiency Determination 

based on the following. 

The Taxpayer operates a restaurant and pub that contains five amusement devices.  Idaho 

Code § 63-3623B imposes upon owners or operators of certain amusement devices an annual 

permit fee in lieu of  sales tax remitted from each device’s revenue stream.  Additionally, the 

statute imposes a $50 penalty per device for the owner/operator’s failure either to buy the 

permits or display the decals that are evidence the required fees have been paid.  The code 

section is noted below, in pertinent part: 

63-3623B.  Amusement devices. (a) For purposes of this section 
the term "amusement device" shall mean all coin, currency, or 
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token operated machines and devices which are used for 
amusement including, but not limited to, game machines, pool 
tables, juke boxes, electronic games and similar devices. . . . 
 (d)  All applications for a permit renewal must be made to the 
state tax commission on or before July 1 of each year. Such 
application shall contain the same information required on an 
application to secure a seller's permit under this chapter and shall 
be accompanied by the annual permit fee due for each device. 
(e)  The state tax commission shall adopt a uniform system of 
providing, affixing and displaying official decals, labels or other 
official indicia evidencing that the owner, lessee, or person having 
the right to impose a charge for the use of the amusement device 
has paid the annual permit fee for such amusement device. No 
person subject to a permit fee under this chapter may impose a 
charge or collect any consideration for use of such amusement 
device unless such official decal, label, or other official indicia, as 
required herein, is affixed to such amusement device. 
(f)  In addition to the penalties set forth above and in section 
63-3634, Idaho Code, the state tax commission may assess the 
following penalties: 
(1)  If any owner, lessee, or person having the right to impose a 
charge for the use of any coin, currency or token operated 
amusement device in this state shall violate any provision of 
this section or any rule promulgated under this section, the 
commission may assess penalties, of fifty dollars ($50.00) for 
each device for failure to pay timely permit sticker fees. . . . 
 (g)  The state tax commission shall impose the penalties provided 
in this section by a notice of deficiency determination in the 
manner provided in section 63-3629, Idaho Code, which shall be 
subject to review as provided in section 63-3631, Idaho Code. . . . 
(emphasis added). 

 
 

 The Taxpayer does not argue that the amusement devices require a decal and, as noted 

earlier, the Taxpayer bought the required decals in late August of 2007. 

In its letter of protest, the Taxpayer writes, “I do not have any excuse for the payment 

being late, except for being really busy with my business and doing an ongoing remodel of  

the . . . building. . . .  This $50 penalty seems very high considering the [decal] fee is only $42.”    
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 The Commission reviewed the history of the Taxpayer and learned that in 2006 the 

Taxpayer bought decals timely but that in 2003, 2004, and 2005 it purchased decals after the  

July 1 deadline.  

In light of the compliance history, the Commission upholds the Notice of Deficiency 

Determination giving credit for the payment of the required decals. 

 WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determinations dated August 22, 2007, is 

hereby APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE FINAL. 

 IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES HEREBY ORDER that the Taxpayer pay the following 

penalty:  $250. 

 DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given. 

An explanation of the petitioner’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed with this 

decision. 

 DATED this    day of    , 2008. 

       IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 

             
       COMMISSIONER 
 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 
 I hereby certify that on this    day of    , 2008, a copy of the 
within and foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage 
prepaid, in an envelope addressed to: 
 

[Redacted] Receipt No.  
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