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In the Matter of the Petition for 
Redetermination of 
 
[Redacted]
 
                         Taxpayer. 
 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

  
DOCKET NO.  20505 
 
DECISION 

On August 24, 2007, the Sales and Use Tax Audit Bureau of the Idaho State Tax 

Commission issued a Notice of Deficiency Determination to [Redacted] (Taxpayer) asserting 

amusement device permit fees and penalty totaling $92 for the period July 1, 2007, through June 30, 

2008.     

The Taxpayer paid the permit fee (aka decal fee) and later protested the penalty portion of 

the Notice of Deficiency Determination in a letter received August 29, 2007.  The Commission sent 

a hearing rights letter on September 28, 2007, but the Taxpayer did not respond. 

Having reviewed the audit file, the protest letter, and applicable Idaho statutes, the 

Commission hereby upholds the Notice of Deficiency Determination based on the following. 

[Redacted].  Idaho Code § 63-3623B imposes upon owners or operators of certain 

amusement devices an annual permit fee in lieu of  sales tax remitted from each device’s revenue 

stream.  Additionally, the statute imposes a $50 penalty per device for the owner/operator’s failure 

either to buy the permits or display the decals that are evidence the required fees have been paid.  

The code section is noted below, in pertinent part: 

63-3623B.  Amusement devices. (a) For purposes of this section the 
term "amusement device" shall mean all coin, currency, or token 
operated machines and devices which are used for amusement 
including, but not limited to, game machines, pool tables, juke boxes, 
electronic games and similar devices… 
 (d)  All applications for a permit renewal must be made to the 
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state tax commission on or before July 1 of each year. Such 
application shall contain the same information required on an 
application to secure a seller's permit under this chapter and shall be 
accompanied by the annual permit fee due for each device. 
(e)  The state tax commission shall adopt a uniform system of 
providing, affixing and displaying official decals, labels or other 
official indicia evidencing that the owner, lessee, or person having 
the right to impose a charge for the use of the amusement device has 
paid the annual permit fee for such amusement device. No person 
subject to a permit fee under this chapter may impose a charge or 
collect any consideration for use of such amusement device unless 
such official decal, label, or other official indicia, as required herein, 
is affixed to such amusement device. 
(f)  In addition to the penalties set forth above and in section 63-3634, 
Idaho Code, the state tax commission may assess the following 
penalties: 
(1)  If any owner, lessee, or person having the right to impose a 
charge for the use of any coin, currency or token operated 
amusement device in this state shall violate any provision of this 
section or any rule promulgated under this section, the 
commission may assess penalties, of fifty dollars ($50.00) for each 
device for failure to pay timely permit sticker fees… 
 (g)  The state tax commission shall impose the penalties provided in 
this section by a notice of deficiency determination in the manner 
provided in section 63-3629, Idaho Code, which shall be subject to 
review as provided in section 63-3631, Idaho Code… (emphasis 
added). 

 
 The Taxpayer does not argue that the amusement device requires a decal, and as noted 

earlier, the Taxpayer bought the required decal in late August of 2007.  In its letter of protest, the 

Taxpayer writes that he lost the notice reminding him to purchase the decal. 

The taxpayer has not provided the Commission with information to establish that the amount 

asserted in the Notice of Deficiency Determination is incorrect.  As a result, the Commission will 

uphold the deficiency notice for the period July 1, 2007, through June 30, 2008.     

A determination of the State Tax Commission is presumed to be correct (Albertson's, Inc. v. 

State, Dept. of Revenue, 106 Idaho 810, 814, 683 P.2d 846, 850 (1984)), and the burden is on the 

Taxpayer to show that the deficiency is erroneous (Parsons v. Idaho State Tax Commission, 110 
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Idaho 572, 574-575 n.2 Ct. App. (1986)). 

    WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination dated August 24, 2007, is hereby 

APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE FINAL. 

 IT IS ORDERED and THIS DOES HEREBY ORDER that the Taxpayer pay the following 

penalty: $50. 

 DEMAND for immediate payment of the foregoing amount is hereby made and given. 

 An explanation of [Redacted] right to appeal this decision is enclosed. 
 
DATED this ______ day of ____________________, 2008. 

 
       IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 
 
 
             
       COMMISSIONER 

 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

I hereby certify that on this ____ day of _______________, 2008, a copy of the within and 
foregoing DECISION was served by sending the same by United States mail, postage prepaid, in an 
envelope addressed to: 

 
[Redacted] Receipt No. 
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