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BEFORE THE TAX COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF IDAHO 

In the Matter of the Protest of 
 
[Redacted], 
 

                         Petitioner. 
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DOCKET NO.  20204 
 
DECISION 

 
On May 14, 2007, the Revenue Operations Division of the Idaho State Tax Commission 

denied a request by [Redacted] (taxpayer) for refund of individual income tax in the amount of $423 

for the period ending December 31, 2002.  The taxpayer filed a timely protest and petition for 

redetermination of the refund denial.   The Tax Commission has reviewed the file, is advised of its 

contents, and hereby issues its decision. 

On March 2, 2007, the taxpayer submitted a 2002 Idaho individual income tax return to the 

Tax Commission for processing.   Because the time for claiming the $423 refund shown in the return 

had expired, a letter was mailed to the taxpayer indicating the Tax Commission was denying the 

refund.  The taxpayer objected and a Notice of Deficiency Determination was issued to provide the 

taxpayer with the opportunity for administrative review. 

The taxpayer’s letter explained her objection to being denied the refund: 

This letter is in response to your request for information; letter ID 
L1120319232; reference 00219293801.  In this letter, you requested a 
response if I did not agree with your adjustment.  I strongly disagree 
with your decision.  I believe that I am owed a refund on the 2002 
income tax year.  If our situations were reversed, the State of Idaho 
would require me to pay any funds owed as well as charging me for 
penalties and interest.  I am not asking for additional funds, only for 
the legitimate funds I am entitled to.  Please reconsider your decision. 
 

The taxpayer’s statement about the Tax Commission not having a time limit for reviewing 

taxes is in error.  Idaho Code § 63-3068 states in pertinent part: 
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Period of limitations for issuing a notice of deficiency and 
collection of tax. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, 
a notice of deficiency, as provided in section 63-3045, Idaho Code, 
for the tax imposed in this chapter shall be issued within three (3) 
years from either the due date of the return, without regard to 
extensions, or from the date the return was filed, whichever is 
later.  (Emphasis added.) 

 
 The Tax Commission is allowed three years in which to notify a taxpayer of additional 

Idaho income tax unless an original return has not been filed.  There is no time limitation if a 

return has not been filed.    

 Idaho Code § 63-3032 defines the due date of Idaho income tax returns: 

63-3032.  Time for filing income tax returns. (1) Except as 
provided in section 63-3033, Idaho Code: 
(a) Returns made on the basis of the calendar year shall be filed in 
the office of the Idaho state tax commission on or before the 15th day 
of April following the close of the calendar year and returns made on 
the basis of a fiscal year shall be filed in the office of the Idaho state 
tax commission on or before the 15th day of the fourth month 
following the close of the fiscal year. 
   

 The taxpayer’s 2002 Idaho individual income tax return was required to be filed on or 

before April 15, 2003.  The Tax Commission did not receive that return claiming a refund until 

March 2, 2007.    

 Idaho law provides for a credit against taxes.  However, the claim for credit must be 

made within a certain timeframe as follows:   

63-3072.  Credits and refunds. (a) Subject to the provisions of 
subsections (c) and (g) of this section, where there has been an 
overpayment of the tax imposed by the provisions of this chapter, the 
amount of such overpayment shall be credited against any tax 
administered by the state tax commission which tax is then due from 
the taxpayer, and any balance of such excess shall be refunded to the 
taxpayer. 
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(b)  The state tax commission is authorized, and the state board of tax 
appeals is authorized to order the state tax commission in proper 
cases, to credit, remit, refund, or pay back all tax, penalties, and 
interest, erroneously or illegally assessed or collected, regardless of 
whether the same have been paid under protest, which claim for 
refund shall be certified to the state board of examiners by the state 
tax commission. 
(c)  Except as provided in subsection (e) of section 63-3035, Idaho 
Code, a claim for credit or refund of tax, penalties, or interest 
paid shall be made within the later of three (3) years of the due 
date of the return, without regard to extensions, or three (3) years 
from the date the return was filed. However, with regard to 
remittances received with an extension of time to file, or a 
tentative return, a claim for credit or refund of such remittances 
shall be made within three (3) years from the due date of the 
return without regard to extensions.   (Emphasis added.) 
 

 Idaho Code § 63-3035(e) states: 

(e) Amounts deducted from wages of an employee during any 
calendar year in accordance with the provisions of this section 
shall be considered to be in part payment of the tax imposed on 
such employee for his tax year which begins within such calendar 
year and the return made by the employer under this subsection 
(e) shall be accepted by the state tax commission as evidence in 
favor of the employee of the amount so deducted from his wages. 
Where the total amount so deducted exceeds the amount of tax on 
the employee, based on his Idaho taxable income, or where his 
income is not taxable under this chapter, the state tax commission 
shall, after examining the annual return filed by the employee in 
accordance with this chapter, but not later than sixty (60) days 
after the filing of each return, refund the amount of the excess 
deducted. No credit or refund shall be made to an employee 
who fails to file his return, as required under this chapter, 
within three (3) years from the due date of the return, 
without regard to extensions, in respect of which the tax 
withheld might have been credited. In the event that the 
excess tax deducted is less than one dollar ($1.00), no refund 
shall be made unless specifically requested by the taxpayer at 
the time such return is filed.  (Emphasis added.) 
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 Idaho Code provides a taxpayer the same number of years to claim a refund or credit as 

allowed for the Tax Commission to claim a tax deficiency.  The taxpayer made her claim for a credit 

when she filed her return on March 2, 2007; the time allowed for claiming the refund expired on 

April 15, 2006.  

 Idaho Code §§ 63-3072 and 63-3035 are clear and unequivocal. The language in these 

sections “shall be made. . .” is not discretionary, but rather, it is mandatory.  The Tax Commission 

finds Idaho Code § 63-3072(c), cited above, is controlling with respect to the taxpayer’s refund 

claim for tax year 2000.  No credit or refund can be given. 

 WHEREFORE, the Notice of Deficiency Determination directed to [Redacted], dated May 

14, 2007, that denies the taxpayer a refund is APPROVED, AFFIRMED, and MADE FINAL. 

 An explanation of taxpayer’s right to appeal this decision is enclosed with this decision. 

 DATED this _____ day of ____________________, 2007. 
 
       IDAHO STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 
 
       ______________________________    
       COMMISSIONER 
 
 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE BY MAIL 
 
 I hereby certify that I have on this _____ day of ______________________, 2007, served a copy 
of the within and foregoing DECISION by sending the same by United States mail, postage prepaid, in 
an envelope addressed to: 
 

[Redacted] Receipt No. 
 
 
 
___________________________________ 

 
 
         


